DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-l.jsp.
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over reference claim(s) 14-19 of U.S. Patent Number: 11,592,464. Although the claim(s) at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: instant application independent claims 1 and 12 are related to the reference independent claim 14 as a genus type to a species type and hence anticipated by the reference claim. Dependent claims 2-11 and 13-20 are also anticipated by or obvious over corresponding reference claims as charted below.
18/985,840 (instant)
US Pat. #: 11,592,464 (reference)
1. A system for testing equipment using a test box unit for testing the equipment, the system comprising:
- a mate-in interface for connection to the test box unit; and for connection to contacts on the equipment, the mate-in interface having a unique identifier thereon; and
- a computing device adapted to:
- retrieve a connector configuration that corresponds to the unique identifier of the mate-in interface;
- within the connector configuration corresponding to the unique identifier of the mate-in interface, select any one of the contacts for testing; and
- test any one of the contacts to ground.
14. a system for testing equipment using a test box unit for testing the equipment, the system comprising:
- a mate-in interface for connection to the test box unit; and for connection to contacts on the equipment, the mate-in interface having a unique mate-in interface identifier being readable thereon; and
a computing device adapted to:
- retrieve, from a list identifiers and associated connector configurations, which one of the associated connector configurations corresponds to the identifier of the mate-in interface;
- within the one of the associated connector configurations corresponding to the unique mate-in interface identifier of the mate-in interface, select any one of the contacts for testing; and
- trigger a first signal to be inputted through the any one of the contacts to ground and measure the first signal; and - trigger a second signal to be inputted through the any one of the contacts to any other one of the contacts and measure the second signal.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the computing device is further adapted to test any one of the contacts against each other one of the contacts.
14.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the computing device is further adapted to output test results from the test on a user interface for display.
14. obvious for well-known extra-solution activity consideration (MPEP § 2106.05(g))
4. The system of claim 2, wherein the computing device is further adapted to output test results from the test on a user interface for display.
14. obvious for well-known extra-solution activity consideration (MPEP § 2106.05(g))
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the user interface is on the test box unit.
14. obvious for well-known extra-solution activity consideration (MPEP § 2106.05(g))
6. The system of claim 4, wherein the user interface is an external interface.
14. obvious for well-known extra-solution activity consideration (MPEP § 2106.05(g))
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the mate-in interface comprises a memory comprising the unique identifier which is readable in the memory.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the mate-in interface comprises a memory comprising the unique identifier which is readable in the memory.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the mate-in interface comprises a label comprising the unique identifier which is readable on the label.
16. The system of claim 14, wherein the mate-in interface comprises a label comprising the unique identifier which is readable on the label.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the mate-in interface comprises the unique identifier etched onto the mate-in interface to be readable thereon.
17. The system of claim 14, wherein the mate-in interface comprises the identifier etched onto the mate-in interface to be readable thereon.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the mate-in interface comprises: - a generic mate-in interface for connection to the test box unit, the generic mate-in interface having the unique identifier readable thereon; and - a specific mate-in interface for connection to the generic mate-in interface, the specific mate-in interface for connection to the equipment.
18. The system of claim 14, wherein the mate-in interface comprises: - a generic mate-in interface for connection to the test box unit, the generic mate- in interface having the identifier readable thereon; and - a specific mate-in interface for connection to the generic mate-in interface, the specific mate-in interface for connection to the equipment.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the mate-in interface comprises: - a generic mate-in interface for connection to the test box unit; and - a specific mate-in interface for connection to the generic mate-in interface, the specific mate-in interface for connection to the equipment, the specific mate-in interface having the unique identifier readable thereon.
19. The system of claim 14, wherein the mate-in interface comprises: - a generic mate-in interface for connection to the test box unit; and - a specific mate-in interface for connection to the generic mate-in interface, the specific mate-in interface for connection to the equipment, the specific mate-in interface having the identifier readable thereon.
12. A system for testing equipment using a test box unit for testing the equipment, the system comprising: - a mate-in interface for connection to the test box unit; and for connection to contacts on the equipment, the mate-in interface having a unique identifier thereon; and
- a computing device adapted to:
- retrieve a connector configuration that corresponds to the unique identifier of the mate-in interface;
- within the connector configuration corresponding to the unique identifier of the mate-in interface, select any one of the contacts for testing; and
- trigger a signal to be inputted through the any one of the contacts and measure the signal to any other one of the contacts.
14. a system for testing equipment using a test box unit for testing the equipment, the system comprising:
- a mate-in interface for connection to the test box unit; and for connection to contacts on the equipment, the mate-in interface having a unique mate-in interface identifier being readable thereon; and
a computing device adapted to:
- retrieve, from a list identifiers and associated connector configurations, which one of the associated connector configurations corresponds to the identifier of the mate-in interface;
- within the one of the associated connector configurations corresponding to the unique mate-in interface identifier of the mate-in interface, select any one of the contacts for testing; and
- trigger a first signal to be inputted through the any one of the contacts to ground and measure the first signal; and - trigger a second signal to be inputted through the any one of the contacts to any other one of the contacts and measure the second signal.
13. The system of claim 12, wherein the computing device is further adapted to output test results from the measure on a user interface for display.
14. obvious for well-known extra-solution activity consideration (MPEP § 2106.05(g))
14. The system of claim 13, wherein the user interface is on the test box unit.
14. obvious for well-known extra-solution activity consideration (MPEP § 2106.05(g))
15. The system of claim 13, wherein the user interface is an external interface.
14. obvious for well-known extra-solution activity consideration (MPEP § 2106.05(g))
16. The system of claim 12, wherein the mate-in interface comprises a memory comprising the unique identifier which is readable in the memory.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the mate-in interface comprises a memory comprising the unique identifier which is readable in the memory.
17. The system of claim 12, wherein the mate-in interface comprises a label comprising the unique identifier which is readable on the label.
16. The system of claim 14, wherein the mate-in interface comprises a label comprising the unique identifier which is readable on the label.
18. The system of claim 12, wherein the mate-in interface comprises the unique identifier etched onto the mate-in interface to be readable thereon
17. The system of claim 14, wherein the mate-in interface comprises the identifier etched onto the mate-in interface to be readable thereon.
19. The system of claim 12, wherein the mate-in interface comprises: - a generic mate-in interface for connection to the test box unit, the generic mate-in interface having the unique identifier readable thereon; and - a specific mate-in interface for connection to the generic mate-in interface, the specific mate-in interface for connection to the equipment.
18. The system of claim 14, wherein the mate-in interface comprises: - a generic mate-in interface for connection to the test box unit, the generic mate- in interface having the identifier readable thereon; and - a specific mate-in interface for connection to the generic mate-in interface, the specific mate-in interface for connection to the equipment.
20. The system of claim 12, wherein the mate-in interface comprises: - a generic mate-in interface for connection to the test box unit; and - a specific mate-in interface for connection to the generic mate-in interface, the specific mate-in interface for connection to the equipment, the specific mate-in interface having the unique identifier readable thereon.
19. The system of claim 14, wherein the mate-in interface comprises: - a generic mate-in interface for connection to the test box unit; and - a specific mate-in interface for connection to the generic mate-in interface, the specific mate-in interface for connection to the equipment, the specific mate-in interface having the identifier readable thereon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins et al. (US 20060132119) in view of Youval et al. (US 20030006779).
Regarding claim 1, Collins teaches in figure(s) 1-4 a system for testing equipment using a test box unit (test equipment 12/10; para. 29) for testing the equipment (para. 31 - One side of the equipment adapter 18 plugs into an EIC 16, while the other side accepts the test instrument's standard cable 22; figure 1), the system comprising:
- a mate-in interface (i.e., the three types of interface test adapter ITA; para. 41; ITA 40 in Fig. 1) for connection to the test box unit (12/10); and for connection to contacts (para. 21 - device pins, para. 38 - Each power supply 38 is routed into each of the four CGAs) on the equipment, the mate-in interface having a unique identifier thereon (para. 40 - Each CGA/UGA has a unique 8-bit ID word); and
- a computing device (44) adapted to: - retrieve a connector configuration (clm. 1 - user configurable signal connection array) that corresponds to the unique identifier of the mate-in interface (para. 40 - software ID check-word and software enable are input to the CID from an external or internal controller 44 via 3 standard interface connectors); - within the connector configuration corresponding to the unique identifier of the mate-in interface (para. 39 - ID check words exactly match the coded ID words for each CGA and UGA),
Collins does not teach explicitly select any one of the contacts for testing; and - test any one of the contacts to ground.
However, Youval teaches in figure(s) 1-6 select any one of the contacts for testing (select two points step in figure 2; by multiplexer in figures 4,6; para. 46 - controller sends a command to the Driver/Sensor cards to select two wires); and
- test any one of the contacts to ground (open/short test in figure 2; abs. - tests wiring insulation in a wiring harness and identifies poor wire to wire and wire to ground insulation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collins by having select any one of the contacts for testing; and test any one of the contacts to ground as taught by Youval in order to provide applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as evidenced by “a system for generating a wiring diagram based upon the results of a wiring validation series of checks/tests." (abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Collins teaches in figure(s) 1-4 a system for testing equipment using a test box unit (test equipment 12/10; para. 29) for testing the equipment (para. 31 - One side of the equipment adapter 18 plugs into an EIC 16, while the other side accepts the test instrument's standard cable 22; figure 1), the system comprising:
- a mate-in interface (i.e., the three types of interface test adapter ITA; para. 41; ITA 40 in Fig. 1) for connection to the test box unit (12/10); and for connection to contacts (para. 21 - device pins, para. 38 - Each power supply 38 is routed into each of the four CGAs) on the equipment, the mate-in interface having a unique identifier thereon (para. 40 - Each CGA/UGA has a unique 8-bit ID word); and
- a computing device (44) adapted to: - retrieve a connector configuration (clm. 1 - user configurable signal connection array) that corresponds to the unique identifier of the mate-in interface (para. 40 - software ID check-word and software enable are input to the CID from an external or internal controller 44 via 3 standard interface connectors); - within the connector configuration corresponding to the unique identifier of the mate-in interface (para. 39 - ID check words exactly match the coded ID words for each CGA and UGA),
Collins does not teach explicitly select any one of the contacts for testing; and - trigger a signal to be inputted through the any one of the contacts and measure the signal to any other one of the contacts.
However, Youval teaches in figure(s) 1-6 select any one of the contacts for testing (select two points step in figure 2; by multiplexer in figures 4,6; para. 46 - controller sends a command to the Driver/Sensor cards to select two wires); and
- trigger a signal to be inputted through the any one of the contacts (para. 46 - controller sends a command to the Driver/Sensor cards to select two wires) and measure the signal to any other one of the contacts (para. 47 - controller gets a voltage level from the Driver/Sensor card which corresponds to the status of the 2 wires short or open).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collins by having select any one of the contacts for testing; and trigger a signal to be inputted through the any one of the contacts and measure the signal to any other one of the contacts as taught by Youval in order to provide applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results as evidenced by “a system for generating a wiring diagram based upon the results of a wiring validation series of checks/tests." (abstract).
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed in the attached form PT0-892 teach of other prior art harness connector assembly.
Gervais et al. (US 8912800) discloses “Wireless Portable Automated Harness Scanner System And Method Therefor”.
Zadesky et al. (US 20140075051) discloses “context aware functionality in an electronic device”.
Rockwell et al. (US 5072185) discloses “Wire Harness Modular Interface Adapter System And Testing Apparatus”.
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858