DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Non-Final Office Action on the Merits. Claims 1-18, 41, and 43 as per the 5 August 2025 Preliminary Amendment are pending and have been considered as follows.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because, as drafted, the claim includes embodiments directed to a signal per se. Specifically, the “computer program product including computer executable code” does not necessarily exclude embodiments directed to transitory forms of signal transmission. As a reminder, a claim to computer code that covers a non-statutory embodiment, such as a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signal per se, should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter (see MPEP § 2106.03(II)). Amendment to exclude embodiments directed to transitory signals is respectfully suggested to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per Claim 5, “robot arm kinematics” in line 2 does not clearly relate back to “robot arm kinematics” in line 14 of Claim 1. Clarification is required.
As per Claim 14, “robot arm kinematics” in line 5 does not clearly relate back to “robot arm kinematics” in line 14 of Claim 1. Clarification is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-18 and 41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,210,803 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the reference patent include all of the limitations of, and therefore anticipate, corresponding claims of the present application as follows:
Claim of Present Application
Claim of Reference Patent
1) A system for performing interactions within a physical environment, the system including:
a) a robot base that undergoes movement relative to the environment;
b) a robot arm mounted to the robot base, the robot arm including an end effector mounted thereon;
c) a tracking system that measures a robot base position indicative of a position of the robot base relative to the environment; and,
d) a control system that:
i) acquires an indication of an end effector destination;
ii) determines a reference robot base position;
iii) calculates an end effector path extending to the end effector destination at least in part using the reference robot base position;
iv) determines a current robot base position using signals from the tracking system;
v) calculates robot arm kinematics using the current robot base position and the end effector path;
vi) generates robot control signals based on the end effector path and the calculated robot arm kinematics;
vii) applies the robot control signals to the robot arm to cause the end effector to be moved along the end effector path towards the destination; and,
viii) repeats steps (iv) to (vii) to move the end effector towards the end effector destination.
1. A system for performing interactions within a physical environment, the system including:
a) a robot base … that moves the robot base relative to the environment;
c) a robot arm mounted to the robot base, the robot arm including an end effector mounted thereon;
d) a tracking system that measures a robot base position indicative of a position of the robot base relative to the environment; and,
e) a control system that:
i) acquires an indication of an end effector destination;
ii) determines a reference robot base position, …
iii) calculates a robot base path extending from a current robot base position at least in part in accordance with the end effector destination;
iv) generates robot base control signals based on the robot base path;
…
viii) calculates robot arm kinematics using the current robot base position and the end effector path;
ix) generates robot control signals based on the end effector path and the calculated robot arm kinematics;
x) applies the robot control signals to the robot arm to cause the end effector to be moved along the end effector path towards the destination; and,
xi) repeats steps (vii) to (x) to move the end effector to the end effector destination … .
2) A system according to claim 1, wherein the current robot base position is indicative of an origin point of the robot arm kinematics and the robot base position is determined in an environment coordinate system thereby allowing the robot arm to be controlled in the environment coordinate system.
2. A system according to claim 1, wherein the current robot base position is indicative of an origin point of the robot arm kinematics and the robot base position is determined in an environment coordinate system thereby allowing the robot arm to be controlled in the environment coordinate system.
3) A system according to claim 1, wherein the end effector destination is defined relative to an environment coordinate system and the control system calculates the end effector path in the environment coordinate system.
3. A system according to claim 1, wherein the end effector destination is defined relative to an environment coordinate system and the control system calculates the end effector path in the environment coordinate system.
4) A system according to claim 1, wherein the control system:
a) determines an end effector position; and,
b) calculates the end effector path using the end effector position.
4. A system according to claim 1, wherein the control system:
a) determines an end effector position; and,
b) calculates the end effector path using the end effector position.
5) A system according to claim 4, wherein the control system determines the end effector position using robot arm kinematics.
5. A system according to claim 4, wherein the control system determines the end effector position using the robot arm kinematics.
6) A system according to claim 1, wherein the control system:
a) calculates a robot base movement based on the robot base position; and,
b) calculates the robot arm kinematics based at least in part on the robot base movement.
6. A system according to claim 1, wherein the control system:
a) calculates a robot base movement based on the robot base position; and,
b) calculates the robot arm kinematics based at least in part on the robot base movement.
7) A system according to claim 6, wherein the robot base movement is at least one of:
a) movement from an initial robot base position; and,
b) movement from an expected robot base position based on a robot base path extending to the reference robot base reference position.
7. A system according to claim 6, wherein the robot base movement is at least one of:
a) movement from an initial robot base position; and
b) movement from an expected robot base position based on a robot base path extending to the robot base reference position.
9) A system according to claim 1, wherein the control system:
a) determines a desired end effector position on the end effector path; and,
b) calculates the robot arm kinematics using the determined current robot base position and the desired end effector position on the end effector path.
8. A system according to claim 1 wherein the control system:
a) determines a desired end effector position on the end effector path; and,
b) calculates the robot arm kinematics using the determined current robot base position and the desired end effector position on the end effector path.
10) A system according to claim 9, wherein the calculated kinematics are indicative of inverse kinematics.
9. A system according to claim 8, wherein the calculated kinematics are indicative of inverse kinematics.
11) A system according to claim 9, wherein the desired end effector position is one of:
a) the end effector destination;
b) a path point on the end effector path.
10. A system according to claim 8, wherein the desired end effector position is one of:
a) the end effector destination;
b) a path point on the end effector path.
12) A system according to claim 9, wherein the desired end effector position is determined in an environment coordinate system and transformed into a robot base coordinate system using the current robot base position, the current robot base position being indicative of an origin of the robot base coordinate system.
11. A system according to claim 8, wherein the desired end effector position is determined in an environment coordinate system and transformed into a robot base coordinate system using the current robot base position, the current robot base position being indicative of an origin of the robot base coordinate system.
13) A system according to claim 12, wherein the robot arm is controlled in the robot base coordinate system.
12. A system according to claim 11, wherein the robot arm is controlled in the robot base coordinate system.
14) A system according to claim 1, wherein the end effector destination includes an end effector pose, the tracking system measures a robot base pose and wherein the control system:
a) determines a current robot base pose using signals from the tracking system; and,
b) calculates robot arm kinematics based on the current robot base pose.
13. A system according to claim 1, wherein the end effector destination includes an end effector pose, the tracking system measures a robot base pose and wherein the control system:
a) determines a current robot base pose using signals from the tracking system; and,
b) calculates robot arm kinematics based on the current robot base pose.
15) A system according to claim 14, wherein the control system:
a) determines an end effector pose; and,
b) calculates the end effector path extending from the end effector pose to the end effector destination.
14. A system according to claim 13, wherein the control system:
a) determines an end effector pose; and,
b) calculates the end effector path extending from the end effector pose to the end effector destination.
16) A system according to claim 1, wherein for an end effector path having a zero path length, the calculated robot arm kinematics returns the end effector to the end effector destination to thereby maintain the end effector static within an environment coordinate system.
15. A system according to claim 1, wherein for an end effector path having a zero path length, the calculated robot arm kinematics returns the end effector to the end effector destination to thereby maintain the end effector static within an environment coordinate system.
17) A system according to claim 1, wherein for an end effector path having a non-zero path length, the calculated robot arm kinematics return the end effector to the end effector path.
16. A system according to claim 1 wherein for an end effector path having a non-zero path length, the calculated robot arm kinematics return the end effector to the end effector path.
18) A system according to claim 1, wherein the robot base moves with a slower dynamic response and the end effector moves with a faster dynamic response to correct for movement of the robot base away from an expected robot base position.
17. A system according to claim 1, wherein the robot base moves with a slower dynamic response and the end effector moves with a faster dynamic response to correct for movement of the robot base away from an expected robot base position.
41) A method for performing interactions within a physical environment using a system including:
a) a robot base that undergoes movement relative to the environment;
b) a robot arm mounted to the robot base, the robot arm including an end effector mounted thereon; and,
c) a tracking system that measures a robot base position indicative of a position of the robot base relative to the environment and wherein the method includes in a control system:
i) acquiring an indication of an end effector destination;
ii) determining a reference robot base position;
iii) calculating an end effector path extending to the end effector destination at least in part using the reference robot base position;
iv) determining a current robot base position using signals from the tracking system;
v) calculating robot arm kinematics using the current robot base position and the end effector path;
vi) generating robot control signals based on the end effector path and the calculated robot arm kinematics;
vii) applying the robot control signals to the robot arm to cause the end effector to be moved along the end effector path towards the destination; and,
viii) repeating steps (v) to (vii) to move the end effector towards the end effector destination.
18. A method for performing interactions within a physical environment using a system including:
a) a robot base … that moves the robot base relative to the environment;
c) a robot arm mounted to the robot base, the robot arm including an end effector mounted thereon; and,
d) a tracking system that measures a robot base position indicative of a position of the robot base relative to the environment and wherein the method includes in a control system:
i) acquiring an indication of an end effector destination;
ii) determining a reference robot base position,
…
vi) calculating an end effector path extending to the end effector destination at least in part using the reference robot base position;
vii) determining the current robot base position using signals from the tracking system;
viii) calculating robot arm kinematics using the current robot base position and the end effector path;
ix) generating robot control signals based on the end effector path and the calculated robot arm kinematics;
x) applying the robot control signals to the robot arm to cause the end effector to be moved along the end effector path towards the destination; and,
xi) repeating steps (vii) to (x) to move the end effector to the end effector destination … .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15, 41, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lemelson (US Pub. No. 2003/0208302).
As per Claim 1, Lemelson discloses a system (72) for performing interactions within a physical environment (as per world reference frame 56) (Figs. 3, 5; ¶69-70, 102-103), the system (72) including:
a) a robot base (71a) that undergoes movement relative to the environment (as per world reference frame 56) (Figs. 3, 5; ¶67-70, 102-103);
b) a robot arm (6, 7) mounted to the robot base (71a), the robot arm (6, 7) including an end effector (8) mounted thereon (Figs. 1A-1B, 2, 3, 5; ¶57-71, 102-103);
c) a tracking system (12, 30, 32, 164, 166, 168) that measures a robot base position (as per 74, 76) indicative of a position of the robot base (71a) relative to the environment (as per world reference frame 56) (Figs. 2, 3, 5, 9; ¶65-71, 102-103, 111); and,
d) a control system (12) that:
i) acquires an indication of an end effector destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71) (Figs. 2, 3, 5; ¶64-71, 102-103);
ii) determines a reference robot base position (as per “continual tracking of the position of the robot transportation systems by a controller” in ¶102) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103);
iii) calculates an end effector path (as per “way points” in ¶71) extending to the end effector destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71) at least in part using the reference robot base position (as per “continual tracking of the position of the robot transportation systems by a controller” in ¶102) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103);
iv) determines a current robot base position (as per “same relative values” in ¶103) using signals from the tracking system (12, 30, 32, 164, 166, 168) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103, 111);
v) calculates robot arm kinematics (as per “the controller performs the necessary kinematic and dynamic calculations for the next movement of the manipulator” in ¶70) using the current robot base position (as per “same relative values” in ¶103) and the end effector path (as per “way points” in ¶71) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103);
vi) generates robot control signals (as per “controller then sends the drive signals” in ¶56) based on the end effector path (as per “way points” in ¶71) and the calculated robot arm kinematics (as per “the controller performs the necessary kinematic and dynamic calculations for the next movement of the manipulator” in ¶70) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 56, 64-71, 102-103);
vii) applies the robot control signals (as per “controller then sends the drive signals” in ¶56) to the robot arm (6, 7) to cause the end effector (8) to be moved along the end effector path (as per “way points” in ¶71) towards the destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 56, 64-71, 102-103); and,
viii) repeats (as per loop at 122, 124 and/or 128, 120) steps (iv) to (vii) to move the end effector (8) towards the end effector destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71) (Figs. 2-3, 5, 7; 56, 64-71, 102-107, 111).
As per Claim 2, Lemelson further discloses wherein the current robot base position (as per “same relative values” in ¶103) is indicative of an origin point (as per 58) of the robot arm kinematics (as per “the controller performs the necessary kinematic and dynamic calculations for the next movement of the manipulator” in ¶70) and the robot base position (as per “same relative values” in ¶103) is determined in an environment coordinate system (56) thereby allowing the robot arm (6, 7) to be controlled in the environment coordinate system (56) (Figs. 3, 5; ¶69-71, 102-103).
As per Claim 3, Lemelson further discloses wherein the end effector destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71) is defined relative to an environment coordinate system (56) and the control system (12) calculates the end effector path (as per “desired position” in ¶71) in the environment coordinate system (56) (Figs. 3, 5; ¶69-71, 102-103).
As per Claim 4, Lemelson further discloses wherein the control system (12):
a) determines an end effector position (as per “end effectors position can be determined” in ¶67) (Figs. 2-3, 5; ¶65-71, 102-103); and,
b) calculates the end effector path (as per “desired position” in ¶71) using the end effector position (as per “end effectors position can be determined” in ¶67) (Figs. 2-3, 5; ¶65-71, 102-103).
As per Claim 5, Lemelson further discloses wherein the control system (12) determines the end effector position (as per “end effectors position can be determined” in ¶67) using robot arm kinematics (as per “the controller performs the necessary kinematic and dynamic calculations for the next movement of the manipulator” in ¶70) (Figs. 2-3, 5; ¶65-71, 102-103).
As per Claim 6, Lemelson further discloses wherein the control system (12):
a) calculates a robot base movement based on the robot base position (as per “continual tracking of the position of the robot transportation systems by a controller” in ¶102) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103); and,
b) calculates the robot arm kinematics (as per “the controller performs the necessary kinematic and dynamic calculations for the next movement of the manipulator” in ¶70) based at least in part on the robot base movement (as per “continual tracking of the position of the robot transportation systems by a controller” in ¶102) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103).
As per Claim 7, Lemelson further discloses wherein the robot base movement is at least one of:
a) movement from an initial robot base position; and,
b) movement from an expected robot base position (as per 72) based on a robot base path (as per 76) extending to the reference robot base reference position (as per “continual tracking of the position of the robot transportation systems by a controller” in ¶102) (Fig. 5; ¶102-103).
As per Claim 8, Lemelson further discloses wherein the reference robot base position (as per “continual tracking of the position of the robot transportation systems by a controller” in ¶102) is at least one of:
a) a current robot base position (as per “same relative values” in ¶103) (Fig. 5; ¶102-103);
b) a predicted robot base position based on movement of the robot base from a current robot base position;
c) a predicted robot base position based on movement of the robot base along a robot base path; and,
d) an intended robot base position when end effector reaches the end effector destination.
As per Claim 9, Lemelson further discloses wherein the control system (12):
a) determines a desired end effector position (as per “desired position” in ¶71) on the end effector path (as per “way points” in ¶71) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103); and,
b) calculates the robot arm kinematics (as per “the controller performs the necessary kinematic and dynamic calculations for the next movement of the manipulator” in ¶70) using the determined current robot base position (as per “same relative values” in ¶103) and the desired end effector position (as per “desired position” in ¶71) on the end effector path (as per “way points” in ¶71) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103).
As per Claim 10, Lemelson further discloses wherein the calculated kinematics (as per “the controller performs the necessary kinematic and dynamic calculations for the next movement of the manipulator” in ¶70) are indicative of inverse kinematics (¶71).
As per Claim 11, Lemelson further discloses wherein the desired end effector position (as per “desired position” in ¶71) is one of:
a) the end effector destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71) (Figs. 3, 5; 64-71, 102-103);
b) a path point on the end effector path.
As per Claim 12, Lemelson further discloses wherein the desired end effector position (as per “desired position” in ¶71) is determined in an environment coordinate system (56) and transformed into a robot base coordinate system (58) using the current robot base position (as per “same relative values” in ¶103), the current robot base position (as per “same relative values” in ¶103) being indicative of an origin of the robot base coordinate system (58) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103).
As per Claim 13, Lemelson further discloses wherein the robot arm (6, 7) is controlled in the robot base coordinate system (58) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103).
As per Claim 14, Lemelson further discloses wherein the end effector destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71) includes an end effector pose (as per “end effector 8 orientation” in ¶67; as per “Knowledge of the position and orientation of the components of the process (robotic manipulator axes, end effector 8 …) relative to each other requires the use of reference frames” in ¶69) the tracking system (12, 30, 32, 164, 166, 168) measures a robot base pose (as per “The robot reference frame … 58” in ¶70; as per “tracking of the position of the robot transportation systems” in ¶102) and wherein the control system (12):
a) determines a current robot base pose (as per “The robot reference frame … 58” in ¶70; as per “tracking of the position of the robot transportation systems” in ¶102) using signals from the tracking system (12, 30, 32, 164, 166, 168); and,
b) calculates robot arm kinematics (per “the controller performs the necessary kinematic and dynamic calculations for the next movement of the manipulator” in ¶70) based on the current robot base pose (as per “The robot reference frame … 58” in ¶70; as per “tracking of the position of the robot transportation systems” in ¶102).
As per Claim 15, Lemelson further discloses wherein the control system (12):
a) determines an end effector pose (as per “end effector 8 orientation” in ¶67; as per “Knowledge of the position and orientation of the components of the process (robotic manipulator axes, end effector 8 …) relative to each other requires the use of reference frames” in ¶69); and,
b) calculates the end effector path (as per “way points” in ¶71) extending from the end effector pose (as per “end effector 8 orientation” in ¶67; as per “Knowledge of the position and orientation of the components of the process (robotic manipulator axes, end effector 8 …) relative to each other requires the use of reference frames” in ¶69) to the end effector destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71).
As per Claim 41, Lemelson discloses a method for performing interactions within a physical environment (as per world reference frame 56) using a system (72) (Figs. 3, 5; ¶69-70, 102-103) including:
a) a robot base (71a) that undergoes movement relative to the environment (as per world reference frame 56) (Figs. 3, 5; ¶67-70, 102-103);
b) a robot arm (6, 7) mounted to the robot base (71a), the robot arm (6, 7) including an end effector (8) mounted thereon (Figs. 1A-1B, 2, 3, 5; ¶57-71, 102-103); and,
c) a tracking system (12, 30, 32, 164, 166, 168) that measures a robot base position (as per 74, 76) indicative of a position of the robot base (71a) relative to the environment (as per world reference frame 56) (Figs. 2, 3, 5, 9; ¶65-71, 102-103, 111) and wherein the method includes in a control system (12):
i) acquiring an indication of an end effector destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71) (Figs. 2, 3, 5; ¶64-71, 102-103);
ii) determining a reference robot base position (as per “continual tracking of the position of the robot transportation systems by a controller” in ¶102) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103);
iii) calculating an end effector path (as per “way points” in ¶71) extending to the end effector destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71) at least in part using the reference robot base position (as per “continual tracking of the position of the robot transportation systems by a controller” in ¶102) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103);
iv) determining a current robot base position (as per “same relative values” in ¶103) using signals from the tracking system (12, 30, 32, 164, 166, 168) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103, 111);
v) calculating robot arm kinematics (as per “the controller performs the necessary kinematic and dynamic calculations for the next movement of the manipulator” in ¶70) using the current robot base position (as per “same relative values” in ¶103) and the end effector path (as per “way points” in ¶71) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103);
vi) generating robot control signals (as per “controller then sends the drive signals” in ¶56) based on the end effector path (as per “way points” in ¶71) and the calculated robot arm kinematics (as per “the controller performs the necessary kinematic and dynamic calculations for the next movement of the manipulator” in ¶70) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 56, 64-71, 102-103);
vii) applying the robot control signals (as per “controller then sends the drive signals” in ¶56) to the robot arm (6, 7) to cause the end effector (8) to be moved along the end effector path (as per “way points” in ¶71) towards the destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 56, 64-71, 102-103); and,
viii) repeating (as per loop at 122, 124 and/or 128, 120) steps (v) to (vii) to move the end effector (8) towards the end effector destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71) (Figs. 2-3, 5, 7; 56, 64-71, 102-107, 111).
As per Claim 43, Lemelson discloses a computer program product including computer executable code (as per “programmed” in ¶71), which when executed by a suitably programmed control system causes the control system (12) to control a system (72) for performing interactions within a physical environment (as per world reference frame 56) (Figs. 3, 5; ¶69-71, 102-103), the system (72) including:
a) a robot base (71a) that undergoes movement relative to the environment (as per world reference frame 56) (Figs. 3, 5; ¶67-70, 102-103);
b) a robot arm (6, 7) mounted to the robot base (71a), the robot arm (6, 7) including an end effector (8) mounted thereon (Figs. 1A-1B, 2, 3, 5; ¶57-71, 102-103); and,
c) a tracking system (12, 30, 32, 164, 166, 168) that measures a robot base position (as per 74, 76) indicative of a position of the robot base (71a) relative to the environment (as per world reference frame 56) (Figs. 2, 3, 5, 9; ¶65-71, 102-103, 111) and wherein the control system (12):
i) acquires an indication of an end effector destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71) (Figs. 2, 3, 5; ¶64-71, 102-103);
ii) determines a reference robot base position (as per “continual tracking of the position of the robot transportation systems by a controller” in ¶102) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103);
iii) calculates an end effector path (as per “way points” in ¶71) extending to the end effector destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71) at least in part using the reference robot base position (as per “continual tracking of the position of the robot transportation systems by a controller” in ¶102) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103);
iv) determines a current robot base position (as per “same relative values” in ¶103) using signals from the tracking system (12, 30, 32, 164, 166, 168) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103, 111);
v) calculates robot arm kinematics (as per “the controller performs the necessary kinematic and dynamic calculations for the next movement of the manipulator” in ¶70) using the current robot base position (as per “same relative values” in ¶103) and the end effector path (as per “way points” in ¶71) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 64-71, 102-103);
vi) generates robot control signals (as per “controller then sends the drive signals” in ¶56) based on the end effector path (as per “way points” in ¶71) and the calculated robot arm kinematics (as per “the controller performs the necessary kinematic and dynamic calculations for the next movement of the manipulator” in ¶70) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 56, 64-71, 102-103);
vii) applies the robot control signals (as per “controller then sends the drive signals” in ¶56) to the robot arm (6, 7) to cause the end effector (8) to be moved along the end effector path (as per “way points” in ¶71) towards the destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71) (Figs. 2-3, 5; 56, 64-71, 102-103); and,
d) repeats (as per loop at 122, 124 and/or 128, 120) steps (iv) to (vii) to move the end effector (8) towards the end effector destination (as per “desired position” in ¶71) (Figs. 2-3, 5, 7; 56, 64-71, 102-107, 111).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lemelson (US Pub. No. 2003/0208302) in view of Hvass (US Pub. No. 2010/0143089), further in view of Seelinger (US Pub. No. 2010/0234993).
As per Claim 16, Lemelson discloses all limitations of Claim 1. Lemelson further discloses wherein a camera is incorporated in the system where GPS location is in combination with other determining systems to enhance the accuracy and efficiency of the system (¶116). Lemelson does not expressly disclose wherein for an end effector path having a zero path length, the calculated robot arm kinematics returns the end effector to the end effector destination to thereby maintain the end effector static within an environment coordinate system.
Hvass discloses a control system (410) for a robot (200) having a mobile base (220), a manipulator (230), and an end effector (240) that performs work on a surface (298) (Figs. 2A, 4; ¶28-30, 49). In one embodiment, performing work involves a path planner (445) and a path plan (440) that produce a desired position and orientation for the robot (200), a control function (450) that produces commands for driving the robot (200) in accordance with the desired position and orientation, and estimators (460, 470) that correct the commanded position and orientation in view of actual position and orientation data (Fig. 4; ¶49-50, 54-55, 67-74). In one embodiment, the estimators (460, 470) include kinematic models of the manipulator and end effector for coordinating motion of the mobile base (220), manipulator (230), and end effector (240) (¶67-68). As such, Hvass discloses wherein for an end effector path (as per 450 informed by 460, 470) having a zero path length (as per location for dispensing on surface 298), the calculated robot arm kinematics returns the end effector (240) to the end effector destination to thereby maintain the end effector static within an environment coordinate system (as per location for dispensing on surface 298). In this way, the system of Hvass operates to reduce position and orientation errors and improve the accuracy of the system (¶74). In one embodiment, the system of Hvass performs positioning with a metrology system that receives information from a camera (¶32) and information from a laser system (¶51). Like Lemelson, Hvass is concerned with robot control systems.
Seelinger discloses a system (100) that includes a mobile manipulator (102), cameras (104, 106, 108), and a laser (110) (Fig. 1; ¶24). The robotic arm (102) is calibrated with the cameras (104, 106, 108) in order to determine a target relative to the robotic arm (102) (Fig. 6; ¶92-95). The laser (110) shares target information between cameras (104, 106, 108) of the system (100) and provides an accurate way to identify the same feature in the camera spaces of the cameras (104, 106, 108) (¶37). Like Lemelson, Seelinger is concerned with robot control systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Lemelson, Hvass, and Seelinger, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Hvass and Seelinger to the system of Lemelson since doing so would enhance the system by: reducing position and orientation errors while improving the accuracy of the system; and calibrating the robotic arm relative to the target position and coordinating information received from the camera system.
As per Claim 17, Lemelson discloses all limitations of Claim 1. Lemelson does not expressly disclose wherein for an end effector path having a non-zero path length, the calculated robot arm kinematics return the end effector to the end effector path.
Hvass discloses a control system (410) for a robot (200) having a mobile base (220), a manipulator (230), and an end effector (240) that performs work on a surface (298) (Figs. 2A, 4; ¶28-30, 49). In one embodiment, performing work involves a path planner (445) and a path plan (440) that produce a desired position and orientation for the robot (200), a control function (450) that produces commands for driving the robot (200) in accordance with the desired position and orientation, and estimators (460, 470) that correct the commanded position and orientation in view of actual position and orientation data (Fig. 4; ¶49-50, 54-55, 67-74). In one embodiment, the estimators (460, 470) include kinematic models of the manipulator and end effector for coordinating motion of the mobile base (220), manipulator (230), and end effector (240) (¶67-68). As such, Hvass discloses wherein for an end effector path (as per 450 informed by 460, 470) having a non-zero path length (as per not at location for dispensing on surface 298), the calculated robot arm kinematics return the end effector (240) to the end effector path (as per commands from 450). In this way, the system of Hvass operates to reduce position and orientation errors and improve the accuracy of the system (¶74). In one embodiment, the system of Hvass performs positioning with a metrology system that receives information from a camera (¶32) and information from a laser system (¶51). Like Lemelson, Hvass is concerned with robot control systems.
Seelinger discloses a system (100) that includes a mobile manipulator (102), cameras (104, 106, 108), and a laser (110) (Fig. 1; ¶24). The robotic arm (102) is calibrated with the cameras (104, 106, 108) in order to determine a target relative to the robotic arm (102) (Fig. 6; ¶92-95). The laser (110) shares target information between cameras (104, 106, 108) of the system (100) and provides an accurate way to identify the same feature in the camera spaces of the cameras (104, 106, 108) (¶37). Like Lemelson, Seelinger is concerned with robot control systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Lemelson, Hvass, and Seelinger, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Hvass and Seelinger to the system of Lemelson since doing so would enhance the system by: reducing position and orientation errors while improving the accuracy of the system; and calibrating the robotic arm relative to the target position and coordinating information received from the camera system.
As per Claim 18, Lemelson discloses all limitations of Claim 1. Lemelson does not expressly disclose wherein the robot base moves with a slower dynamic response and the end effector moves with a faster dynamic response to correct for movement of the robot base away from an expected robot base position.
Hvass discloses a control system (410) for a robot (200) having a mobile base (220), a manipulator (230), and an end effector (240) that performs work on a surface (298) (Figs. 2A, 4; ¶28-30, 49). In one embodiment, performing work involves a path planner (445) and a path plan (440) that produce a desired position and orientation for the robot (200), a control function (450) that produces commands for driving the robot (200) in accordance with the desired position and orientation, and estimators (460, 470) that correct the commanded position and orientation in view of actual position and orientation data (Fig. 4; ¶49-50, 54-55, 67-74). In one embodiment, the path plan (440) describes a trajectory that includes velocity of the base (220) and end effector (240) at specified locations (¶46). As such, Hvass discloses wherein the robot base (220) moves with a slower dynamic response (as per specified velocity at specified location) and the end effector (240) moves with a faster dynamic response (as per specified velocity at specified location) to correct for movement of the robot base (220) away from an expected robot base position (as per desired position). In this way, the system of Hvass operates to reduce position and orientation errors and improve the accuracy of the system (¶74). In one embodiment, the system of Hvass performs positioning with a metrology system that receives information from a camera (¶32) and information from a laser system (¶51). Like Lemelson, Hvass is concerned with robot control systems.
Seelinger discloses a system (100) that includes a mobile manipulator (102), cameras (104, 106, 108), and a laser (110) (Fig. 1; ¶24). The robotic arm (102) is calibrated with the cameras (104, 106, 108) in order to determine a target relative to the robotic arm (102) (Fig. 6; ¶92-95). The laser (110) shares target information between cameras (104, 106, 108) of the system (100) and provides an accurate way to identify the same feature in the camera spaces of the cameras (104, 106, 108) (¶37). Like Lemelson, Seelinger is concerned with robot control systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Lemelson, Hvass, and Seelinger, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Hvass and Seelinger to the system of Lemelson since doing so would enhance the system by: reducing position and orientation errors while improving the accuracy of the system; and calibrating the robotic arm relative to the target position and coordinating information received from the camera system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Huettenhofer (US Pub. No. 2013/0103192) discloses a robot control method. Sun (US Pub. No. 2014/0316570) discloses systems and methods for communicating robot intentions to
human beings.
/STEPHEN HOLWERDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656