DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 02 MAR 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02 MAR 2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Romero ‘842.
Claim 1 – Romero ‘842 teaches a precursor for forming a scandium-containing thin film (PG 0001), the precursor comprising a scandium-containing compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 below,
,
wherein in Chemical Formula 1,M is a scandium or yttrium metal, R1 and R3 are each independently a straight-chain, branched- chain, or cyclic alkyl or alkenyl group having 1 to 5 carbon atoms, and R2 is a hydrogen atom or a straight-chain, branched-chain, or cyclic alkyl or alkenyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms (PG 0023-0024 broadly, PG 0023 and 0026 specifically where all R groups are methyl).
Claim 2 – Romero ‘842 teaches the precursor of claim 1, wherein in Chemical Formula 1, R2 is a straight-chain alkyl group having 2 to 3 carbon atoms (PG 0023, 0025, and 0027; PG 0025 discloses a closed genus where all R groups are selected from methyl or ethyl, which further necessarily discloses a subgenus where the R2 group is ethyl [a subgenus of four discrete compounds Me-Et-Me, Me-Et-Et, Et-Et-Me, Et-Et-Et]; similarly, PG 0027 discloses a closed genus where all R groups are chosen from methyl, ethyl, or propyl, which further necessarily a subgenus where the R2 group is ethyl [a subgenus of 16 discrete compounds, as R1 and R3 can each be one of Me, Et, iPr, or nPr; 4 x 4 = 16 combinations]).
Claim 3 – Romero ‘842 teaches the precursor of claim 1, wherein in Chemical Formula 1, R1 and R3 are each independently a straight-chain alkyl group having 2 to 3 carbon atoms, and R2 is a straight-chain alkyl group having 2 to 3 carbon atoms (PG 0023, 0025, and 0027, the argument being the same mutatis mutandis as Claim 2).
Claim 4 – Romero ‘842 teaches the precursor of claim 1, wherein in Chemical Formula 1, R1 and R3 are methyl groups (PG 0023 and 0026, express recitation of R1 and R3 being solely methyl groups).
Claim 5 – Romero ‘842 teaches the precursor of claim 1, wherein in Chemical Formula 1, R2 is an isopropyl group (PG 0023 and 0027, the argument being the same mutatis mutandis as Claim 2).
Claim 6 – Romero ‘842 teaches the precursor of claim 1, wherein in Chemical Formula 1, R1 and R3 are each independently a straight-chain alkyl or alkenyl group having 1 to 5 carbon atoms (PG 0023-0024 broadly, PG 0023 and 0025-0027, the argument being the same mutatis mutandis as Claim 2).
Claim 7 – Romero ‘842 teaches the precursor of claim 1, wherein in Chemical Formula 1, R1 and R3 are each independently a straight-chain alkyl or alkenyl group having 1 to 5 carbon atoms, and R2 is a straight- chain alkyl or alkenyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms (PG 0023-0024 broadly, PG 0023 and 0025-0027, the argument being the same mutatis mutandis as Claim 2).
Claim 8 – Romero ‘842 teaches the precursor of claim 1, wherein in Chemical Formula 1, R1 and R3 are both the same and are straight-chain, branched-chain, or cyclic alkyl or alkenyl groups having 1 to 5 carbon atoms (PG 0023-0024 broadly, PG 0023 and 0025-0027, the argument being the same mutatis mutandis as Claim 2).
Claim 9 – Romero ‘842 teaches the precursor of claim 1, wherein in Chemical Formula 1, R1 to R3 are all the same and are straight-chain, branched-chain, or cyclic alkyl or alkenyl groups having 1 to 4 carbon atoms (PG 0023-0024 broadly, PG 0023 and 0025-0027, the argument being the same mutatis mutandis as Claim 2).
Claim 11 – Romero ‘842 teaches the precursor of claim 1, wherein the precursor has a melting point of 70°C or lower (PG 0013-0014, a genus of precursor with all R groups being chosen from methyl or ethyl; said genus of precursor has a melting point of 67.2 degrees Celsius +/- 5 degrees).
Claim 12 – Romero ‘842 teaches the precursor of claim 1, further comprising a solvent (PG 0022, the residue extracted into hexanes and distilled; the hexanes solvate the precursor if it is extracted into it; alternatively, PG 0022, THF is present with the formed precursor prior to the extraction into hexanes).
Claim 13 – Romero ‘842 teaches the precursor of claim 12, wherein the solvent is one or more of a saturated hydrocarbon having 6 carbon atoms and tetrahydrofuran (THF) (PG 0022).
Claim 15 – Romero ‘842 teaches the precursor of claim 1, wherein the compound is at least one selected from the group consisting of the following chemical structures
(PG 0023 and 0027 for the first entry in each row; PG 0023 and 0025 for the second and third entries in each row; PG 0023 broadly for the fourth and fifth entries in each row; the argument in all cases being the same mutatis mutandis as Claim 2.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romero ‘842.
Claim 10 – Romero ‘842 teaches the precursor of claim 1, but does not fairly teach or suggest wherein the precursor has a viscosity of 60 cP or less. It is established legal principle that "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." Romero ‘842 discloses precursors with identical composition to those claimed in Claims 1 and 10; therefore, “if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.” See further MPEP 2112.01(II).
Claim 14 – Romero ‘842 teaches the precursor of claim 12, but does not fairly teach or suggest wherein the solvent is included in an amount range of 1 to 99 wt% with respect to the total weight of the precursor. Determination of the proper amount of material to solvate a precursor without unduly delaying distillation as disclosed in Romero ‘842 is held to be routine experimentation and therefore is held as prima facie obvious in the absence of unexpected results derived from the selection.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL G MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712