DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
This office action is responsive to the preliminary amendment filed on 12/19/24. As directed by the amendment: claims 6-7 and 10 have been amended, no claims have been canceled, and no new claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-10 are presently pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because reference characters 1 (Fig. 1), 5 (fig. 4a), 6 (Fig. 4b), 2 (Fig. 6), 21 (Fig. 8 and 9), 222 (Fig. 10) and 223 (Fig. 11 and 12) are underlined when they are not within a structure. Instead, the reference characters should not be underlined and should have a lead line or arrow pointing to the corresponding structure. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second receiving groove is provided on the blocking member, a convex clamping block is arranged on the inner wall surface of the cover body, and the clamping block is embedded in the second receiving groove” in claim 3 and “a first magnetic member is arranged on the cover body, a second magnetic member is arranged on the blocking member, and the blocking member is magnetically connected to the cover body” in claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line of 1 paragraph 70 refers to Fig. 4a, however the reference characters following including 31 and 2 are not found in Fig. 4a.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a blocking member” in claim 1 (corresponding structure is a cylinder, a cube, a cuboid [0042] or a bump [0046], taken out of 112f in claim 5);
“a sealing member” in claim 6 (corresponding structure is a flexible material such as silicone [0053] having two receiving holes [0055], taken out of 112f in claim 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the inner wall surface” in line 2, which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 5 recites “the surface” in line 1, which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 6 recites “the microfluidic body” in line 8 and again in line 9, however it is unclear which of the “at least two microfluidic bodies” are being referred to.
Claim 7 recites “the two receiving holes” in line 8, however it is unclear which receiving holes of the at least two receiving holes is being referred to.
Claim 8 recites “the surface” in line 4, which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim limitation “a first magnetic member” in claim 4 and “a second magnetic member” in claim 4 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Any remaining claims are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lamble et al. (9,050,433).
Regarding claim 1, in fig. 1 and 6C, Lamble discloses an inhalation device, comprising: a housing 3409; an atomization structure 3408 arranged in the housing and comprising a mist outlet (outlet of nozzle 416); a cover body 1407 movably connected to the housing (Col. 8, ll. 23-25, Col. 13, ll. 4-6); and a blocking member 1460 arranged on the cover body, wherein when the cover body is configured to be in a first state (Fig. 1), the blocking member is attached to the mist outlet and blocks the mist outlet (Fig. 1, Col. 8, ll. 14-22); and when the cover body is configured to be in a second state (Fig. 6C), the blocking member is separated from the mist outlet (Fig. 6C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamble, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Hawry et al. (2021/0155386).
Regarding claim 2, Lamble is silent regarding that the blocking member is detachably connected to the cover body. However, in fig. 4 Hawry teaches a blocking member 148 that is detachably connected to a cover body (200, by friction bit [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lamble’s blocking member with a detachable blocking member, as taught by Hawry, for the purpose of providing an alternate blocking member attachment having the predictable results of blocking the outlet.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Lamble discloses a first receiving groove (where 1460 resides within 1407, Lamble) is provided on the inner wall surface of the cover body (Fig. 1, Lamble), and the blocking member is embedded in the first receiving groove (Fig. 1, Lamble); or a second receiving groove is provided on the blocking member, a convex clamping block is arranged on the inner wall surface of the cover body, and the clamping block is embedded in the second receiving groove.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamble and Hawry, as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Liu et al. (2019/0223503).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Lamble is silent regarding a first magnetic member is arranged on the cover body, a second magnetic member is arranged on the blocking member, and the blocking member is magnetically connected to the cover body. However, in fig. 5-6 Liu teaches a first magnetic member 54 is arranged on a cover body 51, a second magnetic member 54 is arranged on a shell 1, and the blocking member is magnetically connected to the cover body [0092]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Lamble’s friction fit with magnets, as taught by Liu, for the purpose of providing an alternate connection between the cover body and the blocking member having the predictable results of a connection between parts.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamble, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Payne (2004/0168690).
Regarding claim 5, Lamble discloses that the surface of the blocking member comprises a bump (1461 Lamble), but is silent regarding that when the cover body is configured to be in the first state, the bump is embedded in the mist outlet and is in an interference fit with the mist outlet. However, in fig. 5 Payne teaches when a cover body 16 is configured to be in the first state (a closed state), the bump is embedded in an outlet 28 and is in an interference fit with the mist outlet (“forced through the aperture 28” [0037]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Lamble’s bump with a bump that is embedded in the mist outlet and is in an interference fit with the mist outlet, as taught by Payne, for the purpose of providing an alternate connection between the mist outlet and bump having the predictable results of providing closure to an outlet.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamble, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Pollet et al. (2004/0089292).
Regarding claim 5, Lamble discloses that the housing comprises a mist outlet channel (channel extending through 416, Fig. 6C Lamble), one end of the atomization structure 3408 is located in the mist outlet channel and comprises the mist outlet (outlet end of the nozzle), and the mist outlet is spaced apart from a port (opposite opening to the mist outlet of 416) of the mist outlet channel, but is silent regarding that the cover body is rotatably connected to the housing. However, in fig. 5a-5c Pollet teaches a cover body 9 that is rotatably connected to the housing 4 (rotatable by strap 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Lamble’s cover and housing with the addition of a strap, as taught by Pollet, for the purpose of preventing the loss of the cover body from the inhalation device. The modified Lamble discloses that when the cover body is configured to be in the first state (Fig. 1, Lamble), the cover body covers the mist outlet channel and is engaged with the housing (Fig. 1, Lamble); and when the cover body is configured to be in the second state (Fig. 6C Lamble), the mist outlet channel is exposed (Fig. 6C, Lamble).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tucker et al. (6,632,199) directed towards a sealing cap, Burkholz et al. (2015/0306369) directed towards a cap, Ding et al. (2025/0121143) directed towards a cap with blocking member, Rawert et al. (2023/0218837) directed towards two liquid compositions, Claret et al. (2015/0112286) directed towards a stopper and Shaw et al. (2008/0132851) directed towards a cap.
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785