DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Glad et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0298884).
Regarding claim 1, the Glad et al. (hereinafter Glad) reference discloses a garter spring (10), comprising:
an outer coiled spring member (12) having an inside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) and an outside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f);
a middle coiled spring member (22) having an inside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) and an outside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) located within the inside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) of the outer coiled spring member; and
an inner coiled spring member (32) having an inside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) and an outside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) located within the inside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) of the middle coiled spring member (Figs. 3d,3f).
Regarding claim 11, the Glad reference discloses a downhole tool (Title), comprising:
an elongate mandrel (Para. [0047]); and
a seal assembly encircling the mandrel (Figs. 1a,1b), the seal assembly configured to move between an unset state and a set state (Figs. 1a,1b, the seal assembly including:
a seal element encircling the elongate mandrel and configured to radially deform into contact with a wall of a wellbore when the seal assembly moves from the unset state to the set state (Figs. 1a,1b); and
a garter spring (10), comprising:
an outer coiled spring member (12) having an inside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) and an outside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f);
a middle coiled spring member (22) having an inside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) and an outside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) located within the inside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) of the outer coiled spring member; and
an inner coiled spring member (32) having an inside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) and an outside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) located within the inside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) of the middle coiled spring member (Figs. 3d,3f).
Regarding claim 21, the Glad reference discloses a well system (Title), comprising:
a wellbore extending through one or more subterranean formations (e.g. Figs. 1a,1b); and
a downhole tool (Title), comprising:
an elongate mandrel (Para. [0047]); and
a seal assembly encircling the mandrel (Figs. 1a,1b), the seal assembly configured to move between an unset state and a set state (Figs. 1a,1b, the seal assembly including:
a seal element encircling the elongate mandrel and configured to radially deform into contact with a wall of a wellbore when the seal assembly moves from the unset state to the set state (Figs. 1a,1b); and
a garter spring (10), comprising:
an outer coiled spring member (12) having an inside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) and an outside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f);
a middle coiled spring member (22) having an inside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) and an outside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) located within the inside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) of the outer coiled spring member; and
an inner coiled spring member (32) having an inside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) and an outside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) located within the inside diameter (Figs. 3d,3f) of the middle coiled spring member (Figs. 3d,3f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glad.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, the Glad reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claims 1 and 11.
However the Glad reference fails to explicitly disclose the outer coiled spring member and the inner coiled spring member are wound in a first direction.
The Glad reference discloses that the outer coil and the middle coil are in opposite directions (Para. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the next inner coil to be wound opposite the middle coil to be wound in the opposite direction in order to ensure optimal pressure and to prevent slipping of the coils.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the Glad refenerence, as modified in claims 11 and 12, discloses the middle coiled spring member is wound in a second opposite direction to the first direction (Para. [0044]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GILBERT Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675