DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2013/0314636).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a pixel array substrate structure (Figs. 16-25), comprising:
a substrate (100);
a first metal layer (63) over the substrate and having a plurality of scan lines (52);
a second metal layer (64) over the first metal layer and having a plurality of data lines (51), wherein the plurality of scan lines and the plurality of data lines define a plurality of pixel areas (50, 60);
a shielding electrode layer (53) over the second metal layer and comprising a plurality of shielding electrodes that are located in the plurality of pixel areas, respectively, and cover the plurality of scan lines and the plurality of data lines in a vertical projection direction of the substrate (Figs. 16-17); and
a pixel electrode layer (54) over the shielding electrode layer and having a plurality of pixel electrodes that are located in the plurality of pixel areas, respectively (Figs. 16-18).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses wherein one of the plurality of pixel electrodes (54) overlaps at least one of the plurality of scan lines (52) in the vertical projection direction (Figs. 16-17).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses wherein one of the plurality of pixel electrodes (54) overlaps at least one of the plurality of data lines (51) in the vertical projection direction (Figs. 16-17).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses a first pixel transistor (51) and a second pixel transistor (52), wherein a source (512) of the first pixel transistor is coupled to one of the plurality of data lines (51), and a drain (513) of the first pixel transistor is coupled to a source (522) of the second pixel transistor, and a drain (523) of the second pixel transistor is coupled to one of the plurality of pixel electrodes (54), and a gate (511) of the first pixel transistor and a gate (521) of the second pixel transistor are coupled to one of the plurality of scan lines (52) (Figs. 16-17; para. [0107]).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses wherein the first metal layer (63) further has a plurality of first capacitor electrodes (63’), the second metal layer (64) further has a plurality of second capacitor electrodes (64’), and the plurality of first capacitor electrodes and the plurality of second capacitor electrodes are located in the plurality of pixel areas (Figs. 16-18).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses an electrophoretic display device (para. [0105]), comprising:
the pixel array substrate structure (Figs. 16-25) of claim 1;
an opposite substrate structure comprising:
a second substrate; and
a common electrode layer disposed on the second substrate; and
an electrophoretic layer between the pixel electrode layer and the common electrode layer (para. [0131]).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses a fabrication method of a pixel array substrate structure (Figs. 16-25), comprising:
forming a first metal layer (63) over a substrate (100), the first metal layer having a plurality of scan lines (52);
forming a second metal layer (64) over the first metal layer, the second metal layer having a plurality of data lines (51), wherein the plurality of scan lines and the plurality of data lines define a plurality of pixel areas (50, 60);
forming a shielding electrode layer (53) over the second metal layer, the shielding electrode layer comprising a plurality of shielding electrodes that are located in the plurality of pixel areas, respectively, and the plurality of shielding electrodes covering the plurality of scan lines and the plurality of data lines in a vertical projection direction of the substrate (Figs. 16-17); and
forming a pixel electrode layer (54) over the shielding electrode layer, the pixel electrode layer having a plurality of pixel electrodes that are located in the plurality of pixel areas (Figs. 16-18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2013/0314636).
Regarding claim 5, Chen fails to explicitly disclose wherein a width of a spacing between two of the plurality of pixel electrodes that are adjacent to each other is less than or equal to 5 μm.
However, the width of the spacing is a result-effective variable which achieves a recognized result (Chen, paras. [0100-0101]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the width range to improve aperture ratio. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein a width of a spacing between two of the plurality of pixel electrodes that are adjacent to each other is less than or equal to 5 μm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2013/0314636), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2023/0375892).
Regarding claim 3, Chen fails to explicitly disclose wherein an edge of one of the plurality of pixel electrodes is aligned with an edge of one of the plurality of data lines in the vertical projection direction.
However, Zhou discloses a pixel array substrate structure (Figs. 1-14), wherein an edge of one of the plurality of pixel electrodes (41) is aligned with an edge of one of the plurality of data lines (12) in the vertical projection direction (Figs. 2, 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein an edge of one of the plurality of pixel electrodes is aligned with an edge of one of the plurality of data lines in the vertical projection direction, as in Zhou, into the pixel array substrate structure of Chen as design choice for shielding and aperture ratio aspects.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2013/0314636), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lou et al. (US 2016/0181280).
Regarding claim 7, Chen fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second metal layer further has a plurality of scanning signal lines that are coupled to the plurality of scan lines, respectively, and the plurality of scanning signal lines are substantially parallel to the plurality of data lines.
However, Lou discloses a pixel array substrate structure (Figs. 2-9), wherein the second metal layer (para. [0026]) further has a plurality of scanning signal lines (35) that are coupled to the plurality of scan lines (32), respectively, and the plurality of scanning signal lines are substantially parallel to the plurality of data lines (31) (Figs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the second metal layer further has a plurality of scanning signal lines that are coupled to the plurality of scan lines, respectively, and the plurality of scanning signal lines are substantially parallel to the plurality of data lines, as in Lou, into the pixel array substrate structure of Chen to provide the array substrate without a frame (Lou, para. [0028]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2013/0314636), as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Hua et al. (US 2022/0252955), of record in IDS.
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses further comprising:
forming a passivation material layer (120) over the second metal layer (64); and
forming another passivation material layer (130) over the shielding electrode layer (53) (Figs. 16-17).
Chen fails to explicitly disclose forming an overcoat layer over the passivation material layer, wherein the overcoat layer has a via; and forming a through hole in the passivation material layer and the another passivation material layer, wherein the through hole passes through the passivation material layer and the another passivation material layer, and the through hole overlaps the via in the vertical projection direction.
However, Hua discloses a fabrication method of a pixel array substrate structure (Fig. 9), comprising:
forming an overcoat layer (107) over the passivation material layer (108), wherein the overcoat layer has a via (Fig. 9); and
forming a through hole in the passivation material layer and the another passivation material layer (106), wherein the through hole passes through the passivation material layer and the another passivation material layer, and the through hole overlaps the via in the vertical projection direction (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate forming an overcoat layer over the passivation material layer, wherein the overcoat layer has a via; and forming a through hole in the passivation material layer and the another passivation material layer, wherein the through hole passes through the passivation material layer and the another passivation material layer, and the through hole overlaps the via in the vertical projection direction, as in Hua, into the method of Chen to provide protective insulating layers and provide necessary connection pathway to electrical signals.
Conclusion
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871