DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “store or N! distinct” in claim 4 and 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “store or N! distinct” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is very clear what applicant intent to claim “store or N! distinct”. However, for a purpose of examining the application, examiner interprets it as –store N distinct--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 13-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dieny (US Pat. 8,208,295).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Fig. 1 of Dieny discloses a data storage apparatus, comprising:
N memory cells [Fig 1 shows 4 cells], where N is an integer greater than 1;
wherein each memory cell is controllable to conform to a plurality of path arrangements [two paths along wordlines 14] among the N memory cells, and
wherein the data storage apparatus is configured to store data using a collective arrangement of paths among the N memory cells [as discloses in col. 2 lines 39 to 58, data along the paths 14 and 15 generates electrical field enough to store 0 or 1, depending on the magnetic field being parallel or anti-parallel].
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Fig. 1 of Dieny discloses wherein each memory cell is a magnetic memory cell.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Fig. 1 of Dieny discloses wherein each memory cell is an electrical memory cell [10 is an electrical memory cell], an optical memory cell or a mechanical memory cell.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Fig. 1 of Dieny discloses wherein the data storage apparatus is configured to store or N! distinct information values [at least “0” or “1”].
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 1 of Dieny discloses wherein each path [each word line 14] of the plurality of path arrangements is associated with a binary number that corresponds to an information value [at lease “0” and “1” for each storage] in the data stored in the data storage apparatus.
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 1 of Dieny discloses wherein the data is encoded into spin wave propagation paths [as shows in Fig. 8] among memory cells.
Regarding claim 20, Fig. 10 of Dieny discloses wherein the configuring the N memory cells includes: initializing the N memory cells to a saturated state of operation [at 1000 H(Oe)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dieny (US Pat. 8,208,295) in view of Khitun (US Pub. 2016/0118099).
Regarding claim 12, Dieny discloses all claimed invention, but does not specifically disclose wherein each memory cell comprises Y3Fe2(FeO4)3 material. However, Fig. 1 of Khitum discloses magnetic memory cell comprises Y3Fe2(FeO4)3 material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Khitum’s magnetic memory cell having Y3Fe2(FeO4)3 material to the teachings of Dieny’s magnetic memory such that Dieny magnetic memory device operate in a complementary manner according to Khitum’s teachings for the purpose of maximum possible group velocity and minimum attenuation for the propagating spin waves at room temperature [paragraph 0023].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 7-11 and 17-19, the prior art does not teach or suggest either alone or in combination wherein the N memory cells are organized as a two-dimensional (2D) grid comprising a first number N1 of rows and a second number N2 of columns, the data storage apparatus further including: N1 left switches and N1 right switches coupled to the N memory cells, a tunable amplifier and a tunable phase shifter coupled in series to the N1 left switches and the N1 right switches.
Conclusion
/ANTHAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825