DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 13-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vayrynen (WO 2020/002995 A1).
Consider Claim 1, Vayrynen teaches the process of depositing intermetallic compound on a substrate using cyclic deposition process (last paragraph, page 32) where the intermetallic compound include transitional metals (3rd paragraph, page 27), where the process includes providing a substrate in the reaction chamber (1st paragraph, page 33); providing 1st gas phase reaction comprising 1st metal to the reaction chamber (1st paragraph, page 33), where the 1st gas phase reactant comprises, (adduct)n-M-Xa (lines 17-35 page 11); providing a 2nd gas phase reactant into the reaction chamber (2nd paragraph, page 33), where the 2nd gas phase reactant include radicals such as arsenic, bismuth (paragraph 9, page 34); where the transitional metal compound comprises transitional metal M, including nickel and or cobalt and an adduct forming ligand (lines 17-35, page 11).
Consider Claims 2-3, Vayrynen teaches the adduct ligand include bidentate nitrogen comprising adduct ligand comprising 2 nitrogen atoms, each of the nitrogen atoms bonded to at least one carbon atom (paragraphs 29-30, page 35).
Consider Claim 4, Vayrynen teaches the process where the transitional metal is heteroleptic transitional metal precursor (1st gas phase reactant comprises nan halogen containing metal precursor, (lines 23-25, page 13) and where the non-halogen containing precursor include the general formula seen in page 14, lines 15- 20, page 14).
Consider Claim 6, Vayrynen teaches the transitional metal include cobalt or nickel (lines 23-24, page 11).
Consider Claim 7, Vayrynen teaches the adduct ligand is cyclic adduct ligand (line 31, page 11).
Consider Claim 8, Vayrynen teaches the transitional metal compound comprises halogen (lines 17- 24, page 11).
Consider Claim 9, Vayrynen teaches the adduct ligand coordinator transitional metal through at least nitrogen atom, phosphorus atom, oxygen atom, or sulfur atom (lines 26- 30, page 11).
Consider Claim 13, Vayrynen teaches the 2nd precursor comprises arsenic (paragraph 9, page 34).
Consider Claim 14, Vayrynen teaches the 2nd precursor comprises alkyl group (2nd gas phase reactant have general formula R-M-H (paragraph 8, page 33), where R is an alkyl group (paragraph 15, page 34)).
Consider Claim 15, Vayrynen teaches the transitional metal precursor/1st gas phase reactant and the second precursor provided in a reactant chamber with temperature of less than 250℃ (paragraph 6, page 33), and where first and second gas phase reactant (following method 100 – method 200 of figures 1-2) are pulse of sequential and alternating (lines 5-7, page 23).
Consider Claim 20, Vayrynen teaches the previously taught in claim 1, additionally, Vayrynen teaches the formed intermetallic compound is an element (one element) (lines 12-24, page 7), where the process include the using of reducing agent (3rd vapor phase reactant) (lines 16-18, page 25) that is introduced with 1st gas phase reactant as co-flowed into the reaction chamber (lines 27-30, page 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vayrynen (WO 2020/002995 A1) in view of Byun (PG Pub 2021/020438 A1).
Consider Claim 12, Vayrynen teaches the first precursor (transitional metal precursor) react with second precursor (see claim 1), using ALD process (line 14, page 6).
Vayrynen does not teach the claimed compound.
However, Byun teaches the process of forming transitional metal film on a substrate using transitional metal precursor with organic material (abstract) using ALD process [0019], teaches the organic material include hydrogen telluride (H2Te), dimethyl telluride (CH3)2Te, and (Et3Si)2Te (claim 9).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention would combine Vayrynen with Byun to use the above Telluride precursors, to synthesize transition metal dichalcogenide with an easy process and a desired thickness [0095].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,209,305 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 state: A method of forming a transition metal comprising material on a substrate by a cyclic deposition process, the method comprising:
providing a substrate in a reaction chamber;
providing a transition metal precursor comprising a transition metal compound in the reaction chamber; and
providing a second precursor in the reaction chamber,
wherein the transition metal compound comprises a transition metal and one or more adduct forming ligands, and
wherein the second precursor comprises radicals comprising tellurium, arsenic or bismuth.
Where this is disclosed in claim 1 of US Pat. ‘305.
Additionally, Claim 20 state: A method of forming a transition metal-comprising material on a substrate by a cyclic deposition process, the method comprising:
providing a substrate in a reaction chamber;
providing a transition metal precursor comprising a transition metal and one or more adduct forming ligands in the reaction chamber;
providing a second precursor in the reaction chamber; and
contacting the transition metal-comprising material with a reducing agent thereby forming an elemental transition metal,
wherein the second precursor comprises radicals comprising tellurium, arsenic or bismuth.
Where this is in claim 19 of US Pat. ‘305.
Additionally, Claims 2-6 and 8-19 are disclosed in claims 2-18 of US Pat. ‘305.
Conclusion
/Mohammad Mayy/
Art Unit 1718
/GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718