DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Figures 4, 6, 11, and 13 corresponding to claims 1-8 and 12-14 in the reply filed on 2/18/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the subject matter of all species is “sufficiently related” that a thorough search for one species would “encompass a search for the subject matter of the remaining claims and species” and “could be made without serious burden.” (Response to election, pg.1). This is not found persuasive because the applicant has merely presented a blanket statement that a search for one species would encompass a search for all species without any substantial evidence. The examiner clearly established in the restriction requirement, dated 12/18/2025, how each group presents structurally distinct components with distinct connections and operation. As such, the prior art applicable for one species would likely not be applicable to another, would require employing different search queries, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources (see restriction requirement, pg.3). Therefore, there would be a series search and/or examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the claimed “DC Power lines” (found in claims 3-5) have no reference characters/labels clearly indicating where they are. Applicant is strongly encouraged to amend the drawings to clarify where the “DC power lines” are located in the figures. Note: Changes in the drawings may necessitate changes in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a direct current (DC) power supply unit that receives the AC power from the main power lines…” in claims 1, 12 and “a direct current (DC) power supply unit that receives supply of the AC power form the main power lines...” in claim 14.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 12, 14 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 12 recite “…and output s power at a second voltage level that is lower than the first voltage and is used for control within each of the plurality of power transmission devices.” The language “used for control” does not reflect what the applicant intends with such language. While the language is intended use, the applicant is encouraged to clearly and precisely amend the claims to indicate that it is a voltage for powering a controller (similar to claim 14).
Claims 1, 12 recite “main power lines that supply to the plurality of power transmission devices AC power” followed by “a direct current (DC) power supply unit that receives the AC power from the main power lines…” The claims appear to indicate that there is only one DC power supply unit that receives AC power from the main power lines, which is misleading and incorrect. Applicant’s fig.1 clearly indicates there are a plurality of DC Power units 60 in each transmission device. Claim 14 recites similar language and therefore is objected to for the same reasons. The claims should be amended to clearly define that there is a plurality of DC power supply units.
Claim 12 recites “…a plurality of power transmission devices…each equipped with a power transmission coil that is magnetically coupled to the power reception coil…to thereby wireless transmit power to the mobile object.” The language implies that all transmitter coils are coupled all the time to the receiver coil of the mobile object, instead of the coupling occurring one by one as in applicant’s disclosure. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 recites “…and is an operating voltage of a control unit within the power transmission devices…” This seems to indicates one control unit is within the group of power transmission devices, which is incorrect. The claim should be amended to correctly recite that a control unit is within each of the power transmission devices. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “DC power lines that are power lines for the DC power supply unit are connected to the main power lines via an isolation capacitor.” The claim is indefinite, because it is unclear whether the applicant is claiming the “isolation capacitor” or not. The claim is descriptive of the “DC power lines”- it does not claim the structure on the power lines. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 3 recites “DC power lines that are power lines for the DC power supply unit are connected to the main power lines via an isolation capacitor” According to applicant’s fig.6, the power lines LN1 and LN2 are connected to the AC power lines via isolation capacitor CC1. The power lines LN1 and LN2 appear to be AC power lines (since isolation capacitors block DC and allow AC) to the rectification unit “RE”. Therefore, it is unclear what the applicant intends with “DC” power supply lines since power lines LN1 and LN2 do not appear to be “DC”. The claim should clearly define where the DC power lines and to which components they are connected so that they are “DC” power lines. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret claim 3 by following the structure shown in applicant’s fig.6; namely that the claimed power lines are upstream the rectification unit.
Claims 4-7 depend on claim 3 and therefore inherit the deficiencies of claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al. (2023/0021364 A1) in view of Endo (2014/0035521 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Hirano (figs.1,3) teaches a wireless power transmission system comprising:
a plurality of power transmission devices (item 50) installed in an area (5) of movement of a mobile object (see fig.1, 3) and each equipped with a power transmission coil (see figs.1, 3, item 51) that wireless transmits power to a power reception device (item 45) of the mobile object (pars [27, 56-58] and related discussion);
main power lines (see fig.1, common main power lines from 52 connected to each power transmission device 50) that supply to the plurality of power transmission devices (50) alternating current (AC) power at first voltage for use in power transmission (pars [54-55] and related discussion; main power lines supply to the plurality of power transmission devices AC power via AC power supply 52 “for” use in power transmission. It is noted that the AC power supplied from 52 is obviously at a first voltage since P=V*I).
Hirano further teaches a controller (560) for control within each power transmission device (50, pars [56, 60]).
While Hirano teaches the AC power from the main power lines, Hirano does not explicitly disclose a direct current (DC) power supply unit that receives AC power and outputs power at a second lower voltage and is used for control.
Endo, however, teaches it is known in the art to have a direct current (DC) power supply unit (fig.2, items 123, 124) that receives AC power and outputs power at a second lower voltage and is used for control (par [105]; Endo teaches 123 of the DC power supply unit receiving AC power and generates a high DC voltage and then outputs, through 124, a “relatively low voltage level” VDD1 and supplies it to 13 which is used for control).
In the combination, Endo’s DC power supply unit is used as a wired power supply within each of Hirano’s plurality of transmission devices 50 and receives the AC power at the first voltage from the main power lines in Hirano and outputs a relatively low second DC voltage to each of Hirano’s controller 560 within the plurality of power transmission devices. It is further noted that the second relatively low DC voltage for the controller is obviously lower than the first voltage used for power transmission as one skilled in the art would obviously realize that the first voltage coming from Hirano’s AC commercial system power supply 52 would be higher for transmission purposes than a voltage used for control/controller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirano in view of Endo so that Endo’s DC power supply unit is within each of Hirano’s plurality of power transmission devices (50) and receives AC power from the main power lines to output a second voltage used for control that is lower than the first voltage. The motivation would have been to provide a wired power supply to energize and operate the controller within each of Hirano’s power transmission device. Hirano already has the controller in each transmission device and thus one skilled in the art would have been motivated to implement a well-known and well-desired wired DC power supply means to operate Hirano’s controller. Note: While Endo’s DC power supply unit used for control is within the receiver, the techniques and electrical connections of the DC power supply unit are the same regardless of whether the controller is within the transmitter or receiver.
Regarding Claim 2,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1 and further teaches wherein the plurality of power transmission devices are connected in parallel to the main power lines (Hirano, see fig.1, plurality of power lines connected in parallel to transmission devices 50), and the DC power supply unit is provided in association with or within each of the plurality of power transmission devices (Hirano, see rejection of claim 1, Endo, fig.2, items 123, 124 par [105]; Hirano is modified so that the Endo’s DC power supply unit is provided within each of the plurality of power transmission devices to operate each transmission device’s controller).
Regarding Claim 12,
Hirano (figs.1, 3) teaches a wireless power transfer system comprising:
a power reception device (45) comprising a power reception coil (46) installed within a mobile object (3, par [27]);
a plurality of power transmission devices (50) installed in an area (5) of movement of the mobile object (3) and each equipped with a power transmission coil (51, par [27]) that is magnetically coupled to the power reception coil of the power reception device to thereby wirelessly transmit power to the mobile object (pars [27, 55, 58]);
main power lines (see fig.1, common main power lines from 52 connected to each power transmission device 50) that supply to the plurality of power transmission devices (50) alternating current (AC) power at first voltage for use in power transmission to the mobile object (pars [54-55] and related discussion; main power lines supply to the plurality of power transmission devices AC power via AC power supply 52 “for” use in power transmission to the vehicle 3. It is noted that the AC power supplied from 52 is obviously at a first voltage since P=V*I); and
Hirano further teaches a controller (560) for control within each power transmission device (50, pars [56, 60]).
While Hirano teaches the AC power from the main power lines, Hirano does not explicitly disclose a direct current (DC) power supply unit that receives AC power and outputs power at a second lower voltage and is used for control.
Endo, however, teaches it is known in the art to have a direct current (DC) power supply unit (fig.2, items 123, 124) that receives AC power and outputs power at a second lower voltage and is used for control (par [105]; Endo teaches 123 of the DC power supply unit receiving AC power and generates a high DC voltage and then outputs, through 124, a “relatively low voltage level” VDD1 and supplies it to 13 which is used for control).
In the combination, Endo’s DC power supply unit is used as a wired power supply within each of Hirano’s plurality of transmission devices 50 and receives the AC power at the first voltage from the main power lines in Hirano and outputs a relatively low second DC voltage to each of Hirano’s controller 560 within the plurality of power transmission devices. It is further noted that the second relatively low DC voltage for the controller is obviously lower than the first voltage used for power transmission as one skilled in the art would obviously realize that the first voltage coming from Hirano’s AC commercial system power supply 52 would be higher for transmission purposes than a voltage used for control/controller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirano in view of Endo so that Endo’s DC power supply unit is within each of Hirano’s plurality of power transmission devices (50) and receives AC power from the main power lines in Hirano to output a second lower voltage used for control. The motivation would have been to provide a wired power supply dedicated to energizing and operating the controller within each of Hirano’s power transmission devices. Hirano already has the controller in each transmission device and thus one skilled in the art would have been motivated to implement a well-known and well-desired wired power supply means to operate Hirano’s controller. Note: While Endo’s DC power supply unit used for control is within the receiver, the techniques and electrical connections of the DC power supply unit are the same regardless of whether the controller is within the transmitter or receiver.
Regarding Claim 13,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 12 and further teaches wherein the plurality of power transmission devices are connected in parallel to the main power lines (Hirano, see fig.1, plurality of power lines connected in parallel to transmission devices 50), and the DC power supply unit is provided in association with or within each of the plurality of power transmission devices (Hirano, see rejection of claim 1, Endo, fig.2, items 123, 124 par [105]; Hirano is modified so that the Endo’s DC power supply unit is provided within each of the plurality of power transmission devices to operate each transmission device’s controller).
Regarding Claim 14,
Hirano (figs.1, 3) teaches a wireless power transfer method comprising:
supplying alternating current (AC) power at a first voltage (pars [54-55] and related discussion; supplying AC power to the plurality of power transmission devices 50 via AC power supply 52 obviously requires supplying power at a first voltage noting that P=V*I) to a plurality of power transmission devices (50) in an area (5) of a mobile object (3) via main power lines (see fig.1, common main power lines from 52 connected to each power transmission device 50);
a control unit (560) within the power transmission devices (50, see figs.1, 3, par [56]);
at least one of the plurality of power transmission devices, under control of the control unit, using the AC power at the first voltage to supply high frequency AC power to a power transmission coil (51) installed in the at least one of the plurality of power transmission devices (50, figs.1, 3, pars [57, 60] and related discussion; controller 560 controls PFC 510 and inverter 520 of the power transmission device 50, which uses the AC power at the first voltage to supply high frequency AC power to transmission coil 51 via inverter 520 noting that the frequency from inverter 520 to transmitter coil is obviously known to be a “high” frequency. It is further noted that this is the same as applicant’s fig.2, that uses 70 with a PFC, inverter, and filter to supply a high frequency AC power. Also see Kotani (2017/0207657), fig.1 par [26]); and
wirelessly transmitting power via the transmission coil (51) to a power reception coil (46) of a power reception device (45) of the mobile object (3, see figs.1, 3).
While Hirano teaches the AC power from the main power lines, Hirano does not explicitly disclose a direct current (DC) power supply unit that receives supply of AC power, outputting power at a second lower voltage and is an operating voltage of a control unit.
Endo, however, teaches it is known in the art to have a direct current (DC) power supply unit (fig.2, items 123, 124) that receives supply of AC power and outputs power at a second lower voltage and is an operating voltage of a control unit (pars [105, 115]; Endo teaches 123 of the DC power supply unit receiving AC power and generates a high DC voltage and then outputs, through 124, a “relatively low voltage level” VDD1 and is an operating voltage of a control unit 13 and/or VDD2 is an operating voltage of control unit 17).
In the combination, Endo’s DC power supply unit is used as a wired power supply within each of Hirano’s plurality of transmission devices 50 and receives Hirano’s AC power at the first voltage from the main power lines and outputs a relatively low second DC voltage to each of Hirano’s controller 560 within the plurality of power transmission devices. It is further noted that the second relatively low DC voltage for the controller is obviously lower than the first voltage used for power transmission as one skilled in the art would obviously realize that the first voltage coming from Hirano’s AC commercial system power supply 52 would be higher for transmission purposes than a voltage used for operating a controller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirano in view of Endo so that Endo’s DC power supply unit is within each of Hirano’s plurality of power transmission devices (50) and receives AC power at the first voltage from the main power lines in Hirano to output a second lower voltage as an operating voltage of the control unit. The motivation would have been to provide a wired power supply to energize and operate the controller within each of Hirano’s power transmission device. Hirano already has the controller in each transmission device and thus one skilled in the art would have been motivated to implement a well-known and well-desired wired power supply means to operate Hirano’s controller. Note: While Endo’s DC power supply unit used for control is within the receiver, the techniques and electrical connections of the DC power supply unit are the same regardless of whether the controller is within the transmitter or receiver.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al. (2023/0021364 A1) in view of Endo (2014/0035521 A1) in further view of Minegishi et al. (2015/0349562 A1).
Regarding Claim 3,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1 and further teaches power lines for the DC power supply unit are connected to the main power lines (see rejection of claim 1’s combination of Hirano, figs.1, 3 and Endo, Fig.2; Hirano teaches the main power lines and Endo’s DC power supply unit 123, 124 illustrates power lines upstream of 123 of the DC Power supply unit 123, 124, which would be connected in the combination to Hirano’s main AC power lines).
The combination does not explicitly disclose an isolation capacitor.
Minegishi, however, teaches it is known in the art to have an isolation capacitor (C1 or C2) connected to AC lines (pars [38, 40, 42], see fig.1, C1 or C2 on AC power lines at outputs 5a, 5b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hirano in view of Endo’s DC power supply unit to be connected to Hirano’s main power lines via an isolation capacitor (i.e., placing Minegishi’s isolation capacitor upstream Endo’s rectifier 123 of the DC power supply unit between the main power lines and the rectifier of the DC power supply unit). The motivation would have been to prevent an electric shock (Minegishi, par [36]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al. (2023/0021364 A1) in view of Endo (2014/0035521 A1) in further view of Minegishi et al. (2015/0349562 A1) in further view of Venugopal et al. (2019/0386628 A1).
Regarding Claim 4,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 3 and further teaches the isolation capacitor is provided on at least one of the power lines for the DC power supply unit (Hirano, figs.1, 3, see rejection of claims 1 and 3 and Endo, fig.2, see rejection of claims 1 and 3, Minegishi, pars [40, 42], see fig.1, Hirano in view of Endo teaches power lines for the DC power supply unit and Minegishi teaches the isolation capacitor C1 is provided on at least one of the power lines).
The combination does not explicitly disclose the single-phase AC power.
Venugopal, however, teaches it is known in the art to have a single-phase AC power or polyphase AC power supply (par [34]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of modified Hirano’s main power supply lines to be single-phase AC lines coming from a single-phase AC power supply since there are a limited number of options for the main power lines to be- 1) single-phase or 2) poly phase and one skilled in the art would have obviously selected single-phase AC main power lines based on the intended design and use of the system.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al. (2023/0021364 A1) in view of Endo (2014/0035521 A1) in further view of Kotani (2017/0207657 A1).
Regarding Claim 8,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1 and further teaches control within each of the power transmission device (Hirano, par [60]). The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the control includes at least one of (i.e., any one of the five) the following five controls: [1] power control for turning on and off supply of AC power at the first voltage to the transmission coil; [2] impedance control for varying a resonance state of a resonance circuit using the power transmission coil; [3] detection control for detecting the power reception coil on the mobile object side; [4] drive control for controlling driving of a switching element in the power transmission device; and [5] protection control for operating a protection circuit provided in the power transmission device.
Kotani, however, teaches wherein the control includes at least one of the five controls: [1] power control for turning on and off supply of AC power to the transmission coil (fig.6, L13, par [73] and related discussion; supply of AC power to transmission coil L13 is controlled on and off via switch 15a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hirano in view of Endo so that the AC power supply at the first voltage to the transmitter coil in the combination is controlled on and off as discussed within Kotani. The motivation would have been to selectively and independently control the supply of AC power to each transmission coil as is well-known and well-desired in the art.
Prior Art Deemed Relevant but Not Currently Relied Upon:
Kato (2022/0166263)-Fig.5, par [62]; DC power supply unit (351) with power transmission device 350 to provide operational voltage for controller (354).
Conclusion
There is no prior art for claim 5. In order to expedite prosecution, the applicant is encouraged to amend the independent claims to clearly and precisely define the structure of the DC power supply unit including the DC power lines, and further to positively claim the isolation capacitor and how it connects with the rest of the components in claim 5.
Contact Information
/RASEM MOURAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836