DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2025/0261275 A1) in view of Pradas et al. (US 2025/0056654 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a terminal apparatus comprising: one or more memories storing instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to (Figs. 3 and 10, [0193-0194], device 1000 includes a processor 1010, a memory 1020 coupled to the processor 1010, a suitable transmitter (TX) and receiver (RX) 1040 coupled to the processor 1010. The memory 1010 stores at least a part of a program 1030. The program 1030 is assumed to include program instructions that, when executed by the associated processor 1010, enable the device 1000 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure),
Wang teaches receive, from a base station apparatus, a radio resource control (RRC) message including a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration (Figs. 3 and 10, [0085, claim 61], the network device 120 may transmit the configuration to the terminal device 110 via a RRC signaling. Receiving, from a network, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message which includes a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration),
Wang teaches the DRX configuration including information for indicating a value of an on-duration timer for a DRX group and information on a DRX cycle (Figs. 3 and 10, [claim 68, 0121], wherein the DRX configuration includes a DRX on-duration timer. The DRX configuration may indicate a start offset for DRX cycle and a DRX cycle pattern for the set of starting times. The DRX cycle pattern may comprise a set of values, a value in the set of values indicating a length of DRX cycle. In some embodiments, the unit of the value in the set of values may be one millisecond, one symbol, one mini-slot, or one slot),
Wang teaches and determine a timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group based on a mathematical expression using the DRX cycle indicated by the information on the DRX cycle (Figs. 3 and 10, [0056], the terminal device 110 may determine a set of starting times for a set of DRX cycles based on the configuration. In the context of the present application, a starting time of a DRX cycle is the time to start an on-duration timer, wherein the on-duration is the duration at the beginning of a DRX cycle, and the on-duration timer is determined based on RRC information drx-onDurationTimer.
Wang teaches wherein the mathematical expression includes an addition operation of a System Frame Number (SFN) and a first value, the first value being computed based on a second value which is incremented by one in a case where the SFN changes to zero, (Figs. 3 and 10, [0058, 0152-0153, claims 61, 71], the terminal device 110 may determine a first value based on an index of the SFN period, a SFN and a subframe number associated with the DRX cycle, and determine the starting time based on the first value, the length, the starting offset and the slot offset. For example, the terminal device 110 may determine the first value (Ns) based on the equation (5) (i.e. a mathematical expression), and wherein the first value is a sum of 10240 times of a DRX System Frame Number (SFN) counter, 10 times of an SFN. And determine the starting time based on the equations (1) and (5). It is to be understood that any other suitable ways are also feasible. the terminal device 110 may determine the second value based on the length of DRX cycle. For example, the terminal device 110 may determine the second value (delta) based on the equation (10) or (11). (Note: the first number being computed based on the second value (Delta). As in equation 1, the first value (Ns) is based on length of DRX cycle (p). The second value (delta) is based on the length DRX cycle (p)). the UE is configured to increment the DRX SFN counter by 1 in a first symbol of a slot in which the SFN changes to 0),
Wang teaches the first value is computed based on a multiplication operation of the second value and a predetermined integer value (Figs. 3 and 10, [0073, 0077, 0153], the terminal device 110 may determine Ns (also referred to as a first value herein) based on an index of a SFN period, a SFN and a subframe number associated with a DRX cycle. For example, Ns may be modified as being determined by equation (5). When a SFN period starts (i.e., when the first SFN in the SFN period starts), the terminal device 110 may adjust the start offset for DRX cycle based on the length of DRX cycle and a value (for convenience, also referred to as a second value and denoted as delta herein) used for adjusting the start offset for DRX cycle. The terminal device 110 may determine the second value (delta) based on the equation (10) or (11). (Note: the first number being computed based on the second value (Delta). As in equation 1, the first value (Ns) is based on length of DRX cycle (p). The second value (delta) is based on the length of DRX cycle (p)).
Wang teaches and the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to monitor a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) in an active time which includes a time while the on-duration timer for the DRX group is running (Figs. 1B, 3 and 10, [0046, claim 61], as shown in fig, 1B, a DRX cycle 130 comprises an active phase 131 (i.e., on duration) and an inactive phase 132 (i.e., an opportunity for DRX). The terminal device 110 performs a downlink channel monitoring such as a PDCCH monitoring only in the active phase 131. Monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) discontinuously using a DRX operation, in which the UE is configured to start the DRX on-duration timer after the DRX slot offset).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches wherein a value of the DRX cycle is a non-integer value (Fig. 3A, [0055], the configuration may indicate at least one of the following: a length of DRX cycle, a start offset for DRX cycle, and a slot offset for DRX cycle. The length of DRX cycle is a non-integer value (also referred to as a nominal DRX cycle length herein)).
Wang teaches a UE determining timing for on-duration timer based on the DRX configuration received from a base station. Wang, however, fails to expressly teach that the DRX configuration includes information of an on-duration timer for DRX group. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 1, Pradas et al. teach the DRX configuration including information for indicating a value of an on-duration timer for a DRX group and information on a DRX cycle (Figs. 1 and 2A, [0067-0068], network node 12 in the wireless communication network 10 may transmit a DRX configuration (DRX) 26 to the wireless communication device 14. The DRX configuration 26 may for instance be transmitted via signaling 24, e.g., in the form of Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling. The DRX configuration 26 configures the wireless communication device 14 with respective durations 28 of the multiple on-duration timers 15, e.g., for a certain DRX group. In some embodiments, the DRX configuration 26 is specific to a certain type of service or traffic, e.g., an XR service or XR traffic. On-duration timer 15A is a so-called inner on-duration timer for defining an on-duration period 32A of inner DRX cycle(s) 30A and on-duration timer 15B is a so-called outer on-duration timer for defining an on-duration period 32B of outer DRX cycle(s) 30B).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang by incorporating the features as taught by Pradas et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of including, in DRX configuration, information for indicating a value of an on-duration timer for a DRX group and information on a DRX cycle. The motivation is to support an improved method for discontinuous reception operation of such a wireless communication device (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches a method of a terminal apparatus, the method comprising (Figs. 3 and 10, [0193-0194], device 1000 includes a processor 1010, a memory 1020 coupled to the processor 1010, a suitable transmitter (TX) and receiver (RX) 1040 coupled to the processor 1010. The memory 1010 stores at least a part of a program 1030. The program 1030 is assumed to include program instructions that, when executed by the associated processor 1010, enable the device 1000 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure),
Wang teaches receiving, from a base station apparatus, a radio resource control (RRC) message including a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration (Figs. 3 and 10, [0085, claim 61], the network device 120 may transmit the configuration to the terminal device 110 via a RRC signaling. Receiving, from a network, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message which includes a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration),
Wang teaches the DRX configuration including information for indicating a value of an on-duration timer for a DRX group and information on a DRX cycle (Figs. 3 and 10, [claim 68, 0121], wherein the DRX configuration includes a DRX on-duration timer. The DRX configuration may indicate a start offset for DRX cycle and a DRX cycle pattern for the set of starting times. The DRX cycle pattern may comprise a set of values, a value in the set of values indicating a length of DRX cycle. In some embodiments, the unit of the value in the set of values may be one millisecond, one symbol, one mini-slot, or one slot),
Wang teaches determining a timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group based on a mathematical expression using the DRX cycle indicated by the information on the DRX cycle (Figs. 3 and 10, [0056], the terminal device 110 may determine a set of starting times for a set of DRX cycles based on the configuration. In the context of the present application, a starting time of a DRX cycle is the time to start an on-duration timer, wherein the on-duration is the duration at the beginning of a DRX cycle, and the on-duration timer is determined based on RRC information drx-onDurationTimer.
Wang teaches and monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) in an active time which includes a time while the on-duration timer for the DRX group is running (Figs. 1B, 3 and 10, [0046, claim 61], as shown in fig, 1B, a DRX cycle 130 comprises an active phase 131 (i.e., on duration) and an inactive phase 132 (i.e., an opportunity for DRX). The terminal device 110 performs a downlink channel monitoring such as a PDCCH monitoring only in the active phase 131. Monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) discontinuously using a DRX operation, in which the UE is configured to start the DRX on-duration timer after the DRX slot offset).
Wang teaches wherein the mathematical expression includes an addition operation of a System Frame Number (SFN) and a first value, the first value being computed based on a second value which is incremented by one in a case where the SFN changes to zero (Figs. 3 and 10, [0058, 0152-0153, claims 61, 71], the terminal device 110 may determine a first value based on an index of the SFN period, a SFN and a subframe number associated with the DRX cycle, and determine the starting time based on the first value, the length, the starting offset and the slot offset. For example, the terminal device 110 may determine the first value (Ns) based on the equation (5) (i.e. a mathematical expression), and wherein the first value is a sum of 10240 times of a DRX System Frame Number (SFN) counter, 10 times of an SFN. And determine the starting time based on the equations (1) and (5). It is to be understood that any other suitable ways are also feasible. the terminal device 110 may determine the second value based on the length of DRX cycle. For example, the terminal device 110 may determine the second value (delta) based on the equation (10) or (11). (Note: the first number being computed based on the second value (Delta). As in equation 1, the first value (Ns) is based on length of DRX cycle (p). The second value (delta) is based on the length DRX cycle (p)). the UE is configured to increment the DRX SFN counter by 1 in a first symbol of a slot in which the SFN changes to 0),
Wang teaches and the first value is computed based on a multiplication operation of the second value and a predetermined integer value (Figs. 3 and 10, [0073, 0077, 0153], the terminal device 110 may determine Ns (also referred to as a first value herein) based on an index of a SFN period, a SFN and a subframe number associated with a DRX cycle. For example, Ns may be modified as being determined by equation (5). When a SFN period starts (i.e., when the first SFN in the SFN period starts), the terminal device 110 may adjust the start offset for DRX cycle based on the length of DRX cycle and a value (for convenience, also referred to as a second value and denoted as delta herein) used for adjusting the start offset for DRX cycle. The terminal device 110 may determine the second value (delta) based on the equation (10) or (11). (Note: the first number being computed based on the second value (Delta). As in equation 1, the first value (Ns) is based on length of DRX cycle (p). The second value (delta) is based on the length of DRX cycle (p)).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches wherein a value of the DRX cycle is a non-integer value (Fig. 3A, [0055], the configuration may indicate at least one of the following: a length of DRX cycle, a start offset for DRX cycle, and a slot offset for DRX cycle. The length of DRX cycle is a non-integer value (also referred to as a nominal DRX cycle length herein)).
Wang teaches a UE determining timing for on-duration timer based on the DRX configuration received from a base station. Wang, however, fails to expressly teach that the DRX configuration includes information of an on-duration timer for DRX group. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 4, Pradas et al. teach the DRX configuration including information for indicating a value of an on-duration timer for a DRX group and information on a DRX cycle (Figs. 1 and 2A, [0067-0068], network node 12 in the wireless communication network 10 may transmit a DRX configuration (DRX) 26 to the wireless communication device 14. The DRX configuration 26 may for instance be transmitted via signaling 24, e.g., in the form of Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling. The DRX configuration 26 configures the wireless communication device 14 with respective durations 28 of the multiple on-duration timers 15, e.g., for a certain DRX group. In some embodiments, the DRX configuration 26 is specific to a certain type of service or traffic, e.g., an XR service or XR traffic. On-duration timer 15A is a so-called inner on-duration timer for defining an on-duration period 32A of inner DRX cycle(s) 30A and on-duration timer 15B is a so-called outer on-duration timer for defining an on-duration period 32B of outer DRX cycle(s) 30B).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang by incorporating the features as taught by Pradas et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of including, in DRX configuration, information for indicating a value of an on-duration timer for a DRX group and information on a DRX cycle. The motivation is to support an improved method for discontinuous reception operation of such a wireless communication device (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches a base station apparatus comprising: one or more memories storing instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to (Figs. 3 and 10, [0193-0194], device 1000 includes a processor 1010, a memory 1020 coupled to the processor 1010, a suitable transmitter (TX) and receiver (RX) 1040 coupled to the processor 1010. The memory 1010 stores at least a part of a program 1030. The program 1030 is assumed to include program instructions that, when executed by the associated processor 1010, enable the device 1000 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure),
Wang teaches transmit, to a terminal apparatus, a radio resource control (RRC) message including a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration, the DRX configuration (Figs. 3 and 10, [0085, claim 61], the network device 120 may transmit the configuration to the terminal device 110 via a RRC signaling. Receiving, from a network, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message which includes a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration),
Wang teaches the DRX configuration including information for indicating a value of an on-duration timer for a DRX group and information on a DRX cycle (Figs. 3 and 10, [claim 68, 0121], wherein the DRX configuration includes a DRX on-duration timer. The DRX configuration may indicate a start offset for DRX cycle and a DRX cycle pattern for the set of starting times. The DRX cycle pattern may comprise a set of values, a value in the set of values indicating a length of DRX cycle. In some embodiments, the unit of the value in the set of values may be one millisecond, one symbol, one mini-slot, or one slot),
Wang teaches and control a DRX operation for the terminal apparatus to monitor a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) in an active time which includes a time while the on-duration timer for the DRX group is running (Figs. 1B, 3 and 10, [0046, claim 61], as shown in fig, 1B, a DRX cycle 130 comprises an active phase 131 (i.e., on duration) and an inactive phase 132 (i.e., an opportunity for DRX). The terminal device 110 performs a downlink channel monitoring such as a PDCCH monitoring only in the active phase 131. Monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) discontinuously using a DRX operation, in which the UE is configured to start the DRX on-duration timer after the DRX slot offset).
Wang teaches wherein a timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group is determined started based on a mathematical expression using the[[a ]]DRX cycle indicated by the information on the DRX cycle (Figs. 3 and 10, [0056], the terminal device 110 may determine a set of starting times for a set of DRX cycles based on the configuration. In the context of the present application, a starting time of a DRX cycle is the time to start an on-duration timer, wherein the on-duration is the duration at the beginning of a DRX cycle, and the on-duration timer is determined based on RRC information drx-onDurationTimer.
Wang teaches and the mathematical expression includes an addition operation of a System Frame Number, SFN, (SFN)and a first value, the first value being computed based on a second value which is incremented by one in a case where the SFN changes to zero (Figs. 3 and 10, [0058, 0152-0153, claims 61, 71], the terminal device 110 may determine a first value based on an index of the SFN period, a SFN and a subframe number associated with the DRX cycle, and determine the starting time based on the first value, the length, the starting offset and the slot offset. For example, the terminal device 110 may determine the first value (Ns) based on the equation (5) (i.e. a mathematical expression), and wherein the first value is a sum of 10240 times of a DRX System Frame Number (SFN) counter, 10 times of an SFN. And determine the starting time based on the equations (1) and (5). It is to be understood that any other suitable ways are also feasible. the terminal device 110 may determine the second value based on the length of DRX cycle. For example, the terminal device 110 may determine the second value (delta) based on the equation (10) or (11). (Note: the first number being computed based on the second value (Delta). As in equation 1, the first value (Ns) is based on length of DRX cycle (p). The second value (delta) is based on the length DRX cycle (p)). the UE is configured to increment the DRX SFN counter by 1 in a first symbol of a slot in which the SFN changes to 0),
Wang teaches and the first value is computed based on a multiplication operation of the second value and a predetermined integer value (Figs. 3 and 10, [0073, 0077, 0153], the terminal device 110 may determine Ns (also referred to as a first value herein) based on an index of a SFN period, a SFN and a subframe number associated with a DRX cycle. For example, Ns may be modified as being determined by equation (5). When a SFN period starts (i.e., when the first SFN in the SFN period starts), the terminal device 110 may adjust the start offset for DRX cycle based on the length of DRX cycle and a value (for convenience, also referred to as a second value and denoted as delta herein) used for adjusting the start offset for DRX cycle. The terminal device 110 may determine the second value (delta) based on the equation (10) or (11). (Note: the first number being computed based on the second value (Delta). As in equation 1, the first value (Ns) is based on length of DRX cycle (p). The second value (delta) is based on the length of DRX cycle (p)).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches wherein a value of the DRX cycle is a non-integer value (Fig. 3A, [0055], the configuration may indicate at least one of the following: a length of DRX cycle, a start offset for DRX cycle, and a slot offset for DRX cycle. The length of DRX cycle is a non-integer value (also referred to as a nominal DRX cycle length herein)).
Wang teaches a UE determining timing for on-duration timer based on the DRX configuration received from a base station. Wang, however, fails to expressly teach that the DRX configuration includes information of an on-duration timer for DRX group. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 7, Pradas et al. teach the DRX configuration including information for indicating a value of an on-duration timer for a DRX group and information on a DRX cycle (Figs. 1 and 2A, [0067-0068], network node 12 in the wireless communication network 10 may transmit a DRX configuration (DRX) 26 to the wireless communication device 14. The DRX configuration 26 may for instance be transmitted via signaling 24, e.g., in the form of Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling. The DRX configuration 26 configures the wireless communication device 14 with respective durations 28 of the multiple on-duration timers 15, e.g., for a certain DRX group. In some embodiments, the DRX configuration 26 is specific to a certain type of service or traffic, e.g., an XR service or XR traffic. On-duration timer 15A is a so-called inner on-duration timer for defining an on-duration period 32A of inner DRX cycle(s) 30A and on-duration timer 15B is a so-called outer on-duration timer for defining an on-duration period 32B of outer DRX cycle(s) 30B).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang by incorporating the features as taught by Pradas et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of including, in DRX configuration, information for indicating a value of an on-duration timer for a DRX group and information on a DRX cycle. The motivation is to support an improved method for discontinuous reception operation of such a wireless communication device (see [0001]).
Claim(s) 10, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2025/0261275 A1) in view of Pradas et al. (US 2025/0056654 A1) as applied to claims 1, 4 and 7 above, and further in view of Kunt et al. (US 2025/0193965 A1).
Wang and Pradas et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Wang and Pradas et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 10, wherein the timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group is specified by a subframe number; regarding claim 12, wherein the timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group is specified by a subframe number; regarding claim 14, wherein the timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group is specified by a subframe number.
Regarding claim 10, Kunt et al. teach wherein the timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group is specified by a subframe number (Figs. 4-5, [0060-0062], processor 412 may determine a subframe where a DRX ODT (on-duration timer) is started based on a DRX formula. if a short DRX cycle is used for a DRX group. See formula below:
[E-SFN×10240)+(SFN×10) + subframe number modulo (drx short cycle) = (drx short offset) modulo (drx-short cycle)).
Regarding claim 12, Kunt et al. teach wherein the timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group is specified by a subframe number (Figs. 4-5, [0060-0062], processor 412 may determine a subframe where a DRX ODT (on-duration timer) is started based on a DRX formula. if a short DRX cycle is used for a DRX group. See formula below:
[E-SFN×10240)+(SFN×10) + subframe number modulo (drx short cycle) = (drx short offset) modulo (drx-short cycle)).
Regarding claim 14, Kunt et al. teach wherein the timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group is specified by a subframe number (Figs. 4-5, [0060-0062], processor 412 may determine a subframe where a DRX ODT (on-duration timer) is started based on a DRX formula. if a short DRX cycle is used for a DRX group. See formula below:
[E-SFN×10240)+(SFN×10) + subframe number modulo (drx short cycle) = (drx short offset) modulo (drx-short cycle)).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang with Pradas et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Kunt et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of having timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group is specified by a subframe number. The motivation is to support an improved method for supporting arbitrary discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 11, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2025/0261275 A1) in view of Pradas et al. (US 2025/0056654 A1) and Kunt et al. (US 2025/0193965 A1) as applied to claims 1, 4 and 7 above, and further in view of Hong (US 2023/0138737 A1).
Wang, Pradas et al. and Kunt et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Wang, Pradas et al. and Kunt et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein the timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group is a timing delayed from the subframe number by a slot offset indicating a delay before starting the on- duration timer; regarding claim 13, wherein the timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group is a timing delayed from the subframe number by a slot offset indicating a delay before starting the on- duration timer; regarding claim 15, wherein the timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group is a timing delayed from the subframe number by a slot offset indicating a delay before starting the on- duration timer.
Regarding claim 11, Hong teaches wherein the timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group is a timing delayed from the subframe number by a slot offset indicating a delay before starting the on- duration timer (Fig. 1, [0205-0206], UE may receive an RRC reconfiguration message from the base station and then transmit the PSCCH/SCI using the received sidelink DRX parameter, and the peer UE may receive an RRC reconfiguration message from the base station and then receive the PSCCH/SCI using the received DRX parameter. However, a PSCCH/SCI reception failure may occur due to a time difference, e.g., a difference in message reception time between the two UEs or a difference in RRC message processing time in the UE. To address this, as an example, the base station may indicate (e.g., inform, provide, transmit), to the UE, an offset value for matching timings upon PSCCH transmission or PSCCH reception using the sidelink DRX parameter. As an example, the base station may indicate a sidelink DRX slot offset value to indicate a delay before starting the sidelink DRX on-duration timer. As another example, the base station may indicate the SFN/Direct Frame Number/SL frame number/subframe number/slot number where the sidelink (Long/Short) DRX cycle starts).
Regarding claim 13, Hong teaches wherein the timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group is a timing delayed from the subframe number by a slot offset indicating a delay before starting the on- duration timer (Fig. 1, [0205-0206], UE may receive an RRC reconfiguration message from the base station and then transmit the PSCCH/SCI using the received sidelink DRX parameter, and the peer UE may receive an RRC reconfiguration message from the base station and then receive the PSCCH/SCI using the received DRX parameter. However, a PSCCH/SCI reception failure may occur due to a time difference, e.g., a difference in message reception time between the two UEs or a difference in RRC message processing time in the UE. To address this, as an example, the base station may indicate (e.g., inform, provide, transmit), to the UE, an offset value for matching timings upon PSCCH transmission or PSCCH reception using the sidelink DRX parameter. As an example, the base station may indicate a sidelink DRX slot offset value to indicate a delay before starting the sidelink DRX on-duration timer. As another example, the base station may indicate the SFN/Direct Frame Number/SL frame number/subframe number/slot number where the sidelink (Long/Short) DRX cycle starts).
Regarding claim 15, Hong teaches wherein the timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group is a timing delayed from the subframe number by a slot offset indicating a delay before starting the on- duration timer (Fig. 1, [0205-0206], UE may receive an RRC reconfiguration message from the base station and then transmit the PSCCH/SCI using the received sidelink DRX parameter, and the peer UE may receive an RRC reconfiguration message from the base station and then receive the PSCCH/SCI using the received DRX parameter. However, a PSCCH/SCI reception failure may occur due to a time difference, e.g., a difference in message reception time between the two UEs or a difference in RRC message processing time in the UE. To address this, as an example, the base station may indicate (e.g., inform, provide, transmit), to the UE, an offset value for matching timings upon PSCCH transmission or PSCCH reception using the sidelink DRX parameter. As an example, the base station may indicate a sidelink DRX slot offset value to indicate a delay before starting the sidelink DRX on-duration timer. As another example, the base station may indicate the SFN/Direct Frame Number/SL frame number/subframe number/slot number where the sidelink (Long/Short) DRX cycle starts).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang with Pradas et al. and Kunt et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Hong in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of using timing for starting the on-duration timer for the DRX group is a timing delayed from the subframe number by a slot offset indicating a delay before starting the on- duration timer. The motivation is to support an improved method for controlling sidelink communication (see [0001]).
Conclusion
/SYED M BOKHARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2473
9/22/2026
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473