DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN216943599U) in view of Nahmiyace et al. (US PG Pub. 20150172611).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Liu discloses a space provided for placing a dead mass for mitigating aeroelastic vibrations of a wing of an aircraft (abstract; a counterweight filler, the configuration filler is set in the cavity of the counterweight box; by a plurality of counterweight boxes with the same structure and counterweight filler with different weights to form a plurality of weight of wing counterweight component, by changing the weight of the counterweight filler, the counterweight component realizes different weight design state).
Liu fails to teach an image projector; wherein the image projector is connected to the horizontal stabilizer and integrated into an interior volume of a wing tip of a wing of the aircraft; and wherein the image projector is configured to project at least one image, wherein the image projector comprises structural features configured to mitigate at least a same aeroelastic vibrations.
Nahmiyace discloses an image projector (video projector 2; para. 0037), wherein the image projector (2) is connected to the horizontal stabilizer (para. 0024; a device can be provided on various zones Z1; illustrated in fig. 1) and integrated into an interior volume of a wing tip of a wing of the aircraft (para. 0034; a projection device is advantageously integrated into the lighting and signaling systems with which the aeroplane is traditionally equipped; airplane lighting systems typically include the wing tip); wherein the image projector (2) comprises structural features configured to mitigate at least a same aeroelastic vibrations as the dead mass (para. 0024 further states, “…on the tail, and more particularly on the tailplane (zone Z1), on the wing, and more particularly under the wing or above the wing and in particular at the level of the root of the wing (zone Z2)…”; the horizontal stabilizer also includes a wing root/spar which is a known location for “dead mass”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the system of Liu replacing the dead mass with the projection device of Nahmiyace to provide complementary lighting making it possible in particular to deliver complementary visual information when the aircraft is parking, at night, or indeed during rolling phases (Nahmiyace; para. 0006); Nahmiyace further discloses the projection device is advantageously integrated into the lighting system (para. 0034) which are typically within the wing tip, because size and weight is considered.
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses a space provided for placing a dead mass for mitigating aeroelastic vibrations of a wing of an aircraft (abstract; a counterweight filler, the configuration filler is set in the cavity of the counterweight box; by a plurality of counterweight boxes with the same structure and counterweight filler with different weights to form a plurality of weight of wing counterweight component, by changing the weight of the counterweight filler, the counterweight component realizes different weight design state).
Liu fails to teach wherein the image projector is configured to project at least one image onto solid ground, onto a vertical stabilizer, or onto a fuselage of the aircraft.
Nahmiyace discloses wherein the image projector is configured to project at least one image onto solid ground, onto a vertical stabilizer, or onto a fuselage of the aircraft (para. 0020; projecting lighting luminous beams onto the exterior surface of an aeroplane or on the ground).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the system of Liu replacing the dead mass with the projection device of Nahmiyace to provide complementary lighting making it possible in particular to deliver complementary visual information when the aircraft is parking, at night, or indeed during rolling phases (Nahmiyace; para. 0006); Nahmiyace further discloses the projection device is advantageously integrated into the lighting system (para. 0034) which are typically within the wing tip, because size and weight is considered.
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses a space provided for placing a dead mass for mitigating aeroelastic vibrations of a wing of an aircraft (abstract; a counterweight filler, the configuration filler is set in the cavity of the counterweight box; by a plurality of counterweight boxes with the same structure and counterweight filler with different weights to form a plurality of weight of wing counterweight component, by changing the weight of the counterweight filler, the counterweight component realizes different weight design state).
Liu fails to teach wherein the image projector is configured to be connected to a surface of a closed rib of the horizontal stabilizer.
Nahmiyace discloses wherein the image projector is configured to be connected to a surface of a closed rib of the horizontal stabilizer (para. 0024; such a device can be provided on various zones Z1, Z2 and Z3 (of fig. 2) of the aeroplane, in particular on the tail, and more particularly on the tailplane (zone Z1) and further, states at the level of the root of the wing; “the root of the wing” is referring to the spar and the horizontal stabilizer has a spar and ribs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the system of Liu replacing the dead mass with the projection device of Nahmiyace to provide complementary lighting making it possible in particular to deliver complementary visual information when the aircraft is parking, at night, or indeed during rolling phases (Nahmiyace; para. 0006); Nahmiyace further discloses the projection device is advantageously integrated into the lighting system (para. 0034) which are typically within the wing tip, because size and weight is considered.
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Liu as modified by Nahmiyace discloses a space provided for placing a dead mass for mitigating aeroelastic vibrations of a wing of an aircraft (abstract; a counterweight filler, the configuration filler is set in the cavity of the counterweight box; by a plurality of counterweight boxes with the same structure and counterweight filler with different weights to form a plurality of weight of wing counterweight component, by changing the weight of the counterweight filler, the counterweight component realizes different weight design state) and an image projector (2).
Liu as modified by Nahmiyace fails to teach a battery; however, adding a battery to the projection system would increase the mass/weight of the projection system thereby, equalizing the mass/weight of the counterweight filler.
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses a space provided for placing a dead mass for mitigating aeroelastic vibrations of a wing of an aircraft (abstract; a counterweight filler, the configuration filler is set in the cavity of the counterweight box; by a plurality of counterweight boxes with the same structure and counterweight filler with different weights to form a plurality of weight of wing counterweight component, by changing the weight of the counterweight filler, the counterweight component realizes different weight design state).
Liu fails to teach further comprising a housing.
Nahmiyace discloses further comprising a housing (para. 0043; assembly can be disposed in a common housing in order to be mounted on the aeroplane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the system of Liu replacing the dead mass with the projection device of Nahmiyace to provide complementary lighting making it possible in particular to deliver complementary visual information when the aircraft is parking, at night, or indeed during rolling phases (Nahmiyace; para. 0006); Nahmiyace further discloses the projection device is advantageously integrated into the lighting system (para. 0034) which are typically within the wing tip, because size and weight is considered.
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses an aircraft (pg. 2 1st para.; aircraft wing surface) has a mass suitable for mitigating aeroelastic vibrations (abstract; a counterweight filler, the configuration filler is set in the cavity of the counterweight box; by a plurality of counterweight boxes with the same structure and counterweight filler with different weights to form a plurality of weight of wing counterweight component, by changing the weight of the counterweight filler, the counterweight component realizes different weight design state).
Liu fails to teach a horizontal stabilizer comprising the image projector.
Nahmiyace discloses wherein the image projector (2) is connected to the horizontal stabilizer (para. 0024; a device can be provided on various zones Z1; illustrated in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the system of Liu replacing the dead mass with the projection device of Nahmiyace to provide complementary lighting making it possible in particular to deliver complementary visual information when the aircraft is parking, at night, or indeed during rolling phases (Nahmiyace; para. 0006).
Claim(s) 8, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN216943599U) and Nahmiyace et al. (US PG Pub. 20150172611) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Behzadpour et al. (CN 114056545A).
Regarding claim 8, Liu as modified by Nahmiyace discloses an aircraft (pg. 2 1st para.; aircraft wing surface) has a mass suitable for mitigating aeroelastic vibrations (abstract; a counterweight filler, the configuration filler is set in the cavity of the counterweight box; by a plurality of counterweight boxes with the same structure and counterweight filler with different weights to form a plurality of weight of wing counterweight component, by changing the weight of the counterweight filler, the counterweight component realizes different weight design state) and an image projector (2) is connected to the horizontal stabilizer (para. 0024; a device can be provided on various zones Z1; illustrated in fig. 1).
Liu as modified by Nahmiyace fails to teach wherein the horizontal stabilizer comprises a closed rib.
Behzadpour discloses wherein the horizontal stabilizer comprises a closed rib (closed rib 232 of fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify aircraft of Liu and Nahmiyace with the closed rib of Behzadpour in order to seal gaps and provide smooth internal surface between the stabilizer’s tip and elevator.
Regarding claim 9, Liu as modified by Nahmiyace discloses wherein the image projector (2) is connected to the horizontal stabilizer (para. 0024; a device can be provided on various zones Z1; illustrated in fig. 1) and integrated into an interior volume of a wing tip of a wing of the aircraft (para. 0034; a projection device is advantageously integrated into the lighting and signaling systems with which the aeroplane is traditionally equipped; airplane lighting systems typically include the wing tip).
Liu as modified by Nahmiyace fails to teach a closed rib.
Behzadpour discloses a closed rib (232).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify aircraft of Liu and Nahmiyace with the closed rib of Behzadpour in order to seal gaps and provide smooth internal surface between the stabilizer’s tip and elevator.
Liu as modified by Nahmiyace and Behzadpour fails to teach wherein the image projector is fixed to the closed rib; however, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projector fixing it to the closed rib as the closed rib is located at the end where the wing tip is located; therefore, it would obvious to fix the projector to the closed rib.
Regarding claim 11, Liu as modified by Nahmiyace discloses wherein the image projector (2) is connected to surface (para. 0015; the said video image projector being placed on at least one mounting zone chosen from among the tail) of the horizontal stabilizer (para. 0024; a device can be provided on various zones Z1; illustrated in fig. 1) and integrated into an interior volume of a wing tip of a wing of the aircraft (para. 0034; a projection device is advantageously integrated into the lighting and signaling systems with which the aeroplane is traditionally equipped; airplane lighting systems typically include the wing tip).
Liu as modified by Nahmiyace fails to teach a closed rib.
Behzadpour discloses a closed rib (232).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify aircraft of Liu and Nahmiyace with the closed rib of Behzadpour in order to seal gaps and provide smooth internal surface between the stabilizer’s tip and elevator.
Liu as modified by Nahmiyace and Behzadpour fails to teach wherein the image projector is fixed to the closed rib; however, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projector fixing it to the closed rib as the closed rib is located at the end where the wing tip is located; therefore, it would obvious to fix the projector to the closed rib.
Conclusion
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 /TOAN TON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2882