Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites, “6. The on-board communications system, “ however, does not recite the claim in which depends on. For the purpose of prior art analysis, Examiner assumes, 6. The on-board communications system of claim 5,…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites “10. A marine vessel comprising the on-board communications system of claim 4.” It is noted that claim 4 is a dependent claim that does not recite on-board communications system. For the purpose of prior art analysis, Examiner assumes, “10. A marine vessel comprising the on-board communications system of claim 5”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. (US 5510659 A) in view of Paryani; Anil et al. (US 20200282853 A1)
In regards to claim 1, Lewis teaches, An on-board communications module (See fig. 1, control logic module 3, wireless communications devices, such as encoder 6, connected to control logic module 3, and decoder 8, connected over wireless broadcast path 46) configured to enable charging of a propulsion electric energy storage system of a marine vessel using an on-shore combined charging system, (See fig. 3, abstract, Supply of ac current from the marina source to the boat's DC loads is permitted only when an isolation relay completes the electrical circuit therebetween. Also see col. 1, lines 25-35, By plugging the onboard electrical distribution system into the slip's associated electrical outlet the boater makes an electrical connection to the marina's onshore electrical system. The electricity from that source is used to operate the various on-board electrical equipment, a principal one of which is the battery charger. The battery charger converts the supplied AC current to the direct current form, DC, and supplies the DC current to charge the boat's DC batteries)
and where the marine vessel comprises a corrosion protection arrangement, (See col. 3, lines 20-26, The present invention provides the boat owner a way of avoiding corrosion of expensive boat fittings. Also see col. 2, lines 38-40, The present invention automatically reduces the duration in which any boat's onboard electrical system is connected to the onshore distribution system, interrupting electrolysis current paths and minimizing potential corrosion damage.) the communications module being configured to galvanically isolate a charging control unit of the marine vessel from a DC electric energy storage system of the marine vessel, (Lewis discloses that the control logic module 3, acting through the isolation switching mechanism, electrically disconnects the on-shore charging path from the vessel’s onboard DC battery system when isolation conditions are satisfied. See col. 3, lines 39-45, Normally the switching mechanism is open… to interrupt each of the electrical leads extending from the on-shore power source to the vessel, electrically isolating the vessel. Also see col. 7, lines 8-24, control logic module 3 supplies appropriate output to isolation command encoder 6, which broadcasts to decoder 8, which operates isolation switch mechanism driver 4 closing isolation elements 5, 7, and 9. The battery charger 19, which controls the charging of battery 21 (DC electric energy storage system), is thus galvanically isolated from the DC battery system by operation of the communications module when charging is not required. Lastly see col. 7, lines 38-46) the communications module further being configured to galvanically isolate the charging control unit from low-voltage consumers of the marine vessel. (Lewis discloses that the control logic module 3 monitors and manages the isolation of the DC load circuit (comprising the vessel’s low-voltage consumers) as part of the same isolation architecture. See Lewis col. 6, lines 41-57, The load current sensor 13 monitors the level of DC current supplied to load 23 over lead 47 and supplies an electrical signal, representative of the level sensed, to input lead 36 of control logic module 3. Also see col. 8, lines 1-15, col. 7, lines 37-46, managing the isolation relay based on both battery charger current and DC load current conditions simultaneously. The module’s management of both the charging path and the low-voltage consumer path within a unified isolation architecture reads on the claimed dual-isolation function of the communications module with respect to the charging control unit (See abstract, “Supply of ac current from the marina source to the boat's DC loads is permitted only when an isolation relay completes the electrical circuit therebetween”))
Lewis does not specifically teach, combined charging system (emphasis added)
Paryani further teaches, combined charging system (See fig. 1, paragraph 42, The charge connector 118 can, for example, be one of a combined charging system (CCS),)
Therefore, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the communication module of Lewis to further comprise combined charging system taught by Paryani because utilization of CCS had become the recognized industry standard for DC fast charging of electric vehicles and was being actively extended to marine vessel applications, thus offering reduced onboard conversion hardware and faster charging times.
In regards to claim 2, Lewis-Paryani teaches the on-board communications module of claim 1, further comprising: a DC/DC buffer configured to be electrically powered by the DC electric energy storage system, the DC/DC buffer further being configured to supply galvanically isolated electric power to the charging control unit, (See Paryani paragraph 52, a high frequency transformer is utilized in place of a traditional boost converter to step up the voltage. This make galvanic isolation inherent to an efficient OBC. Likewise for similar reasons, a high frequency transformer is utilized in place of a single stage buck converter to step down the voltage in a DC-DC converter...paragraph 42, The single DC-DC 106 connects the LV sensor 102 with the HV battery contactors 110 and the FC connectors 116.) at least one transceiver configured to galvanically isolate communications signals between the charging control unit and the low-voltage consumers, (See Paryani paragraph 26, CAN—Controller Area network. See Paryani paragraph 19, isoSPI—isolated communications typically used for HV battery cell voltage and temperature measurements. Paryani discloses isoSPI as galvanically isolated communications transceiver passing signals across the isolation boundary. Also see Paryani table 5, HV Connectors with built-in HVIL… 12 V terminal lug post LV Sealed for low voltage communications and connector signal ground, establishing that isolated transceivers relay HVIL and CAN signals across the isolated barrier between the charging control unit and the LV consumer network) and wherein a ground connection of the DC/DC buffer is connectable to the charging control unit and to a protective earth connection of a combined charging system connector of the marine vessel. (See Lewis abstract, on-shore ground lead is connected to the boat's ground system, a customary path for electrolysis currents, and corrosion damage caused by those currents…See Paryani paragraph 42, The charge connector 118 can, for example, be one of a combined charging system (CCS)…see table 5, HV Connectors with built-in HVIL… 12 V terminal lug post LV Sealed for low voltage communications and connector signal ground)
In regards to claim 3, Lewis-Paryani teaches the on-board communications module of claim 2, wherein the at least one transceiver is configured to relay communications signals comprising at least one of: controller area network signals, (See Paryani paragraph 26, CAN—Controller Area network) hazardous voltage interlock loop signals, (See Paryani paragraph 31, HVIL—High Voltage Interlock Loop and associated paragraphs regarding HVIL) a key switch ignition ON signal, and any hardwired 8-32V communications signals. (See Paryani paragraph 17, LV or LVB—Low Voltage battery or system. Typically, in automotive, 12V, 14V, 16V, 24V, 42V, 48V)
In regards to claim 4, Lewis-Paryani teaches the on-board communications module of claim 2, wherein the at least one transceiver comprises at least one of: a relay, (See Lewis col. 4, lines 46-52, The isolation mechanism is preferably an electromagnetic type relay that contains relay contacts which are sealed to protect the contacts from the external salt water atmosphere, although equivalent solid state semiconductor switches may be substituted for the electromechanical device.) an optoelectrical repeater, and 2x optocouplers. (See Paryani paragraph 19, isoSPI—isolated communications typically used for HV battery cell voltage and temperature measurements. IsoSPI constitutes an optoelectrical repeater or isolated transceiver)
In regards to claim 5, Lewis teaches, An on-board communications system for a … charging system of a marine vessel, the communications system comprising: (See abstract, fig. 1, control logic module 3, wireless communications devices, such as encoder 6, connected to control logic module 3, and decoder 8, connected over wireless broadcast path 46)
an on-board … charging system connector … for electrically connecting the on-board communications system with a … connection of an on-shore … charging system connector, (See fig. 1, and associate column and lines, connection between marina shore power 27 and battery charger 19. See fig. 3, abstract, Supply of ac current from the marina source to the boat's DC loads is permitted only when an isolation relay completes the electrical circuit therebetween. Also see col. 1, lines 25-35, By plugging the onboard electrical distribution system into the slip's associated electrical outlet the boater makes an electrical connection to the marina's onshore electrical system. The electricity from that source is used to operate the various on-board electrical equipment, a principal one of which is the battery charger. The battery charger converts the supplied AC current to the direct current form, DC, and supplies the DC current to charge the boat's DC batteries))
a charging control unit, (See fig. 1, battery charger 19)
low-voltage consumers (See fig. 1, DC driven electrical load 23)
a DC electric energy storage system for electrically powering the charging control unit, (See fig. 1, ships battery 21 is the DC ESS that sustains the vessel’s electrical system and from which the charging control logic is ultimately powered)
a corrosion protection arrangement, and (See col. 3, lines 20-26, The present invention provides the boat owner a way of avoiding corrosion of expensive boat fittings. Also see col. 2, lines 38-40, The present invention automatically reduces the duration in which any boat's onboard electrical system is connected to the onshore distribution system, interrupting electrolysis current paths and minimizing potential corrosion damage.)
the communications module of claim 1, and (See rejection of claim 1 set forth above)
wherein the charging control unit and the low-voltage consumers are communicatively connected to each other via the at least one transceiver of the communications module, and wherein the DC electric energy storage system is electrically connected to the DC/DC buffer of the communications module, the DC/DC buffer further being configured to supply galvanically isolated electric power to the charging control unit. (See rejection of claim 2 set forth above, which recites similar claimed subject matter)
Lewis does not specifically teach, an on-board combined charging system connector comprising a protective earth connection (emphasis added)
Paryani further teaches, an on-board combined charging system connector comprising a protective earth connection (See paragraph 42, The charge connector 118 can, for example, be one of a combined charging system (CCS), GB/T, CHAdeMO, and a wireless transformer. The CCS connector inherently includes a protective earth (PE) connection)
Therefore, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skilled in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the communication module of Lewis to further comprise combined charging system taught by Paryani because utilization of CCS had become the recognized industry standard for DC fast charging of electric vehicles and was being actively extended to marine vessel applications, thus offering reduced onboard conversion hardware and faster charging times.
In regards to claim 6, Lewis-Paryani teaches the on-board communications system of claim 5, wherein the low-voltage consumers comprise at least one of: a control unit, and a monitoring unit. (See Lewis col. 2, lines 20-31, most maritime vessels have built in electrically operated safety equipment, such as automatic bilge pumps. The power source for that safety equipment is the vessel's batteries, which have only a limited storage capacity.)
In regards to claim 7, Lewis-Paryani teaches the on-board communications system of claim 5, wherein the corrosion protection arrangement comprises a galvanic isolator electrically connected to the protective earth connection of the on-board combined charging system connector, and which galvanic isolator is further configured to be electrically connected to a ground connection at a hull of the marine vessel. (See Paryani paragraph 42, The charge connector 118 can, for example, be one of a combined charging system (CCS), GB/T, CHAdeMO, and a wireless transformer. The CCS connector inherently includes a protective earth (PE) connection). Also see Lewis fig. 1, and associated column and lines where Lewis discloses isolation elements 5, 7, and 9 inserted in series in the ground lead between the on-shore power source and the vessel. Also see abstract, on-shore ground lead is connected to the boat's ground system, a customary path for electrolysis currents, and corrosion damage caused by those currents. Lastly see fig. 3, col. 5, lines 51-67, Ground lead 24 also connects to the boats metal through-hull fittings 26 and zinc plates, 30,)
In regards to claim 8, Lewis-Paryani teaches the on-board communications system of claim 7, wherein the galvanic isolator is an opto-electronic isolator or a signal transformer. (See Lewis col. 4, lines 35-59, The isolation mechanism is preferably an electromagnetic type relay that contains relay contacts which are sealed to protect the contacts from the external salt water atmosphere, although equivalent solid state semiconductor switches may be substituted for the electromechanical device. Also see Paryani, paragraph 19, isoSPI—isolated communications typically used for HV battery cell voltage and temperature measurements. IsoSPI is a optocoupler based isolated interface)
In regards to claim 9, Lewis-Paryani teaches the on-board communications system of claim 5, where the corrosion protection arrangement comprises connection of ground of the DC electric energy storage system to the DC/DC buffer of the communications module. (See Lewis col. 5, lines 51-66, the battery charger casing and the DC loads casings, which are formed of electrically conductive metal, are also respectively connected to the on-board electrical ground system. Also see Paryani fig. 1, single DC-DC 106 and associated paragraphs)
Claim 10 is similar in scope to claim 5, therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale as set forth above.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668