Detailed Action
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the third reflected light, fourth reflected light, third reflected polarization component, fourth reflected polarization component, fifth reflected polarization component, sixth reflected polarization component, seventh reflected polarization component, and eighth reflected polarization component must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 10, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidaka (US20220003535A1) in view of Ehbets et al. (US20180283945A1), hereinafter Ehbets.
As to claim 1, Hidaka teaches a semiconductor measurement device (Hidaka [0092]; “the ellipsometer 1 according to example embodiments may particularly increase precision of measurement of three-dimensional (3D) semiconductor structures”) comprising:
a first light source unit configured to generate a first input light (Hidaka Fig. 9; [0096] “The illuminating optical system 10 may include the light source 11”);
a first relay lens in a path of the first input light (Hidaka Fig. 9; [0096] “an illumination lens 13 a”);
an objective lens in a path of the first input light having passed through the first relay lens, the objective lens configured to make the first input light incident to a sample (Hidaka [0097]; fig. 9; “The illumination light L10… may illuminate the measurement surface 71 of the sample 70 through the objective lens 16”);
a meta surface structure in a path of the first input light having passed the objective lens (Hidaka [0097]; fig. 9; “the measurement surface 71 of the sample 7”),
the meta surface structure configured to separate the first input light into a first input polarization component and a second input polarization component, to separate first reflected light, generated when the first input polarization component is reflected by the sample, into a first reflected polarization component and a second reflected polarization component (Hidaka claim 1; “a first polarizing optical element configured to separate the first separate reflected light into a first linearly polarized light that is polarized in a first polarization direction and a second linearly polarized light that is polarized in a second polarization direction that is perpendicular to the first polarization direction”),
and to separate second reflected light, generated when the second input polarization component is reflected by the sample, into a third reflected polarization component and a fourth reflected polarization component (Hidaka claim 1; a second polarizing optical element configured to separate the third separate reflected light into a third linearly polarized light that is polarized in a third polarization direction and a fourth linearly polarized light that is polarized in a fourth polarization direction that is perpendicular to the third polarization direction);
and a detector (Hidaka fig. 9; [0096]; “the image detector 50”) configured to detect the first reflected polarization component, the second reflected polarization component, the third reflected polarization component, and the fourth reflected polarization component (claim 1; “an image detector configured to detect the first interference fringe and the second interference fringe”; the first interference fringe including “components of the first linearly polarized light and the second linearly polarized light” and the second interference fringe including “components of the third linearly polarized light and the fourth linearly polarized light”).
However, Hidaka does not explicitly disclose the first light source unit including a plurality of first point light sources.
Ehbets, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the first light source unit including a plurality of first point light sources (Ehbets fig. 10; [0081]; “The PSF characterisation mask 400 is illuminated from below (light source 405), such that the fine holes 404 act to a certain extent as point light sources”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hidaka to incorporate the teachings of Ehbets to include the first light source unit including a plurality of first point light sources; for the advantage of enhanced measurements of specific color channels (Ehbets [0078]).
Hidaka Fig. 9
Ehbets Fig. 10
As to claim 3, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1, wherein the objective lens is configured to collimate the first input light (Hidaka [0102]; fig. 9; “The objective lens 16 may transmit the reflected light R10, which results from reflection of the illumination light L10 from the measurement surface 71 of the sample 70”; wherein reflected light R10 is collimated light according to fig. 9).
As to claim 4, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1, wherein the objective lens is configured to have a back focal plane between the objective lens and the first relay lens (Hidaka fig. 9; the back focal plane can be plane 19a in fig. 9 which is between the objective lens 16 and the illumination lens 13 a).
As to claim 9, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1, wherein the meta surface structure is configured to provide a phase gradient to the first input light, the first reflected light, and the second reflected light (Hidaka Fig. 9; [0104]; “The objective lens 16 may transmit the reflected light R10, which results from the illumination light L10 (i.e. the first input light) reflected from the measurement surface 71 (i.e. the meta surface structure), to the beam splitter 15”. [0106]; The separation unit 22 such as a non-polarizing beam splitter may separate the reflected light R10 into the reflected light R11 (i.e. the first reflected light) and the reflected light R12. [0046]; A reflected light R13 (i.e. the second reflected light) may include only a component of the reflected light R12. Fig. 9; [0080]-[0081]; The measurement surface 71, with varying structures across the surface, causes “interference fringes 51 and 52” ([0083]; of reflected lights R11 and R13, respectively) which have amplitude and phase, implicitly the result of a phase gradient. Thus, the measurement surface 71 provides a phase gradient to the illumination light L10, the reflected light R11 and the reflected light R13 (emphasis added)).
As to claim 10, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 9, wherein the meta surface structure is configured to provide the phase gradient independently to each of the first input light, the first reflected light, and the second reflected light (Hidaka [0087]; fig. 9; “Two independent parameters, i.e., the ellipsometric parameters Ψ and Δ, may be directly measured from the result of measuring the contrast and phase of the interference fringes 51 and 52”. ([0083]; Interference fringes 51 and 52 are of reflected lights R11 and R13, respectively. Thus, the implicit phase gradient is provided independently to the illumination light L10, the reflected light R11 and the reflected light R13).
As to claim 16, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1, wherein the meta surface structure is configured to provide a phase gradient such that the first input polarization component has a first phase gradient angle with respect to the first input light, and the second input polarization component has a second phase gradient angle with respect to the first input light (Hidaka Fig. 9; [0104]; “The objective lens 16 may transmit the reflected light R10, which results from the illumination light L10 (i.e. the first input light) reflected from the measurement surface 71 (i.e. the meta surface structure), to the beam splitter 15”. [0106]; The separation unit 22 such as a non-polarizing beam splitter may separate the reflected light R10 into the reflected light R11 (i.e. the first reflected light) and the reflected light R12. [0046]; A reflected light R13 (i.e. the second reflected light) may include only a component of the reflected light R12. Fig. 9; [0080]-[0081]; The measurement surface 71, with varying structures across the surface, causes “interference fringes 51 and 52” ([0083]; of reflected lights R11 and R13, respectively) which have amplitude and phase, implicitly the result of a phase gradient. Thus, the measurement surface 71 provides a phase gradient to the illumination light L10, the reflected light R11 and the reflected light R13 (emphasis added)).
As to claim 17, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 16.
Hidaka in view of Ehbets does not explicitly disclose wherein the meta surface structure is configured to provide the phase gradient such that the first phase gradient angle is different from the second phase gradient angle.
However, applicant has not provided criticality for the meta surface structure to be configured to provide the phase gradient such that the first phase gradient angle is different from the second phase gradient angle. Applicant discloses in Specification para. [0044]-[0045] merely that “The phase gradient angle θp may vary depending on the first width W1, second width W2, height H, and tilt angle θt“ and “the meta surface structure 160 may be configured to provide different phase gradient angles θp for the first input polarization component IP1 and the second input polarization component IP2”. Furthermore, tt would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to include wherein the meta surface structure is configured to provide the phase gradient such that the first phase gradient angle is different from the second phase gradient angle, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hidaka in view of Ehbets to incorporate wherein the meta surface structure is configured to provide the phase gradient such that the first phase gradient angle is different from the second phase gradient angle, for the advantage of phase gradient optimization.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidaka in view of Ehbets, further in view of Lee (US 7330293 B2).
As to claim 2, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1.
However, Hidaka in view of Ehbets does not explicitly disclose wherein the first relay lens includes a first lens and a second lens sequentially in the path of the first input light, and wherein the first lens is configured to collimate the first input light.
Lee, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the first relay lens includes a first lens and a second lens sequentially in the path of the first input light, and wherein the first lens is configured to collimate the first input light (Lee fig. 5; col. 3 ln. 20-23; “a collimating lens 23 and at least one cylindrical lens 24 in an optical path between the light source 21 and the beam deflector 30”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hidaka in view of Ehbets to incorporate the teachings of Lee to include wherein the first relay lens includes a first lens and a second lens sequentially in the path of the first input light, and wherein the first lens is configured to collimate the first input light; for the advantages of enhancing beam collimation into a parallel or convergent beam and beam focusing (Lee col. 3 ln. 23-28).
Lee Fig. 5
Claims 5 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidaka in view of Ehbets, further in view of Mastel (US5312393A).
As to claim 5, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1.
However, Hidaka in view of Ehbets does not explicitly disclose a second light source unit around the objective lens and the second light source unit including a plurality of second point light sources configured to generate second input light having an incident angle with respect to the sample, wherein the incident angle of the second input light is different from an incident angle of the first input light with respect to the sample, and wherein the meta surface structure is in a path of the second input light between the second light source unit and the sample.
Mastel, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches a second light source unit around the objective lens and the second light source unit including a plurality of second point light sources configured to generate second input light having an incident angle with respect to the sample (Mastel annotated fig. 1 and 2; col. 3 ln. 47-53; “A ring-shaped housing 16 is positioned around the ends of objective lens 13 on the microscope, secured in place by any conventional means, such as setscrews, threads, a bayonet mount, tight slip fit or the like. A ring shaped light source 18 is positioned on housing 16 with light from the source directed toward the eye 20 (or other field or subject of microsurgery)”. Col. 3 ln. 64- col. 4 ln. 2; “From the point of view of objective 13, a circle of light is reflected back into objective 13 along a circular line 24, as indicated by light rays 26 in FIG. 1, the apparent diameter of circle 24 being determined by the microscope power and focusing distance, along with incident angle of the light source [18]”. Thus, the ring-shaped light source 18 is around the objective lens 13 and generates light having an incident angle with respect to the sample. Further, a ring-shaped light source inherently comprises multiple light sources (emphasis added)),
wherein the incident angle of the second input light (Mastel annotated fig. 1 and 2; ring-shaped light source 18 sends light incident on the sample at angles from around the objective lens to the sample) is different from an incident angle of the first input light (Hidaka fig. 9; light source 11 sends light incident on the sample straight through the objective lens 15 along optical axis C) with respect to the sample (In combination, the light from Hidaka’s light source 11 and the light from Mastel’s ring-shaped light source 18 have incident angles different from each other),
and wherein the meta surface structure is in a path of the second input light between the second light source unit and the sample (Mastel col. 3 ln. 47-53; Hidaka fig. 9; The sample can be an “other field or subject of microsurgery”, which includes a meta surface structure on a sample. Thus, in combination with Hidaka’s measurement surface 71 of the sample 70, the meta surface structure is in a path of the light from Mastel’s ring-shaped light source 18, between Mastel’s ring-shaped light source 18 and Hidaka’s sample 70).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hidaka in view of Ehbets to incorporate the teachings of Mastel to include a second light source unit around the objective lens and the second light source unit including a plurality of second point light sources configured to generate second input light having an incident angle with respect to the sample, wherein the incident angle of the second input light is different from an incident angle of the first input light with respect to the sample, and wherein the meta surface structure is in a path of the second input light between the second light source unit and the sample; for the advantage of achieving broad, shadowless illumination of the sample site (Mastel abstract).
Mastel annotated Fig. 1
Mastel Fig. 2
As to claim 11, Hidaka teaches a semiconductor measurement device (Hidaka [0092]; “the ellipsometer 1 according to example embodiments may particularly increase precision of measurement of three-dimensional (3D) semiconductor structures”) comprising:
a first light source unit configured to generate first input light (Hidaka Fig. 9; [0096] “The illuminating optical system 10 may include the light source 11”);
a first relay lens in a path of the first input light (Hidaka Fig. 9; [0096] “an illumination lens 13 a”);
a meta surface structure configured to transmit the first input light having passed through the first relay lens to a sample and to separate the first input light into a first input polarization component and a second input polarization component (Hidaka [0097]; fig. 9; “The illumination light L10… may illuminate the measurement surface 71 of the sample 70 through the objective lens 16”).
However, Hidaka does not explicitly disclose the first light source unit including a plurality of first point light sources; and a second light source unit around the meta surface structure, the second light source unit including a plurality of second point light sources configured to generate second input light having an incident angle with respect to the sample, the incident angle of the second input light being different from an incident angle of the first input light with respect to the sample.
Ehbets, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the first light source unit including a plurality of first point light sources (Ehbets fig. 10; [0081]; “The PSF characterisation mask 400 is illuminated from below (light source 405), such that the fine holes 404 act to a certain extent as point light sources”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hidaka to incorporate the teachings of Ehbets to include the first light source unit including a plurality of first point light sources; for the advantage of enhanced measurements of specific color channels (Ehbets [0078]).
Still lacking the limitation such as a second light source unit around the meta surface structure, the second light source unit including a plurality of second point light sources configured to generate second input light having an incident angle with respect to the sample, the incident angle of the second input light being different from an incident angle of the first input light with respect to the sample.
Mastel, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches a second light source unit around the objective lens and the second light source unit including a plurality of second point light sources configured to generate second input light having an incident angle with respect to the sample (Mastel annotated fig. 1 and 2; col. 3 ln. 47-53; “A ring-shaped housing 16 is positioned around the ends of objective lens 13 on the microscope, secured in place by any conventional means, such as setscrews, threads, a bayonet mount, tight slip fit or the like. A ring shaped light source 18 is positioned on housing 16 with light from the source directed toward the eye 20 (or other field or subject of microsurgery)”. Col. 3 ln. 64- col. 4 ln. 2; “From the point of view of objective 13, a circle of light is reflected back into objective 13 along a circular line 24, as indicated by light rays 26 in FIG. 1, the apparent diameter of circle 24 being determined by the microscope power and focusing distance, along with incident angle of the light source [18]”. Thus, the ring-shaped light source 18 is around the objective lens 13 and generates light having an incident angle with respect to the sample. Further, a ring-shaped light source inherently comprises multiple light sources (emphasis added)),
the incident angle of the second input light (Mastel annotated fig. 1 and 2; ring-shaped light source 18 sends light incident on the sample at angles from around the objective lens to the sample) being different from an incident angle of the first input light with respect to the sample (Hidaka fig. 9; light source 11 sends light incident on the sample straight through the objective lens 15 along optical axis C) with respect to the sample (In combination, the light from Hidaka’s light source 11 and the light from Mastel’s ring-shaped light source 18 have incident angles different from each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hidaka in view of Ehbets to incorporate the teachings of Mastel to include a second light source unit around the meta surface structure, the second light source unit including a plurality of second point light sources configured to generate second input light having an incident angle with respect to the sample, the incident angle of the second input light being different from an incident angle of the first input light with respect to the sample; for the advantage of achieving broad, shadowless illumination of the sample site (Mastel abstract).
As to claim 12, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 11, wherein the meta surface structure is further configured to separate first reflected light, generated when the first input polarization component is reflected by the sample, into a first reflected polarization component and a second reflected polarization component (Hidaka claim 1; “a first polarizing optical element configured to separate the first separate reflected light into a first linearly polarized light that is polarized in a first polarization direction and a second linearly polarized light that is polarized in a second polarization direction that is perpendicular to the first polarization direction”),
and separate second reflected light, generated when the second input polarization component is reflected by the sample, into a third reflected polarization component and a fourth reflected polarization component (Hidaka claim 1; a second polarizing optical element configured to separate the third separate reflected light into a third linearly polarized light that is polarized in a third polarization direction and a fourth linearly polarized light that is polarized in a fourth polarization direction that is perpendicular to the third polarization direction).
As to claim 13, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 12, further comprising: a beam splitter configured to reflect, toward the sample, the first input light having passed through the first relay lens (Hidaka Fig. 9; [0104]; “The objective lens 16 may transmit the reflected light R10, which results from the illumination light L10 (i.e. the first input light) reflected from the measurement surface 71 (i.e. the meta surface structure), to the beam splitter 15”)
and to transmit the first reflected polarization component, the second reflected polarization component ([0106]; The separation unit 22 such as a non-polarizing beam splitter may separate the reflected light R10 into the reflected light R11 (i.e. the first reflected light) and the reflected light R12. [0046]; A reflected light R13 (i.e. the second reflected light) may include only a component of the reflected light R12 (emphasis added)), the third reflected polarization component, and the fourth reflected polarization component (Hidaka claim 1; A second polarizing optical element is configured to separate the third separate reflected light into a third linearly polarized light that is polarized in a third polarization direction and a fourth linearly polarized light that is polarized in a fourth polarization direction that is perpendicular to the third polarization direction. Thus, the beam splitter transmits the third and fourth reflected polarization components as well).
As to claim 14, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 11.
However, Hidaka in view of Ehbets does not explicitly disclose wherein the meta surface structure is further configured to separate third reflected light, generated when the second input light is reflected by the sample, into a fifth reflected polarization component and a sixth reflected polarization component.
Mastel, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the meta surface structure is further configured to separate third reflected light, generated when the second input light is reflected by the sample (Mastel annotated fig. 1; The third reflected light from a light source on the ring-shaped light is separated into two components is highlighted on the left half of fig. 1, following the path of light rays 26. Col. 3 ln. 64- col. 4 ln. 2; “A circle of light is reflected back into objective 13 along a circular line 24, as indicated by light rays 26”), into a fifth reflected polarization component and a sixth reflected polarization component (fig. 1; The light rays 26 are reflected from the uneven eye 20 (sample). Thus, there are at least two reflected polarization components, as pictured on the left half of fig. 1 (i.e. two light rays 26 highlighted), from the reflected light from ring-shaped light source 18 in ring-shaped housing 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hidaka in view of Ehbets to incorporate the teachings of Mastel to include wherein the meta surface structure is further configured to separate third reflected light, generated when the second input light is reflected by the sample, into a fifth reflected polarization component and a sixth reflected polarization component; for the advantage of achieving broad, shadowless illumination of the sample site (Mastel abstract).
Claims 6, 7, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidaka in view of Ehbets and Mastel, further in view of Arieli et al. (US10024783B2), hereinafter Arieli.
As to claim 6, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 5.
Mastel teaches a ring-shaped light source 18 that is sent to the sample and reflected, thus inherently causing polarization. However, Hidaka in view of Ehbets and Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the meta surface structure is further configured to separate the second input light into a third input polarization component and a fourth input polarization component.
Arieli, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the meta surface structure is further configured to separate the second input light into a third input polarization component and a fourth input polarization component (Arieli claim 1; fig. 4a-4b; “each point of each of the rings of light having a different polarization plane”; thus, there are at least two input polarization components of the second input light from the ring light).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hidaka in view of Ehbets and Mastel to incorporate the teachings of Arieli to include wherein the meta surface structure is further configured to separate the second input light into a third input polarization component and a fourth input polarization component; for the advantage of a more compact device by avoiding the need to use a rotating polarizer or analyzer (Arieli col. 2 ln. 46-56).
Arieli fig. 4a-4b
As to claim 7, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 6.
However, Hidaka in view of Ehbets does not explicitly disclose wherein the meta surface structure is further configured to separate third reflected light, generated when the third input polarization component is reflected by the sample, into a fifth reflected polarization component and a sixth reflected polarization component, and to separate fourth reflected light, generated when the fourth input polarization component is reflected by the sample, into a seventh reflected polarization component and an eighth reflected polarization component.
Mastel, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the meta surface structure is further configured to separate third reflected light, generated when the third input polarization component is reflected by the sample (Mastel annotated fig. 1; The third reflected light from a light source on the ring-shaped light is separated into two components is highlighted on the left half of fig. 1, following the path of light rays 26. Col. 3 ln. 64- col. 4 ln. 2; “A circle of light is reflected back into objective 13 along a circular line 24, as indicated by light rays 26”), into a fifth reflected polarization component and a sixth reflected polarization component (fig. 1; The light rays 26 are reflected from the uneven eye 20 (sample). Thus, there are at least two reflected polarization components, as pictured on the left half of fig. 1 (i.e. two light rays 26 highlighted), from the reflected light from ring-shaped light source 18 in ring-shaped housing 16),
and to separate fourth reflected light, generated when the fourth input polarization component is reflected by the sample (Mastel annotated fig. 1; The fourth reflected light from a light source on the ring-shaped light is separated into two components is not highlighted on the right half of fig. 1, following the path of light rays 26. Col. 3 ln. 64- col. 4 ln. 2; “A circle of light is reflected back into objective 13 along a circular line 24, as indicated by light rays 26”), into a seventh reflected polarization component and an eighth reflected polarization component (fig. 1; The light rays 26 are reflected from the uneven eye 20 (sample). Thus, there are at least two reflected polarization components, as pictured on the right half of fig. 1 (i.e. two light rays 26, not highlighted), from the reflected light from ring-shaped light source 18 in ring-shaped housing 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hidaka in view of Ehbets to incorporate the teachings of Mastel to include wherein the meta surface structure is further configured to separate third reflected light, generated when the third input polarization component is reflected by the sample, into a fifth reflected polarization component and a sixth reflected polarization component, and to separate fourth reflected light, generated when the fourth input polarization component is reflected by the sample, into a seventh reflected polarization component and an eighth reflected polarization component; for the advantage of achieving broad, shadowless illumination of the sample site (Mastel abstract).
As to claim 18, Hidaka teaches a semiconductor measurement device (Hidaka [0092]; “the ellipsometer 1 according to example embodiments may particularly increase precision of measurement of three-dimensional (3D) semiconductor structures”) comprising:
a first light source unit (Hidaka Fig. 9; [0096] “The illuminating optical system 10 may include the light source 11”);
a first relay lens in a path of the first input light (Hidaka Fig. 9; [0096] “an illumination lens 13 a”);
an objective lens configured to collimate the first input light having passed through the first relay lens and make the collimated first input light incident to a sample (Hidaka [0097]; fig. 9; “The illumination light L10… may illuminate the measurement surface 71 of the sample 70 through the objective lens 16”);
a meta surface structure in the path of the first input light having passed through the objective lens (Hidaka [0097]; fig. 9; “the measurement surface 71 of the sample 7”)
such that the meta surface structure is configured to separate the first input light into a first input polarization component and a second input polarization component, to separate first reflected light, generated when the first input polarization component is reflected by the sample, into a first reflected polarization component and a second reflected polarization component (Hidaka claim 1; “a first polarizing optical element configured to separate the first separate reflected light into a first linearly polarized light that is polarized in a first polarization direction and a second linearly polarized light that is polarized in a second polarization direction that is perpendicular to the first polarization direction”),
and to separate second reflected light, generated when the second input polarization component is reflected by the sample, into a third reflected polarization component and a fourth reflected polarization component (Hidaka claim 1; a second polarizing optical element configured to separate the third separate reflected light into a third linearly polarized light that is polarized in a third polarization direction and a fourth linearly polarized light that is polarized in a fourth polarization direction that is perpendicular to the third polarization direction);
and a detector (Hidaka fig. 9; [0096]; “the image detector 50”) configured to detect the first reflected polarization component, the second reflected polarization component, the third reflected polarization component, and the fourth reflected polarization component (claim 1; “an image detector configured to detect the first interference fringe and the second interference fringe”; the first interference fringe including “components of the first linearly polarized light and the second linearly polarized light” and the second interference fringe including “components of the third linearly polarized light and the fourth linearly polarized light”).
However, Hidaka does not explicitly disclose the first light source unit including a plurality of first point light sources spaced apart from each other and each configured to generate first input light; a second light source unit around the objective lens and including a plurality of second point light sources each configured to generate second input light having an incident angle with respect to the sample, the incident angle of the second input light being different from an incident angle of the first input light with respect to the sample; the meta surface structure in the path of the second input light such that the meta surface structure is configured to separate the second input light into a third input polarization component and a fourth input polarization component.
Ehbets, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the first light source unit including a plurality of first point light sources spaced apart from each other and each configured to generate first input light (Ehbets fig. 10; [0081]; “The PSF characterisation mask 400 is illuminated from below (light source 405), such that the fine holes 404 act to a certain extent as point light sources”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hidaka to incorporate the teachings of Ehbets to include the first light source unit including a plurality of first point light sources spaced apart from each other and each configured to generate first input light; for the advantage of enhanced measurements of specific color channels (Ehbets [0078]).
Still lacking the limitations such as a second light source unit around the objective lens and including a plurality of second point light sources each configured to generate second input light having an incident angle with respect to the sample, the incident angle of the second input light being different from an incident angle of the first input light with respect to the sample; the meta surface structure in the path of the second input light such that the meta surface structure is configured to separate the second input light into a third input polarization component and a fourth input polarization component.
Mastel, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches a second light source unit around the objective lens and including a plurality of second point light sources each configured to generate second input light having an incident angle with respect to the sample (Mastel annotated fig. 1 and 2; col. 3 ln. 47-53; “A ring-shaped housing 16 is positioned around the ends of objective lens 13 on the microscope, secured in place by any conventional means, such as setscrews, threads, a bayonet mount, tight slip fit or the like. A ring shaped light source 18 is positioned on housing 16 with light from the source directed toward the eye 20 (or other field or subject of microsurgery)”. Col. 3 ln. 64- col. 4 ln. 2; “From the point of view of objective 13, a circle of light is reflected back into objective 13 along a circular line 24, as indicated by light rays 26 in FIG. 1, the apparent diameter of circle 24 being determined by the microscope power and focusing distance, along with incident angle of the light source [18]”. Thus, the ring-shaped light source 18 is around the objective lens 13 and generates light having an incident angle with respect to the sample. Further, a ring-shaped light source inherently comprises multiple light sources (emphasis added)),
the incident angle of the second input light (Mastel annotated fig. 1 and 2; ring-shaped light source 18 sends light incident on the sample at angles from around the objective lens to the sample) being different from an incident angle of the first input light (Hidaka fig. 9; light source 11 sends light incident on the sample straight through the objective lens 15 along optical axis C) with respect to the sample (In combination, the light from Hidaka’s light source 11 and the light from Mastel’s ring-shaped light source 18 have incident angles different from each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hidaka in view of Ehbets to incorporate the teachings of Mastel to include a second light source unit around the objective lens and including a plurality of second point light sources each configured to generate second input light having an incident angle with respect to the sample, the incident angle of the second input light being different from an incident angle of the first input light with respect to the sample; for the advantage of achieving broad, shadowless illumination of the sample site (Mastel abstract).
Still lacking the limitation such as the meta surface structure in the path of the second input light such that the meta surface structure is configured to separate the second input light into a third input polarization component and a fourth input polarization component.
Arieli, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the meta surface structure in the path of the second input light such that the meta surface structure is configured to separate the second input light into a third input polarization component and a fourth input polarization component (Arieli claim 1; fig. 4a-4b; “each point of each of the rings of light having a different polarization plane”; thus, there are at least two input polarization components of the second input light from the ring light).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hidaka in view of Ehbets and Mastel to incorporate the teachings of Arieli to include the meta surface structure in the path of the second input light such that the meta surface structure is configured to separate the second input light into a third input polarization component and a fourth input polarization component; for the advantage of a more compact device by avoiding the need to use a rotating polarizer or analyzer (Arieli col. 2 ln. 46-56).
As to claim 20, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 18, wherein the meta surface structure is configured to provide a phase gradient to each of the first input light and the second input light (Hidaka [0087]; fig. 9; “Two independent parameters, i.e., the ellipsometric parameters Ψ and Δ, may be directly measured from the result of measuring the contrast and phase of the interference fringes 51 and 52”. ([0083]; Interference fringes 51 and 52 are of reflected lights R11 and R13, respectively. Thus, the implicit phase gradient is provided independently to the illumination light L10, the reflected light R11 and the reflected light R13).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidaka in view of Ehbets, further in view of Wen, D., Yue, F., Ardron, M. et al. Multifunctional metasurface lens for imaging and Fourier transform. Sci Rep 6, 27628 (2016), hereinafter Wen.
As to claim 8, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 1.
However, Hidaka in view of Ehbets does not explicitly disclose a second relay lens between the meta surface structure and the sample, wherein the meta surface structure is conjugate with the sample with the second relay lens therebetween.
Wen, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches a second relay lens between the meta surface structure and the sample, wherein the meta surface structure is conjugate with the sample with the second relay lens therebetween (Wen fig. 1; pg. 2 Figure 1 description; “(c) The multifunctional lens is designed by integrating two metasurface lenses with different polarities onto a single metasurface”. Thus, the meta surface structure and the second relay lens are described by Wen as the two metasurface lenses, respectively. In combination with Hidaka, the meta surface structure (c) of Wen is conjugate with the sample 70 of Hidaka with the second relay lens (c) of Wen therebetween).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hidaka in view of Ehbets to incorporate the teachings of Wen to include a second relay lens between the meta surface structure and the sample, wherein the meta surface structure is conjugate with the sample with the second relay lens therebetween; for the advantage of system integration paired with device miniaturization via a metasurface lens (Wen pg. 1 abstract).
Wen Fig. 1
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidaka in view of Ehbets and Mastel, further in view of Han et al. (US 20170030773 A1), hereinafter Han.
As to claim 15, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 11.
However, Hidaka in view of Ehbets and Mastel does not explicitly disclose wherein the meta surface structure is further configured to collimate the first input light.
Han, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the meta surface structure is further configured to collimate the first input light (Han [0049]; “According to the various arrangements of the nanostructures ns, the metasurface may function as various optical elements. For example, the spectrum optical system 110 may include the metasurface functioning as a collimator”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hidaka in view of Ehbets and Mastel to incorporate the teachings of Han to include wherein the meta surface structure is further configured to collimate the first input light; for the advantage of effectively preventing diffusion of the light (Han [0072]) thereby enhancing precision and control.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidaka in view of Ehbets, Mastel and Arieli, further in view of Han et al. (US-20220011161-A1), hereinafter Han-2022.
As to claim 19, Hidaka teaches the semiconductor measurement device of claim 18.
However, Hidaka in view of Ehbets, Mastel and Arieli does not explicitly disclose wherein the meta surface structure includes: a transparent substrate; and a plurality of meta atoms on the transparent substrate, wherein the plurality of meta atoms each include at least one of titanium dioxide (TiO), gallium nitride (GaN), silicon nitride (SiN), or silicon (Si).
Han-2022, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the meta surface structure includes: a transparent substrate; and a plurality of meta atoms on the transparent substrate (Han-2022 [0015]; “The transparent substrate may include… the collimating metasurface”, which comprises a plurality of meta atoms), wherein the plurality of meta atoms each include at least one of titanium dioxide (TiO), gallium nitride (GaN), silicon nitride (SiN), or silicon (Si) (Han-2022 [0025]; “The plurality of nanostructures may include at least one among… titanium dioxide (TiO.sub.2), silicon nitride (SiN), and gallium nitride (GaN)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hidaka in view of Ehbets, Mastel and Arieli to incorporate the teachings of Han-2022 to include wherein the meta surface structure includes: a transparent substrate; and a plurality of meta atoms on the transparent substrate, wherein the plurality of meta atoms each include at least one of titanium dioxide (TiO), gallium nitride (GaN), silicon nitride (SiN), or silicon (Si); for the advantage of improving the performance of the device (Han-2022 [0004]).
Conclusion
/KEMAYA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877