DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12211562. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least independent claims is disclosed by claim 1 of 12211562:
Note: claim 7-8, claim 9-11, 13-14 are only rejected on the base of DP.
Instant app
12211562
Claim 9, 16, or 20
Claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3, 6, 12, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 3 states “in response to memory cells corresponding to the second deck being in a programming state.”: this is a contradict statement to what is in the relevant claims: in claim 1, an erase operation is operated on the second deck in the claims.
Claim 6, 12, 15 or 18 comprises similar 112 issue.
In the remaining of this office action, these clauses are not considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 16-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (PGPUB 20170271025), hereinafter as Suzuki.
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki teaches a method for performing an erase operation of a memory device, the memory device comprising at least one memory block, the memory block comprising a first deck and a second deck (Fig 3, memory block has different layers/decks), the method comprising:
performing a first erase operation on the first deck ([0074] an erase operation);
applying a first verification voltage to at least one first word line coupled to the first deck to verify the first erase operation for the first deck (Fig 7, zone 12 with Vverify12);
performing a second erase operation on the second deck (Suzuki does not expressly disclose separate erase operations, but mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ8.); and
applying a second verification voltage to at least one second word line coupled to the second deck to verify the second erase operation, wherein the second verification voltage is different from the first verification voltage (Fig 7, zone 11 with Vverify11).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki teaches the second deck is between the first deck and a source line; and the first verification voltage is lower than the second verification voltage (Fig 7 and Fig 3).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki teaches applying the first verification voltage to the at least one first word line comprises: apply the first verification voltage with a first voltage value to the at least one first word line, in response to memory cells coupled to the second deck being in a programming state; and apply the first verification voltage with a second voltage value to the at least one first word line, in response to the memory cells coupled to the second deck being in an erasing state, wherein the first voltage value is greater than the second voltage value (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki teaches the memory block further comprises a third deck, and the method further comprises:
perform a third erase operation on the third deck; and
apply a third verification voltage to at least one third word line coupled to the third deck to verify the third erase operation, wherein the third verification voltage is different from the first verification voltage (Fig 7, Verify10/11/12).
Regarding claim 16, Suzuki teaches memory device, comprising:
a memory array comprising at least one memory block, the memory block comprising a first deck coupled to at least one first word line and a second deck coupled to at least one second word line (Fig 3); and a peripheral circuit (Fig 1, peripheral circuit) coupled to the memory array and configured to:
performing a first erase operation on the first deck ([0074]);
applying a first verification voltage to the at least one first word line to verify the first erase operation for the first deck (Fig 7, zone 12 with Vverify12);
performing a second erase operation on the second deck (case law used in rejection of claim 1 applies); and
applying a second verification voltage to the at least one second word line to verify the second erase operation, wherein the second verification voltage is different from the first verification voltage (Fig 7, zone 11 with Vverify11).
Regarding claim 17, Suzuki teaches the first deck is between the second deck and a bit line, and the second deck is between the first deck and a source line; and the first verification voltage is lower than the second verification voltage (Fig 7 and Fig 3).
Regarding claim 19, arguments used in rejection of claim 4 applies.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, in view of Liu et al. (PGPUB 20200075102), hereinafter as Liu.
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki teaches a method as in rejection of claim 4,
But not expressly the values of three verification voltages in an increasing order,
Liu teaches a third deck is between the first deck and the second deck, the first deck is between the third deck and a bit line, the second deck is between the third deck and a source line, and the first verification voltage is lower than the third verification voltage; and the third verification voltage is lower than the second verification voltage (Fig 6).
Since Liu and Suzuki are both from the same field of semiconductor memory device, the purpose disclosed by Liu would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Suzuki.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the verification voltages as in Liu into the device of Suzuki for the purpose of ensuring success erasing operation.
Conclusion
/MIN HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827