DETAILED ACTION
This Final action is in response to an amendment filed 5/19/2026. Currently claims 1-20 are pending, but claims 6-7, 12-13 and 19-20 are withdrawn from examination as directed to non-elected subject matter and claims 1-5, 8-11 and 14-18 are examined as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. in US 2021/0055848 (hereinafter Bae) in view of Nohno et al in US 6,239,788 (hereinafter Nohno).
Regarding claim 1, Bae disclose a display device (Bae’s Fig. 1: see 160) comprising: a display panel (Bae’s Fig. 3 and par. 72) comprising touch driving electrodes (Bae’s par. 74-75: x-axis line sensors that are charged [driven]); and a touch driver circuit (Bae’s Fig. 3: see 340) comprising a driving signal output unit (Bae’s par. 75: x-axis transmitters) configured to output driving signals (Bae’s par. 75: charging the plurality of x-axis line sensors) supplied to the touch driving electrodes (Bae’s par. 74: x-axis line sensors), and a touch control unit (Bae’s par. 73: touch AFE, ADC, DSP or MCU) configured to control the driving signal output unit (Bae’s par. 75), wherein the touch driver circuit (Bae’s Fig. 3: see 340) is configured to: output the driving signals in response to a vertical synchronization signal (Bae’s Fig. 5 and par. 88-89: drive the touch AFE upon receiving vertical synchronization signal); receive a detection signal associated with a touch input on the display panel (Bae’s par. 89: sense plurality of sensors to detect touch input).
Bae fails to disclose the touch driver circuit is configured to: sequentially output the driving signals in response to a vertical synchronization signal; or calculate an elapsed time from a first time when the vertical synchronization signal is output until a second time when the detection signal is received; and determine touch coordinates of the touch input based on the elapsed time.
However, in the same field of endeavor of touch detection in touch panels based on clock signals, Nohno discloses sequentially outputting driving signals (Nohno’s Fig. 1 and col. 13 lines 26-30: sequentially making a source electrode for scan) in response to a clock signal that sets a touch period and a display period (Nohno’s Fig. 6 and col. 17 line 41-44); receiving a detection signal (Nohno’s Fig. 1 and col. 13 lines 46-64: x-coordinate or y-coordinate detection voltage) associated with a touch input (Nohno’s col. 13 line 65 to col. 14 line 10: peak detection of the detection voltage); calculating an elapsed time (Nohno’s col. 14 lines 3-6: count value of number of clocks from the start of the scanning of the source electrode to the peak detection of the X-coordinate detection voltage, see also col. 25 lines 17-26) from a start of the coordinate detection (Nohno’s col. 14 lines 3-6, col. 25 lines 17-26: start of coordinate detection) until a second time when the detection signal is received (Nohno’s col. 14 lines 3-6: peak detection of the X-coordinate detection voltage); and determining touch coordinates of the touch input based on the elapsed time (Nohno’s col. 14 line 6: x-coordinate value [from count value]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Bae’s outputting of the driving signals is sequential, and that the touch input coordinate information is determined based on the elapsed time from the start of the scan [Vsync] to when the detection signal is received (as disclosed by Nohno), in order to obtain the predictable result of sequential operation (Bae’s par. 51) and the predictable result of the touch input coordinate information based on the time when a synchronization signal is received (Bae’s par. 111).
By doing such combination, Bae in view of Nohno disclose:
A display device (Bae’s Fig. 1: see 160) comprising:
a display panel (Bae’s Fig. 3 and par. 72) comprising touch driving electrodes (Bae’s par. 74-75: x-axis line sensors that are charged [driven]); and
a touch driver circuit (Bae’s Fig. 3: see 340) comprising a driving signal output unit (Bae’s par. 75: x-axis transmitters) configured to output driving signals (Bae’s par. 75: charging the plurality of x-axis line sensors) supplied to the touch driving electrodes (Bae’s par. 74: x-axis line sensors), and a touch control unit (Bae’s par. 73: touch AFE, ADC, DSP or MCU) configured to control the driving signal output unit (Bae’s par. 75).
wherein the touch driver circuit (Bae’s Fig. 3: see 340) is configured to:
sequentially output the driving signals in response to a vertical synchronization signal (Bae’s Fig. 5 and par. 88-89: drive the touch AFE upon receiving vertical synchronization signal, which upon combination is sequential per Nohno’s Fig. 1 and col. 13 lines 26-30: sequentially making a source electrode for scan);
receive a detection signal associated with a touch input on the display panel (Bae’s par. 89: sense plurality of sensors to detect touch input, which upon combination is detecting a peak of an x or y coordinate detection voltage per Nohno’s col. 13 line 46 to col. 14 line 10);
calculate an elapsed time (Nohno’s col. 14 lines 3-6: count value of number of clocks from the start of the scanning of the source electrode to the peak detection of the X-coordinate detection voltage) from a first time when the vertical synchronization signal is output (Nohno’s col. 14 lines 3-6, col. 25 lines 17-26: start of coordinate detection which upon combination is the vertical synchronization signal of Bae’s Fig. 5 and par. 88-89) until a second time when the detection signal is received (Nohno’s col. 14 lines 3-6: peak detection of the X-coordinate detection voltage); and
determine touch coordinates of the touch input based on the elapsed time (Nohno’s col. 14 line 5: x-coordinate value [from count value] which is equivalent to detecting input from synchronization signal in Bae’s par. 111).
Regarding claim 8, Bae disclose an electronic device (Bae’s par. 1) comprising: a host (Bae’s Figs. 1, 3 and par. 42, 50: see server 108 or processor); a display panel (Bae’s Fig. 3 and par. 72) comprising touch driving electrodes (Bae’s par. 74-75: x-axis line sensors that are charged [driven]); and a touch driver circuit (Bae’s Fig. 3: see 340) comprising a driving signal output unit (Bae’s par. 75: x-axis transmitters) configured to output driving signals (Bae’s par. 75: charging the plurality of x-axis line sensors) supplied to the touch driving electrodes (Bae’s par. 74: x-axis line sensors), and a touch control unit (Bae’s par. 73: touch AFE, ADC, DSP or MCU) configured to control the driving signal output unit (Bae’s par. 75), wherein the touch driver circuit (Bae’s Fig. 3: see 340) is configured to: output the driving signals in response to a vertical synchronization signal of the display panel (Bae’s Figs. 5, 7 and par. 87-89: drive the touch AFE upon receiving vertical synchronization signal TSP_Vsync which is synchronized with Vsync, TSP_Vsync is supplied at the start of the frame [when Vsync is supplied]) indicating a frame period for display of an image (Bae’s par. 84 Vsync for display of content in a frame, par. 68: TSP_Vysnc is a multiple of the frame rate [based on Vsync]); receive a detection signal associated with a touch input on the display panel (Bae’s par. 89: sense plurality of sensors to detect touch input).
Bae fails to disclose the touch driver circuit is configured to: sequentially output the driving signals in response to a vertical synchronization signal; or transmit an elapsed time until a second time when the detection signal is received measured from a first time when the vertical synchronization signal is output by the host of the display device; and wherein the host determines touch coordinates of the touch input based on the elapsed time received from the touch driver circuit.
However, in the same field of endeavor of touch detection in touch panels based on clock signals, Nohno discloses sequentially outputting driving signals (Nohno’s Fig. 1 and col. 13 lines 26-30: sequentially making a source electrode for scan) in response to a clock signal that sets a touch period and a display period (Nohno’s Fig. 6 and col. 17 line 41-44); receiving a detection signal (Nohno’s Fig. 1 and col. 13 lines 46-64: x-coordinate or y-coordinate detection voltage) associated with a touch input (Nohno’s col. 13 line 65 to col. 14 line 10: peak detection of the detection voltage); transmitting an elapsed time (Nohno’s col. 14 lines 3-6: count value of number of clocks from the start of the scanning of the source electrode to the peak detection of the X-coordinate detection voltage, see also col. 25 lines 17-26) until a second time when the detection signal is received (Nohno’s col. 14 lines 3-6: peak detection of the X-coordinate detection voltage) from a start of the coordinate detection (Nohno’s col. 14 lines 3-6, col. 25 lines 17-26: start of coordinate detection); and determining touch coordinates of the touch input based on the elapsed time (Nohno’s col. 14 line 6: x-coordinate value [from count value]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Bae’s outputting of the driving signals is sequential, and that the touch input coordinate information is determined based on the elapsed time from the start of the scan [Vsync] to when the detection signal is received (as disclosed by Nohno), in order to obtain the predictable result of sequential operation (Bae’s par. 51) and the predictable result of the touch input coordinate information based on the time when a synchronization signal is received (Bae’s par. 111).
By doing such combination, Bae in view of Nohno disclose:
An electronic device (Bae’s par. 1) comprising:
a host (Bae’s Figs. 1, 3 and par. 42, 50, 55: see server 108 or processor)
a display panel (Bae’s Fig. 3 and par. 72) comprising touch driving electrodes (Bae’s par. 74-75: x-axis line sensors that are charged [driven]); and
a touch driver circuit (Bae’s Fig. 3: see 340) comprising a driving signal output unit (Bae’s par. 75: x-axis transmitters) configured to output driving signals (Bae’s par. 75: charging the plurality of x-axis line sensors) supplied to the touch driving electrodes (Bae’s par. 74: x-axis line sensors), and a touch control unit (Bae’s par. 73: touch AFE, ADC, DSP or MCU) configured to control the driving signal output unit (Bae’s par. 75).
wherein the touch driver circuit (Bae’s Fig. 3: see 340) is configured to:
sequentially output the driving signals in response to a vertical synchronization signal of the display panel (Bae’s Fig. 5 and par. 88-89: drive the touch AFE upon receiving TSP_Vsync which is synchronized with Vsync; upon combination the driving is sequential per Nohno’s Fig. 1 and col. 13 lines 26-30: sequentially making a source electrode for scan) indicating a frame period for display of an image (Bae’s par. 84 Vsync for display of content in a frame);
receive a detection signal associated with a touch input on the display panel (Bae’s par. 89: sense plurality of sensors to detect touch input, which upon combination is detecting a peak of an x or y coordinate detection voltage per Nohno’s col. 13 line 46 to col. 14 line 10);
transmit an elapsed time (Nohno’s col. 14 lines 3-6: count value of number of clocks from the start of the scanning of the source electrode to the peak detection of the X-coordinate detection voltage, where the count value of number of clocks from the start is a scanning time [elapsed time] per Nohno’s col. 25 lines 17-26) until a second time when the detection signal is received (Nohno’s col. 14 lines 3-6: peak detection of the X-coordinate detection voltage) from a first time when the vertical synchronization signal is output (Nohno’s col. 14 lines 3-6, col. 25 lines 17-26: start of coordinate detection which upon combination is the vertical synchronization signal of Bae’s Fig. 5 and par. 88-89) by the host of the electronic device (Nohno’s Fig. 3 and par. 84: Vsync output by circuit 320, par. 42: all operations of device 101 executed by external device 108 [server]); and
wherein the host (Bae’s par. 42: all operations of device 101 executed by external device 108 [server]) determines touch coordinates of the touch input based on the elapsed time (Nohno’s col. 14 line 5: x-coordinate value [from count value] which is equivalent to detecting input from synchronization signal in Bae’s par. 111).
Regarding claim 14, Bae in view of Nohno disclose a method for driving a display device as described for claim 1.
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 15, Bae in view of Nohno disclose wherein the display panel further comprises touch sensing electrodes (Bae’s par. 74, 76: y-axis line sensors, receivers) disposed intersecting with the touch driving electrodes (Bae’s par. 74: x vs. y), and wherein the touch driver circuit (Bae’s Fig. 3: see 340) receives the detection signal through the touch sensing electrodes (Bae’s par. 74-76, 88: receive at receivers when y-axis are receivers and x-axis are transmitters).
Regarding claim 9, Bae in view of Nohno disclose wherein the host is a processor (Bae’s Figs. 1, 3: see server 108 or processor).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 11 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3, 11 and 16, the prior art fails to disclose ALL limitations of their respective independent claims in addition to “store a plurality of first output times until the driving signals are sequentially output measured from the first time; store a plurality of second output times until horizontal synchronization signals of the display panel are sequentially output measured from the first time; determine a first counting time corresponding to the elapsed time among the plurality of first output times, to determine an x coordinate of the touch coordinates based on the first counting time; and determine a second counting time corresponding to the elapsed time among the plurality of second output times, to determine a y coordinate of the touch coordinates based on the second counting time”. Dependent claims 4-5 and 17-18 are indicated as allowable for at least the same reason.
The closest prior art to Bae and Nohno fail to disclose these features.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
On the Remarks pgs. 9-12, Applicant argues with respect to independent claims 1, 8 and 14 that Nohno’s counting of clock pulses until a peak detecting voltage is observed, is different from the claimed elapsed time measured from a first time the vertical synchronization signal is output. The office must respectfully disagree, Nohno clearly states that the coordinate is obtained on the basis of the scanning time from the start of the coordinate detection to the peak voltage (Nohno’s col. 25 lines 17-26), this is implemented by counting the clocks from the start of a detection period to the peak value (Nohno’s col. 13 line 65 to col. 14 line 10), the clock having a frequency that allows for detecting the elapsed time to the peak value (Nohno’s col. 24 line 7-26: see n x 5 µsec, where n is the number of clocks).
With respect to the vertical synchronization signal, the office agrees that Nohno start of the detection period is not disclosed as a first time when the vertical synchronization signal is output. However, the claim is rejected over Bae in view of Nohno, and Bae does disclose the start of the detection period as a first time of Vsync output (Bae’s Fig. 5).
Applicant arguments presented on the Remarks filed 5/19/2026 with respect to amended claims 3, 11 and 16 are persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LILIANA CERULLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621