DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-5) in the reply filed on 02/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II (method of using), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/05/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Plasma treatment unit (discharge electrode, power source, gas supply unit, and/or exhaust line, para. [0063]) in at least claims 1-5.
Gas supply unit (gas supply source(s), para. [0067]) in at least claims 4-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20210002758 to Sakamoto.
Claim 1: Sakamoto discloses a vacuum treatment apparatus, comprising: a deposition unit (20 [lithium source], Fig. 5) that includes an evaporation source (20) including a lithium metal and forms a lithium metal film on a base material (60 [film], para. [0107]); and a plasma treatment unit (51B/57/58, Fig. 7) that exposes a surface of the lithium metal film formed on the base material to a discharge gas obtained by discharging a gas containing carbon and oxygen, and forms a lithium carbonate layer on the surface (para. [0128]).
Claim 3: The apparatus of Sakamoto discloses wherein the base material (60, Fig. 5, Sakamoto), the vacuum treatment apparatus further comprises: a wind-off roller (31 [payout roller]) that winds off the base material (60); a wind roller (32 [take-up roller]) that winds the base material (60); and a main roller (12 [second roller]) provided between the wind-off roller (31) and the wind roller (32) in a conveyance direction in which the base material (60) is conveyed, and winds and conveys the base material, and the plasma treatment unit (51B/57/58, Fig. 7) is disposed between the main roller (12) and the wind roller (32) in the conveyance direction (para. [0061-0063]).
Regarding the limitation that the base material is foil-like (para. [0064]), the recitations tie the structure of the apparatus to a substrate that may be worked upon by the apparatus, but is notably not part of the apparatus; and therefore cannot be used to define over the prior art apparatus. The courts have held that inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. MPEP 2115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto as applied to claims 1, 3 above, and further in view of US 20230191732 to Suzuki.
Claim 2: The apparatus of Sakamoto discloses wherein the lithium carbonate layer is formed on the surface while the base material (60, Fig. 5, Sakamoto) is being conveyed from the deposition unit (20) toward the plasma treatment unit (51B/57/58).
Regarding the limitations above, it is noted that they are drawn to an intended use of the apparatus, as such, the courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
However Sakamoto does not explicitly disclose a conveyance speed at which the base material is conveyed is 1 m/min or more.
Suzuki teaches a device (10, Fig. 4) is produced a conveyance speed at which the base material (11 [substrate]) is conveyed is 1 m/min or more (para. [0128] where multiple speeds are disclosed which overlap the claimed range) for the purpose of suitably setting a line speed during production (para. [0128]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the conveyance speed taught by Suzuki with motivation to suitably set a line speed during production.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto as applied to claims 1, 3 above, and further in view of US 20100300357 to Yamamoto.
Claim 4: The apparatus of Sakamoto discloses wherein the plasma treatment unit (51B/57/58, Fig. 7, Sakamoto) includes at least one discharge electrode (not shown but disclosed as plasma generation means, para. [0128]) that extends in a width direction of the base material and faces at least one of a first main surface of the base material or a second main surface opposite to the first main surface (para. [0127-0128]), a gas supply unit (57 [gas supply mechanism]) that supplies the gas to an internal space of the plasma treatment unit (51B/57/58, para. [0126]),
However Sakamoto does not explicitly disclose and a power supply that supplies discharge power to the discharge electrode.
Yamamoto discloses and a power supply (31 [power supply], Fig. 1) that supplies discharge power to the discharge electrode (27 [discharge electrode]) for the purpose of generating a plasma in the chamber (para. [0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the power supply coupled to discharge electrode as taught by Yamamoto with motivation to generate a plasma in the chamber.
Claim 5: The apparatus of Sakamoto in view of *** discloses wherein a surface of the discharge electrode (51B, Fig. 7, Sakamoto) includes C, Mg, Al, Si, Ti, Fe, Ni, Zn, Ag, Sn, and an alloy of those metals (para. [0127-0128]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220162741 discloses similar deposition apparatus (100, Fig. 1) with a deposition unit (120 [film formation unit]), plasma generator (SO [gas supplier] of 20, para. [0084]), and discharge electrode (172) and power supply (124).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718