DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Claim 3-4, 6, 8-10, 12, 18-32, and 35-43 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al (US 2023/0020515) in view of Kim et al (US 2022/0069033).
As to claim 1, Min teaches a display panel, comprising:
a display region (display region DA, fig. 4);
at least two functional component regions (a first opening area OA1 and a second opening area OA2, [0083] The opening area OA may be a component area (e.g., a sensor area, a camera area, a speaker area), wherein the display region at least partially surrounds the at least two functional component regions ([0066] a display area DA (or a second area) at least partially surrounding the opening areas OA, fig. 4), the at least two functional component regions comprise a first functional component region (a first opening area OA1, fig. 4) and a second functional component region (a second opening area OA2, fig. 4) that are arranged along a first direction (in the x direction, fig. 4);
first signal lines (emission control lines EL and scan lines SL, fig. 4) located in the display region, wherein at least part of each first signal line of the first signal lines extends in a first direction (x direction, fig. 4), and the first signal lines are arranged in a second direction intersecting with the first direction (fig. 4 illustrates that the emission lines EL and the scan lines SL are arranged in the vertical direction), wherein the first signal lines comprise at least one first-type signal line (scan line SL, fig. 4) and at least one second-type signal line (emission control line, fig. 4), wherein one of the at least one first-type signal line at least partially surrounds the at least two functional component regions (a first opening area OA1 and a second opening area OA2, Fig. 4), the at least one second-type signal line comprises a control signal line (emission control line, fig. 4), and
a first non-display region located between the display region and one of the at least two functional component regions ([0066] an intermediate area MA located between each of the opening areas OA and the display area DA, [0090] The intermediate area MA is an area where a display element such as an organic light-emitting diode that emits light is not located);
a second non-display region at least partially surrounding the display region ([0066] a peripheral area PA (or a fourth area) surrounding the display area DA, fig. 3);
a first-type driving circuit (a scan driver 2100 , fig. 3) located in the second non-display region ([0091] In the peripheral area PA, a scan driver 2100 for applying a scan signal to each pixel P… may be located) and electrically connected to one of the at least one first-type signal line (scan lines SL, fig. 3) and located at a side of the display region in the first direction (In the peripheral area PA, fig. 3); and
second-type driving circuits (emission control drivers 2300, fig. 3) located in the second non-display region ([0091] In the peripheral area PA… an emission control driver 2300 for applying an emission control signal to each pixel P… may be located) and electrically connected to the control signal line (emission control line EL, fig. 3) and located at two sides of the display region in the first direction (figs. 3 and 4 illustrate emission control drivers 2300 in both sides), wherein the display region located between the first functional component region and the second functional component region is provided with sub-pixels for display ([0217] the second pixel P2 may be located in the display area DA between the first opening OA1 and the second opening OA2, fig. 14, fig. 4), the sub-pixels for display are connected to the second-type driving circuits (emission control drivers 2300, fig. 3) adjacent to one of the at least two functional component regions (a first opening area OA1 and a second opening area OA2, fig. 3) by the second-type signal line (emission control line EL, fig. 3, fig. 4).
Min does not teach the at least one second-type signal line is broken at two sides as claimed.
However, Kim teaches the at least one second-type signal line is broken at two sides of one functional component region of the at least two functional component regions in the first direction (Figure 5 illustrates that the first emission control line Ela is broken at two side of the first region R1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Min to teach, second-type signal line is broken at two sides of one functional component region, as suggested by Kim. the
motivation would have been in order to reduce the bezel along with the display driving
unit ([0004]).
As to claim 2, Min teaches the display panel, wherein the display panel further comprises a dummy line extending in the second direction and comprises a first edge and a second edge that are opposite to each other in the first direction, wherein a distance d1 between the first edge and the dummy line and a distance d2 between the second edge and the dummy line satisfy 0.9≤d1/d2≤1.1, and wherein the dummy line passes through the first functional component region (the first opening area OA1 and the second opening area OA2 may be located on a central portion of the display area DA. Examiner's note: from the equation 0.9≤d1/d2≤1.1, we conclude that d1 is within +10% of d2. If the imaginary line or the dummy line extends through OA1, and the distance between the left side edge of the display device and the dummy line inside OA1 is d1 and the distance between the right-side edge of the display device and the dummy line inside OA1 is d2, then d1 is within +10% of d2).
Min does not teach the at one of the at least one second-type signal line is broken at two sides as claimed.
However, Kim teaches one of the at least one second-type signal line is broken at two sides of the first functional component region in the first direction (Figure 5 illustrates that the first emission control line Ela is broken at two side of the first region R1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Min to teach, second-type signal line is broken at two sides of one functional component region, as suggested by Kim. the
motivation would have been in order to reduce the bezel along with the display driving
unit ([0004]).
Claim 3 (Withdrawn)
Claim 4 (Withdrawn)
As to claim 5, Min in view of Kim teach the display panel, wherein at least one first signal line (Min: scan lines SL, fig. 4) of the first signal lines (Min: emission control lines EL and scan lines SL, fig. 4) comprises at least one first connecting line (Min: the first curved part of scan line SL that surrounds OA1, fig. 4), wherein one of the at least one first connecting line electrically connects two parts, which are located at two sides of one functional component region of the at least two functional component regions (Min: a first opening area OA1, fig. 3), of one first signal line of the first signal lines (Min: scan line SL, fig. 3).
Claim 6 (Withdrawn)
As to claim 7, Min in view of Kim teach the display panel, wherein at least part of one first connecting line of the at least one first connecting line is located in the first non-display region (Min: [0066] an intermediate area MA located between each of the opening areas OA and the display area DA, [0090] The intermediate area MA is an area where a display element such as an organic light-emitting diode that emits light is not located, fig. 4).
Claim 8 (Withdrawn)
Claim 9 (Withdrawn)
Claim 10 (Withdrawn)
As to claim 11, Min in view of Kim teach the display panel, wherein the first signal lines comprise at least two first signal lines (Min: emission control lines EL and scan lines SL, fig. 4) corresponding to the at least two functional component regions (a first opening area OA1 and a second opening area OA2), wherein in the second direction (vertical direction, fig. 4), at least two first connecting lines in the at least two first signal lines are located at a same side of the at least two functional component regions (Min: Fig. 4 illustrates that the curved part of EL and SL corresponding to OA1 and OA2 are located at a same side of the OA1 and OA2).
Claim 12 (Withdrawn)
3. Claim(s) 14-17 and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al (US 2023/0020515) in view of Kim et al (US 2022/0069033) and further in view of Huang et al (US 2024/0257733).
As to claim 14, Min in view of Kim teach the display panel, further comprising: pixel driving circuits located in the display region, wherein each of the pixel driving circuit comprises: a driving transistor (Min: a driving thin-film transistor T1, fig. 5), a light-emitting control circuit (Min: T5 and T6, fig. 5) having a control terminal electrically connected to a light- emitting control signal line (Min: emission control line EL, fig. 5), a gate reset circuit (Min: a first initialization thin-film transistor T4, fig. 5) having a control terminal electrically connected to a first scanning control signal line (Min: previous scan line SLp, fig. 5) and an input terminal electrically connected to a first reset signal line (Min: first initialization voltage line VL1, fig. 5), a data input circuit (Min: switching thin-film transistor T2, fig. 5) having a control terminal electrically connected to one second scanning control signal line of second scanning control signal lines (Min: first scan line SL1, fig. 5), a threshold voltage compensation circuit (Min: gate electrode of the compensation thin-film transistor T3, fig. 5 ) having a control terminal electrically connected to a third scanning control signal line (Min: second scan line SL2, fig. 5), and a light-emitting element reset circuit (Min: T7, fig. 5) having an input terminal electrically connected to a second reset signal line (Min: Aint, fig. 5), wherein the at least one first-type signal line comprises at least one of the light-emitting control signal line (Min: emission control line EL, fig. 5), the first scanning control signal line (Min: previous scan line SLp, fig. 5), the third scanning control signal line (Min: second scan line SL2, fig. 5), or the fourth scanning control signal line (Min: next scan line SLn, fig. 5); and the control signal line comprises the one second scanning control signal line (Min: first scan line SL1, fig. 5)
Min in view of Kim do not teach a bias adjusting circuit having a control terminal electrically connected to a fourth scanning control signal line.
Huang teaches a bias adjusting circuit (3, fig. 6) having a control terminal electrically connected to a fourth scanning control signal line (Re1, fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Min and Kim to teach, a bias adjusting circuit, as suggested by Huang. the motivation would have been in order to improve “the afterimage problem of the display panel” ([0132]).
As to claim 15, Min in view of Kim and further in view of Huang teach the display panel, wherein the at least one second-type signal line further comprises a functional signal line (Min: first initialization voltage line Vl1 and second initialization voltage line VL2, fig. 5), wherein the functional signal line is configured to transmit a constant signal and is electrically connected to an input terminal of the pixel driving circuit (Min: an anode initialization voltage Aint, and first initialization voltage Vint, fig. 5).
As to claim 16, Min in view of Kim and further in view of Huang teach the display panel, wherein the functional signal line (Min: first initialization voltage line Vl1 and second initialization voltage line VL2, fig. 5) comprises the first reset signal line (Min: first initialization voltage line VL1, fig. 5).
As to claim 17, Min in view of Kim and further in view of Huang teach the display panel, wherein the functional signal line (Min: first initialization voltage line Vl1 and second initialization voltage line VL2, fig. 5) comprises the second reset signal line (Min: second initialization voltage line VL2, fig. 5).
Claim 18 (Withdrawn)
Claim 19 (Withdrawn)
Claim 20 (Withdrawn)
Claim 21 (Withdrawn)
Claim 22 (Withdrawn)
Claim 23 (Withdrawn)
Claim 24 (Withdrawn)
Claim 25 (Withdrawn)
Claim 26 (Withdrawn)
Claim 27 (Withdrawn)
Claim 28 (Withdrawn)
Claim 29 (Withdrawn)
Claim 30 (Withdrawn)
Claim 31 (Withdrawn)
Claim 32 (Withdrawn)
As to claim 33, Min in view of Kim and further in view of Huang teach the display panel, wherein the at least one first-type signal line (Min: scan lines SL, fig. 3) comprises a plurality of first-type signal lines (Min: see fig. 3), and the first-type driving circuit comprises a first-side driving circuit (Min: scan driver 2100 at the left hand side of fig. 3) and a second-side driving circuit (Min: scan driver 2100 at the right hand side of fig. 3), wherein the display region is located between the first-side driving circuit and the second-side driving circuit in the first direction (Min: DA, fig. 3), one of the plurality of first-type signal lines is electrically connected to the first-side driving circuit, and another one of the plurality of at least one first-type signal lines is electrically connected to the second- side driving circuit (Min: fig. 3 illustrates SL at the top is connected to the scan driver 2100 at the left hand side and SL at the bottom is connected to the scan driver 2100 at the right hand side).
As to claim 34, Min in view of Kim and further in view of Huang teach the display panel, wherein the first-side driving circuit comprises a first scanning control circuit (Min: scan driver 2100 at the left hand side of fig. 3) and a light-emitting control circuit (Min: emission control driver 2300 at the left hand side of fig. 3 ), wherein the first scanning control circuit is electrically connected to the first scanning control signal line (Min: SL at the top, fig. 3), and the light-emitting control circuit is electrically connected to the light-emitting control signal line (Min: EL at the top, fig. 3), and wherein the second-side driving circuit comprises a third scanning control circuit (Min: scan driver 2100 at the right hand side of fig. 3) and a fourth scanning control circuit (Min: emission control driver 2300 at the right hand side of fig. 3), wherein the third scanning control circuit is electrically connected to the third scanning control signal line (Min: SL at the bottom, fig. 3), and the fourth scanning control circuit is electrically connected to the fourth scanning control signal line (Min: EL at the bottom, fig. 3).
Claim 35 (Withdrawn)
Claim 36 (Withdrawn)
Claim 37 (Withdrawn)
Claim 38 (Withdrawn)
Claim 39 (Withdrawn)
Claim 40 (Withdrawn)
Claim 41 (Withdrawn)
Claim 42 (Withdrawn)
Claim 43 (Withdrawn)
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AMEN W BOGALE/Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628