DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on July 17, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of
US 12, 188,126 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the prior art of Ha et al (US 2015/0303037) does not disclose or suggest the claimed arrangement where the protruding nozzles are spaced apart from the centers of insertion holes by distances that increase from a central area to an edge area (first distance in the peripheral area and a larger second distance in the edge area), let alone an arrangement configured to allow process gas to be uniformly injected through the protruding nozzles and the insertion holes after thermal expansion.
The amendments to independent claims 1-3 clarify how the protruding nozzles and holes are offset from each other amendment . Specifically, the amendment to claim 1 clarifies that the first distance and the second distance are configured to allow the process gas to be uniformly injected through the protruding nozzles and insertion holes has necessitated the introduction of the new prior art rejections below. Likewise, the amendment to claim 2 clarifies that the protruding nozzles are inserted into the insertion holes so as to be further spaced apart from the centers of the insertion holes along a direction to which the second injection plate extends in directions from the central area to the edge area in order to allow the process gas to be uniformly injected through the protruding nozzles and the insertion holes has necessitated the introduction of the new prior art rejections below. Lastly, the amendment to claim 3 clarifies that the distances between outer circumferential surfaces of the protruding nozzles and inner circumferential surfaces of the insertion holes is configured to allow the process gas to be uniformly injected through the protruding nozzles and the insertion holes has necessitated the introduction of the new prior art rejections below.
The amendment clarifying that the process gas that the process gas to be uniformly injected through the protruding nozzles and the insertion holes necessitated the introduction of Kim et al US 2009/0178615 teaches that the substrate processing apparatus with a process chamber 110, a first injection plate 210 with protruding nozzles 215, and a second injection plate 220 with a plurality of injection holes 225 see Figs. 1 and 2.
The secondary reference (prior art of De La Llera et al) teaches the advantage of offsetting or misaligning gas passages (as represented by holes or nozzles) see [0032] – [0035].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2009/0178615) in view of De La Llera et al (US 2011/0086513).
Kim et al teaches that the substrate processing apparatus with a process chamber 110, a first injection plate 210 with protruding nozzles 215, and a second injection plate 220 with a plurality of injection holes 225 see Figs. 1 and 2. Note protruding nozzles 215 are discussed as gas conduits in [0049] of Kim et al.
The prior art of Kim et al fails to teach a center that is spaced apart from the centers of the insertion holes along a direction to which the second injection plate extends by a first distance in directions away from the central area in the peripheral area, and be spaced apart from the centers of the insertion holes along a direction to which the second injection plate extends by a second distance in directions away from the central area in the edge area, and wherein the first distance is shorter than the second distance, and where the first distance and the second distance are configured to allow the process gas to be uniformly injected through the protruding nozzles and the insertion holes.
The prior art of De La Llera et al teaches upper plate 14 (backing member) with gas distribution holes 30 and lower plate 12 (upper electrode) with gas distribution holes 28. See Fig. 2B with multiple gas channels 28 and 30 at ambient temperature. See Fig. 2B where dashed arcs 28B, 30B in Fig. 2B with concentric circles passing through the centers of the gas channels 28, 30 representing the axial position of each gas channel. The gas passages 28 and 30 are not aligned at room temperature such the centers of each pair of through holes 28,30 are non-concentric or offset. A circular backing member 14 and circular upper electrode 12, the degree of misalignment increases radially from the center of the backing member 14 and upper electrode 12 to the periphery of these elements. However, the location, size, and shape of the gas passages 28, 30 are adjusted such that the gas passages 28, 30 are concentric when the backing member 14 and the upper electrode 12 are heated to a particularly higher processing temperature. Upon heating with elevated temperatures, the dashed areas 28B, 30B in Fig. 2B radially expand by different amounts so that they coincide as seen in Fig. 2C The diameter of the through holes within the backing member 14 is large enough so that the gas channels 28 and 30 will coincide between ambient and elevated temperatures, as shown in Fig. 2. The distribution and configuration of the gas passages 28,30 of De La Llera et al can be used instead of the central alignment of the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al the alignment and distribution of insertion holes and protruding nozzles is a matter of design choice whose optimization would be determined by one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date to optimize so that the desired distribution of process gas is provided. The motivation to modify the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al as suggested by De La Llera et al so that they are distributed relative to each other to reduce the effect of thermal expansion. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al as suggested by De La Llera et al so that the center that is spaced apart from the centers of the insertion holes along a direction to which the second injection plate extends by a first distance in directions away from the central area in the peripheral area, and be spaced apart from the centers of the insertion holes and protruding nozzles along a direction to which the second injection plate extends by a second distance in directions away from the central area in the edge area, and wherein the first distance is shorter than the second distance where the first distance and the second distance are configured to allow the process gas to be uniformly injected through the protruding nozzles and the insertion holes.
.
Figs. 2B and 2C of De La Llera et al
Regarding claim 2: Kim et al teaches that the substrate processing apparatus with a process chamber 110, a first injection plate 210 with protruding nozzles 215, and a second injection plate 220 with a plurality of injection holes 225 see Figs. 1 and 2. Note protruding nozzles 215 are discussed as gas conduits in [0049] of Kim et al.
The prior art of Kim et al fails to teach the protruding nozzles are inserted into the insertion holes so as to be further spaced apart from centers of the insertion holes along a direction to which the second injection plate extends in directions from the central area to the edge area in order to allow the process gas to be uniformly injected through the protruding nozzles and the insertion holes.
The prior art of De La Llera et al teaches upper plate 14 (backing member) with gas distribution holes 30 and lower plate 12 (upper electrode) with gas distribution holes 28. See Fig. 2B with multiple gas channels 28 and 30 at ambient temperature. See Fig. 2B where dashed arcs 28B, 30B in Fig. 2B with concentric circles passing through the centers of the gas channels 28, 30 representing the axial position of each gas channel. The gas passages 28 and 30 are not aligned at room temperature such the centers of each pair of through holes 28,30 are non-concentric or offset. A circular backing member 14 and circular upper electrode 12, the degree of misalignment increases radially from the center of the backing member 14 and upper electrode 12 to the periphery of these elements. However, the location, size, and shape of the gas passages 28, 30 are adjusted such that the gas passages 28, 30 are concentric when the backing member 14 and the upper electrode 12 are heated to a particularly higher processing temperature. Upon heating with elevated temperatures, the dashed areas 28B, 30B in Fig. 2B radially expand by different amounts so that they coincide as seen in Fig. 2C The diameter of the through holes within the backing member 14 is large enough so that the gas channels 28 and 30 will coincide between ambient and elevated temperatures, as shown in Fig. 2. The distribution and configuration of the gas passages 28,30 of De La Llera et al can be used instead of the central alignment of the insertion holes and protrusion nozzles of Kim et al. The alignment and distribution of insertion holes and protruding nozzles is a matter of design choice whose optimization would be determined by one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date to optimize so that the desired distribution of process gas is provided. The motivation to modify the protruding nozzles and insertion holes of Kim et al are distributed as suggested by De La Llera et al so that they are reducing the effect of thermal expansion. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insertion holes of Kim et al as suggested by De La Llera et al so that the protruding nozzles are inserted into the insertion holes so as to be further spaced apart from centers of the insertion holes along a direction to which the second injection plate extends in directions from the central area to the edge area in order to allow the process gas to be uniformly injected through the protruding nozzles and the insertion holes.
Regarding claim 3: Kim et al teaches that the substrate processing apparatus with a process chamber 110, a first injection plate 210 with protruding nozzles 215, and a second injection plate 220 with a plurality of injection holes 225 see Figs. 1 and 2. Note protruding nozzles 215 are discussed as gas conduits in [0049] of Kim et al.
The prior art of Kim et al fails to teach shortest distances between outer circumferential surfaces of the protruding nozzles and inner circumferential surfaces of the insertion holes decrease along a direction to which the second injection plate extends in directions from the central area to the edge area of the second injection plate and where the distances between outer circumferential surfaces of the protruding nozzles and inner circumferential surfaces of the insertion holes is configured to allow the process gas to be uniformly injected through the protruding nozzles and the insertion nozzles.
The prior art of De La Llera et al teaches upper plate 14 (backing member) with gas distribution holes 30 and lower plate 12 (upper electrode) with gas distribution holes 28. See Fig. 2B with multiple gas channels 28 and 30 at ambient temperature. See Fig. 2B where dashed arcs 28B, 30B in Fig. 2B with concentric circles passing through the centers of the gas channels 28, 30 representing the axial position of each gas channel. The gas passages 28 and 30 are not aligned at room temperature such the centers of each pair of through holes 28,30 are non-concentric or offset. A circular backing member 14 and circular upper electrode 12, the degree of misalignment increases radially from the center of the backing member 14 and upper electrode 12 to the periphery of these elements. However, the location, size, and shape of the gas passages 28, 30 are adjusted such that the gas passages 28, 30 are concentric when the backing member 14 and the upper electrode 12 are heated to a particular higher processing temperature. Upon heating with elevated temperatures, the dashed areas 28B, 30B in Fig. 2B radially expand by different amounts so that they coincide as seen in Fig. 2C The diameter of the through holes within the backing member 14 is large enough so that the gas channels 28 and 30 will coincide between ambient and elevated temperatures, as shown in Fig. 2. The distribution and configuration of the gas passages 28,30 of De La Llera et al can be used instead of the central alignment of the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al. The alignment and distribution of insertion holes and protruding nozzles is a matter of design choice whose optimization would be determined by one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date to optimize so that the desired distribution of process gas is provided. The motivation to modify the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al as suggested by De La Llera et al so that they are reducing the effect of thermal expansion. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al as suggested by De La Llera et al so that shortest distances between outer circumferential surfaces of the protruding nozzles and inner circumferential surfaces of the insertion holes decrease along a direction to which the second injection plate extends in directions from the central area to the edge area of the second injection plate and where the distances between outer circumferential surfaces of the protruding nozzles and inner circumferential surfaces of the insertion holes is configured to allow the process gas to be uniformly injected through the protruding nozzles and the insertion nozzles.
Regarding claims 4-6: The teachings of Kim et al where discussed above. Kim et al fails to teach the process chamber has room temperature which is interpreted as the process chamber is maintained at room temperature.
The prior art of De La Llera et al teaches an upper electrode baking member with particle reducing features where the passages in the electrode and the passages in the backing member are misaligned at ambient temperature as recited in the abstract and [0005] of De La Llera et al.
The temperature of the process chamber is a processing parameter that would have determined and optimized without undue experimentation to ensure the chamber is maintained at an optimal temperature such as ambient temperature that would facilitate the desired flow distribution of process gases through the injection plates. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Kim et al with the suggestion of the prior art of De La Llera et al to maintain ambient temperature for the processing chamber.
Regarding claim 7-9: See Fig. 2 of Kim et al which illustrates the first injection plate 210 and second injection plate 220 which are a circular type.
Regarding claim 10: Kim et al teaches that the substrate processing apparatus with a process chamber 110, a first injection plate 210 with protruding nozzles 215, and a second injection plate 220 with a plurality of injection holes 225 see Figs. 1 and 2. Note protruding nozzles 215 are discussed as gas conduits in [0049] of Kim et al.
The prior art of De La Llera et al teaches upper plate 14 (backing member) with gas distribution holes 30 and lower plate 12 (upper electrode) with gas distribution holes 28. See Fig. 2B with multiple gas channels 28 and 30 at ambient temperature. See Fig. 2B where dashed arcs 28B, 30B in Fig. 2B with concentric circles passing through the centers of the gas channels 28, 30 representing the axial position of each gas channel. The gas passages 28 and 30 are not aligned at room temperature such the centers of each pair of through holes 28,30 are non-concentric or offset. A circular backing member 14 and circular upper electrode 12, the degree of misalignment increases radially from the center of the backing member 14 and upper electrode 12 to the periphery of these elements. However, the location, size, and shape of the gas passages 28, 30 are adjusted such that the gas passages 28, 30 are concentric when the backing member 14 and the upper electrode 12 are heated to a particular higher processing temperature. Upon heating with elevated temperatures, the dashed areas 28B, 30B in Fig. 2B radially expand by different amounts so that they coincide as seen in Fig. 2C The diameter of the through holes within the backing member 14 is large enough so that the gas channels 28 and 30 will coincide between ambient and elevated temperatures, as shown in Fig. 2. The distribution and configuration of the gas passages 28,30 of De La Llera et al can be used instead of the central alignment of the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al. The alignment and distribution of insertion holes and protruding nozzles is a matter of design choice whose optimization would be determined by one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date to optimize so that the desired distribution of process gas is provided. The motivation to modify the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al as suggested by De La Llera et al so that they are reducing the effect of thermal expansion. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al as suggested by De La Llera et al so that the protruding nozzles are inserted into the insertion holes so as to be spaced apart from the centers of the insertion holes by the first distance in directions away from the central area in the first peripheral area and be spaced apart from the centers of the insertion holes by a third distance in directions away from the central area in the second peripheral area, and wherein the first distance is equal to or shorter than the third distance.
Regarding claim 11: Kim et al teaches that the substrate processing apparatus with a process chamber 110, a first injection plate 210 with protruding nozzles 215, and a second injection plate 220 with a plurality of injection holes 225 see Figs. 1 and 2. Note protruding nozzles 215 are discussed as gas conduits in [0049] of Kim et al.
The prior art of Kim et al fails to teach the edge area includes a first edge area and a second edge area, and wherein the protruding nozzles are inserted into the insertion holes so as to be spaced apart from the centers of the insertion holes by the second distance in directions away from the central area in the first edge area and be spaced apart from the centers of the insertion holes by a fourth distance in directions away from the central area in the second edge area, and wherein the second distance is equal to or shorter than the fourth distance.
The prior art of De La Llera et al teaches upper plate 14 (backing member) with gas distribution holes 30 and lower plate 12 (upper electrode) with gas distribution holes 28. See Fig. 2B with multiple gas channels 28 and 30 at ambient temperature. See Fig. 2B where dashed arcs 28B, 30B in Fig. 2B with concentric circles passing through the centers of the gas channels 28, 30 representing the axial position of each gas channel. The gas passages 28 and 30 are not aligned at room temperature such the centers of each pair of through holes 28,30 are non-concentric or offset. A circular backing member 14 and circular upper electrode 12, the degree of misalignment increases radially from the center of the backing member 14 and upper electrode 12 to the periphery of these elements. However, the location, size, and shape of the gas passages 28, 30 are adjusted such that the gas passages 28, 30 are concentric when the backing member 14 and the upper electrode 12 are heated to a particular higher processing temperature. Upon heating with elevated temperatures, the dashed areas 28B, 30B in Fig. 2B radially expand by different amounts so that they coincide as seen in Fig. 2C The diameter of the through holes within the backing member 14 is large enough so that the gas channels 28 and 30 will coincide between ambient and elevated temperatures, as shown in Fig. 2. The distribution and configuration of the gas passages 28,30 of De La Llera et al can be used instead of the central alignment of the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al. The alignment and distribution of insertion holes and protruding nozzles is a matter of design choice whose optimization would be determined by one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date to optimize so that the desired distribution of process gas is provided. The motivation to modify the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al as suggested by De La Llera et al so that they are reducing the effect of thermal expansion. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al as suggested by De La Llera et al so that the protruding nozzles are spaced apart from the centers of insertion holes by distances that increase from a central area to an edge area (first distance in the peripheral area and a larger second distance in the edge area), let alone an arrangement configured to allow process gas to be uniformly injected through the protruding nozzles and the insertion holes.
Regarding claim 12: Kim et al teaches that the substrate processing apparatus with a process chamber 110, a first injection plate 210 with protruding nozzles 215, and a second injection plate 220 with a plurality of injection holes 225 see Figs. 1 and 2. Note protruding nozzles 215 are discussed as gas conduits in [0049] of Kim et al.
The prior art of Kim et al fails to the third distance is equal to or shorter than the second distance and is shorter than the fourth distance.
The prior art of De La Llera et al teaches upper plate 14 (backing member) with gas distribution holes 30 and lower plate 12 (upper electrode) with gas distribution holes 28. See Fig. 2B with multiple gas channels 28 and 30 at ambient temperature. See Fig. 2B where dashed arcs 28B, 30B in Fig. 2B with concentric circles passing through the centers of the gas channels 28, 30 representing the axial position of each gas channel. The gas passages 28 and 30 are not aligned at room temperature such the centers of each pair of through holes 28,30 are non-concentric or offset. A circular backing member 14 and circular upper electrode 12, the degree of misalignment increases radially from the center of the backing member 14 and upper electrode 12 to the periphery of these elements. However, the location, size, and shape of the gas passages 28, 30 are adjusted such that the gas passages 28, 30 are concentric when the backing member 14 and the upper electrode 12 are heated to a particular higher processing temperature. Upon heating with elevated temperatures, the dashed areas 28B, 30B in Fig. 2B radially expand by different amounts so that they coincide as seen in Fig. 2C The diameter of the through holes within the backing member 14 is large enough so that the gas channels 28 and 30 will coincide between ambient and elevated temperatures, as shown in Fig. 2. The distribution and configuration of the gas passages 28,30 of De La Llera et al can be used instead of the central alignment of the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al. The alignment and distribution of insertion holes and protruding nozzles is a matter of design choice whose optimization would be determined by one of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date to optimize so that the desired distribution of process gas is provided. The motivation to modify the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al as suggested by De La Llera et al so that process gas to be uniformly injected through the protruding nozzles and the insertion holes.
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al as suggested by De La Llera et al so that the third distance is equal to or shorter than the second distance and is shorter than the fourth distance.
Regarding claim 13: Kim et al teaches that the substrate processing apparatus with a process chamber 110, a first injection plate 210 with protruding nozzles 215, and a second injection plate 220 with a plurality of injection holes 225 see Figs. 1 and 2. Note protruding nozzles 215 are discussed as gas conduits in [0049] of Kim et al.
The prior art of Kim et al fails to teach the shortest distances between the outer circumferential surfaces of the protruding nozzles and the inner circumferential surfaces of the insertion holes are distances between the outer circumferential surfaces of the protruding nozzles and the inner circumferential surfaces of the corresponding insertion holes, located opposite to the central area.
The prior art of De La Llera et al teaches upper plate 14 (backing member) with gas distribution holes 30 and lower plate 12 (upper electrode) with gas distribution holes 28. See Fig. 2B with multiple gas channels 28 and 30 at ambient temperature. See Fig. 2B where dashed arcs 28B, 30B in Fig. 2B with concentric circles passing through the centers of the gas channels 28, 30 representing the axial position of each gas channel. The gas passages 28 and 30 are not aligned at room temperature such the centers of each pair of through holes 28,30 are non-concentric or offset. A circular backing member 14 and circular upper electrode 12, the degree of misalignment increases radially from the center of the backing member 14 and upper electrode 12 to the periphery of these elements. However, the location, size, and shape of the gas passages 28, 30 are adjusted such that the gas passages 28, 30 are concentric when the backing member 14 and the upper electrode 12 are heated to a particular higher processing temperature. Upon heating with elevated temperatures, the dashed areas 28B, 30B in Fig. 2B radially expand by different amounts so that they coincide as seen in Fig. 2C The diameter of the through holes within the backing member 14 is large enough so that the gas channels 28 and 30 will coincide between ambient and elevated temperatures, as shown in Fig. 2. The distribution and configuration of the gas passages 28,30 of De La Llera et al can be used instead of the central alignment of the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al so that process gas to be uniformly injected through the protruding nozzles and the insertion holes.
The motivation to modify the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al as suggested by De La Llera et so that they are reducing the effect of thermal expansion. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insertion holes and protruding nozzles of Kim et al as suggested by De La Llera et al so that process gas to be uniformly injected through the protruding nozzles and the insertion holes so that the shortest distances between the outer circumferential surfaces of the protruding nozzles and the inner circumferential surfaces of the insertion holes are distances between the outer circumferential surfaces of the protruding nozzles and the inner circumferential surfaces of the corresponding insertion holes, located opposite to the central area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP2001-262351 teaches a showerhead and film deposition system with gas nozzles 24 and insertion holes 27.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716