DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In response to a restriction requirement dated May 11, 2026 the Applicants elected Invention I of claims 1-11 without traverse in a reply filed on May 21, 2026. The non-elected claims 12-30 are withdrawn.
Pending elected claims 2-6 and 8-11 of which claims 1 and 7 are independent claims, are examined on their merits, infra.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), and based on application # 10-2024-0055158 filed in Korea on April 25, 2024 which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration submitted December 19, 2024
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed (December 19, 2024 and September 25, 2025) has been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed December 19, 2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed December 19, 2024 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (IDS submitted prior art US 20240357880 Al) in view of Cha (IDS submitted prior art US 20230209890 Al).
As to Claim 1:
Li et al. discloses a display device (Li, see Abstract and 100 in figure 1A, where Li discloses that a display module includes a display panel, at least one driving chip, a supporting plate and a strengthening plate. The display panel includes a display portion, a bending portion and a lead-out portion. The display portion has a display surface and a non-display surface. The at least one driving chip is mounted on a side of the lead-out portion away from the display portion. The supporting plate is located on the non-display surface of the display portion. The strengthening plate is located between the supporting plate and the lead-out portion. A depression structure is provided in at least one surface of two opposite surfaces of the strengthening plate and the supporting plate; an orthographic projection of the depression structure in the at least one surface on the lead-out portion at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the at least one driving chip on the lead-out portion) comprising: a display panel (Li, see display panel 1 in figure 2 and paragraph [0061], where Li discloses that the flexible display panel 1 may be an electroluminescent display panel or a photoluminescent display panel. In a case where the flexible display panel 1 is the electroluminescent display panel, the electroluminescent display panel may be an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display panel or a quantum dot light-emitting diode (QLED) display panel. In a case where the flexible display panel 1 is the photoluminescent display panel, the photoluminescent display panel may be a quantum dot photoluminescent display panel); a first driver circuit (Li, see driving chip 2 on display panel 1 in figure 2) connected to the display panel (Li, see driving chip 2 on display panel 1 in figure 2 and paragraph [0060], where Li discloses that as shown in FIG. 2, the display module 100 includes a flexible display panel 1 and a driving chip 2); and a support plate (Li, see support plate 3 in figure 2) on the display panel (Li, see display panel 1 in figure 2), wherein the support plate has a groove or a hole (Li, see 5, 54 and 54a in figure 17 and paragraph [0073], where Li discloses that depression structure 5 is provided in at least one surface of two opposite surfaces of the strengthening plate 4 and the supporting plate 3) that overlaps with the first driver circuit (Li, see 54a in figure 17 and paragraph [0132], where Li discloses that an orthographic projection of at least one second hole 54a on the lead-out portion 12 at least partially overlaps with the orthographic projection of the driving chip 2 on the lead-out portion 12).
Li differs from the claimed subject matter in that Li does not explicitly disclose overlapping as it pertains to a support plate overlapping with the display panel. However in an analogous art, Cha discloses a support plate overlapping with the display panel (Cha, see paragraphs [0055] and [0057], where Cha discloses that the first member 510 may be a back plate, a support layer, a heat dissipation member, a rigid member or the like, but is not limited to the term. A second adhesive layer 320 may be disposed between the display panel 400 and the first member 510. The second adhesive layer 320 may bond the display panel 400 and the first member 510 to each other. The second adhesive layer 320 may transfer heat generated from the display panel 400 to the first member 510).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Li with Cha. One would be motivated to modify Li by disclosing a support plate overlapping with the display panel as taught by Cha, and thereby providing support structures to improve curved display surface while increasing viewer immersion (Cha, see paragraph [0006]).
As to Claim 2:
Li et al. in view of Cha discloses that the display device of claim 1, wherein: the groove or hole of the support plate is defined by sidewalls of the support plate and a bottom of the support plate, and a width of the groove or hole of the support plate is different from a width of the sidewalls of the support plate (Li, see groove or holes 54a in figure 17 and having a different width than the sidewalls 53a in figure 11 and paragraph [0131], where Li discloses that FIG. 17 (FIG. 17 is a structural diagram of yet another supporting plate, in accordance with some embodiment), the depression structure 5 includes a fourth depression structure 54 that is disposed in the supporting plate 3. The fourth depression structure 54 includes a plurality of second holes 54a arranged at intervals, and the second hole 54a extends in a thickness direction of the supporting plate 3 and penetrates at least through the surface of the supporting plate 3 proximate to the strengthening plate 4. Furthermore, referring to FIG. 11 (FIG. 11 is a structural diagram of a supporting plate 3, in accordance with some embodiments), the depression structure 5 includes a third depression structure 53 that is disposed in a surface of the supporting plate 3 proximate to the strengthening plate 4. The third depression structure 53 includes a plurality of second grooves 53a. The plurality of second grooves 53a extend in a third direction Bl and are arranged at intervals in a fourth direction B2. The third direction Bl and the fourth direction B2 intersect and are both parallel to the supporting plate).
As to Claim 3:
Li et al. in view of Cha discloses that the display device of claim 2, wherein a width of the groove or hole of the support plate is greater than a width of the sidewalls of the support plate (Cha, see figure 7 and paragraph [0103], where Cha discloses that FIG. 7 shows an embodiment where encapsulation
member 340 includes holes HL on all portions of the edge or second region R2 that surrounds the first portion Rl. The holes HL disposed on different portions of the second region R2 may include same structural configurations, e.g., in the shapes and intervals, or may include different structural
configurations. For example, with respect to the example shown in FIG. 7, holes in the lateral portion LP of the second region R2 may include different intervals between one another from the holes in the vertical portion VP of the second region R2. The embodiment of FIG. 7 can be used in
display devices that have curved portions on all four edges thereof, e.g., the display devices used in some mobile devices).
As to Claim 4:
Li et al. in view of Cha discloses that the display device of claim 3, wherein a width of the groove or hole of the support plate is smaller than a width of the sidewalls of the support plate (Cha, see figure 7 and paragraph [0103], where Cha discloses that FIG. 7 shows an embodiment where encapsulation
member 340 includes holes HL on all portions of the edge or second region R2 that surrounds the first portion Rl. The holes HL disposed on different portions of the second region R2 may include same structural configurations, e.g., in the shapes and intervals, or may include different structural
configurations. For example, with respect to the example shown in FIG. 7, holes in the lateral portion LP of the second region R2 may include different intervals between one another from the holes in the vertical portion VP of the second region R2. The embodiment of FIG. 7 can be used in
display devices that have curved portions on all four edges thereof, e.g., the display devices used in some mobile devices).
.
As to Claim 5:
Li et al. in view of Cha discloses that the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a second driver circuit connected to the display panel, wherein the groove or hole of the support plate overlaps with the second driver circuit (Li, see paragraph [0005], where Li discloses that the at least one driving chip includes two or more driving chips. The orthographic projection, on the lead-out portion, of the depression structure in the at least one surface at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of each driving chip on the lead-out portion).
As to Claim 6:
Li et al. in view of Cha discloses that the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a circuit board connected to the display panel, wherein the first driver circuit is disposed on the circuit board (Li, see paragraphs [0185] and [0179], where Li discloses the display module 100 and the display device 200. The display device 200 includes the display module 100, and the display module 100 includes the flexible display panel 1, the driving chip 2, the supporting plate 3 and the strengthening plate 4, the display module 100 further includes a flexible circuit board 6).
As to Claim 7:
Li et al. discloses a display device (Li, see Abstract and 100 in figure 1A, where Li discloses that a display module includes a display panel, at least one driving chip, a supporting plate and a strengthening plate. The display panel includes a display portion, a bending portion and a lead-out portion. The display portion has a display surface and a non-display surface. The at least one driving chip is mounted on a side of the lead-out portion away from the display portion. The supporting plate is located on the non-display surface of the display portion. The strengthening plate is located between the supporting plate and the lead-out portion. A depression structure is provided in at least one surface of two opposite surfaces of the strengthening plate and the supporting plate; an orthographic projection of the depression structure in the at least one surface on the lead-out portion at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the at least one driving chip on the lead-out portion) comprising: a display panel (Li, see display panel 1 in figure 2 and paragraph [0061], where Li discloses that the flexible display panel 1 may be an electroluminescent display panel or a photoluminescent display panel. In a case where the flexible display panel 1 is the electroluminescent display panel, the electroluminescent display panel may be an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display panel or a quantum dot light-emitting diode (QLED) display panel. In a case where the flexible display panel 1 is the photoluminescent display panel, the photoluminescent display panel may be a quantum dot photoluminescent display panel); a first driver circuit (Li, see driving chip 2 on display panel 1 in figure 2) connected to the display panel (Li, see driving chip 2 on display panel 1 in figure 2 and paragraph [0060], where Li discloses that as shown in FIG. 2, the display module 100 includes a flexible display panel 1 and a driving chip 2); and a support plate (Li, see support plate 3 in figure 2) on the display panel (Li, see display panel 1 in figure 2), wherein the support plate has a groove or a hole that is disposed around the first driver circuit when viewed from a top of the support plate (Li, see 54a in figure 17 and paragraph [0132], where Li discloses that an orthographic projection of at least one second hole 54a on the lead-out portion 12 at least partially overlaps with the orthographic projection of the driving chip 2 on the lead-out portion 12).
Li differs from the claimed subject matter in that Li does not explicitly disclose overlapping as it pertains to a support plate overlapping with the display panel. However in an analogous art, Cha discloses a support plate overlapping with the display panel (Cha, see paragraphs [0055] and [0057], where Cha discloses that the first member 510 may be a back plate, a support layer, a heat dissipation member, a rigid member or the like, but is not limited to the term. A second adhesive layer 320 may be disposed between the display panel 400 and the first member 510. The second adhesive layer 320 may bond the display panel 400 and the first member 510 to each other. The second adhesive layer 320 may transfer heat generated from the display panel 400 to the first member 510).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Li with Cha. One would be motivated to modify Li by disclosing a support plate overlapping with the display panel as taught by Cha, and thereby providing support structures to improve curved display surface while increasing viewer immersion (Cha, see paragraph [0006]).
As to Claim 8:
Li et al. in view of Cha discloses that the display device of claim 7, wherein: the groove or hole of the support plate is defined by sidewalls of the support plate and a bottom of the support plate, and a width of the groove or hole of the support plate is different from a width of the sidewalls of the support plate (Li, see groove or holes 54a in figure 17 and having a different width than the sidewalls 53a in figure 11 and paragraph [0131], where Li discloses that FIG. 17 (FIG. 17 is a structural diagram of yet another supporting plate, in accordance with some embodiment), the depression structure 5 includes a fourth depression structure 54 that is disposed in the supporting plate 3. The fourth depression structure 54 includes a plurality of second holes 54a arranged at intervals, and the second hole 54a extends in a thickness direction of the supporting plate 3 and penetrates at least through the surface of the supporting plate 3 proximate to the strengthening plate 4. Furthermore, referring to FIG. 11 (FIG. 11 is a structural diagram of a supporting plate 3, in accordance with some embodiments), the depression structure 5 includes a third depression structure 53 that is disposed in a surface of the supporting plate 3 proximate to the strengthening plate 4. The third depression structure 53 includes a plurality of second grooves 53a. The plurality of second grooves 53a extend in a third direction Bl and are arranged at intervals in a fourth direction B2. The third direction Bl and the fourth direction B2 intersect and are both parallel to the supporting plate).
As to Claim 9:
Li et al. in view of Cha discloses that the display device of claim 8, wherein a width of the groove or hole of the support plate is greater than a width of the sidewalls of the support plate (Cha, see figure 7 and paragraph [0103], where Cha discloses that FIG. 7 shows an embodiment where encapsulation
member 340 includes holes HL on all portions of the edge or second region R2 that surrounds the first portion Rl. The holes HL disposed on different portions of the second region R2 may include same structural configurations, e.g., in the shapes and intervals, or may include different structural
configurations. For example, with respect to the example shown in FIG. 7, holes in the lateral portion LP of the second region R2 may include different intervals between one another from the holes in the vertical portion VP of the second region R2. The embodiment of FIG. 7 can be used in
display devices that have curved portions on all four edges thereof, e.g., the display devices used in some mobile devices).
.
As to Claim 10:
Li et al. in view of Cha discloses that the display device of claim 8, wherein the first driver circuit overlaps with sidewalls of the support plate (Li, see 54a in figure 17 and paragraph [0132], where Li discloses that an orthographic projection of at least one second hole 54a on the lead-out portion 12 at least partially overlaps with the orthographic projection of the driving chip 2 on the lead-out portion 12).
As to Claim 11:
Li et al. in view of Cha discloses that the display device of claim 7, further comprising: a second driver circuit connected to the display panel, wherein the groove or hole of the support plate overlaps with the second driver circuit (Li, see paragraph [0005], where Li discloses that the at least one driving chip includes two or more driving chips. The orthographic projection, on the lead-out portion, of the depression structure in the at least one surface at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of each driving chip on the lead-out portion).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hong (US 20200057522 A1) discloses in FIGS. 11 and 12, the cover window 100, the touch sensing device 200, the display panel 300, the panel support member 390, and the frame 600 may be formed flat in the first region DR1, and may be formed as a curved surface in the second region DR2. A first adhesive member 910 may attach the cover window 100 and the touch sensing device 200. A second adhesive member 920 may attach the touch sensing device 200 and the display panel 300. A third adhesive member 930 may attach the display panel 300 and the panel support member 390.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624