DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-11 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0160326 (Salles).
Regarding claim 1, Salles teaches a test device (apparatus 100) comprising:
an electrostatic discharge test circuit electrically connected to at least one subject (the device 15 electrically couples device terminals to first part connectors 40 comprising electrical sockets or plugs; see Fig. 1);
a frame configured to accommodate the at least one subject and the electrostatic discharge test circuit (a first part 150 includes support 70 accommodates DUT 15 and ESD source 10; see Fig. 1);
a transport device configured to move, the movement of the transport device causing the frame to move (sliding tracks 90 allow the first part 150 to be movable via the support 70 fastened to the sliding tracks 90 and moves via a motorized stage; see Fig. 1; see [0018]); and
processing circuitry (measurement device 60; see Fig. 1) configured to,
control the movement of the transport device such that the electrostatic discharge test circuit becomes electrically connected to a power supply device based on a position of the transport device (“The first part 150 is movable relative to the second part 200 via one or more guides 90 such that the one or more first part connectors 40 are physically disconnected from the one or more second part connectors 50 while the ESD signal is delivered to the one or more device terminals 30.” See [0017]. “In this case when the guide has been activated for physically disconnecting the one or more first part connectors from the one or more second part connectors, the one or more device terminals can be automatically electrically connected to the ESD source.” See [0039]; see [0017], [0023], [0032]-[0040]; see Figs. 1 and 4), and
control the movement of the transport device such that the at least one subject becomes electrically connected to a host device based on the position of the transport device (a measurement device 60 may be electrically coupled to connectors 50 to enable measurement of the device 15 when the second part connectors 50 are electrically coupled to the device terminals 30 of the first part connector; see Fig. 1; see [0015]-[0023], [0032]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 10, Salles teaches a test system (apparatus 100) comprising:
an electrostatic discharge test circuit electrically connected to at least one subject (the device 15 electrically couples device terminals to first part connectors 40 comprising electrical sockets or plugs; see Fig. 1);
a frame configured to accommodate the at least one subject and the electrostatic discharge test circuit (a first part 150 includes support 70 accommodates DUT 15 and ESD source 10; see Fig. 1);
a transport device configured to move, the movement of the transport device causing the frame to move (sliding tracks 90 allow the first part 150 to be movable via the support 70 fastened to the sliding tracks 90 and moves via a motorized stage; see Fig. 1; see [0018]);
processing circuitry configured to control the movement of the transport device (measurement device 60 and/or processing circuitry to automate testing; see [0033], [0037]; see Fig. 1);
a power supply device configured to selectively electrically connect to the electrostatic discharge test circuit based on a position of the transport device, the power supply device being configured to transfer electrical charge to the at least one subject and the electrostatic discharge test circuit (“The first part 150 is movable relative to the second part 200 via one or more guides 90 such that the one or more first part connectors 40 are physically disconnected from the one or more second part connectors 50 while the ESD signal is delivered to the one or more device terminals 30.” See [0017]. “In this case when the guide has been activated for physically disconnecting the one or more first part connectors from the one or more second part connectors, the one or more device terminals can be automatically electrically connected to the ESD source.” See [0039]; see [0017], [0023], [0032]-[0040]; see Figs. 1 and 4); and
a host device configured to selectively electrically connect to the at least one subject based on the position of the transport device (a measurement device 60 may be electrically coupled to connectors 50 to enable measurement of the device 15 when the second part connectors 50 are electrically coupled to the device terminals 30 of the first part connectors 40; see Fig. 1; see [0015]-[0023], [0032]-[0040]).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Salles teaches wherein the electrostatic discharge test circuit is further configured to: store electrical charge received from the power supply device in response to the electrostatic discharge test circuit becoming electrically connected to the power supply device; and in response to the electrostatic discharge test circuit becoming electrically connected to the host device through the at least one subject, discharging the stored electrical charges into the host device through the at least one subject (an ESD source 10 delivers an ESD signal to device 15 then disconnects the device 15 from the ESD source 10 and connects the device 15 to connectors 50 and the measurement device 60 to discharge the ESD signal; see [0032]-[0049]).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Salles teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: control the movement of the transport device to first enable the electrostatic discharge test circuit to electrically connect to the power supply device, and second enable the at least one subject to electrically connect to the host device (motor is configured such that the device 15 is charged by ESD source 10 then coupled to the measurement device 60; see [0024] and [0032]-[0049]).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Salles teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: control the movement of the transport device such that the transport device moves between the power supply device and the host device a desired number of times (“The first part 150 is movable relative to the second part 200 via one or more guides 90 such that the one or more first part connectors 40 are physically disconnected from the one or more second part connectors 50 while the ESD signal is delivered to the one or more device terminals 30.” See [0017]. “In this case when the guide has been activated for physically disconnecting the one or more first part connectors from the one or more second part connectors, the one or more device terminals 40 can be automatically electrically connected to the ESD source 10.” It would be understood such automation and programming are performed by a processor. See [0039]; see [0017], [0023], [0032]-[0040]; see Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 19, Salles teaches a method of operating a test device (see flow diagram of Fig. 4 for operating the apparatus of Fig. 1), the method comprising:
in response to at least one subject being accommodated in a frame and being electrically connected to an electrostatic discharge test circuit (a mechanical mounting 510 step includes connecting a device 15 to a frame of a first part of the apparatus 100 and providing electrical access to the one or more device terminals via one or more first part connectors; see Fig. 1; see [0042]), moving the frame in a first direction using a transport device; and moving the frame in a second direction using transport device (the frame moves the first part 150 toward and away from the second part 200 in steps 555, 575; see Fig. 4; see [0035]-[0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0160326 (Salles) and US 2025/0306077 (Chen)
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Salles fails to teach wherein the electrostatic discharge test circuit includes a first discharge circuit; and the first discharge circuit includes, a first resistance circuit configured to electrically connect to the at least one subject; and a first capacitor circuit configured to electrically connect to the first resistance circuit and a ground node.
Chen teaches wherein the electrostatic discharge test circuit includes a first discharge circuit; and the first discharge circuit includes, a first resistance circuit configured to electrically connect to the at least one subject; and a first capacitor circuit configured to electrically connect to the first resistance circuit and a ground node (see capacitor C1 and R1 in Figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Chen into Salles in order to gain the benefit of a pulse generating unit to comply with ESD test standards and operation modes, i.e. the ESD test mode and pulse I-V characterization mode.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Salles fails to teach wherein the first discharge circuit is further configured to: electrically connect to the power supply device through either a first node between the at least one subject and the first resistance circuit and a second node between the first resistance circuit and the first capacitor circuit, however, the limitations as claimed are disclosed in Figs. 1-3 to provide the same benefits as outlined above for claims 3 and 12.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Salles fails to teach wherein the electrostatic discharge test circuit further includes a second discharge circuit; and the second discharge circuit includes, a second resistance circuit configured to electrically connect to the at least one subject, and a second capacitor circuit configured to electrically connect to the second resistance circuit and the ground node.
Chen teaches wherein the electrostatic discharge test circuit includes a first discharge circuit; and the first discharge circuit includes, a first resistance circuit configured to electrically connect to the at least one subject; and a first capacitor circuit configured to electrically connect to the first resistance circuit and a ground node (see capacitor C1 and R1 in Figs. 1-3, wherein several pulse generating units with different capacitor and resistor values may be used; see [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Simonov into Salles in order to gain the benefit of several pulse generating units with different capacitor and resistor values and semiconductor power device with different current and voltage ratings are designed. As such, different pulse generating unit can be used in the pulse generating system to comply with different requirements of different ESD test standards and different operation modes, i.e. the ESD test mode and pulse I-V characterization mode.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Salles fails to teach wherein the second discharge circuit is further configured to: electrically connect to the power supply device through either a third node between the at least one subject and the second resistance circuit and a fourth node between the second resistance circuit and the second capacitor circuit, however, the limitations as claimed are disclosed in Figs. 1-3 to provide the same benefits as outlined above for claims 5 and 14.
Claim(s) 7, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0160326 (Salles) and US 5,818,235 (Simonov).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Salles fails to teach wherein the electrostatic discharge test circuit is further configured to perform a simulation where static electricity is generated by a human body and discharged through the at least one subject based on a desired impedance value of the electrostatic discharge test circuit, the desired impedance value corresponding to an impedance value of a human model, however, the limitations as claimed correspond to a human body model as disclosed in col. 1 lines 9-46 of Simonov in order to model electrostatic discharge from a human body.
Regarding claim 20, Salles fails to teach further comprising: incrementing a count of a number of reciprocating motions completed in response to the frame moving in the second direction; and in response to the count of the number of reciprocating motions being less than a desired count value, moving the frame in the first direction using the transport device, and moving the frame in the second direction using the transport device.
Simonov comprising: incrementing a count of a number of reciprocating motions completed in response to the frame moving in the second direction; and in response to the count of the number of reciprocating motions being less than a desired count value, moving the frame in the first direction using the transport device, and moving the frame in the second direction using the transport device (a DUT is mounted, a probe is positioned away from a DUT to charge then is moved between a discharge position and a retreat position and counts whether a current number of discharges Kcd is equal to a desired number of discharges Kj; see Fig. 5A; see col. 4, line 5 – col. 6, line 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Simonov into Salles in order to perform a desired number of ESD tests wherein each test involves moving the DUT to a retreat position to charge the DUT then moving the DUT to a discharge position for measurement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/STEVEN L YENINAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858