DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/26/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues on page 7 of Applicant’s Remarks that “Independent Claims 1 and 7 recite in part instruct at least one robot to guide a first portion of the seat belt through an opening in a first component of the vehicle component, instruct the at least one robot to couple the first component to the vehicle body, instruct the at least one robot to move a second component in a predetermined pattern to guide a second portion of the seat belt into a slit in the second component of the vehicle component, and instruct the at least one robot to couple the second component to the vehicle body. Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references fail to disclose these features.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gasmann teaches “the pre-assembly of the components of the seat belt arrangement and of the pillar cladding no longer takes place by hand installation in work stations of an assembly line which are independent of one another, but rather in a largely fully automated assembly process step with the aid of at least one robot” (See at least Para [0007]). Gasmann depends on Sumiyashiki in the rejection for the teachings of guiding a belt portion into a slit (See at least Para [0057]). Gasmann further depends on Nishimoto in the rejection for the teachings of coupling the first and second components to the vehicle body (See at least Col 14 Lines 49-53). Therefore, in combination the prior arts anticipate the claim limitations. Examiner recognizes that references cannot be arbitrarily combined and that there must be some reason why one skilled in the art would be motivated to make the proposed combination of primary and secondary references. In re Nomiya, 184 USPQ 607 (CCPA 1975). Additionally, Applicant argues on page 8 of Applicant’s Remarks that “The Office Action alleges that Gasmann discloses the steps of Claims 1 and 7. Applicant disagrees… Stated differently, Gasmann builds up the inner shell 9 with elements 20, 21, 23, and 24 of the seat belt assembly 19 manually (without using a robot) before using a robot to couple the assembled inner shell 9 to the outer shell 11. The robot of Gasmann is not used to couple the seat belt assembly 19 to the inner shell 9 and is only used to couple the built-up inner panel 9 to the outer shell 11”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as already discussed above. Same reasoning as applied to the independent claims above also apply to their corresponding dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 8, 10, 15, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gasmann et al. (DE102018215365B4) (Hereinafter Gasmann) in view of Sumiyashiki (US 20030116668 A1), and further in view of Nishimoto et al. (US 5619784 A) (Hereinafter Nishimoto).
Regarding Claim 1, Gasmann teaches a system for assembling a vehicle component to a vehicle body having a seat belt (See at least Para [0005] “The object of the invention is to provide a method for installing a seat belt arrangement in a vehicle body, which method can be carried out with reduced production time compared to the prior art.”), the system comprising:
at least one robot (See at least Fig 12, [0007] “According to claim 1, the pre-assembly of the components of the seat belt arrangement and of the pillar cladding no longer takes place by hand installation in work stations of an assembly line which are independent of one another, but rather in a largely fully automated assembly process step with the aid of at least one robot.”); and
a controller in communication with the at least one robot (Para [0017] "...The essence of the invention is that the assembly process step ZSB takes place in a workstation AS (FIG. 12 ) in a fully automated manner by means of robots 60.", discloses that the assembly process is done with robots which is construed as a controller is in communication with the at least one robot), the controller configured to:
instruct the at least one robot to guide a first portion of the seat belt through an
opening in a first component of the vehicle component (See at least Fig 3a, Para [0018] “… According to FIG. 3 a, mounting openings 6, 8 are formed in the inner sheet metal part 9, in which openings the belt retractor 20 and the belt deflector 24 can be positioned in each case…”, Para [0001] “The invention relates to a method for installing a seat belt arrangement in a vehicle body according to claim 1 and to a vehicle body according to claim 7.”); …
instruct the at least one robot to move a second component in a predetermined pattern
to guide a second portion of the seat belt into a slit in the second component of the vehicle component (See at least Para [0017] “… The pre-assembly unit VM formed in this way is then joined in an
assembly process step ZSB (FIG. 9 ) to a sheet metal outer part 11 installed in the vehicle body 50. The essence of the invention is that the assembly process step ZSB takes place in a workstation AS (FIG. 12 ) in a fully automated manner by means of robots 60.”, discloses that the VM unit is joined through a robotic assembly process in step ZSB which is construed as robotically moving a component in a predetermined motion pattern, Fig 3a, Para [0018] “… According to FIG. 3 a, mounting openings 6, 8 are formed in the inner sheet metal part 9, in which openings the belt retractor 20 and the belt deflector 24 can be positioned in each case…”, Para [0017] discloses that the assembly process is automated and performed by robots by moving the VM unit to join the vehicle and Para [0018] discloses how the belt is mounted through the openings which can be construed as robot guiding a seat belt into a slit, Para [0001] “The invention relates to a method for installing a seat belt arrangement in a vehicle body according to claim 1 and to a vehicle body according to claim 7.”); and …
Also, Sumiyashiki teaches robot guiding a belt portion into a slit (See at least Para [0057] “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, a belt insert-through hole 30, whose both ends are open at the outer peripheral portion of the spool main body 28, is formed in the spool main body 28. The belt insert-through hole 30 is a slit hole at which the longitudinal directions of the openings thereof run along the axial direction of the spool main body 28. The proximal end portion of a webbing belt 32 shown in FIG. 1 is inserted through the belt-insert through hole 30.”, Para [0139] “Thus, the assembly work is easy. Further, when these parts are assembled automatically such as by a robot or the like, because the directions of assembling these respective parts are the same one direction, the operation of the robot is simplified…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sumiyashiki’s feature of robot guiding a belt portion into a slit with Gasmann’s invention of robotically moving a component in a predetermined motion pattern to route belt webbing, thereby making the assembly process easy and fast (See at least Para [0039] “In this way, in the present method for assembling a webbing retractor, the mounting of the take-up shaft to the frame is simple. Therefore, assembly is easy, and it is possible to reduce the number of assembly steps.”).
Although Gasmann teaches joining of the pre-assembly unit to the two B-columns (See at least Para [0008] "... In this case, the joining of the pre-assembly unit to the two B-columns can take place simultaneously on the left and on the right in a push-pull manner by means of robots."), however, he does not explicitly spell out …
instruct the at least one robot to couple the first component to the vehicle body …
instruct the at least one robot to couple the second component to the vehicle body …
Nishimoto teaches …
instruct the at least one robot to couple the first component to the vehicle body (See at least Col 14 Lines 49-53 “…Concurrently, cross sectioned structures 6A and 6B forming the hinge pillar 6 of are engaged and joined together by joint robot 128 between the stationary bases 126. Other portions such as the rear end of the front floor 1 are also joined by the robot 128…”)…
instruct the at least one robot to couple the second component to the vehicle body (See at least Col 14 Lines 49-53 “…Concurrently, cross sectioned structures 6A and 6B forming the hinge pillar 6 of are engaged and joined together by joint robot 128 between the stationary bases 126. Other portions such as the rear end of the front floor 1 are also joined by the robot 128…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Gasmann with the teachings of Nishimoto and include the feature of performing a specific set of operations by the first robot and other set of operations by the second robot to assemble a vehicle component to a vehicle body having a seat belt, thereby increase productivity, reduce cycle time, and reduce cost (See at least Col 13 Lines 39-42 “The equipping process is applied while the upper body shell is conveyed so that time loss can be reduced. The truck 114 can be moved intermittently as well.”, Col 12 Line 56 “…Running and installation cost can be reduced…”).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 1. Gasmann further teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one robot includes a first robot and a second robot (See at least Para [0017] “… The essence of the invention is that the assembly process step ZSB takes place in a workstation AS (FIG. 12) in a fully automated manner by means of robots 60.”), and …
However, Gasmann does not explicitly spell out … wherein the first robot couples the first
component and the second component to the vehicle body.
Nishimoto teaches … wherein the first robot couples the first component and the second
component to the vehicle body (See at least Col 14 Lines 49-53 “…Concurrently, cross sectioned structures 6A and 6B forming the hinge pillar 6 of are engaged and joined together by joint robot 128 between the stationary bases 126. Other portions such as the rear end of the front floor 1 are also joined by the robot 128…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Gasmann with the teachings of Nishimoto and include the feature of performing a specific set of operations by the first robot and other set of operations by the second robot to assemble a vehicle component to a vehicle body having a seat belt, thereby increase productivity, reduce cycle time, and reduce cost (See at least Col 13 Lines 39-42 “The equipping process is applied while the upper body shell is conveyed so that time loss can be reduced. The truck 114 can be moved intermittently as well.”, Col 12 Line 56 “…Running and installation cost can be reduced…”).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 2. Gasmann further teaches the system of Claim 2, wherein the second robot guides the first portion of the seat belt through the opening in the first component (See at least Fig 3a, Para [0018] “… According to FIG. 3 a, mounting openings 6, 8 are formed in the inner sheet metal part 9, in which openings the belt retractor 20 and the belt deflector 24 can be positioned in each case…”, Para [0026] “The above-described assembly process step ZSB is carried out in a fully automated manner in the workstation AS indicated in FIG. 12 by means of robots 60. The workstation AS is part of the process chain for vehicle production. The robots 60 are positioned on both sides of the vehicle body 50 in FIG. 12. One of the robots 60 is shown in isolation in FIG. 13. Consequently, the multi-axis robot 60 has a robot base which is guided linearly adjustably on floor rails 61 of the workstation AS. The robot 60 is formed at its free end with a gripping means 62, with which the pre-assembly unit VM can be automatically connected to the B-pillar 3 in the assembly process step ZSB.”).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 1. Gasmann further teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein instructing the at least one robot to guide the first portion of the seat belt through the opening in the first component comprises rotating the first portion of the seat belt (See at least Para [0016] “In FIG. 2, a pillar covering 17 and a seat belt arrangement 19 are mounted on a sheet metal hollow support 12 shown in dashed lines. In FIG. 2, the seat belt arrangement 19 has a belt end fitting 21 on the bottom side, a belt deflector 24 (FIG. 3 b), and a belt retractor 23 and a height-adjustable deflection fitting 23 for a seat belt 25.”, discloses belt height adjustable deflection fitting which will requires rotating the portion of the seat belt).
Regarding Claim 7, Gasmann teaches a system for assembling a vehicle component to a vehicle body having a seat belt (See at least Para [0005] “The object of the invention is to provide a method for installing a seat belt arrangement in a vehicle body, which method can be carried out with reduced production time compared to the prior art.”), the system comprising:
a first robot and a second robot (Para [0017] "...The essence of the invention is that the assembly process step ZSB takes place in a workstation AS (FIG. 12 ) in a fully automated manner by means of robots 60."); and
a controller in communication with the first robot and the second robot (Para [0017] "...The essence of the invention is that the assembly process step ZSB takes place in a workstation AS (FIG. 12 ) in a fully automated manner by means of robots 60.", discloses that the assembly process is done with robots which is construed as a controller is in communication with the at least one robot), the controller configured to:
instruct the first robot to pick-up a first component of the vehicle component (See at
least Para [0026] “The above-described assembly process step ZSB is carried out in a fully automated manner in the workstation AS indicated in FIG. 12 by means of robots 60. The workstation AS is part of the process chain for vehicle production. The robots 60 are positioned on both sides of the vehicle body 50 in FIG. 12. One of the robots 60 is shown in isolation in FIG. 13. Consequently, the multi-axis robot 60 has a robot base which is guided linearly adjustably on floor rails 61 of the workstation AS. The robot 60 is formed at its free end with a gripping means 62, with which the pre-assembly unit VM can be automatically connected to the B-pillar 3 in the assembly process step ZSB.”);
instruct the second robot to guide a first portion of the seat belt through an opening in
the first component (See at least Para [0017] “… The pre-assembly unit VM formed in this way is then joined in an assembly process step ZSB (FIG. 9 ) to a sheet metal outer part 11 installed in the vehicle body 50. The essence of the invention is that the assembly process step ZSB takes place in a workstation AS (FIG. 12 ) in a fully automated manner by means of robots 60.”, discloses that the VM unit is joined through a robotic assembly process in step ZSB which is construed as robotically moving a component in a predetermined motion pattern, Fig 3a, Para [0018] “… According to FIG. 3 a, mounting openings 6, 8 are formed in the inner sheet metal part 9, in which openings the belt retractor 20 and the belt deflector 24 can be positioned in each case…”, Para [0017] discloses that the assembly process is automated and performed by robots by moving the VM unit to join the vehicle and Para [0018] discloses how the belt is mounted through the openings which can be construed as robot guiding a seat belt into a slit, Para [0001] “The invention relates to a method for installing a seat belt arrangement in a vehicle body according to claim 1 and to a vehicle body according to claim 7.”); and …
Also, Sumiyashiki teaches robot guiding a belt portion into a slit (See at least Para [0057] “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, a belt insert-through hole 30, whose both ends are open at the outer peripheral portion of the spool main body 28, is formed in the spool main body 28. The belt insert-through hole 30 is a slit hole at which the longitudinal directions of the openings thereof run along the axial direction of the spool main body 28. The proximal end portion of a webbing belt 32 shown in FIG. 1 is inserted through the belt-insert through hole 30.”, Para [0139] “Thus, the assembly work is easy. Further, when these parts are assembled automatically such as by a robot or the like, because the directions of assembling these respective parts are the same one direction, the operation of the robot is simplified…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sumiyashiki’s feature of robot guiding a belt portion into a slit with Gasmann’s invention of robotically moving a component in a predetermined motion pattern to route belt webbing, thereby making the assembly process easy and fast (See at least Para [0039] “In this way, in the present method for assembling a webbing retractor, the mounting of the take-up shaft to the frame is simple. Therefore, assembly is easy, and it is possible to reduce the number of assembly steps.”).
instruct the first robot to pick-up a second component of the vehicle component (See at
least Para [0026] “The above-described assembly process step ZSB is carried out in a fully automated manner in the workstation AS indicated in FIG. 12 by means of robots 60. The workstation AS is part of the process chain for vehicle production. The robots 60 are positioned on both sides of the vehicle body 50 in FIG. 12. One of the robots 60 is shown in isolation in FIG. 13. Consequently, the multi-axis robot 60 has a robot base which is guided linearly adjustably on floor rails 61 of the workstation AS. The robot 60 is formed at its free end with a gripping means 62, with which the pre-assembly unit VM can be automatically connected to the B-pillar 3 in the assembly process step ZSB.”); …
instruct the first robot to couple the second component to the vehicle body (See at least
Para [0008] "... In this case, the joining of the pre-assembly unit to the two B-columns can take place simultaneously on the left and on the right in a push-pull manner by means of robots.", ).
Although Gasmann teaches joining of the pre-assembly unit to the two B-columns (See at least Para [0008] "... In this case, the joining of the pre-assembly unit to the two B-columns can take place simultaneously on the left and on the right in a push-pull manner by means of robots."), however, he does not explicitly spell out …
instruct the first robot to couple the first component to the vehicle body …
instruct the first robot to couple the second component to the vehicle body.
Nishimoto teaches …
instruct the first robot to couple the first component to the vehicle body (See at least Col 14 Lines 49-53 “…Concurrently, cross sectioned structures 6A and 6B forming the hinge pillar 6 of are engaged and joined together by joint robot 128 between the stationary bases 126. Other portions such as the rear end of the front floor 1 are also joined by the robot 128…”)…
instruct the first robot to couple the second component to the vehicle body (See at least Col 14 Lines 49-53 “…Concurrently, cross sectioned structures 6A and 6B forming the hinge pillar 6 of are engaged and joined together by joint robot 128 between the stationary bases 126. Other portions such as the rear end of the front floor 1 are also joined by the robot 128…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Gasmann with the teachings of Nishimoto and include the feature of performing a specific set of operations by the first robot and other set of operations by the second robot to assemble a vehicle component to a vehicle body having a seat belt, thereby increase productivity, reduce cycle time, and reduce cost (See at least Col 13 Lines 39-42 “The equipping process is applied while the upper body shell is conveyed so that time loss can be reduced. The truck 114 can be moved intermittently as well.”, Col 12 Line 56 “…Running and installation cost can be reduced…”).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 7. Gasmann further teaches the system of Claim 7, wherein the vehicle component is a vehicle pillar panel (See at least Para [0007] “According to claim 1, the pre-assembly of the components of the seat belt arrangement and of the pillar cladding no longer takes place by hand installation in work stations of an assembly line which are independent of one another, but rather in a largely fully automated assembly process step with the aid of at least one robot… The automated assembly process step is then carried out, in which the pre-assembly unit is joined by means of the robot to at least one column-side connection point of a body pillar, in particular a B-pillar, of the vehicle body.”, Para [0015]).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 7. Gasmann further teaches the system of Claim 7, wherein instructing the second robot to guide the first portion of the seat belt through the opening in the first component comprises rotating the first portion of the seat belt (See at least Para [0016] “In FIG. 2, a pillar covering 17 and a seat belt arrangement 19 are mounted on a sheet metal hollow support 12 shown in dashed lines. In FIG. 2, the seat belt arrangement 19 has a belt end fitting 21 on the bottom side, a belt deflector 24 (FIG. 3 b), and a belt retractor 23 and a height-adjustable deflection fitting 23 for a seat belt 25.”, discloses belt height adjustable deflection fitting which will requires rotating the portion of the seat belt).
Regarding Claim 15, Gasmann teaches a method for assembling a vehicle component to a vehicle body having a seat belt (See at least Para [0005] “The object of the invention is to provide a method for installing a seat belt arrangement in a vehicle body, which method can be carried out with reduced production time compared to the prior art.”), the method comprising:
guiding a first portion of the seat belt through an opening in a first component of the vehicle component (See at least Fig 3a, Para [0018] “… According to FIG. 3 a, mounting openings 6, 8 are formed in the inner sheet metal part 9, in which openings the belt retractor 20 and the belt deflector 24 can be positioned in each case…”, Para [0001] “The invention relates to a method for installing a seat belt arrangement in a vehicle body according to claim 1 and to a vehicle body according to claim 7.”); …
inserting a second portion of the seat belt into a slit in a second component of the vehicle component (See at least Para [0017] “… The pre-assembly unit VM formed in this way is then joined in an assembly process step ZSB (FIG. 9 ) to a sheet metal outer part 11 installed in the vehicle body 50. The essence of the invention is that the assembly process step ZSB takes place in a workstation AS (FIG. 12 ) in a fully automated manner by means of robots 60.”, discloses that the VM unit is joined through a robotic assembly process in step ZSB which is construed as robotically moving a component in a predetermined motion pattern, Fig 3a, Para [0018] “… According to FIG. 3 a, mounting openings 6, 8 are formed in the inner sheet metal part 9, in which openings the belt retractor 20 and the belt deflector 24 can be positioned in each case…”, Para [0017] discloses that the assembly process is automated and performed by robots by moving the VM unit to join the vehicle and Para [0018] discloses how the belt is mounted through the openings which can be construed as robot guiding a seat belt into a slit, Para [0001] “The invention relates to a method for installing a seat belt arrangement in a vehicle body according to claim 1 and to a vehicle body according to claim 7.”); and …
Also, Sumiyashiki teaches robot guiding a belt portion into a slit (See at least Para [0057] “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, a belt insert-through hole 30, whose both ends are open at the outer peripheral portion of the spool main body 28, is formed in the spool main body 28. The belt insert-through hole 30 is a slit hole at which the longitudinal directions of the openings thereof run along the axial direction of the spool main body 28. The proximal end portion of a webbing belt 32 shown in FIG. 1 is inserted through the belt-insert through hole 30.”, Para [0139] “Thus, the assembly work is easy. Further, when these parts are assembled automatically such as by a robot or the like, because the directions of assembling these respective parts are the same one direction, the operation of the robot is simplified…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sumiyashiki’s feature of robot guiding a belt portion into a slit with Gasmann’s invention of robotically moving a component in a predetermined motion pattern to route belt webbing, thereby making the assembly process easy and fast (See at least Para [0039] “In this way, in the present method for assembling a webbing retractor, the mounting of the take-up shaft to the frame is simple. Therefore, assembly is easy, and it is possible to reduce the number of assembly steps.”).
Although Gasmann teaches joining of the pre-assembly unit to the two B-columns (See at least Para [0008] "... In this case, the joining of the pre-assembly unit to the two B-columns can take place simultaneously on the left and on the right in a push-pull manner by means of robots."),however, he does not explicitly spell out …
coupling the first component to the vehicle body …
coupling the second component to the vehicle body.
Nishimoto teaches …
coupling the first component to the vehicle body (See at least Col 14 Lines 49-53 “…Concurrently, cross sectioned structures 6A and 6B forming the hinge pillar 6 of are engaged and joined together by joint robot 128 between the stationary bases 126. Other portions such as the rear end of the front floor 1 are also joined by the robot 128…”)…
coupling the second component to the vehicle body (See at least Col 14 Lines 49-53 “…Concurrently, cross sectioned structures 6A and 6B forming the hinge pillar 6 of are engaged and joined together by joint robot 128 between the stationary bases 126. Other portions such as the rear end of the front floor 1 are also joined by the robot 128…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Gasmann with the teachings of Nishimoto and include the feature of performing a specific set of operations by the first robot and other set of operations by the second robot to assemble a vehicle component to a vehicle body having a seat belt, thereby increase productivity, reduce cycle time, and reduce cost (See at least Col 13 Lines 39-42 “The equipping process is applied while the upper body shell is conveyed so that time loss can be reduced. The truck 114 can be moved intermittently as well.”, Col 12 Line 56 “…Running and installation cost can be reduced…”).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 15. Gasmann further teaches wherein the first portion of the seat belt is guided through the opening using a second robot (See at least Fig 3a, Para [0018] “… According to FIG. 3 a, mounting openings 6, 8 are formed in the inner sheet metal part 9, in which openings the belt retractor 20 and the belt deflector 24 can be positioned in each case…”, Para [0026] “The above-described assembly process step ZSB is carried out in a fully automated manner in the workstation AS indicated in FIG. 12 by means of robots 60. The workstation AS is part of the process chain for vehicle production. The robots 60 are positioned on both sides of the vehicle body 50 in FIG. 12. One of the robots 60 is shown in isolation in FIG. 13. Consequently, the multi-axis robot 60 has a robot base which is guided linearly adjustably on floor rails 61 of the workstation AS. The robot 60 is formed at its free end with a gripping means 62, with which the pre-assembly unit VM can be automatically connected to the B-pillar 3 in the assembly process step ZSB.”).
However, Gasmann does not explicitly spell out the method of Claim 15, wherein the first
component and the second component are coupled to the vehicle body using a first robot, and…
Nishimoto teaches the method of Claim 15, wherein the first component and the second
component are coupled to the vehicle body using a first robot, and (See at least Col 14 Lines 49-53 “…Concurrently, cross sectioned structures 6A and 6B forming the hinge pillar 6 of are engaged and joined together by joint robot 128 between the stationary bases 126. Other portions such as the rear end of the front floor 1 are also joined by the robot 128…”)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Gasmann with the teachings of Nishimoto and include the feature of performing a specific set of operations by the first robot and other set of operations by the second robot to assemble a vehicle component to a vehicle body having a seat belt, thereby increase productivity, reduce cycle time, and reduce cost (See at least Col 13 Lines 39-42 “The equipping process is applied while the upper body shell is conveyed so that time loss can be reduced. The truck 114 can be moved intermittently as well.”, Col 12 Line 56 “…Running and installation cost can be reduced…”).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 15. Gasmann further teaches the method of Claim 15, wherein guiding the first portion of the seat belt through the opening in the first component comprises rotating the first portion of the seat belt (See at least Para [0016] “In FIG. 2, a pillar covering 17 and a seat belt arrangement 19 are mounted on a sheet metal hollow support 12 shown in dashed lines. In FIG. 2, the seat belt arrangement 19 has a belt end fitting 21 on the bottom side, a belt deflector 24 (FIG. 3 b), and a belt retractor 23 and a height-adjustable deflection fitting 23 for a seat belt 25.”, discloses belt height adjustable deflection fitting which will requires rotating the portion of the seat belt).
Claim(s) 4, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gasmann et al. (DE102018215365B4) (Hereinafter Gasmann) in view of Sumiyashiki (US 20030116668 A1), Nishimoto et al. (US 5619784 A) (Hereinafter Nishimoto), and further in view of Remigio (ES 3035715 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 2.
Although Gasmann teaches installing belt arrangement in a vehicle body through robots (See at
least Para [0001] “The invention relates to a method for installing a seat belt arrangement in a vehicle body according to claim 1 and to a vehicle body according to claim 7.”, Para [0017] “… The essence of the invention is that the assembly process step ZSB takes place in a workstation AS (FIG. 12 ) in a fully automated manner by means of robots 60.”), however, he does not explicitly spell out the system of Claim 2, wherein the second robot directs a webbing of the seat belt away from the vehicle body prior to the second component being coupled to the vehicle body.
Remigio teaches the system of Claim 2, wherein the second robot directs a webbing of the seat
belt away from the vehicle body prior to the second component being coupled to the vehicle body (See at least Page 1 Para 10 “This configuration presents a drawback, as the seat belt system's webbing must run freely vertically along the pillar. The slack required to allow the webbing to move, along with the concavity toward the bottom of the vehicle interior present in the pillar, causes the webbing to tend to move away from the vehicle body and toward the inner face of an interior trim panel of the pillar.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Gasmann with the teachings of Remigio and include the feature of robot directing a webbing of the seat belt away from the vehicle body prior to the second component being coupled to the vehicle body, thereby avoid entanglement and improve the assembly process (See at least Page 5 Para 1 “The object of the present invention is to achieve improvement in the mounting of the safety belt system (200) on a pillar (210) of a vehicle.”).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 7.
Although Gasmann teaches installing belt arrangement in a vehicle body through robots (See at
least Para [0001] “The invention relates to a method for installing a seat belt arrangement in a vehicle body according to claim 1 and to a vehicle body according to claim 7.”, Para [0017] “… The essence of the invention is that the assembly process step ZSB takes place in a workstation AS (FIG. 12 ) in a fully automated manner by means of robots 60.”), however, he does not explicitly spell the system of Claim 7, wherein the controller instructs the second robot to direct a webbing of the seat belt away from the vehicle body prior to the second component being coupled to the vehicle body.
Remigio teaches the system of Claim 7, wherein the controller instructs the second robot to
direct a webbing of the seat belt away from the vehicle body prior to the second component being coupled to the vehicle body (See at least Page 1 Para 10 “This configuration presents a drawback, as the seat belt system's webbing must run freely vertically along the pillar. The slack required to allow the webbing to move, along with the concavity toward the bottom of the vehicle interior present in the pillar, causes the webbing to tend to move away from the vehicle body and toward the inner face of an interior trim panel of the pillar.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Gasmann with the teachings of Remigio and include the feature of robot directing a webbing of the seat belt away from the vehicle body prior to the second component being coupled to the vehicle body, thereby avoid entanglement and improve the assembly process (See at least Page 5 Para 1 “The object of the present invention is to achieve improvement in the mounting of the safety belt system (200) on a pillar (210) of a vehicle.”).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 15.
Although Gasmann teaches installing belt arrangement in a vehicle body through robots (See at
least Para [0001] “The invention relates to a method for installing a seat belt arrangement in a vehicle body according to claim 1 and to a vehicle body according to claim 7.”, Para [0017] “… The essence of the invention is that the assembly process step ZSB takes place in a workstation AS (FIG. 12 ) in a fully automated manner by means of robots 60.”), however, he does not explicitly spell the method of Claim 15, further comprising directing a webbing of the seat belt away from the vehicle body prior to the second component being coupled to the vehicle body.
Remigio teaches the method of Claim 15, further comprising directing a webbing of the seat belt
away from the vehicle body prior to the second component being coupled to the vehicle body (See at least Page 1 Para 10 “This configuration presents a drawback, as the seat belt system's webbing must run freely vertically along the pillar. The slack required to allow the webbing to move, along with the concavity toward the bottom of the vehicle interior present in the pillar, causes the webbing to tend to move away from the vehicle body and toward the inner face of an interior trim panel of the pillar.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Gasmann with the teachings of Remigio and include the feature of robot directing a webbing of the seat belt away from the vehicle body prior to the second component being coupled to the vehicle body, thereby avoid entanglement and improve the assembly process (See at least Page 5 Para 1 “The object of the present invention is to achieve improvement in the mounting of the safety belt system (200) on a pillar (210) of a vehicle.”).
Claim(s) 5, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gasmann et al. (DE102018215365B4) (Hereinafter Gasmann) in view of Sumiyashiki (US 20030116668 A1), Nishimoto et al. (US 5619784 A) (Hereinafter Nishimoto), and further in view of Alwan et al. (US 20250136210 A1) (Hereinafter Alwan).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Gasmann does not explicitly spell out the system of Claim 1, wherein the first portion
of the seat below is secured to the vehicle body after the first component is coupled to the vehicle body.
Alwan teaches the system of Claim 1, wherein the first portion of the seat below is secured to the vehicle body after the first component is coupled to the vehicle body (See at least Para [0006] “In one form, the present disclosure discloses a method of assembling a vehicle that includes performing a first operation on a front vehicle structure, securing a plurality of first vehicle components to the front vehicle structure while performing the first operation on the front vehicle structure, performing a second operation on a rear vehicle structure, securing a plurality of second vehicle components to the rear vehicle structure while performing the second operation on the rear vehicle structure, and coupling the front vehicle structure and the rear vehicle structure to each other to form an intermediate vehicle structure after the first vehicle components have been secured to the front vehicle structure and the second vehicle components have been secured to the rear vehicle structure.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Gasmann with the teachings of Alwan and include the feature of the first portion of the seat below being secured to the vehicle body after the first component is coupled to the vehicle body, thereby provide improvement in safety.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 7.
However, Gasmann does not explicitly spell out the system of Claim 7, wherein the first portion
of the seat belt is secured to the vehicle body after the first component is coupled to the vehicle body.
Alwan teaches the system of Claim 7, wherein the first portion of the seat belt is secured to the vehicle body after the first component is coupled to the vehicle body (See at least Para [0006] “In one form, the present disclosure discloses a method of assembling a vehicle that includes performing a first operation on a front vehicle structure, securing a plurality of first vehicle components to the front vehicle structure while performing the first operation on the front vehicle structure, performing a second operation on a rear vehicle structure, securing a plurality of second vehicle components to the rear vehicle structure while performing the second operation on the rear vehicle structure, and coupling the front vehicle structure and the rear vehicle structure to each other to form an intermediate vehicle structure after the first vehicle components have been secured to the front vehicle structure and the second vehicle components have been secured to the rear vehicle structure.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Gasmann with the teachings of Alwan and include the feature of the first portion of the seat below being secured to the vehicle body after the first component is coupled to the vehicle body, thereby provide improvement in safety.
Regarding Claim 19, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 15.
However, Gasmann does not explicitly spell out the method of Claim 15, further comprising
securing the first portion of the seat belt to the vehicle body after the first component is coupled to the vehicle body.
Alwan teaches the method of Claim 15, further comprising securing the first portion of the seat belt to the vehicle body after the first component is coupled to the vehicle body (See at least Para [0006] “In one form, the present disclosure discloses a method of assembling a vehicle that includes performing a first operation on a front vehicle structure, securing a plurality of first vehicle components to the front vehicle structure while performing the first operation on the front vehicle structure, performing a second operation on a rear vehicle structure, securing a plurality of second vehicle components to the rear vehicle structure while performing the second operation on the rear vehicle structure, and coupling the front vehicle structure and the rear vehicle structure to each other to form an intermediate vehicle structure after the first vehicle components have been secured to the front vehicle structure and the second vehicle components have been secured to the rear vehicle structure.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Gasmann with the teachings of Alwan and include the feature of the first portion of the seat below being secured to the vehicle body after the first component is coupled to the vehicle body, thereby provide improvement in safety.
Claim(s) 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gasmann et al. (DE102018215365B4) (Hereinafter Gasmann) in view of Sumiyashiki (US 20030116668 A1), Nishimoto et al. (US 5619784 A) (Hereinafter Nishimoto), and further in view of Gasmann et al. (CN112654553A) (Hereinafter Gasmann).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 7.
However, Gasmann (DE102018215365B4) does not explicitly spell out the system of Claim 7, wherein instructing the second robot to guide the first portion of the seat belt through the opening in the first component further includes guiding a buckle of the seat belt through the opening in the first component.
Gasmann (CN112654553A) teaches the system of Claim 7, wherein instructing the second robot
to guide the first portion of the seat belt through the opening in the first component further includes guiding a buckle of the seat belt through the opening in the first component (See at least Page 3 Para 14 “In FIG. 2 , a pillar liner 17 and a safety belt system 19 are fitted at the sheet metal hollow frame 12 indicated by the dotted line of the B-pillar 3 . The safety belt system 19 in FIG. 2 has a belt end buckle (Endbeschlag) 21 for the bottom side of the safety belt 25, a belt diverter (Gurtumlenker) 24 (FIG. 3b) as well as a belt retractor 23 and a height-adjustable diverter buckle ( Umlenkbeschlag) 23.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Gasmann (DE102018215365B4) with the teachings of Gasmann (CN112654553A) and include the feature of guiding the first portion of the seat belt through the opening in the first component includes guiding a buckle of the seat belt through the opening in the first component, thereby increase productivity and reduce cycle time (See at least Page 1 Para 10 “It is an object of the present invention to provide a vehicle body and a method for producing a vehicle body which, compared to the prior art, are achieved with reduced production times…”).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 15.
However, Gasmann (DE102018215365B4) does not explicitly spell out the method of Claim 15, wherein guiding the first portion of the seat belt through the opening in the first component further includes guiding a buckle of the seat belt through the opening in the first component.
Gasmann (CN112654553A) teaches the method of Claim 15, wherein guiding the first portion of
the seat belt through the opening in the first component further includes guiding a buckle of the seat belt through the opening in the first component (See at least Page 3 Para 14 “In FIG. 2 , a pillar liner 17 and a safety belt system 19 are fitted at the sheet metal hollow frame 12 indicated by the dotted line of the B-pillar 3 . The safety belt system 19 in FIG. 2 has a belt end buckle (Endbeschlag) 21 for the bottom side of the safety belt 25, a belt diverter (Gurtumlenker) 24 (FIG. 3b) as well as a belt retractor 23 and a height-adjustable diverter buckle ( Umlenkbeschlag) 23.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Gasmann (DE102018215365B4) with the teachings of Gasmann (CN112654553A) and include the feature of guiding the first portion of the seat belt through the opening in the first component includes guiding a buckle of the seat belt through the opening in the first component, thereby increase productivity and reduce cycle time (See at least Page 1 Para 10 “It is an object of the present invention to provide a vehicle body and a method for producing a vehicle body which, compared to the prior art, are achieved with reduced production times…”).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gasmann et al. (DE102018215365B4) (Hereinafter Gasmann) in view of Sumiyashiki (US 20030116668 A1), Nishimoto et al. (US 5619784 A) (Hereinafter Nishimoto), and further in view of Chami et al. (US 20220410995 A1) (Hereinafter Chami).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 7. Gasmann further teaches … such that the first component receives the first portion of the seat belt in the opening prior to the second robot guiding the first portion of the seat belt through the opening in the first component (See at least Fig 3a, Para [0018] “… According to FIG. 3 a, mounting openings 6, 8 are formed in the inner sheet metal part 9, in which openings the belt retractor 20 and the belt deflector 24 can be positioned in each case…”).
However, Gasmann does not explicitly spell out the system of Claim 7, wherein the controller
instructs the first robot to move the first component …
Chami teaches the system of Claim 7, wherein the controller instructs the first robot to move
the first component (See at least Claim 1 “1. A system for assembling a vehicle platform, the system comprising: a robotic assembly system including at least two robotic arms operable to locate components of the vehicle platform, … wherein the positional offset is employed to move the first component and the second component to the respective nominal positions; …”) …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Gasmann with the teachings of Chami and include the feature of controller instructing the first robot to move the first component, thereby increase productivity and reduce cycle time.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Gasmann teaches all the elements of claim 12. Gasmann further teaches the system of Claim 12, wherein the first portion of the seat belt is removably coupled to the vehicle body prior to the first component receiving the first portion of the seat belt in the opening of the first component (See at least Para [0014] “… FIG. 3 ashows a hollow support of the B-pillar with the pre-assembly unit still removed therefrom; …”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ghassemi-Armaki et al. (US 20240286232 A1) teaches a system for welding vehicle component assemblies includes a measurement sensor configured to scan first and second vehicle components, a welding apparatus configured to weld the first vehicle component and the second vehicle component together
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHEDA HOQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658