DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This Application is a continuation of PCT/US2023/069239 filed on 6/28/2023, which claims priority from US provisional applications 63/370,777 filed on 8/8/2022, 63/370,554 filed on 8/5/2022 and 63/357,318 filed on 6/30/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed on 1/13/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of S7 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
The rejections are as below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-13 and 16-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ludwig et al. (US5427798A).
Ludwig et al. teaches a controlled sustained release tablet comprising 25 to 500 mg of bupropion hydrochloride and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, a lubricant such as magnesium stearate is added, and for every part by weight of bupropion hydrochloride, the amount of hydroxpropyl methylcellulose is 0.19 to 1.1 and more preferably 0.267 to 0.68 parts by weight and the amount of cysteine hydrochloride. The amount of cysteine hydrochloride or glycine hydrochloride is 2.7 mg to 27 mg. particles of bupropion hydrochloride are preferably blended with microcrystalline cellulose and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (Methocel®) to form an admixture of blended powders. Exemplified is a formulation having a core comprising the bupropion and cysteine hydrochloride.
The reference fails to specifically teach a molecular complex, or molar ratio that is from about 0.9:1 to about 1.1:1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to arrive at the molar ratio that is from about 0.9:1 to about 1.1:1 in a molecular complex or a combination formulation. The motivation comes from the teaching of a combination of cysteine hydrochloride and bupropion hydrochloride at 25 to 500 mg in the core of a controlled sustained release tablet. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving a molecular complex of bupropion hydrochloride and cysteine hydrochloride at the molar ratio that is from about 0.9:1 to about 1.1:1.
Claims 1-13 and 16-20 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Muhuri (IN2014DE00806, in applicant IDS).
Muhuri teaches a modified release formulation comprising a 50-400 mg bupropion HCl, L-cysteine hydrochloride monohydrate, ethyl cellulose, povidone, methacrylic acid copolymer, lubricants such as magnesium stearate, fillers such as microcrystalline cellulose.
The reference fails to specifically teach a molecular complex, or molar ratio that is from about 0.9:1 to about 1.1:1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to arrive at the molar ratio that is from about 0.9:1 to about 1.1:1 in a molecular complex or a combination formulation. The motivation comes from the teaching of a combination of cysteine hydrochloride and bupropion hydrochloride at 50-400 mg in a modified release tablet. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving a molecular complex of bupropion hydrochloride and cysteine hydrochloride at the molar ratio that is from about 0.9:1 to about 1.1:1.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ludwig et al. (US5427798A), as applied to claims 1-13 and 16-19 in view of Tabuteau US20190008805A1.
Ludwig et al. fails to teach the combination with dextromethorphan and bupropion.
Tabuteau teaches the combination with dextromethorphan and bupropion (abstract and claims of Tabuteau). Tabuteau provides for immediate and/or sustained release for the drugs (paragraph 237-240).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the dextromethorphan in combination with bupropion in the formulation. The motivation comes from the teaching of a combination of dextromethorphan and bupropion and the teachings of Tabuteau to arrange them in different release rates as desired. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving a combination dextromethorphan and bupropion.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Muhuri (IN2014DE00806), as applied to claims 1-13, 16-20 in view of Tabuteau US20190008805A1.
Muhuri et al. fails to teach the combination with dextromethorphan and bupropion.
Tabuteau teaches the combination with dextromethorphan and bupropion (abstract and claims of Tabuteau). Tabuteau provides for immediate and/or sustained release for the drugs (paragraph 237-240).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the dextromethorphan in combination with bupropion in the formulation. The motivation comes from the teaching of a combination of dextromethorphan and bupropion and the teachings of Tabuteau to arrange them in different release rates as desired. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving a combination dextromethorphan and bupropion.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12156914. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim set provides for complexes of bupropion and cysteine while also providing dosage forms that include both of these agents. Each claim set also provides for amounts and molar ratios that are similar. Each claim set also provides for a configuration of dextromethorphan as in applicant’s claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12678506. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim set provides for complexes of bupropion and cysteine while also providing dosage forms that include both of these agents. Each claim set also provides for amounts and molar ratios that are similar. Each claim set also provides for a configuration of dextromethorphan as in applicant’s claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12357697. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim set provides for complexes of bupropion and cysteine while also providing dosage forms that include both of these agents. Each claim set also provides for amounts and molar ratios that are similar. Each claim set also provides for a configuration of dextromethorphan as in applicant’s claims. Although the claims of ‘697 are to a method of treating depression, the claims disclose the claimed compositions within the limitations.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12661408. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim set provides for complexes of bupropion and cysteine while also providing dosage forms that include both of these agents. Each claim set also provides for amounts and molar ratios that are similar. Each claim set also provides for a configuration of dextromethorphan as in applicant’s claims. Although the claims of ‘408 are to a method of treating depression, the claims disclose the claimed compositions within the limitations.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of copending application 19/270,315. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim set provides for complexes of bupropion and cysteine while also providing dosage forms that include both of these agents. Each claim set also provides for amounts and molar ratios that are similar. Each claim set also provides for a configuration of dextromethorphan as in applicant’s claims. Although the claims of ‘315 are to a method of treating a neurological disorder, the claims disclose the claimed compositions within the limitations.
This rejection is provisional as the claims have not yet been issued as a Patent.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/MARK V STEVENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613