DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: “wherein the ultraviolet (UV) light source “disposes” a bottom region”. It is indefinite what “light source “disposes” a bottom region” is trying to claim ownership of.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over OH (KR 20090017277 A) in view of OGAWA (US 20130167873 A1).
Regarding claim 1, OH discloses a sterilizing device (abstract) (figs. 2-5) comprising:
a main body (20, 25) including an inner region (of 60);
an ultraviolet (UV) light source (50) disposed on the main body (of 25) and configured to irradiate UV light toward the inner region of the main body;
But OH fails to disclose a first reflector disposed on the inner region of the main body: and a second reflector disposed on an upper region of the main body, wherein the first reflector is arranged in a first direction parallel to the inner region, and wherein the second reflector is arranged in a second direction different from the first direction, and configured to reflect the UV light reflected from the first reflector to the inner region of the main body.
OGAWA, however, discloses a sterilizing device (abstract) (fig. 1) comprising:
a main body (10) including an inner region (11);
an ultraviolet (UV) light source (30) disposed “on” (30 is supported by 10) the main body and configured to irradiate UV light toward the inner region of the main body;
a first reflector (40) [0029] disposed on the inner region of the main body: and
a second reflector (other 40) [0029] disposed on an upper region of the main body,
wherein the first reflector (40) [0029] is arranged in a first direction (sides of 40) parallel to the inner region, and
wherein the second reflector (other 40) [0029] is arranged in a second direction (top and/or bottom of 40) different from the first direction, and configured to reflect the UV light reflected from the first reflector (40) [0029] to the inner region of the main body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of OH, with first and second reflectors for reflecting UV light, as taught by OGAWA, to use for capturing and concentrating the UV light upon a target/fixture to thereby increase sterilization efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, OH discloses a sterilizing device (abstract) (figs. 2-5) comprising:
a main body (20, 25) including an inner region (of 60);
an ultraviolet (UV) light source (50) disposed on a bottom region of the main body (of 25) and configured to irradiate UV light toward the inner region of the main body;
But OH fails to disclose a first reflector disposed on the inner region of the main body; and a second reflector disposed on an upper region of the main body, wherein the first reflector is spaced apart from the ultraviolet (UV) light source and is configured to reflect the UV light emitted to the upper region of the main body.
OGAWA, however, discloses a sterilizing device (abstract) (fig. 1) comprising:
a main body (10) including an inner region (11);
an ultraviolet (UV) light source (30) disposed in the main body and configured to irradiate UV light toward the inner region of the main body;
a first reflector (40) [0029] disposed on the inner region of the main body; and
a second reflector (other 40) [0029] disposed on an upper region of the main body,
wherein the first reflector (40) [0029] is spaced apart from the ultraviolet (UV) light source (30) and is configured to reflect the UV light emitted to the upper region of the main body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of OH, with first and second reflectors for reflecting UV light, as taught by OGAWA, to use for capturing and concentrating the UV light upon a target/fixture to thereby increase sterilization efficiency.
Regarding claim 14, OH discloses a sterilizing device (abstract) (figs. 2-5) comprising:
a main body (20, 25) including an inner region (of 60);
an ultraviolet (UV) light source (50) disposed on a bottom region of the main body (of 25) and configured to irradiate UV light toward the inner region of the main body;
wherein the ultraviolet (UV) light source (50) is configured to irradiate UV light from the bottom region
But OH fails to disclose a first reflector disposed on the inner region of the main body; and a second reflector disposed on an upper region of the main body, wherein the ultraviolet (UV) light source is configured to irradiate UV light from the bottom region toward the second reflector, and the second reflector is configured to reflect the UV light in a downward direction to the main body.
OGAWA, however, discloses a sterilizing device (abstract) (fig. 1) comprising:
a main body (10) including an inner region (11);
an ultraviolet (UV) light source (30) disposed in the main body and configured to irradiate UV light toward the inner region of the main body;
a first reflector (40) [0029] disposed on the inner region of the main body; and
a second reflector (other 40) [0029] disposed on an upper region of the main body,
wherein the ultraviolet (UV) light source (30) is configured to irradiate UV light from the bottom region toward the second reflector (other 40) [0029] , and the second reflector is configured to reflect the UV light in a downward direction to the main body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of OH, with first and second reflectors for reflecting UV light, as taught by OGAWA, to use for capturing and concentrating the UV light upon a target/fixture to thereby increase sterilization efficiency.
Moreover, regarding claim(s) 3, OGAWA discloses wherein the second direction (top and/or bottom of 40) is substantially parallel to the UV light source (30); and is obvious for the reasons discussed supra with reference to claim(s) 1, 7 and/or 14, see previous.
Regarding claim 4, OH discloses that the ultraviolet (UV) light source (50) “disposes” (is disponed on/exposes) a bottom region (25) of the main body (20, 25) .
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 20, OH discloses that the bottom region (25) of the main body is
Regarding claim 5, 13 and 20, OH differ(s) from the claimed invention by not showing the bottom region (25) of the main body is detachable from the main body allowing the ultraviolet (UV) light source (50) to be removed together with the bottom region.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) for separable/detachable components, since it has been held that making parts separable has no patentable significance, unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Moreover, regarding claim(s) 6, OGAWA discloses that the first reflector (40) [0029] is spaced apart from the bottom region (of 10); and is obvious for the reasons discussed supra with reference to claim(s) 1, 7 and/or 14, see previous.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, OH discloses that the main body (20, 25) has a secure region (55) in the upper region (55 is away from floor of 25) of the main body configured to mount a fixture (dentures on 55) inside the inner region (60).
Moreover, regarding claim(s) 9 and 16, OGAWA discloses that the second reflector (other 40) [0029] is configured to reflect the UV light to the fixture (1); and is obvious for the reasons discussed supra with reference to claim(s) 1, 7 and/or 14, see previous.
Regarding claims 11 and 18, OH discloses wherein the
But OH fails to disclose a reflector is disposed on a cap (20) detachably coupled to the upper region (of 25) of the main body.
OGAWA, however, discloses a first reflector (40) [0029] disposed on the inner region of the main body; and a second reflector (other 40) [0029] disposed on an upper region of the main body.
Regarding claims 11 and 18, OH differ(s) from the claimed invention by not showing a cap (20) detachably coupled to the upper region (of 25) of the main body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) for separable/detachable components, since it has been held that making parts separable has no patentable significance, unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of OH, with first and second reflectors for reflecting UV light, as taught by OGAWA, to use for capturing and concentrating the UV light upon a target/fixture to thereby increase sterilization efficiency.
` Regarding claims 12 and 19, OH discloses the cap (20) faces the bottom region (of 25) of the main body (20, 25), and the
But OH fails to disclose a first reflector is disposed between the top and the bottom region of the main body.
OGAWA, however, discloses reflector (40) is disposed between the top and the bottom region of the main body (10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of OH, with first and second reflectors for reflecting UV light, as taught by OGAWA, to use for capturing and concentrating the UV light upon a target/fixture to thereby increase sterilization efficiency.
2. Claim(s) 2, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over OH (KR 20090017277 A) in view of OGAWA (US 20130167873 A1)); hereinafter “the combined references”, as applied to claim 1, 7 or 14 above, and further in light of SHUR et al. (US 20150069270 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 17, the combined references fail to disclose wherein the ultraviolet (UV) light source is configured to emit UV light having a wavelength from 200nm to 380nm to improve a sterilization effect.
SHUR, however, discloses UV sterilization and UV source that can emit UV light having a wavelength from 200nm to 380nm to improve a sterilization effect [0032] [0053].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine/modify the invention of the combined references, with UV light having a wavelength from 200nm to 380nm, as taught by SHUR, to use as a known UV wavelength range for sterilization [0032] [0053].
Conclusion
/ANDREW SMYTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878