DETAILED ACTION
Final
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Claims 1, 9 and 15 are currently amended. The remarks have clarified/persuasively argued to overcome the drawing objections, which are withdrawn. The amendments along have required adjustment to the rejection to address the claim amendments themselves. The remarks are not persuasive as Burkhart clearly teaches that additively manufactured conduits in the manifold that are extending from below the substrate are present in Burkhart, and accordingly the remarks/amendment cannot be found persuasive. See Burkhart ph 0060 and at least figure 11 and manifold 1100 which extends below the substrate 122 as discussed in Burkhart. An alternative obviousness rejection has been provided to address any implied connection from the bottom of the substrate to the additively manufactured conduits. This action must be made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Burkhart (US 2017/0204989);
Claim(s) 3, 11, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Burkhart, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above.
Burkhart discloses in claim 1: (see at least annotated figure 1 below)
A gas delivery system (assembly for semiconductor processing including a gas box ph 0053) comprising: a substrate (122a-d figure 1 is a substrate) comprising: additively manufactured conduits that at least partially protrude from a lower surface of the substrate (the substrate 122a-d is positioned above and connected to the additively manufactured manifold, for example as seen in figure 11, at 1100, where the positioning and connection to the substrate is discussed in ph 0060); a first substrate portion (3002a-d) of a first gas stick (100 a-d is a gas stick per ph 0055-0063 where multiple gas sticks may be arranged side by side in a linear fashion, taken as herein (a-d) for purposes of discussion), the first substrate portion comprising a first inlet (102a-d) configured to receive a first gas (a first process gas per ph 0053 for 102a-d for example), wherein the first gas stick is to control first flow of the first gas (via MFC 118 a-d); and a second substrate portion (3002a-d) of a second gas stick (100a-d), the second substrate portion comprising a second inlet (102a-d) configured to receive a second gas (a second process gas per ph 0053 for 102a-d for example), wherein the second gas stick is to control second flow (via 118a-d) of the second gas separate from the first flow of the first gas, and wherein the gas delivery system is to provide the first gas and the second gas to a chamber of a substrate processing system (per ph 0053);
if it could be persuasively argued that Burkhart does not explicitly disclose: first and second (or for that matter more than one gas stick with substate and substrate portion); and that additively manufactured conduits are connected to the substrate and that at least partially protrude from a lower surface of the substrate considering that Burkhart teaches: it is standard to align multiple gas sticks on a manifold block for the purpose of controlling multiple fluids to a chamber, (ph 0055); and one of ordinary skill in the art would consider four or more a multiplicity; and considering further that Burkhart teaches: connecting the manifold below the substrate [ph 0060] for the purpose of routing fluid to and from the gas stick for processing purposes;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Burkart as taught and/or suggested therein with four or more gas sticks each with substrate and substrate portion as aligned on a manifold block, all for the purpose of controlling multiple fluids to a chamber, especially since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960);
Accordingly, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught suggested in Burkhart, connecting additively manufactured conduits to the substrate and that at least partially protrude from a lower surface of the substrate, all for the purpose of routing fluid to and from the gas stick for processing purposes.
Burkhart discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claims 2 and 14: The gas delivery system of claim 1, wherein the chamber is a processing chamber, a factory interface, or a load lock (ph 0053, a semiconductor gas processing chamber, the use of “or” considered an indication of alternative grouping under MPEP 2131.)
Burkhart discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claims 3 and 11: The gas delivery system of claim 1, Burkart figure 1 does not disclose, although Burkhart teaches in ph 0074: the first substrate portion and the second substrate portion [may be] additively manufactured as an integral substrate (for the purpose of providing a higher functioning and more compact less expensive device.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught in Burkhart ph 0074 for the embodiment of Burkhart Fig.1, the first substrate portion and the second substrate portion are additively manufactured as an integral substrate, as taught in Burkhart ph 0074, and for the purpose of providing a higher functioning and more compact less expensive device.
Burkhart discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 4: The gas delivery system of claim 1, wherein the first substrate portion and the second substrate portion form a plurality of integral flow paths between the first substrate portion and the second substrate portion (via 102a-d, 124, 126 etc...)
Burkhart discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 5: The gas delivery system of claim 4, wherein a first flow path (102a-d) of the plurality of integral flow paths is disposed above a second flow path (124/126) of the plurality of integral flow paths.
Burkhart discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 6: The gas delivery system of claim 1 further comprising a plurality of components ((104/106/108/110/112/114/116/118/120)a-d) comprising one or more of a check valve, filter, nozzle, regulator, shut-off valve, pneumatic valve, check valve, mass flow controller, or manual valve (ph 0057-0059 the use of “or” considered an indication of alternative grouping under MPEP 2131), wherein one or more of the plurality of components are mounted on the first substrate portion (3002a-d).
Burkhart discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 7: The gas delivery system of claim 6, wherein a base portion (at 3004a-d) of at least one of the plurality of components is integral to the first substrate portion, wherein the base portion comprises a component inlet and a component outlet (each of the plurality of components has an inlet and outlet (for example at 3006a-d and 3008a-d for 118a-d) in the respective base portion integral to the first substrate portion.)
Burkhart discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 8: The gas delivery system of claim 1 further comprising: a first outlet (at 3010a-d)of the first substrate portion of the first gas stick, the first outlet configured to provide the first gas to the chamber of the substrate processing system (as necessarily the case per ph 0053.)
Burkhart discloses in claim 9: A gas delivery system (assembly for semiconductor processing including a gas box ph 0053) comprising: a substrate (122a-d figure 1 is a substrate) comprising: additively manufactured conduits that at least partially protrude from a lower surface of the substrate (the substrate 122a-d is positioned above and connected to the additively manufactured manifold, for example as seen in figure 11, at 1100, where the positioning and connection to the substrate is discussed in ph 0060); a first substrate portion (3002a-d) of a first gas stick (100 a-d is a gas stick per ph 0055-0063 where multiple gas sticks may be arranged side by side in a linear fashion, taken as herein (a-d) for purposes of discussion), the first substrate portion comprising: a first inlet (102a-d) configured to receive a first gas (a first gas per ph 0053 for 102a-d for example); and a first base portion (at 3004a-d) of a first component (118a-d), the first base portion comprising a first component inlet (3006a-d) and a first component outlet (3008a-d); and a first upper portion (at 3012a-d) of the first component, the first upper portion being disposed on the first base portion, wherein the first upper portion is configured to control first flow of the first gas to a chamber of a substrate processing system (118a-d is a MFC – mass flow controller, per ph 0059.)
if it could be persuasively argued that Burkhart does not explicitly disclose: first and second (or for that matter more than one gas stick with substate and substrate portion); and that additively manufactured conduits are connected to the substrate and that at least partially protrude from a lower surface of the substrate considering that Burkhart teaches: it is standard to align multiple gas sticks on a manifold block for the purpose of controlling multiple fluids to a chamber, (ph 0055); and one of ordinary skill in the art would consider four or more a multiplicity; and considering further that Burkhart teaches: connecting the manifold below the substrate [ph 0060] for the purpose of routing fluid to and from the gas stick for processing purposes;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Burkart as taught and/or suggested therein with four or more gas sticks each with substrate and substrate portion as aligned on a manifold block, all for the purpose of controlling multiple fluids to a chamber, especially since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
Accordingly, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught suggested in Burkhart, connecting additively manufactured conduits to the substrate and that at least partially protrude from a lower surface of the substrate, all for the purpose of routing fluid to and from the gas stick for processing purposes.
Burkhart discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 10: The gas delivery system of claim 9, wherein the substrate further comprises: a second substrate portion (3002a-d) of a second gas stick (100a-d), the second substrate portion comprising: a second inlet (102a-d) configured to receive a second gas (a second process gas per ph 0053 for 102a-d for example); and a second base portion (at 3004a-d) of a second component (118a-d), the second base portion comprising a second component inlet (3006a-d) and a second component outlet (3008a-d), wherein the gas delivery system further comprises a second upper portion (3012a-d) of the second component, the second upper portion being disposed on the second base portion (as shown), wherein the second upper portion is configured to control second flow of the second gas (118a-d is a MFC – mass flow controller, per ph 0059.)
Burkhart discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 12: The gas delivery system of claim 10, wherein the first substrate portion and the second substrate portion form a plurality of integral flow paths between the first substrate portion and the second substrate portion (via 102a-d, 124, 126 etc...), and wherein a first flow path (102a-d) of the plurality of integral flow paths is disposed above a second flow path (124/126) of the plurality of integral flow paths.
Burkhart discloses (or as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 13: The gas delivery system of claim 9, wherein the first component comprises one or more of a check valve, filter, nozzle, regulator, shut-off valve, pneumatic valve, check valve, mass flow controller, or manual valve (((104/106/108/110/112/114/116/118/120) a-d) and see ph 0057-0059 the use of “or” considered an indication of alternative grouping under MPEP 2131.)
Burkhart discloses in claim 15: A gas delivery system (assembly for semiconductor processing including a gas box ph 0053) comprising: additively manufactured conduits that at least partially protrude from a lower surface of the substrate (the substrate 122a-d is positioned above and connected to the additively manufactured manifold, for example as seen in figure 11, at 1100, where the positioning and connection to the substrate is discussed in ph 0060); [a] manufactured substrate (122a-d figure 1 is a substrate) comprising: a first substrate portion (3002a-d) of a first gas stick (100 a-d is a gas stick per ph 0055-0063 where multiple gas sticks may be arranged side by side in a linear fashion, taken as herein (a-d) for purposes of discussion), the first substrate portion comprising a first inlet (102a-d) configured to receive a first gas (a first process gas per ph 0053 for 102a-d for example), the first substrate portion forming one or more first flow paths (via 102a-d,124/126/3010a-d) configured to route the first gas; and a second substrate portion (3002a-d) of a second gas stick (100a-d), the second substrate portion comprising a second inlet (102a-d) configured to receive a second gas (a second process gas per ph 0053 for 102a-d for example), the second substrate portion forming one or more second flow paths (via 102a-d/124/126/3010a-d)configured to route at least one of the first gas or the second gas to a chamber of a substrate processing system (to 3010a-d and as necessarily discussed in ph 0053.) Burkart figure 1 does not disclose, although Burkhart ph 0074 teaches: the first substrate portion and the second substrate portion additively manufactured as an integral substrate (for the purpose of providing a higher functioning and more compact less expensive device.)
if it could be persuasively argued that Burkhart does not explicitly disclose: first and second (or for that matter more than one gas stick with substate and substrate portion); and that additively manufactured conduits are connected to the substrate and that at least partially protrude from a lower surface of the substrate considering that Burkhart teaches: it is standard to align multiple gas sticks on a manifold block for the purpose of controlling multiple fluids to a chamber, (ph 0055); and one of ordinary skill in the art would consider four or more a multiplicity; and considering further that Burkhart teaches: connecting the manifold below the substrate [ph 0060] for the purpose of routing fluid to and from the gas stick for processing purposes;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught in Burkhart ph 0074 for the embodiment of Burkhart Fig.1, the first substrate portion and the second substrate portion are additively manufactured as an integral substrate, as taught in Burkhart ph 0074, and for the purpose of providing a higher functioning and more compact less expensive device;
it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide Burkart as taught and/or suggested therein with four or more gas sticks each with substrate and substrate portion as aligned on a manifold block, all for the purpose of controlling multiple fluids to a chamber, especially since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960);
Accordingly, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught suggested in Burkhart, connecting additively manufactured conduits to the substrate and that at least partially protrude from a lower surface of the substrate, all for the purpose of routing fluid to and from the gas stick for processing purposes.
Burkhart discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claims 16: The gas delivery system of claim 15, wherein the chamber is a processing chamber, a factory interface, or a load lock (ph 0053, a semiconductor gas processing chamber, the use of “or” considered an indication of alternative grouping under MPEP 2131.)
Burkhart discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claims 17: The gas delivery system of claim 15, wherein the first substrate portion and the second substrate portion form a plurality of integral flow paths (via 102a-d/124/126/3010a-d) between the first substrate portion and the second substrate portion, and wherein a first flow path (102a-d) of the plurality of integral flow paths is disposed above (124/126) a second flow path of the plurality of integral flow paths (as shown.)
Burkhart discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claims 18: The gas delivery system of claim 15 further comprising a plurality of components ((104/106/108/110/112/114/116/118/120)a-d) comprising one or more of a check valve, filter, nozzle, regulator, shut-off valve, pneumatic valve, check valve, mass flow controller, or manual valve (ph 0057-0059 the use of “or” considered an indication of alternative grouping under MPEP 2131), wherein one or more of the plurality of components are mounted on the first substrate portion (3002a-d.)
Burkhart discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claims 19: The gas delivery system of claim 18, wherein a base portion (3004a-d) of at least one of the plurality of components is integral to the first substrate portion, wherein the base portion comprises a component inlet (3006a-d) and a component outlet (3008a-d.)
Burkhart discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claims 20: The gas delivery system of claim 15 further comprising: a first outlet (3010a-d) of the first substrate portion of the first gas stick, the first outlet configured to provide the first gas to the chamber (as necessarily the case per ph 0053.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753