Claims 1-17 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1 and 10 recite obtaining a target program package file of a client; determining target status information of a preset functional module set in the target program package file, wherein the preset functional module set contains at least one preset functional module, and the preset functional module set has different status information in program package files used by different installation channels; and determining target installation channel information of the client based on the target status information.
The limitation of obtaining a target program package file and determining target status information, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a processor” and “a memory” (in claim 10) nothing in the claim elements precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “processor” and “memory” language (in claim 10), “obtaining a target program package file” and “determining target status information” in the context of these claims encompasses a user mentally determining status. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional step of determining target installation channel information of the client based on the target status information.
The determining target installation channel information step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of determining information) and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The combination of this additional step is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (i.e. the processor and the memory). Accordingly, even in combination, this additional step does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the processor is a generic computer processor which performs the determining target installation channel information step. The only additional element of determining target installation channel information step which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(d) and WURC as data gathering, which is covered by court cases in MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 2 recites "wherein the preset functional module is configured to be updated along with updating of a basic module in the program package file" (mental processes). The features of this claim do not add any additional elements integrating the abstract idea into a practical application or amounting to significantly more.
Claim 3 recites "wherein the program package file is an Android app bundle (AAB) file, the basic module is a base module in the AAB file, and the preset functional module is a dynamic feature module in the AAB file" (mental processes). The features of this claim do not add any additional elements integrating the abstract idea into a practical application or amounting to significantly more.
Claim 4 recites "wherein the target status information is used to indicate whether the target program package file contains the preset functional module" (mental processes). The features of this claim do not add any additional elements integrating the abstract idea into a practical application or amounting to significantly more.
Claim 5 recites "wherein the target status information comprises a module set code of the preset functional module set, and determining the target status information of the preset functional module set in the target program package file comprises: performing functional module detection on the target program package file to generate a detection result, wherein the detection result is used to indicate module information of a first functional module and/or module information of a second functional module, the first functional module is a preset functional module contained in the target program package file, and the second functional module is a preset functional module not contained in the target program package file; and encoding the at least one preset functional module in a preset encoding manner based on the detection result to obtain the module set code of the preset functional module set" (mental processes). The features of this claim do not add any additional elements integrating the abstract idea into a practical application or amounting to significantly more.
Claim 6 recites "wherein encoding the at least one preset functional module in the preset encoding manner based on the detection result to obtain the module set code of the preset functional module set comprises: determining a status code of the first functional module as a first status code corresponding to the preset encoding manner, and determining a status code of the second functional module as a second status code corresponding to the preset encoding manner; arranging the status code of the at least one preset functional module according to a preset arrangement order corresponding to the preset encoding manner; and combining the arranged status code into one code as the module set code of the preset functional module set" (mental processes). The features of this claim do not add any additional elements integrating the abstract idea into a practical application or amounting to significantly more.
Claim 7 recites "wherein the preset encoding manner comprises a binary encoding manner" (mental processes). The features of this claim do not add any additional elements integrating the abstract idea into a practical application or amounting to significantly more.
Claim 8 recites "wherein determining target installation channel information of the client based on the target status information comprises: retrieving installation channel information corresponding to the target status information from a preset correspondence table, using the installation channel information as the target installation channel information of the client, and sending the target installation channel information to a server, wherein the preset correspondence table is used to record correspondences between different status information and different installation channel information; or sending the target status information to the server, wherein the sent target status information is used by the server to determine the target installation channel information of the client" (mental processes). The features of this claim do not add any additional elements integrating the abstract idea into a practical application or amounting to significantly more.
Claim 9 recites receiving target status information sent by a client, wherein the target status information is status information of a preset functional module set in a target program package file of the client, the preset functional module set contains at least one preset functional module, and the preset functional module set has different status information in program package files used by different installation channels; and retrieving installation channel information corresponding to the target status information from a preset correspondence table, and using the installation channel information as target installation channel information of the client, wherein the preset correspondence table is used to record correspondences between different status information and different installation channel information.
The limitation of receiving target status information, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind, then it falls within the "Mental Processes" grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional step of retrieving installation channel information.
The retrieving installation channel information step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of retrieving information) and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The combination of this additional step is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. Accordingly, even in combination, this additional step does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The only additional element of retrieving installation channel information step which is insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(d) and WURC as data gathering, which is covered by court cases in MPEP 2106.05(g)). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 11 recites "wherein the preset functional module is configured to be updated along with updating of a basic module in the program package file" (mental processes). The features of this claim do not add any additional elements integrating the abstract idea into a practical application or amounting to significantly more.
Claim 12 recites "wherein the program package file is an Android app bundle (AAB) file, the basic module is a base module in the AAB file, and the preset functional module is a dynamic feature module in the AAB file" (mental processes). The features of this claim do not add any additional elements integrating the abstract idea into a practical application or amounting to significantly more.
Claim 13 recites "wherein the target status information is used to indicate whether the target program package file contains the preset functional module" (mental processes). The features of this claim do not add any additional elements integrating the abstract idea into a practical application or amounting to significantly more.
Claim 14 recites "wherein the target status information comprises a module set code of the preset functional module set, and determining the target status information of the preset functional module set in the target program package file comprises: performing functional module detection on the target program package file to generate a detection result, wherein the detection result is used to indicate module information of a first functional module and/or module information of a second functional module, the first functional module is a preset functional module contained in the target program package file, and the second functional module is a preset functional module not contained in the target program package file; and encoding the at least one preset functional module in a preset encoding manner based on the detection result to obtain the module set code of the preset functional module set" (mental processes). The features of this claim do not add any additional elements integrating the abstract idea into a practical application or amounting to significantly more.
Claim 15 recites "wherein encoding the at least one preset functional module in the preset encoding manner based on the detection result to obtain the module set code of the preset functional module set comprises: determining a status code of the first functional module as a first status code corresponding to the preset encoding manner, and determining a status code of the second functional module as a second status code corresponding to the preset encoding manner; arranging the status code of the at least one preset functional module according to a preset arrangement order corresponding to the preset encoding manner; and combining the arranged status code into one code as the module set code of the preset functional module set" (mental processes). The features of this claim do not add any additional elements integrating the abstract idea into a practical application or amounting to significantly more.
Claim 16 recites "wherein the preset encoding manner comprises a binary encoding manner" (mental processes). The features of this claim do not add any additional elements integrating the abstract idea into a practical application or amounting to significantly more.
Claim 17 recites "wherein determining target installation channel information of the client based on the target status information comprises: retrieving installation channel information corresponding to the target status information from a preset correspondence table, using the installation channel information as the target installation channel information of the client, and sending the target installation channel information to a server, wherein the preset correspondence table is used to record correspondences between different status information and different installation channel information; or sending the target status information to the server, wherein the sent target status information is used by the server to determine the target installation channel information of the client" (mental processes). The features of this claim do not add any additional elements integrating the abstract idea into a practical application or amounting to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 10-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riewrangboonya (US 2017/0161046).
Per Claim 1:
Riewrangboonya teaches:
- obtaining a target program package file of a client; determining target status information of a preset functional module set in the target program package file, wherein the preset functional module set contains at least one preset functional module, and the preset functional module set has different status information in program package files used by different installation channels; and determining target installation channel information of the client based on the target status information (e.g. see abstract “… A method for managing a software package, including: accessing a request to process one or more package definitions in relation to a data repository which retains package definitions, wherein the one or more package definitions is associated with the software package; determining a status of an assertion that indicates either a completed assertion or an incomplete assertion; if the status is determined to be the incomplete assertion, then determining requirements for the software package to be configured for the hyper-converged appliance; attempting to find a match for the assertion in a pool of known resolvable assertions, wherein the match will allow the assertion to be resolved through accessible provisions and thereby fulfil the requirements; if the match is found, then using the accessible provisions to resolve and thereby complete the assertion; and if the assertion is completed, continuing an installation process of the software package. …”; and [0051] Appliance 300 includes software to support a virtualization infrastructure. That is, appliance 300 includes code or instructions stored on physical hardware in appliance 300, that when executed by a processor, supports a virtualization infrastructure. For instance, appliance 300 includes pre-configured software module 320.; also, see par. 0096).
Per Claim 2:
Riewrangboonya teaches:
- wherein the preset functional module is configured to be updated along with updating of a basic module in the program package file (par. 0096).
Per Claim 4:
Riewrangboonya teaches:
- wherein the target status information is used to indicate whether the target program package file contains the preset functional module (abstract and par. 0051).
Per Claims 10-11 & 13:
These are device versions of the claimed method discussed above (claims 1-2 and 4, respectively), wherein all claim limitations also have been addressed and/or covered in cited areas as set forth above. Thus, accordingly, these claims are also anticipated by Riewrangboonya.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 USC 101, but would be allowable if the 35 USC 101 rejection is overcome.
Claims 3, 5-8, 12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 USC 101, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the 35 USC 101 rejection is overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited prior art taken alone or in combination fail to teach, in combination with the other claimed limitations, retrieving installation channel information corresponding to the target status information from a preset correspondence table, and using the installation channel information as target installation channel information of the client, wherein the preset correspondence table is used to record correspondences between different status information and different installation channel information as recited in independent claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tenczar (US 2017/0185444) teaches a method for determining dependencies for a package to be installed.
/QAMRUN NAHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199