DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to a response filed for No. 18/987,220 on April 2, 2026. Please note Claims 1 and 3-28 are pending. Furthermore, please note Claim 16 has been withdrawn in light of an earlier restriction requirement.
America Invents Act
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claim 4 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 recites limitations focusing on third and fourth luminance and comparing these to the first converted luminance (as described in Claim 3). This level of detail is not taught by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 9-14, 17, 19-25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. ( US 2024/0257748 A1 ) in view of Wang et al.
( US 2022/0358862 A1 ).
Kim teaches in Claim 1:
A display apparatus ( Figure 1, [0002] discloses a display device an a method of driving ) comprising:
a display panel including a pixel ( Figure 1, [0040] discloses a display panel 150 with a plurality of sub-pixels SP );
a data driver configured to apply a data voltage based on a data signal to the pixel ( Figure 1, [0041] discloses a data driver 140 which can output signals to the display panel, including IDATA’ ); and
a driving controller configured to receive input image data and output the data signal ( Figure 1, [0042] discloses a timing controller 120 to receive data signal IDATA (read as input image data) and output IDATA’ ),
wherein the driving controller is configured to convert a luminance of the input image data and a color coordinate of the input image data [by using test data based on a test image] and output the data signal based on a converted input image data ( Figure 5, [0054]-[0055] discloses IDATA’ is a deterioration compensation signal which can convert IDATA a luminance compensation gain by applying a gamma value that matches each color, gray level (read as luminance and color coordinate aspects being compensated for) );
[wherein the test data is based on user selection of the test image displayed on the display panel]
wherein the test data includes luminance recognition test data and color sense recognition test data, wherein the luminance recognition test data has a value based on selected luminance which is selected from the test image, and wherein the color sense recognition test data has a value based on selected color which is selected from the test image. ( Kim, Figure 4, [0049] discloses aspects of luminance, gamma characteristics of red, green and blue (color), etc. Also, please note the combination below as well ); but
Kim does not explicitly teach of converting the input image data “by using test data based on a test image” and to expand on that, “wherein the test data is based on a user selection of the test image displayed on the display panel”.
Initially, Kim teaches in Figure 4, [0049] of testing deterioration characteristics according to colors, driving times, and gray levels of OLEDs based on a number of hours of driving. Kim clearly is concerned with test data.
To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, display system calibration, Wang teaches of a calculation apparatus 100 which can input a first image test signal to controller 600 and can determine display parameters, ( Wang, Figures 2 and 3, [0047] ). Wang teaches in [0063] the display parameters can include brightness and colorimetric/chromatic/color coordinate aspects, etc. Wang teaches in Figure 1 of a flowchart which describes of using the image test signal to acquire the display parameters to convert/compensate. As combined with Kim, the test image data can be implemented. [0106]+, [0115] disclose aspects of the user setting requirements/demands and the test image is updated accordingly (read as test data is based on user selection). As for the value being based on a selected color, Wang also teaches in [0063] of brightness, chromatic, color coordinates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the displaying of the test images, as taught by Wang, with the motivation that by using the test images, the user can input desired display parameters and to match the image test signal to the displayed content, ( Wang, [0010], [0106] ).
Kim and Wang teach in Claim 3:
The display apparatus of claim 2, wherein when the test image include a first luminance and a second luminance higher than the first luminance and the selected luminance is the second luminance of the first luminance and the second luminance, a first converted luminance of the converted input image data is lower than a luminance of the input image data. ( Wang, [0010] teaches of variations, i.e. a first and second level of brightness, etc, determining a variation value based on the comparison and then matching the correct values. Respectfully, in light of both Kim and Wang teaching of test aspects to compensate for deterioration, it is clear to convert the appropriate brightness to the desired level )
Kim and Wang teach in Claim 5:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein when the selected luminance is a second luminance higher than a first luminance, a range of the data voltage is decreased compared to a case that the selected luminance is the first luminance. ( Respectfully, the combination teaches of adjusting the input data to a compensated signal, such as Kim’s IDATA to IDATA’. Respectfully, this entails the range of data voltage is adjusted to the appropriate level )
Kim teaches in Claim 6:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pixel includes:
a driving transistor configured to generate a driving current based on a first power voltage and the data voltage ( Figure 2, [0040] discloses a driving TFT DT which receives Vdata and VDD. While VDD is not shown, it is clear this is input to the other shown terminal of DT ); and
a light emitting element including a first electrode for receiving the driving current and a second electrode for receiving a second power voltage ( Figure 2, [0040] discloses an OLED for receiving the shown current and EVSS ), and
wherein when the selected luminance is a second luminance higher than a first luminance, the second power voltage is increased compared to a case that the selected luminance is the first luminance. ( Respectfully, it is clear that as the luminance values increase, the power voltages will also increase )
Kim and Wang teach in Claim 9:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the driving controller includes:
a luminance data calculator configured to determine a luminance level based on the test data ( Figure 5, [0057] discloses a cumulative deterioration amount calculator 210. Please note the combination with Wang with regards to the test signal );
a luminance compensator configured to determine a converted luminance of the converted input image data based on the luminance level and output offset data including information on the converted luminance ( Figure 5, [0059] discloses a luminance compensation amount calculator for the conversion process ); and
a signal outputter configured to convert the input image data based on the converted luminance and output the data signal. ( Figure 5, [0062] discloses a Pre-DAC compensator 250 for outputting IDATA’ )
Kim teaches in Claim 10:
The display apparatus of claim 9, further comprising a gamma reference voltage generator configured to apply a gamma reference voltage to the data driver ( Figure 5, [0061] discloses a gamma correction LUT 240 which applies part of the signal for IDATA’ ),
wherein the signal outputter further outputs a luminance control signal based on the converted luminance, and wherein the gamma reference voltage generator changes a range of the gamma reference voltage based on the luminance control signal. ( Figure 5, [0060]+ disclose the luminance and gamma correction aspects are part of IDATA’, as both aspects are sent to Pre-DAC gain calculator 230 )
Kim teaches in Claim 11:
The display apparatus of claim 10, wherein when the luminance level is higher, the range of the gamma reference voltage is narrower. ( Figures 3+ disclose a more narrowing of the gray scale range as the luminance increases. Please note the slope of the curves )
Kim teaches in Claim 12:
The display apparatus of claim 9, further comprising a voltage generator configured to apply a first power voltage and a second power voltage to the display panel ( Figure 2 shows VSS and as detailed below, VDD is also clearly inherent/taught ),
wherein the pixel includes:
a driving transistor configured to generate a driving current based on the first power voltage and the data voltage ( Figure 2, [0040] discloses a driving TFT DT which receives Vdata and VDD. While VDD is not shown, it is clear this is input to the other shown terminal of DT ); and
a light emitting element including a first electrode for receiving the driving current and a second electrode for receiving the second power voltage ( Figure 2, [0040] discloses an OLED for receiving the shown current and EVSS ),
wherein the signal outputter further outputs a luminance control signal based on the converted luminance, and wherein the voltage generator changes the second power voltage based on the luminance control signal. ( Respectfully, it is clear that as the luminance values changes, the power voltages will also change )
Kim teaches in Claim 13:
The display apparatus of claim 12, wherein when the luminance level is higher, the second power voltage is higher. ( Respectfully, it is clear that as the luminance values increase, the power voltages will also increase )
Kim teaches in Claim 14:
The display apparatus of claim 9, wherein the driving controller further includes:
a color sense data calculator configured to determine a color sense level based on the test data; and a color sense compensator configured to determine a converted color coordinate based on the color sense level, and wherein the signal outputter converts the input image data based on the converted color coordinate and the converted luminance. ( Kim, Figure 4, [0049] discloses aspects of luminance, gamma characteristics of red, green and blue (color), etc. Wang, likewise, teaches in [0063] of brightness, chromatic, color coordinates. Furthermore, Kim teaches in Figure 5, [0062] of a gamma correction LUT 240 which focuses on color correction )
Kim and Wang teach in Claim 17:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the driving controller includes:
a color sense data calculator configured to determine a color sense level based on the test data; a color sense compensator configured to determine a converted color coordinate based on the color sense level; and a signal outputter configured to convert the input image data based on the converted color coordinate and output the data signal. ( Kim, Figure 4, [0049] discloses aspects of luminance, gamma characteristics of red, green and blue (color), etc. Wang, likewise, teaches in [0063] of brightness, chromatic, color coordinates. Furthermore, Kim teaches in Figure 5, [0062] of a gamma correction LUT 240 which focuses on color correction )
Kim and Wang teach in Claim 19:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the test image includes a luminance test image,
wherein the luminance test image includes a first luminance image and a second luminance image, wherein the first luminance image includes a first luminance region, wherein the second luminance image includes a second luminance region having a luminance lower than a luminance of the first luminance region. ( Wang, [0010] teaches of variations, i.e. a first and second level of brightness, etc, determining a variation value based on the comparison and then matching the correct values. Respectfully, in light of both Kim and Wang teaching of test aspects to compensate for deterioration, it is clear to convert the appropriate brightness to the desired level )
Kim and Wang teach in Claim 20:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the test image includes a color sense test image, and wherein the color sense test image includes a first color region having a first color and a second color region having a second color different from the first color. ( The combination teaches of using the test image of Wang and both Kim and Wang teach of gamma/color aspects. Furthermore, Kim teaches in [0050] of multiple gray-level areas, i.e. first and second color regions. Wang also teaches of analyzing different areas in [0010] )
Kim and Wang teach in Claim 21:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the test image includes a luminance test image, and wherein the luminance test image includes a first luminance region, a second luminance region having a luminance lower than a luminance of the first luminance region and a third luminance region having a luminance lower than a luminance of the second luminance region. ( The combination teaches of using the test image of Wang and both Kim and Wang teach of brightness aspects. Furthermore, Kim teaches in [0050] of multiple luminance areas, i.e. first and second luminance regions. Wang also teaches of analyzing different areas in [0010] )
Kim and Wang teach in Claim 22:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the test image includes a first test image, a second test image and a third test image,
wherein the first test image includes a first color region having a first color and a second color region having a second color different from the first color, wherein the second test image includes a first selected luminance region having a selected color which is selected from the first color and the second color, and wherein the third test image has the selected color and includes a second selected luminance region having a luminance lower than a luminance of the first selected luminance region. ( Wang teaches of multiple frames and at least three corresponding areas of the frames of image. Furthermore, in addition to the multiple matches, [0159] disclose a third difference value between the parameters. Respectfully, accomplishing this over one or three test images is not a patentable distinction given the number of comparisons )
Kim teaches in Claim 23:
A method of driving a display panel ( Figure 1, [0002] discloses a display device an a method of driving ) comprising:
[driving for displaying a test image
receiving test data based on the test image];
calculating offset data based on the test data; converting input image data to converted input image data based on the offset data; and generating a data signal based on the converted input image data ( Figure 5, [0054]-[0055] discloses IDATA’ is a deterioration compensation signal which can convert IDATA a luminance compensation gain by applying a gamma value that matches each color, gray level (read as luminance and color coordinate aspects being compensated for). To clarify, there is an original IDATA and a target IDATA’ and the conversion bridges the gap between the two (read as offset data) );
[wherein the test data is based on user selection of the test image displayed on the display panel]
wherein the test data includes luminance recognition test data and color sense recognition test data, wherein the luminance recognition test data has a value based on selected luminance which is selected from the test image, and wherein the color sense recognition test data has a value based on selected color which is selected from the test image. ( Kim, Figure 4, [0049] discloses aspects of luminance, gamma characteristics of red, green and blue (color), etc. Wang, likewise, teaches in [0063] of brightness, chromatic, color coordinates )
but
Kim does not explicitly teach of “driving for displaying a test image and receiving test data based on the test image” and to expand on that, “wherein the test data is based on user selection of the test image displayed on the display panel”. Furthermore, emphasis will be made on the offset data.
Initially, Kim teaches in Figure 4, [0049] of testing deterioration characteristics according to colors, driving times, and gray levels of OLEDs based on a number of hours of driving. Kim clearly is concerned with test data.
To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, display system calibration, Wang teaches of a calculation apparatus 100 which can input a first image test signal to controller 600 and can determine display parameters, ( Wang, Figures 2 and 3, [0047] ). Wang teaches in [0063] the display parameters can include brightness and colorimetric/chromatic/color coordinate aspects, etc. Wang teaches in Figure 1 of a flowchart which describes of using the image test signal to acquire the display parameters to convert/compensate. Wang further teaches in [0201] of determining the variation value between display parameters (read as offset). As combined with Kim, the test image data can be implemented. [0106]+, [0115] disclose aspects of the user setting requirements/demands and the test image is updated accordingly (read as test data is based on user selection). As for the value being based on a selected color, Wang also teaches in [0063] of brightness, chromatic, color coordinates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the displaying of the test images, as taught by Wang, with the motivation that by using the test images, the user can input desired display parameters and to match the image test signal to the displayed content, ( Wang, [0010], [0106] ).
Kim and Wang teach in Claim 25:
The method of claim 24, wherein when the test image include a first luminance and a second luminance higher than the first luminance and the selected luminance is the second luminance of the first luminance and the second luminance, a first converted luminance of the converted input image data is lower than a luminance of the input image data. ( Wang, [0010] teaches of variations, i.e. a first and second level of brightness, etc, determining a variation value based on the comparison and then matching the correct values. Respectfully, in light of both Kim and Wang teaching of test aspects to compensate for deterioration, it is clear to convert the appropriate brightness to the desired level )
Kim teaches in Claim 28:
An electronic device ( Figure 1, [0002] discloses a display device an a method of driving ) comprising:
a display panel including a pixel ( Figure 1, [0040] discloses a display panel 150 with a plurality of sub-pixels SP );
a data driver configured to apply a data voltage based on a data signal to the pixel ( Figure 1, [0041] discloses a data driver 140 which can output signals to the display panel, including IDATA’ ); and
a driving controller configured to receive input image data and output the data signal ( Figure 1, [0042] discloses a timing controller 120 to receive data signal IDATA (read as input image data) and output IDATA’ ),
wherein the driving controller converts a luminance of the input image data and a color coordinate of the input image data [by using test data based on a test image] and output the data signal based on a converted input image data ( Figure 5, [0054]-[0055] discloses IDATA’ is a deterioration compensation signal which can convert IDATA a luminance compensation gain by applying a gamma value that matches each color, gray level (read as luminance and color coordinate aspects being compensated for) );
[wherein the test data is based on user selection of the test image displayed on the display panel]
wherein the test data includes luminance recognition test data and color sense recognition test data, wherein the luminance recognition test data has a value based on selected luminance which is selected from the test image, and wherein the color sense recognition test data has a value based on selected color which is selected from the test image. ( Kim, Figure 4, [0049] discloses aspects of luminance, gamma characteristics of red, green and blue (color), etc. Also, please note the combination below as well ); but
Kim does not explicitly teach of converting the input image data “by using test data based on a test image”.
Initially, Kim teaches in Figure 4, [0049] of testing deterioration characteristics according to colors, driving times, and gray levels of OLEDs based on a number of hours of driving. Kim clearly is concerned with test data.
To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, display system calibration, Wang teaches of a calculation apparatus 100 which can input a first image test signal to controller 600 and can determine display parameters, ( Wang, Figures 2 and 3, [0047] ). Wang teaches in [0063] the display parameters can include brightness and colorimetric/chromatic/color coordinate aspects, etc. Wang teaches in Figure 1 of a flowchart which describes of using the image test signal to acquire the display parameters to convert/compensate. As combined with Kim, the test image data can be implemented. [0106]+, [0115] disclose aspects of the user setting requirements/demands and the test image is updated accordingly (read as test data is based on user selection). As for the value being based on a selected color, Wang also teaches in [0063] of brightness, chromatic, color coordinates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the displaying of the test images, as taught by Wang, with the motivation that by using the test images, the user can input desired display parameters and to match the image test signal to the displayed content, ( Wang, [0010], [0106] ).
7. Claims 7, 8, 15, 18, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. ( US 2024/0257748 A1 ) in view of Wang et al. ( US 2022/0358862 A1 ), as applied to Claim 2, further in view of Orio et al. ( US 2020/0279519 A1 ).
As per Claim 7:
Kim does not explicitly teach “when the selected color is a first color, a second color coordinate of a second color which is complementary color of the first color is converted by the driving controller.”
However, the concept of complementary colors when converting is well known, especially in color spaces.
To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, display compensation, Orio teaches of test images as well, ( Orio, [0086] ). Furthermore, the concept of complementary colors, namely cyan, magenta and yellow, compared to red, green and blue, ( Orio, Figure 21, [0098] ). As combined with Kim, when converting for color aspects, complementary colors can be used.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the concept of complementary colors, as taught by Orio, with the motivation that this is well known to use when converting between colors and color spaces, as Kim is doing, ( Orio, [0098] ).
Kim teaches in Claim 8:
The display apparatus of claim 7, wherein when the selected color is the first color, the second color coordinate after conversion is closer to a first color coordinate of the first color than the second color coordinate before the conversion. ( Kim teaches in Figures 3 and 4, [0047] of corresponding curves depending on the age which dictates the conversion coordinate, i.e. which curve is it closer to, etc. )
As per Claim 15:
Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein a complementary color coordinate corresponding to the color sense level is closer to corresponding color coordinate corresponding to the color sense level by the conversion of the input image data based on the converted color coordinate and the converted luminance.”
However, the concept of complementary colors when converting is well known, especially in color spaces.
To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, display compensation, Orio teaches of test images as well, ( Orio, [0086] ). Furthermore, the concept of complementary colors, namely cyan, magenta and yellow, compared to red, green and blue, ( Orio, Figure 21, [0098] ). As combined with Kim, when converting for color aspects, complementary colors can be used.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the concept of complementary colors, as taught by Orio, with the motivation that this is well known to use when converting between colors and color spaces, as Kim is doing, ( Orio, [0098] ).
As per Claim 18:
Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein a complementary color coordinate corresponding to the color sense level is closer to corresponding color coordinate corresponding to the color sense level by the conversion of the input image data based on the converted color coordinate.”
However, the concept of complementary colors when converting is well known, especially in color spaces.
To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, display compensation, Orio teaches of test images as well, ( Orio, [0086] ). Furthermore, the concept of complementary colors, namely cyan, magenta and yellow, compared to red, green and blue, ( Orio, Figure 21, [0098] ). As combined with Kim, when converting for color aspects, complementary colors can be used.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the concept of complementary colors, as taught by Orio, with the motivation that this is well known to use when converting between colors and color spaces, as Kim is doing, ( Orio, [0098] ).
As per Claim 26:
Kim does not explicitly teach “wherein when the selected color is a first color, a second color coordinate of a second color which is complementary color of the first color is converted.”
However, the concept of complementary colors when converting is well known, especially in color spaces.
To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, display compensation, Orio teaches of test images as well, ( Orio, [0086] ). Furthermore, the concept of complementary colors, namely cyan, magenta and yellow, compared to red, green and blue, ( Orio, Figure 21, [0098] ). As combined with Kim, when converting for color aspects, complementary colors can be used.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the concept of complementary colors, as taught by Orio, with the motivation that this is well known to use when converting between colors and color spaces, as Kim is doing, ( Orio, [0098] ).
Kim teaches in Claim 27:
The method of claim 26, wherein when the selected color is the first color, the second color coordinate after conversion is closer to a first color coordinate of the first color than the second color coordinate before the conversion. ( Kim teaches in Figures 3 and 4, [0047] of corresponding curves depending on the age which dictates the conversion coordinate, i.e. which curve is it closer to, etc. )
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully not persuasive.
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments.
Most of the amendments from Claim 2 have been incorporated into Claim 1 and an increased emphasis on the user interaction is also claimed. However, Wang teaches of a test image which can be designed in light of a user’s demands/requirements, as noted in [0107]+. As for Wang not explicitly teaching of elements (i), (ii), etc, Kim is relied on for these limitations and Wang is relied on for mostly the user interaction in terms of a user image. Both Kim and Wang teach of many of the luminance and color sense recognition data as there is significant overlap in this regard. Respectfully, Applicant needs to consider the teachings of both references when used in combination.
Applicant is advised to better define the user interaction specifically for the various display parameters Applicant argues, a combined aspect which can help to overcome the current rejection.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621