DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 2, 13, and 21 (with 5-7 and 16-18) with dependent claims thereof, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13, and 14 and any dependent claims thereof of U.S. Patent No. 12211488. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because said claims of the instant application includes all of the features of said claims of U.S. Patent No. 12211488. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to omit the step of using ground truth per se and other semantic differences otherwise amounting to a broader representation than the related case, In re Karlson 136 USPQ 184 (1963): "Omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same functions as before"
Present invention U.S. Patent No. 12211488
2. (New) A method performed by one or more computers, the method comprising:receiving a video that includes a plurality of video frames that depict a first speaker;obtaining a first learned embedding characterizing the first speaker; andprocessing a first input comprising (i) the video and (ii) the first embedding using a neural network having a plurality of parameters, wherein the neural network is configured to process the video and the first embedding in accordance with trained values of the parameters to generate a speech recognition output that defines text corresponding to speech being spoken by the first speaker in the video.
3. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein the neural network is configured to:generate, from the first embedding, an additional input channel; andcombine the additional channel with one or more of the frames in the video prior to processing the frames in the video to generate the speech recognition output.
4. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein the neural network comprises a plurality of hidden layers, and wherein the neural network is configured to, for at least one of the hidden layers:generate, from the first embedding, an additional hidden channel; andcombine the hidden channel and an output of the hidden layer prior to providing the output for processing by another hidden layer of the visual speech recognition neural network.
5. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein the first learned embedding of the first speaker has been learned on a set of adaptation data.
6. (New) The method of claim 5, further comprising:obtaining pre-trained values for the model parameters that have been determined by training the neural network on training data comprising training examples corresponding to a plurality of speakers that are different from the first speaker, wherein determining the first embedding comprises determining the first embedding using the pre-trained values and the set of adaptation data.
7. (New) The method of claim 6, wherein determining the first embedding comprises:initializing the first embedding; andupdating the first embedding by repeatedly performing operations comprising:processing each of one or more adaptation videos in the adaptation data and the first embedding using the neural network in accordance with current values of the parameters to generate a respective speech recognition output for each of the one or more adaptation videos; and updating the first embedding to minimize the loss function.
8. (New) The method of claim 7, wherein updating the first embedding to minimize the loss function comprises:backpropagating gradients of the loss function through the neural network to determine a gradient of the loss function with respect to the first embedding; andupdating the first embedding using the gradient of the loss function with respect to the first embedding.
9. (New) The method of claim 7, wherein the current values are equal to the pre-trained values and to the trained values and wherein the model parameters are fixed while determining the first embedding.
10. (New) The method of claim 7, wherein the operations further comprise:updating the current values of the parameters of the neural network based on gradients of the loss function with respect to the parameters of the neural network, and wherein the trained values are equal to the current values after determining the first embedding vector.
11. (New) The method of claim 2, further comprising:applying a decoder to the speech recognition output for the video to generate a sequence of one or more words being spoken by the first speaker in the video.
12. (NEw) The method of claim 2, wherein the speech recognition output comprises, for each of the video frames, a respective probability distribution over a vocabulary of text elements.
13. (New) A method performed by one or more computers, the method comprising:receiving a video that includes a plurality of video frames that depict a first speaker;obtaining a first learned embedding characterizing the first speaker; andprocessing a first input comprising (i) the video and (ii) the first embedding using a neural network having a plurality of parameters, wherein the neural network is configured to process the video and the first embedding in accordance with trained values of the parameters to generate a speech recognition output that defines text corresponding to speech being spoken by the first speaker in the video.
14. (New) The system of claim 13, wherein the neural network is configured to:generate, from the first embedding, an additional input channel; andcombine the additional channel with one or more of the frames in the video prior to processing the frames in the video to generate the speech recognition output.
15. (New) The system of claim 13, wherein the neural network comprises a plurality of hidden layers, and wherein the neural network is configured to, for at least one of the hidden layers:generate, from the first embedding, an additional hidden channel; andcombine the hidden channel and an output of the hidden layer prior to providing the output for processing by another hidden layer of the visual speech recognition neural network.
16. (New) The system of claim 13, wherein the first learned embedding of the first speaker has been learned on a set of adaptation data.
17. (New) The system of claim 16, the operations further comprising:obtaining pre-trained values for the model parameters that have been determined by training the neural network on training data comprising training examples corresponding to a plurality of speakers that are different from the first speaker, wherein determining the first embedding comprises determining the first embedding using the pre-trained values and the set of adaptation data.
18. (New) The system of claim 17, wherein determining the first embedding comprises:initializing the first embedding; andupdating the first embedding by repeatedly performing operations comprising:processing each of one or more adaptation videos in the adaptation data and the first embedding using the neural network in accordance with current values of the parameters to generate a respective speech recognition output for each of the one or more adaptation videos; and updating the first embedding to minimize the loss function.
19. (New) The system of claim 18, wherein updating the first embedding to minimize the loss function comprises:backpropagating gradients of the loss function through the neural network to determine a gradient of the loss function with respect to the first embedding; andupdating the first embedding using the gradient of the loss function with respect to the first embedding.
20. (New) The system of claim 19, wherein the current values are equal to the pre-trained values and to the trained values and wherein the model parameters are fixed while determining the first embedding.
21. (New) One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing instructions that when executed by one or more computers cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:receiving a video that includes a plurality of video frames that depict a first speaker;obtaining a first learned embedding characterizing the first speaker; andprocessing a first input comprising (i) the video and (ii) the first embedding using a neural network having a plurality of parameters, wherein the neural network is configured to process the video and the first embedding in accordance with trained values of the parameters to generate a speech recognition output that defines text corresponding to speech being spoken by the first speaker in the video.
1. (Currently Amended) A method performed by one or more computers, the method comprising:receiving a video that includes a plurality of video frames that depict a first speaker;obtaining a first embedding characterizing the first speaker, comprising:obtaining adaptation data for the first speaker, the adaptation data comprising one or more adaptation videos of the first speaker and a respective ground truth transcription for each of the one or more adaptation videos, anddetermining the first embedding for the first speaker using the adaptation data by minimizing a loss function that measures, for each of the one or more adaptation videos, a respective error between the ground truth transcription of the adaptation video and a respective speech recognition output for the adaptation video; and processing a first input comprising (i) the video and (ii) the first embedding using a visual speech recognition neural network having a plurality of parameters, wherein the visual speech recognition neural network is configured to process the video and the first embedding in accordance with trained values of the parameters to generate a speech recognition output that defines a sequence of one or more words being spoken by the first speaker in the video.
2. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the visual speech recognition neural network is configured to:generate, from the first embedding, an additional input channel; andcombine the additional channel with one or more of the frames in the video prior to processing the frames in the video to generate the speech recognition output.
3. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, wherein the visual speech recognition neural network comprises a plurality of hidden layers, and wherein the neural network is configured to, for at least one of the hidden layers:generate, from the first embedding, an additional hidden channel; andcombine the hidden channel and an output of the hidden layer prior to providing the output for processing by another hidden layer of the visual speech recognition neural network.
4. (Cancelled)
5. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 4claim 1,further comprising:obtaining pre-trained values for the model parameters that have been determined by training the visual speech recognition neural network on training data comprising training examples corresponding to a plurality of speakers that are different from the first speaker, wherein determining the first embedding comprises determining the first embedding using the pre-trained values and the adaptation data.
6. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 5, wherein determining the first embedding comprises:initializing the first embedding; andupdating the first embedding by repeatedly performing operations comprising:processing each of one or more of the adaptation videos segments in the adaptation data and the first embedding using the visual speech recognition neural network in accordance with current values of the parameters to generate a respective speech recognition output for each of the one or more adaptation videos segments; andupdating the first embedding to minimize [[a]]the loss function that measures, for each of the one or more video segments, a respective error between the ground truth transcription of the video segment and the respective speech recognition output for the video segment.
7. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 6, wherein updating the first embedding to minimize [[a]]the loss function that measures, for each of the one or more video segments, a respective error between the ground truth transcription of the video segment and the respective speech recognition output for the video segment comprises:backpropagating gradients of the loss function through the visual speech recognition neural network to determine a gradient of the loss function with respect to the first embedding; and updating the first embedding using the gradient of the loss function with respect to the first embedding.
8. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 6, wherein the current values are equal to the pre-trained values and to the trained values and wherein the model parameters are fixed while determining the first embedding.
9. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 6, wherein the operations further comprise:updating the current values of the parameters of the visual speech recognition neural network based on gradients of the loss function with respect to the parameters of the visual speech recognition neural network, and wherein the trained values are equal to the current values after determining the first embedding vector.
10. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, further comprising:applying a decoder to the speech recognition output for the video to generate the sequence of one or more words being spoken by the first speaker in the video.
11. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, wherein the speech recognition output comprises, for each of the video frames, a respective probability distribution over a vocabulary of text elements.
12. (Cancelled)
13. (Currently Amended) One or more computer-readable storage media storing instructions that when executed by one or more computers cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:receiving a video that includes a plurality of video frames that depict a first speaker;obtaining a first embedding characterizing the first speaker, comprising:obtaining adaptation data for the first speaker, the adaptation data comprising one or more adaptation videos of the first speaker and a respective ground truth transcription for each of the one or more adaptation videos, anddetermining the first embedding for the first speaker using the adaptation data by minimizing a loss function that measures, for each of the one or more adaptation videos, a respective error between the ground truth transcription of the adaptation video and a respective speech recognition output for the adaptation video; and processing a first input comprising (i) the video and (ii) the first embedding using a visual speech recognition neural network having a plurality of parameters, wherein the visual speech recognition neural network is configured to process the video and the first embedding in accordance with trained values of the parameters to generate a speech recognition output that defines a sequence of one or more words being spoken by the first speaker in the video.
14. (Currently Amended) A system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices storing instructions that when executed by the one or more computers cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:receiving a video that includes a plurality of video frames that depict a first speaker;obtaining a first embedding characterizing the first speaker, comprising:obtaining adaptation data for the first speaker, the adaptation data comprising one or more adaptation videos of the first speaker and a respective ground truth transcription for each of the one or more adaptation videos, anddetermining the first embedding for the first speaker using the adaptation data by minimizing a loss function that measures, for each of the one or more adaptation videos, a respective error between the ground truth transcription of the adaptation video and a respective speech recognition output for the adaptation video; and processing a first input comprising (i) the video and (ii) the first embedding using a visual speech recognition neural network having a plurality of parameters, wherein the visual speech recognition neural network is configured to process the video and the first embedding in accordance with trained values of the parameters to generate a speech recognition output that defines a sequence of one or more words being spoken by the first speaker in the video.
15. (New) The system of claim 14, wherein the visual speech recognition neural network is configured to:generate, from the first embedding, an additional input channel; andcombine the additional channel with one or more of the frames in the video prior to processing the frames in the video to generate the speech recognition output.
16. (New) The system of claim 14, wherein the visual speech recognition neural network comprises a plurality of hidden layers, and wherein the neural network is configured to, for at least one of the hidden layers:generate, from the first embedding, an additional hidden channel; andcombine the hidden channel and an output of the hidden layer prior to providing the output for processing by another hidden layer of the visual speech recognition neural network.
17. (New) The system of claim 14, the operations further comprising:obtaining pre-trained values for the model parameters that have been determined by training the visual speech recognition neural network on training data comprising training examples corresponding to a plurality of speakers that are different from the first speaker, wherein determining the first embedding comprises determining the first embedding using the pre-trained values and the adaptation data.
18. (New) The system of claim 17, wherein determining the first embedding comprises:initializing the first embedding; andupdating the first embedding by repeatedly performing updating operations comprising:processing each of one or more of the adaptation videos in the adaptation data and the first embedding using the visual speech recognition neural network in accordance with current values of the parameters to generate a respective speech recognition output for each of the one or more adaptation videos; andupdating the first embedding to minimize the loss function.
19. (New) The system of claim 18, wherein updating the first embedding to minimize the loss function comprises:backpropagating gradients of the loss function through the visual speech recognition neural network to determine a gradient of the loss function with respect to the first embedding; and updating the first embedding using the gradient of the loss function with respect to the first embedding.
20. (New) The system of claim 18, wherein the current values are equal to the pre-trained values and to the trained values and wherein the model parameters are fixed while determining the first embedding.
21. (New) The system of claim 18, wherein the updating operations further comprise:updating the current values of the parameters of the visual speech recognition neural network based on gradients of the loss function with respect to the parameters of the visual speech recognition neural network, and wherein the trained values are equal to the current values after determining the first embedding vector.
22. (New) The system of claim 14, the operations further comprising:applying a decoder to the speech recognition output for the video to generate the sequence of one or more words being spoken by the first speaker in the video.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-5, 11-16, and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20210065712 A1 HOLM; Steffen (hereinafter HOLM).
Re claim 2, HOLM teaches
2. (New) A method performed by one or more computers, the method comprising: (fig. 2 and abstract)
receiving a video that includes a plurality of video frames that depict a first speaker; (from a video, image frames received for video with a speaker for ASR 0052 with fig. 2 and 0043 0049 with fig. 1b)
obtaining a first learned embedding characterizing the first speaker; and (embedded vector for speaker features 0073…sourced from a video, image frames received for video with a speaker for ASR 0052 with fig. 2 and 0043 0049 with fig. 1b)
processing a first input comprising (i) the video and (ii) the first embedding using a neural network having a plurality of parameters, wherein the neural network is configured to process the video and the first embedding in accordance with trained values of the parameters to generate a speech recognition output that defines text corresponding to speech being spoken by the first speaker in the video. (a neural network learns from training data using video and speaker data extracted in which words are discovered 0045 and 0007 0011 0055-0058 0073, embedded vector for speaker features 0073…sourced from a video, image frames received for video with a speaker for ASR 0052 with fig. 2 and 0043 0049 with fig. 1b)
Re claim 13, this claim has been rejected for teaching a broader, or narrower claim based on general inclusion of hardware alone (e.g. processor, memory, instructions), representation of claim 1 omitting/including hardware for instance, otherwise amounting to a virtually identical scope
For instance, see fig. 2 of HOLM which contains the hardware/components
Re claim 21, this claim has been rejected for teaching a broader, or narrower claim based on general inclusion of hardware alone (e.g. processor, memory, instructions), representation of claim 1 omitting/including hardware for instance, otherwise amounting to a virtually identical scope
For instance, see fig. 2 of HOLM which contains the hardware/components
Re claims 3 and 14, HOLM teaches
3. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein the neural network is configured to: generate, from the first embedding, an additional input channel; and (embedding vector for instance, channels such as 0047-0049, and a neural network learns from training data using video and speaker data extracted in which words are discovered 0045 and 0007 0011 0055-0058 0073, embedded vector for speaker features 0073…sourced from a video, image frames received for video with a speaker for ASR 0052 with fig. 2 and 0043 0049 with fig. 1b)
combine the additional channel with one or more of the frames in the video prior to processing the frames in the video to generate the speech recognition output. (channels such as 0047-0049, a neural network learns from training data using video and speaker data extracted in which words are discovered 0045 and 0007 0011 0055-0058 0073, embedded vector for speaker features 0073…sourced from a video, image frames received for video with a speaker for ASR 0052 with fig. 2 and 0043 0049 with fig. 1b)
Re claims 4 and 15, HOLM teaches
4. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein the neural network comprises a plurality of hidden layers, and wherein the neural network is configured to, for at least one of the hidden layers: generate, from the first embedding, an additional hidden channel; and (a neural network e.g. DNN with layers, learns from training data using video and speaker data extracted in which words are discovered 0045 and 0007 0011 0055-0058 0073, embedded vector for speaker features 0073…sourced from a video, image frames received for video with a speaker for ASR 0052 with fig. 2 and 0043 0049 with fig. 1b)
combine the hidden channel and an output of the hidden layer prior to providing the output for processing by another hidden layer of the visual speech recognition neural network. (channels such as 0047-0049, a neural network e.g. DNN with layers, learns from training data using video and speaker data extracted in which words are discovered 0045 and 0007 0011 0055-0058 0073, embedded vector for speaker features 0073…sourced from a video, image frames received for video with a speaker for ASR 0052 with fig. 2 and 0043 0049 with fig. 1b)
Re claims 5 and 16, HOLM teaches
5. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein the first learned embedding of the first speaker has been learned on a set of adaptation data. (adaptation, learning, updating, training, etc. e.g. 0060, and a neural network learns from training data using video and speaker data extracted in which words are discovered 0045 and 0007 0011 0055-0058 0073, embedded vector for speaker features 0073…sourced from a video, image frames received for video with a speaker for ASR 0052 with fig. 2 and 0043 0049 with fig. 1b)
Re claim 11, HOLM teaches
11. (New) The method of claim 2, further comprising: applying a decoder to the speech recognition output for the video to generate a sequence of one or more words being spoken by the first speaker in the video. (words extracted, via a neural network that learns from training data using video and speaker data extracted in which words are discovered 0045 and 0007 0011 0055-0058 0073, embedded vector for speaker features 0073…sourced from a video, image frames received for video with a speaker for ASR 0052 with fig. 2 and 0043 0049 with fig. 1b)
Re claim 12, HOLM teaches
12. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein the speech recognition output comprises, for each of the video frames, a respective probability distribution over a vocabulary of text elements. (acoustic probability e.g. 0059, words extracted, via a neural network that learns from training data using video and speaker data extracted in which words are discovered 0045 and 0007 0011 0055-0058 0073, embedded vector for speaker features 0073…sourced from a video, image frames received for video with a speaker for ASR 0052 with fig. 2 and 0043 0049 with fig. 1b)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210065712 A1 HOLM; Steffen (hereinafter HOLM) in view of US 20220044687 A1 Perret; Valentin Alain Jean et al. (hereinafter Perret).
Re claims 6 and 17, while HOLM teaches a neural network that learns from training data using video and speaker data extracted in which words are discovered using embedded vector for speaker features sourced from a video, image frames received for video with a speaker for ASR, it fails to teach different speakers per se as follows:
6. (New) The method of claim 5, further comprising: obtaining pre-trained values for the model parameters that have been determined by training the neural network on training data comprising training examples corresponding to a plurality of speakers that are different from the first speaker, wherein determining the first embedding comprises determining the first embedding using the pre-trained values and the set of adaptation data. (Perret different speakers using neural networks 0041)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of HOLM to incorporate the above claim limitations as taught by Perret to allow for combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as utilizing different speaker profiles, for a fused deep neural network architecture that can accept a stream of sound as input (e.g., a raw audio waveform) and can output its latent representation in the form of an identity embedding (or vector), which can thus learn a representation directly from a raw waveform with no spectral transformation or language transcription needed, utilizing a speaker inventory that can store and maintain identity embeddings that were generated at any point in time during a conversation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. After searching through patent and non-patent literature, there was no evidence that there exists a limitation in direct relation or an obvious variant to such limitations as a whole as precisely limited. When searching for a secondary prior art for the limitation as recited in the above claims, the most relevant topics pertained to material from the same Inventor and Assignee but did not teach or suggest the aforementioned complex limitations as a whole as precisely limited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220310058 A1 ZHAO; Sheng et al
Different target speaker voices
/MICHAEL COLUCCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655 (571)-270-1847
Examiner FAX: (571)-270-2847
Michael.Colucci@uspto.gov