DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 17 December 2024.
Claims 1-9 are under examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US 2025/0203707 A1), hereinafter Tsai, in view of Araujo et al. (US 2024/0195594 A1), hereinafter Araujo.
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses:
“A terminal apparatus comprising: one or more memories storing instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to” — a node implemented as a UE, including memory and a processor executing stored instructions (¶¶0324–0331; Fig. 6).
“transmit, to a base station apparatus, a user equipment (UE) assistance information message including assistance information, the assistance information being for configuration of a value of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle corresponding to a traffic with a non-integer periodicity” — UEAssistanceInformation reporting XR traffic periodicity and a non-integer DRX preference, leading to non-integer DRX configuration. XR traffic includes fractional-millisecond periodicities (¶¶0077–0078, 0099–0103, and 0134; Fig. 3).
“receive, from the base station apparatus, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including DRX configuration, the DRX configuration including information for indicating the value of the DRX cycle and information for indicating a value of an on-duration timer” — Tsai teaches network/RRC-configured DRX operation, a configured DRX cycle, and an on-duration controlled by drx-onDurationTimer (¶¶0050–0052). Tsai further teaches receiving non-integer DRX configuration from the base station (¶¶0312–0315; Fig. 4). However, the cited passages do not expressly identify the particular RRCReconfiguration message carrying both values.
“control to monitor a physical downlink control channel in an active time, the active time being based on the information for indicating the value of the DRX cycle and the information for indicating the value of the on-duration timer” — the DRX cycle periodically repeats the on-duration, and active time includes the on-duration during which the UE monitors PDCCH (¶¶0051–0052, 0057, and 0063; Fig. 1).
Tsai does not expressly disclose:
“receive, from the base station apparatus, a RRC reconfiguration message including information for indicating a value of a timer for transmission of the assistance information”; and
“control to transmit, to the base station apparatus, the UE assistance information message including the assistance information based on the information for indicating the value of the timer for the transmission of the assistance information.”
Araujo teaches RRCReconfiguration containing OtherConfig for delivery to the UE (¶0404 and the accompanying CG-Config field descriptions). OtherConfig includes a DRX preference configuration containing an enumerated drx-PreferenceProhibitTimer value (¶0258 and accompanying ASN.1). Araujo also teaches withholding subsequent assistance reports until a prohibit timer expires (¶0192).
Thus, Araujo teaches the recited receipt of an RRCReconfiguration carrying the assistance-reporting timer value and timer-controlled transmission.
It would have been obvious to implement Tsai’s DRX assistance reporting using Araujo’s RRC-delivered reporting configuration and prohibit timer. Both concern network configuration informed by UE assistance for power saving. The modification would limit frequent reports while retaining updated UE preferences, with predictable signaling and power savings.
Regarding the DRX-configuration message, it would also have been obvious to deliver Tsai’s configured DRX cycle and on-duration values through RRCReconfiguration. Tsai already uses RRC for DRX configuration; Araujo identifies RRCReconfiguration as the mechanism for delivering cell-group configuration changes (¶¶0402–0404 and accompanying CG-Config definitions). This would use an established configuration procedure to deliver the parameters controlling Tsai’s DRX operation.
Regarding claim 3, Tsai and Araujo teach “The terminal apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to receive, from the base station apparatus, a RRC reconfiguration message including information for indicating the transmission of the assistance information, and control to transmit, to the base station apparatus, the UE assistance information message including the assistance information in a case that the information for indicating the transmission of the assistance information indicates the transmission of the assistance information.”
Araujo’s RRCReconfiguration carries OtherConfig, whose drx-PreferenceConfig is specified as SetupRelease {DRX-PreferenceConfig} (¶0258; ¶0404 and accompanying CG-Config field descriptions). The setup alternative establishes the reporting configuration. This structural disclosure, together with network configuration of UE power-saving reports (¶0015), teaches enabling the configured assistance transmission. Applying that control to Tsai would permit the network to select when DRX assistance reporting is enabled.
Regarding claim 4, the claimed base station apparatus performs the network-side operations corresponding to claim 1. Tsai expressly discloses a base station implemented by the processor-and-memory node and transmitting non-integer DRX configuration while receiving UE assistance information (¶¶0319–0331; Figs. 5–6). Araujo supplies the network’s transmission of the RRC reporting configuration and prohibit-timer value, as explained above. The same combination therefore teaches the claimed receipt of assistance information, transmission of DRX and reporting configurations, receipt of timer-controlled reports, and configuration of the terminal’s PDCCH monitoring.
Regarding claim 6, the additional limitations correspond to claim 3 from the base station’s perspective. Araujo’s network-generated RRCReconfiguration containing the SetupRelease DRX preference configuration teaches transmitting the reporting-enable configuration and receiving the resulting configured assistance reports, for the reasons stated for claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, the method limitations correspond to the operations of claim 1 and are unpatentable for the same reasons. Tsai additionally presents the UE operations as a method (¶¶0312–0317; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, the additional method limitations correspond to claim 3 and are unpatentable for the same reasons.
Claims 2, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Araujo, as applied to claims 1, 4, and 7, respectively, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0225377 A1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 2, Tsai and Araujo teach the terminal apparatus of claim 1 as explained above, but do not expressly disclose “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to start the timer for the transmission of the assistance information in a case that the assistance information included in the UE assistance information message is different from the last transmitted assistance information and the timer for the transmission of the assistance information is not running.”
Kim teaches determining that the current drx-Preference information differs from the information in the last UEAssistanceInformation transmission and that T346a is not running (¶0132). Under that condition, the UE starts T346a using drx-PreferenceProhibitTimer and initiates transmission of the current DRX preference (¶¶0133–0134).
It would have been obvious to apply Kim’s reporting trigger to the DRX assistance procedure of Tsai and Araujo. Requiring changed assistance information avoids redundant reports, while requiring the timer not to be running enforces the configured reporting interval. Starting the timer upon reporting provides a predictable means of controlling subsequent reports.
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches “The base station apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the timer for the transmission of the assistance information is started in a case that the assistance information included in the UE assistance information message is different from the last received assistance information and the timer for the transmission of the assistance information is not running.”
Kim teaches the changed-information and timer-not-running trigger followed by timer start and assistance transmission (¶¶0132–0134). In the combined UE/base-station reporting procedure, the base station receives those reports. Comparing the successfully delivered current and preceding reports provides the corresponding received-information condition. Claim 5 does not require the base station itself to start the timer.
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches “The method according to claim 7, wherein the timer for the transmission of the assistance information is started in a case that the assistance information included in the UE assistance information message is different from the last transmitted assistance information and the timer for the transmission of the assistance information is not running.”
These method limitations correspond to the timer-start operations discussed for claim 2 and are taught by Kim ¶¶0132–0134, with the same rationale for combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Tsai et al. (US 2025/0212290 A1) disclose DRX operation for XR traffic, including UE assistance conveying traffic periodicity and a preference for a non-integer DRX cycle, together with adjustment of DRX timing offsets. Sony, “Power saving UE assistance information,” 3GPP contribution R2-2000869 (2020) discusses network-configured DRX assistance reporting and prohibit timers that limit reporting frequency to reduce signaling overhead and UE power consumption.
/Luat Phung/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468