Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Teranishi (WO 2020235450 A1).
Regarding claim 1, the crane of Teranishi teaches a work machine, comprising:
a swivel body (120) configured to be pivotable (Fig 5; Pg 3, body 5 “The upper swivel body 12, the boom 21, the hook 30, the undulating rope 31 and the hanging rope 32 constitute a swivel portion 120 that swivels integrally.”);
a work attachment (30) provided with a boom (21) mounted to the swivel body (Fig 1) and configured so as to be raised and lowered (Pg 3, body 11 “The first winch device 161 changes the elevation angle of the boom 21 by winding or feeding out the undulating rope 31. That is, the boom 21 is driven by the first winch device 161 and the undulating rope 31 so that the elevation angle can be changed.”);
a control device (6) configured to perform automatic control of the swivel body (Pg 8, body 5; Pg 8 body 8); and
a braking device (440) capable of switching between a braking state in which operation of the swivel body is restricted and a non-braking state in which the operation is not restricted (Pg 4, last body), wherein the control device starts or sets the automatic control in a state capable of being started upon switching of the braking device from the braking state to the non-braking state (Pg 12, Process S111).
Regarding claim 2, Teranishi teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Teranishi further teaches the control device accepts an input related to the automatic control in accordance with the braking device being in the braking state (Pg 12, Process S111).
Regarding claim 3, Teranishi teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Teranishi further teaches the braking device is a turn brake (440) configured to restrict turning of the swivel body (Pg 4, last 2 bodies).
Regarding claim 4, Teranishi teaches the limitations of claim 3 as described above, Teranishi further teaches a slewing gear configured to turn the swivel body (Fig 5);
a boom hoisting winch (161) configured to raise and lower the boom (Pg 3, body 10-11); and
a main winch (162) configured to wind up a main rope (32) for suspending a hook (30) from a tip of the work attachment (Fig 1; Pg 3, body 10).
Claims 1 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20110109674 A (hereinafter “KR ‘674”).
Regarding claim 1, The automatically operated crane of KR ‘674 teaches a work machine (Abstract; Fig 1), comprising: a swivel body configured to be pivotable (Fig 1; Pg 3 Paragraph 1, ln 1-2); a work attachment provided with a boom mounted to the swivel body and configured so as to be raised and lowered (Pg 2, BACKGROUND-ART, Paragraph 1); a control device (Control Panel 300) configured to perform automatic control of the swivel body (Pg 1, Abstract, Paragraph 2, ln 2); and a braking device capable of switching between a braking state in which operation of the swivel body is restricted and a non-braking state in which the operation is not restricted (Pg 3, Paragraph 3, ln 5-7; Pg 3, Paragraph 1, ln 7-10), wherein the control device starts or sets the automatic control in a state capable of being started upon switching of the braking device from the braking state to the non-braking state (Pg 3, Paragraph 3, ln 5-7). A braking device is required to perform the stopping actions of the crane control device.
Regarding claim 6, KR ‘674 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, KR ‘674 further the control device interrupts the automatic control upon switching of the braking device from the non-braking state to the braking state after start of the automatic control (Pg 3, Paragraph 1, ln 7-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20110109674 A (hereinafter “KR ‘674”) in view of Teranishi (WO 2020235450 A1).
Regarding claim 3, KR ‘674 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, KR ‘674 is silent on the details of a turn brake. However, the braking device of Teranishi teaches the braking device is a turn brake (440) configured to restrict turning of the swivel body (Pg 4, last 2 paragraphs). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the braking system of KR ‘674 with a turn brake to actively stop the rotation of the swivel body faster than drivetrain braking.
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 3 as described above, KR ‘674 further teaches a slewing gear configured to turn the swivel body (Fig 1); and a main winch configured to wind up a main rope for suspending a hook from a tip of the work attachment (Pg 2, BACKGROUND-ART, body 1). Teranishi teaches a boom hoisting winch (161) configured to raise and lower the boom (Pg 3, body 10-11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the crane of KR ‘674 with the boom hoisting winch of Teranishi to change the elevation angle of the boom (Pg 3, body 11).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 4 as described above, KR ‘674 further teaches the automatic control further includes control of the slewing gear and control of at least one of the boom hoisting winch or the main winch (Pg 3, Paragraph 3, ln 1-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210188602 A1 discloses automatic control of a slewing gear.
US 20220282453 A1 discloses a brake for a slewing motor that invalidates operations performed on the operation devices.
CN 106946159 A discloses automatic control of a crane with a “stop” command for controlling the crane.
CN 105523479 A discloses automatic control of a crane with an “emergency brake button” that powers off the automatic control.
/RALPH D WILKINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619