Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of mathematical calculations without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) calculating a difference between a lifetime cumulative film thickness value and a cumulative etching amount in order to obtain a replacement time. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the apparatus and controller configured to operate gas supplies are well known, routine, and conventional (see the below rejection) and/or extra solution activity. None of the dependent claims correct this issue. The examiner notes that claims 3 and 8 do use the replacement time, but for generating a notification. This does not overcome the 101 rejection because it is mere outputting and/or extra solution activity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not support specifically controlling the gas supplier to restrict processing of the substrate. The examiner could only find the restriction until replacement, but not that this restriction is by controlling the gas supplier.
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. These claims are vague and indefinite because it is not clear how the gas supplier capable of restricting processing and what restricting processing means in the context of this invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoshima (US 2016/0211157) in view of Nunomura (US 2013/0247937).
Claims 1, 7, 9-10, 19-21, 24:
Inoshima teaches a CVD apparatus, method, and controller comprising a processing container (Fig. 1), a gas supplier (Fig. 5), a controller for controlling the gas supplier (Fig. 5) including forming deposits on the substrate and boat [0004] and etching [0137]. The controller is configured store cumulative film thickness information [0059] collected/determined by the cumulative depositions [0085-0087] and compare that to a predetermined threshold value to determine boat replacement (Id.). The cumulative film thickness information does take into account the cumulative etching value [0137] as a subtraction (because it is removal of the film by etching/cleaning) [0142]. Instead of just boat replacement, cleaning can be another possible outcome based on comparison with a different threshold value [0142].
Although Inoshima does imply the control is for the interior of the process chamber as a whole [0161], it is not explicit.
However, Nunomura teaches a similar control where the cumulative film thickness is considered on the boat and on the interior of the process chamber (i.e., the tube) (Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the control method of Inoshima and monitor the cumulative film thickness on the inner side of the processing chamber in addition to the boat. Nunomura establishes that both are important for maintaining the CVD apparatus in good working order.
Claims 2-5, 8, 11, 22-23:
A generic controller is capable of subtraction. The cumulative film thickness is compared to multiple threshold values, the results of which can be cautions/warnings/alerts [0142]. The results can be displayed [0143].
Claim 6:
Inoshima teaches a support and boat elevator (Fig. 1).
Claims 12-14:
Nunomura covers the situations where just the boat is cleaned, both the boat and tube are cleaned simultaneously, and just the tube is cleaned (Fig. 8).
Claims 15-16, 18:
Insoshima teaches the cumulative film thickness becomes zero [0061]. The number of times the cleaning operation has occurred is also information that can be stored [0142].
Claim 17:
Nunomura teaches over-etching [0137] which causes the cumulative film thickness value to become negative.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The above 101, 112a, and 112b rejections are made in large part due to the unclear link between gas supplier and restricting processing of the substrate, and in particular how this is accomplished when the threshold value is met. The examiner speculates it may be beneficial to focus on restricting processing for the purpose of part replacement, rather than gas supplier and restricting processing.
The 103 rejection is currently maintained because Inoshima does teach the concept of a cumulative film thickness combined with etching/film removal, which would obviously be a subtraction in the cumulative film thickness calculation. Additionally, Inoshima does include control of the gas supplier in response to the threshold value (Fig. 5).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759