DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Makrinich et al (US Pub 2021/0313052 -previously cited).
Re claim 1: Makrinich discloses a system comprising: one or more processors, coupled with memory [0134; see the processor and memory with instructions], to:
receive input text prompt from a user [0054; see the language processing algorithm; 0145; see the input text of events and times which are prompts];
generate, using a generative model, based on the input text prompt, and based at least in part on a set of real-world medical procedure videos, a synthetic video, wherein the input text prompt corresponds to a requested medical procedure type and one or more requested segments, each real-world medical procedure video in the database is associated with respective metadata, wherein the synthetic video is different from the real-world videos [0145, 0179; see the generative model 813 that uses input of the text prompts and video footage V1-Vn and then outputs synthetic video clips; 0147, 0161, 0214, 0220, 0222; see the examples of output video such as an extrapolated plane, expected future video of similar patients and/or events, and the composite video output, wherein this output video is different from the intraoperative input video]; and
provide the synthetic video for display [0179; see the predicted video output that is displayed].
Re claim 2: The one or more processors: display a plurality of prompts and a text field corresponding to each of the plurality of prompts in a user interface [0135, 0213, figure 8B; see the displayed text prompts and see the user interface for user input to display the information]; and receive a part of the input text prompt in the text field corresponding to each of one or more prompts of the plurality of prompts [0145; wherein the text prompts are received as they are used as input into the model].
Re claim 3: The model comprises a language model encoder and at least one video diffusion model [0054, 0145; see the language processing algorithm and see model 813 that is a diffusion model as it generates high quality video output]; the language model encoder encodes the input text prompt into embeddings and provides the embeddings to the at least one video diffusion model to generate the synthetic video [0054, 0145; see the mathematical embedding algorithms and see model 813 that generates the synthetic video].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makrinich et al, as applied to claim 1, in view of Kreis et al (US Pub 2024/0171788 -previously cited).
Re claims 4-6: Makrinich discloses the generative model comprises: a base video diffusion model to output an initial synthetic video based on the input text prompt, wherein the generated model is based on embeddings generated by a language model based on the input text prompt encoder [0054, 0145; see the mathematical embedding algorithms and see model 813 that generates the synthetic video; 0145, 0179; see the model 813 with input text and video clips to generate a synthetic video], but does not disclose a plurality of cascaded super resolution models that each upsamples in at least one of a spatial domain or a time domain to generate the synthetic video, wherein the cascaded models are two or more of a temporal super resolution model, a spatial super resolution model, or a spatial-temporal super resolution model. However, Kreis teaches a plurality of cascaded super resolution models that each upsamples in at least one of a spatial domain or a time domain to generate the synthetic video where the models are two or more of a temporal super resolution model, a spatial super resolution model, or a spatial-temporal super resolution model [0075; see the up-sampler neural network model wherein the video diffusion model 110 and the diffusion-based video super-resolution model 130 can form cascaded diffusion models, wherein the models are spatial resolution models]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Makrinich, to use cascaded models that upsample as taught by Kreis, in order to improve the resolution quality of the output video.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/3/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite that the synthetic video is different from the real-world videos and argues that Makrinich’s output videos are not synthetic but are segments of previously captured real-world videos that correspond to future events. Respectfully, the Examiner disagrees. Makrinich discloses various examples of output video such as an extrapolated plane, expected future video of similar patients and/or events, and the composite video output, wherein this output video is different from the intraoperative input video [0147, 0161, 0214, 0220, 0222]. These output videos are different from the intraoperative input videos. In regard to a “synthetic video”, the instant specification describes such as a fabricated video that is not real (see instant published 0061, 0065). Makrinich meets this because his output video is processed and fabricated. For example, the output video of multiple patients or multiple procedures as a composite/combined video must be synthesized and processed, which contrasts with the actual and real intraoperative footage. It follows that the composite video could not be captured in real time as the intraoperative footage is. While the instant specification suggests the synthetic video includes no identifying features (i.e. facial features), such is not read into the claim language. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation is met.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL T ROZANSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797