Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/22/2026 with respect to amended claims 19 and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection in view of Komiya et al. (US 2012/0026207).
Claim 7 is canceled.
Claims 1-6, 8-18, and 21 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komiya et al. (US 2012/0026207 hereinafter Komiya).
Referring to claim 19, Komiya discloses a display device (FIG. 1; the organic light emitting display) comprising:
a display unit (Fig. 1; 130) partitioned into a plurality of blocks including a plurality of rows and columns of two or more sub-pixels ([0045], Fig. 1; The display unit 130 includes the pixels 140 positioned at the crossing regions of the scan lines S1 to Sn and the data lines D1 to Dm. Thus, each pixel 140 comprises a plurality of sub-pixels), adjacent ones of the blocks being separated by a dividing line where the plurality of rows and columns of the two or more sub-pixels of the adjacent ones of the blocks are located on opposite sides of the dividing line ([0041], Fig. 2, 6A-6D; For example, the panel may be divided into four blocks via lines as illustrated in FIG. 2. A first block 1401 includes a first emission control line E1 to a n/4th emission control line En/4. A second block 1402 includes a (n/4+1)th emission control line En/4+1 to a 2n/4th emission control line E2n/4. A third block 1403 includes a (2n/4+1)th emission control line E2n/4+1 to a (3n/4)th emission control line E3n/4. A fourth block 1404 includes a (3n/4+1)th emission control line E3n/4+1 to an nth emission control line En.),
wherein sub-pixels included in different blocks are configured to emit light at different times during one frame period ([0018]; A panel including emission control lines and at least 2 horizontal blocks including pixels for charging voltages according to the data signals when the scan signals are supplied, and for controlling an amount of current supplied to an organic light emitting diode (OLED) when the emission control signals are not supplied, wherein a panel is divided into at least 2 horizontal blocks, and wherein the scan driver is configured to supply the emission control signals at different times to each of the horizontal blocks…, [0045]; The pixels 140 control the amount of current supplied from the first power source ELVDD to the second power source ELVSS via an organic light emitting diode (OLED) according to the data signals in the emission period in one frame. Then, light (e.g., light with a predetermined brightness) is generated by the OLED. Here, during the emission period, the pixels 140 start emission at different times, according to their respective blocks, as illustrated in FIG. 2..., and [0069-0072]; Fig. 6A-6D; each block 1401-1404 emits light at different points in time).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2012/0293496 A1 hereinafter Park) in view of Komiya et al. (US 2012/0026207 hereinafter Komiya), and (US 2023/0078842 A1 hereinafter Kim).
Referring to claim 20, Park discloses a method of driving a display device, the method comprising:
initializing sub-pixels included in a first block and a second block ([0111]; That is, when the display panel is divided into two, the first group pixel areas and the second group pixel areas that emit light in one field are shown together in FIGS. 2, 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B…. and [0112]; In FIGS. 2, 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B, a plurality of unit areas (hereinafter, referred to as first unit areas) forming an area (hereinafter, first area) where the first group pixels are arranged are respectively denoted as "E", and a plurality of unit areas (hereinafter, referred to as second unit areas) forming an area (hereinafter, referred to as a second area) where the second group pixels are arranged are respectively denoted as "O". Each unit area may be formed of at least one pixel, or may be formed of three sub-pixels R, G, and B.);
supplying a first data signal corresponding to an emission time while sequentially selecting the sub-pixels included in the first block and the second block ([0025]; As a stereoscopic image data signal, the image data signal may be a left-eye image data signal or a right-eye image data signal. Then, the first group pixels and the second group pixels may concurrently emit light during a first period and a second period for a period during which a left-eye image is displayed according to a left-eye image data signal in one frame period. Sequentially, the first group pixels and the second group pixels may concurrently emit light during a 1-1 period and a 2-1 period for a period during which a right-eye image is displayed according to a right-eye image data signal in one frame period.);
emitting light by the sub-pixels included in the first block during a first period of one frame period ([0025]; As a stereoscopic image data signal, the image data signal may be a left-eye image data signal or a right-eye image data signal. Then, the first group pixels and the second group pixels may concurrently emit light during a first period and a second period for a period during which a left-eye image is displayed according to a left-eye image data signal in one frame period. Sequentially, the first group pixels and the second group pixels may concurrently emit light during a 1-1 period and a 2-1 period for a period during which a right-eye image is displayed according to a right-eye image data signal in one frame period.);
emitting light by the sub-pixels included in the second block during a second period that does not overlap the first period of the one frame period ([0259]; As described, the design of the display device can be simplified by arranging the first power voltage to be transmitted to the first unit area pixels E or the second unit area pixels O disposed in two pixel lines, along the first power lines that are alternately disposed along the respective pixel lines. However, as shown in the signal timing diagram of FIG. 6, the first power voltage EVDD transmitted to the first unit area pixels E and the first power voltage OVDD transmitted to the second unit area pixels O are alternately maintained with a high level (e.g., a predetermined high level), and accordingly, the light emission period 4 of the first unit area pixels E and the light emission period 4 of the second unit area pixels O are not overlapped with each other…. And [0025]; As a stereoscopic image data signal, the image data signal may be a left-eye image data signal or a right-eye image data signal. Then, the first group pixels and the second group pixels may concurrently emit light during a first period and a second period for a period during which a left-eye image is displayed according to a left-eye image data signal in one frame period.).
However, Park does not explicitly disclose each of the first block and the second block including a plurality of rows and columns of the sub-pixels, adjacent ones of the blocks being separated by a dividing line where the plurality of rows and columns of the two or more sub-pixels of the adjacent ones of the blocks are located on opposite sides of the dividing line; and
simultaneously supplying a second data signal corresponding to a driving current to the sub-pixels included in the first block and the second block.
In an analogous art, Komiya discloses each of the first block and the second block including a plurality of rows and columns of the sub-pixels ([0045], Fig. 1; The display unit 130 includes the pixels 140 positioned at the crossing regions of the scan lines S1 to Sn and the data lines D1 to Dm. Thus, each pixel 140 comprises a plurality of sub-pixels), adjacent ones of the blocks being separated by a dividing line where the plurality of rows and columns of the two or more sub-pixels of the adjacent ones of the blocks are located on opposite sides of the dividing line ([0041], Fig. 2 and 6A-6D; For example, the panel may be divided into four blocks via lines as illustrated in FIG. 2. A first block 1401 includes a first emission control line E1 to a n/4th emission control line En/4. A second block 1402 includes a (n/4+1)th emission control line En/4+1 to a 2n/4th emission control line E2n/4. A third block 1403 includes a (2n/4+1)th emission control line E2n/4+1 to a (3n/4)th emission control line E3n/4. A fourth block 1404 includes a (3n/4+1)th emission control line E3n/4+1 to an nth emission control line En.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Komiya to the system of Park in order to allow the panel that is divided into several horizontal blocks and emission points of time of pixels are set to be different from each other in units of horizontal blocks, so that noise emitted at emission points in time of pixels can be minimized.
However, Park in view of Komiya does not explicitly disclose simultaneously supplying a second data signal corresponding to a driving current to the sub-pixels included in the first block and the second block.
In an analogous art, Kim discloses simultaneously supplying a second data signal corresponding to a driving current to the sub-pixels included in the first block and the second block ([0132], Fig. 2; The second pixel driver PDU2 generates the driving current Ids supplied to the light emitting element EL in response to the first PAM data voltage of the first PAM data line RDL. The second pixel driver PDU2 may be a pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) unit for performing pulse amplitude modulation. In this case, each of the first sub-pixels RP may be a constant current generator that receives the same first PAM data voltage and generates the same driving current Ids regardless of the luminance of the first sub-pixel RP.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Kim to the system of Park in view of Komiya in order to reduce or prevent deterioration of an image quality due to the change in the wavelength of the emitted light depending on the driving current applied to an inorganic light emitting diode.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6, 8-18, and 21 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 1-6, 8-18, and 21 are allowed since certain key features of the claimed invention are not taught or fairly suggested by prior art.
Referring to amended claim 1, the prior art of record, however, does not teach, disclose or suggest the claimed limitations of (in combination with all other limitations in the claim), “A display device comprising:
sub-pixels including a first circuit unit configured to control a supply period of a
driving current correspondingly to a first data signal, and a second circuit unit configured
to supply the driving current to a light emitting element correspondingly to a second data
signal; and
a display unit partitioned into j (j is a natural number of 2 or more) blocks including two or more of the sub-pixels,
wherein the sub-pixels included in different blocks are configured to emit light at
different times, and
wherein the first circuit unit comprises:
a first transistor having a gate electrode connected to a first node, a first
electrode connected to a second node, and a second electrode connected to a third node;
a second transistor connected between a data line and the second node, and
having a gate electrode connected to a first scan line;
a third transistor connected between the first node and the third node and having a gate electrode connected to the first scan line;
a fourth transistor connected between the first node and a fourth power line, and
having a gate electrode connected to a first initialization line;
a fifth transistor connected between a first power line and the second node, and having a gate electrode connected to an emission control line;
a sixth transistor connected between the third node and a fourth node, and having a gate electrode connected to the emission control line; and
a first capacitor connected between a sweep line and the first node.”.
Referring to claims 2-6 and 8-18 are allowable based upon dependent on the independent claim 1.
Referring to independent claim 21, the claim is allowed for same reason as set forth in the independent claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT D AU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2624