CTNF 18/985,826 CTNF 85893 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation “a display panel is loaded” in line 2 and it is unclear if a display panel is claimed in combination or if the claimed loading area is capable of mounting an unclaimed display panel. For the purpose of examination, the display panel is treated as a functional limitation and assumed to be not claimed in combination with the loading area. Clarification is respectfully requested. Claim 12 recites the limitation “a display panel is loaded” in line 2 and it is unclear if a display panel is claimed in combination or if the claimed loading area is capable of mounting an unclaimed display panel. For the purpose of examination, the display panel is treated as a functional limitation and assumed to be not claimed in combination with the loading area. Clarification is respectfully requested. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Azelton et al. (Azelton US 5,799,796) . 1: Azelton teaches a tray (see tray generally shown as 2) comprising: a loading area (see loading area in Figure 1A below) where a display panel is loaded (see the loading area below, where an unclaimed display panel is capable of being loaded therein); a side wall disposed on a surface of the loading area to surround the loading area (see the four sidewalls surrounding the loading area, two of which are shown in Figure 1A below); and an air flow path located in the side wall to provide a passage for air outside the side wall to flow into the loading area (see air flow path in Figure 1A below), wherein the air flow path is bent at least once (see the flow path in Figure 1B below). PNG media_image1.png 574 738 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 610 671 media_image2.png Greyscale 2: Azelton teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Azelton further teaches that the side wall has a first side extended in a first direction (see first side in Figure 1A above) and a second side extended in a second direction (see second side in Figure 1A above) intersecting the first direction (see the first and second side intersecting one another at each corner of 2, Figure 1A), a length of the first side is smaller than a length of the second side (the first side is shorter in length than the second side, see Figure 1A), and the air flow path is located on the second side of the side wall (see the air flow path on the second side of the side wall, Figure 1A above). 3: Azelton teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 2 and Azelton further teaches that the air flow path comprises: an inflow path extended from an outer surface of the side wall toward the loading area (see Figure 1B above where an inflow path extends from the left side towards the loading area); an inclined path (see Figure 1B above) extended from the inflow path toward the loading area, the inflow path and the inclined path extending different directions (see the inflow path having a horizontal path and the inclined path having an angled path); and a discharge path (see Figure 1B above) extended from the inclined path to the loading area. 5: Azelton teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 3 and Azelton further teaches that the discharge path and the inflow path are extended in a same direction (see Figure 1B above, where the directions extend from the left to right of Figure 1B). 10: Azelton teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Azelton further teaches that the air flow path is recessed from a surface of the side wall in a thickness direction of the side wall (see Markup Figure 1A-2 below), and a depth of the air flow path is greater than half a thickness of the side wall (depth is shown as greater than half the thickness, shown in Markup Figure 1A-2). PNG media_image3.png 552 704 media_image3.png Greyscale 11: Azelton teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 10 and Azelton further teaches that a bottom surface of the air flow path in the thickness direction of the side wall is formed as a curved surface (see Figure 1A-2 above where the ). 12: Azelton teaches a tray (see tray 2 below in Figure 1A-3) comprising: a loading area where a display panel is loaded (see loading area in Figure 1A-3 below); a side wall disposed on a surface of the loading area to surround the loading area (see the four sidewalls surrounding the loading area, two of which are shown in Figure 1A-3 below); and a plurality of air flow paths located in the side wall to provide passages for air outside the side wall to flow into the loading area (see air flow paths in Figure 1A-3 below), wherein the plurality of air flow paths are extended from an outer surface of the side wall to the loading area (see air flow from the exterior perimeter leading into the loading area), and one of the plurality of air flow paths and another one of the plurality of air flow paths have different lengths (different lengths in Figure 1A-3 below). PNG media_image4.png 566 728 media_image4.png Greyscale 13: Azelton teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 12 and Azelton further teaches that the side wall has first sides extended in a first direction and second sides extended in a second direction intersecting the first direction, a length of each of the first sides is smaller than a length of each of the second sides (see Figure 1A-3 above), and the plurality of air flow paths are located on the second sides of the side wall (see air flow paths shown in Figure 1A above located on the second side of the of the sidewall). 14: Azelton teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 13 and Azelton further teaches that the side wall is formed in a rectangular shape in a plan view (when viewed from above, the sidewall, comprising the four walls in Figure 1A forms a rectangular shape), the plurality of air flow paths comprises a first air flow path and a second air flow path, the first air flow path is located on one of the second sides adjacent to a vertex (both sides of each of the flow path has a vertex), and the second air flow path is located on another one of the second sides adjacent to another vertex located diagonally opposite to the vertex (see Markup Figure 1A-3, above showing diagonally opposed vertices). 17: Azelton teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 13 and Azelton further teaches that the plurality of air flow paths further comprises a third air flow path and a fourth air flow path, the third air flow path is located on the one of the second sides, and the fourth air flow path is located on the another one of the second sides (see Markup Figure 1A-4 below). 18: Azelton teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 13 and Azelton further teaches that the third air flow path faces the second air flow path with the loading area between the second air flow path and the third air flow path, and the fourth air flow path faces the first air flow path with the loading area between the first air flow path and the fourth air flow path (see Figure 1A-4 below). PNG media_image5.png 567 729 media_image5.png Greyscale 19: Azelton teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 13 and Azelton further teaches that the third air flow path comprises: a third inflow path extended from the outer surface of the side wall toward the loading area; a third inclined path extended from the third inflow path toward the loading area, the third inflow path and the third inclined path extending different directions; and a third discharge path extended from the third inclined path to the loading area, the fourth air flow path comprises: a fourth inflow path extended from the outer surface of the side wall toward the loading area; a fourth inclined path extended from the fourth inflow path toward the loading area, the fourth inflow path and the fourth inclined path extending different directions; and a fourth discharge path extended from the fourth inclined path to the loading area (see the third and fourth inflow paths and their features above in Figure 1A-4), and a length of the third inclined path is equal to a length of the fourth inclined path (see Markup Figure 1B-2 below where the third and fourth inclined path have equal lengths along the incline) PNG media_image6.png 610 671 media_image6.png Greyscale Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-02 AIA Claim s 4, 6-9, 15-16, and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KING M CHU whose telephone number is (571)270-7428. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 10AM - 6PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anthony Stashick can be reached at (571) 272 - 4561. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /King M Chu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735 Application/Control Number: 18/985,826 Page 2 Art Unit: 3735 Application/Control Number: 18/985,826 Page 3 Art Unit: 3735 Application/Control Number: 18/985,826 Page 4 Art Unit: 3735 Application/Control Number: 18/985,826 Page 5 Art Unit: 3735 Application/Control Number: 18/985,826 Page 6 Art Unit: 3735