Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of mathematical calculations without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) calculating a difference between a lifetime cumulative film thickness value and a cumulative etching amount in order to obtain a replacement time. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because this replacement time is not used for anything. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the apparatus and controller configured to operate gas supplies are well known, routine, and conventional (see the below rejection) and/or extra solution activity. None of the dependent claims correct this issue. The examiner notes that claims 3 and 8 do use the replacement time, but for generating a notification. This does not overcome the 101 rejection because it is mere outputting and/or extra solution activity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected for the use of “processing container” and “processing chamber”. It is not clear if these are intended to be the same or different. If different, it is not clear how they are different.
Claims 1-20 are rejection for the use of the phrase “replacement time”. This phrase is vague and indefinite because it is not actually a time value (sec, min, hours, days, etc.). Rather, it seems to be a binary output based on the comparison between the film thickness difference and a preset threshold value (claim 3; [0065]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoshima (US 2016/0211157) in view of Nunomura (US 2013/0247937).
Claims 1, 7, 9-10, 19-20:
Inoshima teaches a CVD apparatus, method, and controller comprising a processing container (Fig. 1), a gas supplier (Fig. 5), a controller for controlling the gas supplier (Fig. 5) including forming deposits on the substrate and boat [0004] and etching [0137]. The controller is configured store cumulative film thickness information [0059] collected/determined by the cumulative depositions [0085-0087] and compare that to a predetermined threshold value to determine boat replacement (Id.). The cumulative film thickness information does take into account the cumulative etching value [0137] as a subtraction (because it is removal of the film by etching/cleaning) [0142]. Instead of just boat replacement, cleaning can be another possible outcome based on comparison with a different threshold value [0142].
Although Inoshima does imply the control is for the interior of the process chamber as a whole [0161], it is not explicit.
However, Nunomura teaches a similar control where the cumulative film thickness is considered on the boat and on the interior of the process chamber (i.e., the tube) (Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the control method of Inoshima and monitor the cumulative film thickness on the inner side of the processing chamber in addition to the boat. Nunomura establishes that both are important for maintaining the CVD apparatus in good working order.
Claims 2-5, 8, 11:
A generic controller is capable of subtraction. The cumulative film thickness is compared to multiple threshold values, the results of which can be cautions/warnings/alerts [0142]. The results can be displayed [0143].
Claim 6:
Inoshima teaches a support and boat elevator (Fig. 1).
Claims 12-14:
Nunomura covers the situations where just the boat is cleaned, both the boat and tube are cleaned simultaneously, and just the tube is cleaned (Fig. 8).
Claims 15-16, 18:
Insoshima teaches the cumulative film thickness becomes zero [0061]. The number of times the cleaning operation has occurred is also information that can be stored [0142].
Claim 17:
Nunomura teaches over-etching [0137] which causes the cumulative film thickness value to become negative.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759