DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/12/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the device defined in claims 10- 20 is a welding device. Welding requires at least two layers to be involved. At least two layers are required in claim 10 which defines a device for welding a "multi-layered product". Accordingly, the apparatus as claimed cannot be used to practice another, materially different process.
This is not found persuasive because welding is merely the intended use of the apparatus. The applicant has failed to persuasively establish that the structure of the claimed apparatus is incapable of embossing a single layer without forming a weld.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 3, and 6-9, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Heeg (US2015/0158247A1) IDS.
With respect to claim 1, Heeg teaches a process for welding a singulated, multi-layer product by means of an ultrasonic tool (1), which comprises a generator (10), a sonotrode (26) and an anvil (30), wherein the product (web material) is moved through a gap (29) formed between the sonotrode and the anvil, with a gap width S (figures), wherein the product is welded during its movement by the ultrasonic tool along a welding path by pressing the sonotrode and/or anvil against the product with a force and exciting the sonotrode by the generator in such a way that it oscillates with a predetermined amplitude and transmits the vibration to the product, wherein at least one welding parameter (figures; and paragraphs 13-31 and 43-122), preferably the amplitude and/or the force and/or the gap width, is regulated and varied during the movement of the product.
With respect to claim 2, Heeg teaches wherein the welding path begins in a first edge region of the product and/or ends in a second edge region of the product, the products preferably being closed in material bond in at least one of the edge regions before they are moved through the gap (figures 2-3; and paragraphs 48-50).
With respect to claim 3, Heeg teaches wherein the sonotrode for welding the product is excited such that it oscillates with an amplitude A.sub.high (paragraphs 13, 16, 18, 22, 24, 26, 27, 29, 62, 67, 74, and 79), wherein A.sub.high is preferably between 20 μm and 40 μm, and the sonotrode is excited at other times such that it oscillates with an amplitude A.sub.low, which is smaller than A.sub.high, wherein the following preferably applies: 0<A.sub.low<0.5*A.sub.high.
With respect to claim 4, Heeg teaches wherein the amplitude is set to A.sub.high (ASOLL) when the product arrives at or before the gap (figure 4; and paragraph 51-55, 60-61, 67, 71, 72, 79, 89, 92, 105, and 110) and/or wherein the amplitude is set to A.sub.low when the product leaves the gap. Note that the amplitude must intrinsically be set when the product arrives at or before the gap in order to form a weld.
With respect to claim 5, Heeg teaches wherein a sensor unit is used to detect whether the product is arriving at the gap or leaving the gap, and the sensor unit sends a signal directly to the generator and the generator sets the amplitude to A.sub.high or A.sub.low, optionally with a time delay (paragraphs 17 and 46).
With respect to claim 6, Heeg teaches wherein a transition from a current amplitude A.sub.now to a target amplitude (paragraphs 13, 17-18, 26, 28, 60-62, 67, 71, 74, 79, and 86-89), in particular A.sub.high or A.sub.low, is affected by a continuous adaptation (ramp) of the amplitude, wherein a slope of the ramp is preferably controlled continuously and/or wherein the ramp lies within one of the edge regions or overlaps with one of the edge regions.
With respect to claim 7, Heeg teaches wherein the gap width S is set continuously by moving the sonotrode and/or anvil relative to one another (title; and paragraphs 2, 14, 48-49, 71, 74, 79, 84, 86, 88, 90, 92, 101, 108, 110, 113, and 121), preferably using a metal contact detection and/or a distance measurement is used as an input variable for controlling the size of the gap and/or a target size for the gap is set and used as an input variable for controlling the gap width S.
With respect to claim 8, Heeg teaches wherein a plurality of products (44) are moved one after the other (continuously) through the gap and welded along a welding path in each case (title; and paragraphs 2, 14, and 48-49). Also, note that web material would intrinsically be replaced when the continuous supply inevitably runs out.
With respect to claim 9, Heeg teaches wherein the product is filled with contents (broadest reasonable interpretation) (air) before it is moved through the gap and welded, and/or the product is moved through the gap at a speed of 5 m/min to 100 m/min and/or the product comprises at least two layers (paragraph 48; and figures 2-3), preferably with a layer thickness of between 50 μm and 300 μm each.
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735