DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 5-11, 13, 15-17, 19-21 in the reply filed on 6/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Examiner’s Comment
Claim 3 recites “the antimicrobial agent” in lines 1 and 2. It appears that the claim should recite “the antimicrobial composition” in line 1.
Claim 5 recites “according to claim 4” in line 1. Claim 4 has been cancelled. It appears that the claim 5 should depend from claim 1. Claim 5 also recites “based on the total weight” in line 2. It appears that the claim should recite “based on a total weight”.
Claim 7 recites “according to claim 1 to 6”. It appears that the claim should recite “according to claim 1”. Claim 7 also recites “based on the total” in line 2. It appears that the claim should recite “based on a total”.
Claim 8 recites “according to claim 1 to 7”. It appears that the claim should recite “according to claim 1”.
Claim 10 recites “according to claim 1 to 9”. It appears that the claim should recite “according to claim 1”.
Claim 11 recites “according to claim 1 to 10”. It appears that the claim should recite “according to claim 1”.
Claim 13 recites “according to claim 1 to 12”. It appears that the claim should recite “according to claim 1”. Claim 13 also recites “the reaction product” in line 2. It appears that the claim should recite “a reaction product”.
Claim 17 recites “the antimicrobial agent” in line 2. It appears that the claim should recite “the antimicrobial composition” in line 2.
Claim 20 recites “the total weight” in line 3. It appears that the claim should recite “a total weight”.
Claim 21 recites “the reaction product” in line 2. It appears that the claim should recite “a reaction product”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 15-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Patent Application No. 2022/0177711) in view of Liu et al. (CN 115353792, see machine translated version).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Wang et al. teach a building panel (page 1, paragraph [0003]) comprising a fibrous substrate (page 2, paragraphs [0025], [0026]) and a coating applied to the substrate (page 1, paragraph [0003]), the coating comprising a blend of an antimicrobial composition (page 1, paragraph [0003]); a binder (page 1, paragraph [0003]); and a pigment (page 1, paragraph [0003]).
Wang et al. fail to teach wherein the antimicrobial composition comprises boro-phosphate ester zinc compound. However, Liu et al. teach an antibacterial coating (paragraph [0001]) comprising boro-phosphate ester zinc compound (paragraphs [0005], [0006], [0012]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the boro-phosphate ester zinc compound of Liu et al. in the coating of Wang et al. in order to provide an antibacterial, weather resistant, multi-functional integrated intumescent transparent fire retardant coating (Liu et al., paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al. fail to teach wherein the antimicrobial agent is substantially free of a blend of phosphate ester, borate ester, and metal oxide as physically blended components. However, Liu et al. teach an antibacterial coating (paragraph [0001]) comprising boro-phosphate ester zinc compound (paragraphs [0005], [0006], [0012]), wherein the coating is substantially free of a blend of phosphate ester, borate ester, and metal oxide as physically blended components (entire document).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the boro-phosphate ester zinc compound of Liu et al. in the coating of Wang et al. in order to provide an antibacterial, weather resistant, multi-functional integrated intumescent transparent fire retardant coating (Liu et al., paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al. teach wherein the antimicrobial composition is present in an amount ranging from about 0.5 wt% to about 20.0 wt% which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of about 7 wt% to about 13 wt% based on the total weight of the coating (page 3, paragraph [0048], page 4, paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al. teach the coating is present on the substrate in an amount ranging from about 26 g/m2 to about 450 g/m2 which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of about 50 g/m2 to about 500 g/m2 (page 3, paragraph [0044], page 6, paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al. teach wherein pigment is present in an amount ranging from about 70 wt% to about 95 wt% which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of about 40 wt% to about 80 wt% based on the total weight of the coating (page 4, paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al. teach wherein the fibrous substrate (page 2, paragraph [0026]) is a porous substrate (page 2, paragraph [0026]) and the building panel is an acoustical ceiling panel (page 2, paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al. teach wherein the fibrous substrate (page 2, paragraph [0026]) comprises inorganic fiber (page 2, paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 10, Wang et al. teach wherein the antimicrobial composition if free of biocides other than zinc borate (page 4, paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al. teach wherein the antimicrobial composition is free of triazole compounds (page 4, paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Wang et al. teach a coating composition (page 1, paragraph [0003]) comprising a liquid carrier (page 6, paragraph [0089]); an antimicrobial composition (page 1, paragraph [0003]); a binder (page 1, paragraph [0003]); and a pigment (page 1, paragraph [0003]).
Wang et al. fail to teach wherein the antimicrobial composition comprises boro-phosphate ester zinc compound. However, Liu et al. teach a coating composition comprising boro-phosphate ester zinc compound (paragraphs [0001], [0005], [0006], [0012]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the boro-phosphate ester zinc compound of Liu et al. in the coating composition of Wang et al. in order to provide an antibacterial, weather resistant, multi-functional integrated intumescent transparent fire retardant coating (Liu et al., paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 17, Wang et al. fail to teach wherein the antimicrobial agent is substantially free of a blend of phosphate ester, borate ester, and metal oxide as physically blended components. However, Liu et al. teach an antibacterial coating (paragraph [0001]) comprising boro-phosphate ester zinc compound (paragraphs [0005], [0006], [0012]), wherein the coating is substantially free of a blend of phosphate ester, borate ester, and metal oxide as physically blended components (entire document).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the boro-phosphate ester zinc compound of Liu et al. in the coating composition of Wang et al. in order to provide an antibacterial, weather resistant, multi-functional integrated intumescent transparent fire retardant coating (Liu et al., paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 19, Wang et al. teach wherein the antimicrobial composition is present in an amount ranging from about 0.5 wt% to about 20.0 wt% which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of about 0.5 wt% to about 15 wt% based on the total weight of the coating composition (page 3, paragraph [0048], page 4, paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 20, Wang et al. do not disclose wherein pigment is present in an amount ranging from about 25 wt% to about 55 wt% based on the total weight of the coating composition. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in amount involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the amount of pigment in the coating composition of Wang et al. in order to modify the color of the coating composition (Wang et al., page 4, paragraphs [0058], [0059]).
Claims 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Patent Application No. 2022/0177711) in view of Liu et al. (CN 115353792, see machine translated version), in further view of Alderson (US Patent Application No. 2022/0400671).
Wang et al. and Liu et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 13, Wang et al. fail to teach wherein the boro-phosphate zinc compound is the reaction product of zinc oxide, boric acid salt, phosphoric acid and alkoxylate. However, Liu et al. teach an antibacterial coating (paragraph [0001]) comprising boro-phosphate ester zinc compound (paragraphs [0005], [0006], [0012]), wherein the boro-phosphate zinc compound is the reaction product of zinc oxide (page 4, paragraph [0052]) and boric acid salt (page 4, paragraph [0052]). Alderson teaches an antimicrobial composition (page 1, paragraph [0007]) comprising alkoxylated alkyl phosphoric acid esters (page 1, paragraph [0014]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the boro-phosphate ester zinc compound of Liu et al. in the coating of Wang et al. in order to provide an antibacterial, weather resistant, multi-functional integrated intumescent transparent fire retardant coating (Liu et al., paragraph [0005]); and use the alkoxylated alkyl phosphoric acid ester of Alderson et al. in the compound of Wang et al. in order to provide an composition effective against bacterial spores and environmentally friendly (Alderson et al., page 1, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 21, Wang et al. fail to teach wherein the boro-phosphate zinc compound is the reaction product of zinc oxide, boric acid salt, phosphoric acid and alkoxylate. However, Liu et al. teach an antibacterial coating (paragraph [0001]) comprising boro-phosphate ester zinc compound (paragraphs [0005], [0006], [0012]), wherein the boro-phosphate zinc compound is the reaction product of zinc oxide (page 4, paragraph [0052]) and boric acid salt (page 4, paragraph [0052]). Alderson teaches an antimicrobial composition (page 1, paragraph [0007]) comprising alkoxylated alkyl phosphoric acid esters (page 1, paragraph [0014]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the boro-phosphate ester zinc compound of Liu et al. in the coating of Wang et al. in order to provide an antibacterial, weather resistant, multi-functional integrated intumescent transparent fire retardant coating (Liu et al., paragraph [0005]); and use the alkoxylated alkyl phosphoric acid ester of Alderson et al. in the compound of Wang et al. in order to provide an composition effective against bacterial spores and environmentally friendly (Alderson et al., page 1, paragraph [0006]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 7/22/2026