DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spader et al (U.S. Patent No. 10,521,865 B1) in view of Gore et al (U.S. Patent No. 10,223,740 B1) in view of Ogunbunmi (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0248674 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Spader discloses a computer-implemented method for representation of a home, the computer-implemented method comprising, via one or more processors, sensors, servers, and/or transceivers:
receiving light detection and ranging (LIDAR) data generated from a LIDAR camera (FIGS. 1 and 2; Col 13, lines 51-67 to Col 14, lines 1-5; FIGS. 3-6 illustrate various aspects of the disclosure using a first example of an object, in this case a structure 302, being analyzed using the mobile photogrammetry system 100 shown in FIG. 1. In particular, FIG. 3 depicts a user 300 using a structural analysis computing device 102 (as shown in FIGS. 1 and 2) to capture three-dimensional (3D) images of structure 302 for analysis; Col 24, lines 6-19, the present embodiments relate to 3D scanning ... The 3D scanners may also include 3D digitizers, lasers scanners, white light scanners, CT, LIDAR, etc. and other devices that capture the geometry of physical objects (such as rooms, homes, vehicles, personal belongings, people, pets, etc.) with numerous measurements);
measuring a plurality of dimensions of the home based upon processor analysis of the LIDAR data (Col 28, lines 17-53, 3D data (or 3D image data) of a room of a structure after an insurance-related event has occurred (e.g., event that causes fire, smoke, water, hail, wind, or other damage to the structure) that is acquired or generated by a 3D laser or light (or other) scanner (such as a 3D scanner associated with a mobile device (e.g., smart phone or tablet)); (2) determining or identifying, via the one or more processors, room (or home) features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques, or machine learning techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner; (3) determining or estimating, via the one or more processors, the type, dimensions, and/or manufacturer of the room features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner ...);
building a 3D model of the home based upon the measured plurality of dimensions (Col 12, lines 3-17, ... the structural analysis software platform may be configured to display (e.g., on display device 222 and/or a user interface thereon) one or more of the automatically extracted measurements on the displayed 3D image(s) for review; Col 14, lines 5-21, FIG. 4 depicts an exemplary user interface 402 of structural analysis software platform 210 (shown in FIG. 2) on a display device 222 (also shown in FIG. 2) of structural analysis computing device 102 ... 3D model 404 may displayed with one or more automatically extracted measurements 406 of room 304, such as wall length(s) and/or wall height(s) ...);
displaying a representation of the 3D model (Col 15, lines 64-67 to Col 16, lines 1-8, FIG. 6 depicts an exemplary 3D model (also referred to herein as a “3D image”) 602 of structure 302 (shown in FIG. 3). 3D model 602 may be displayed to user 300 on user interface 402).
However, Spader does not specifically disclose receiving, via wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links, a user selection of an object displayed in the displayed representation of the 3D model; and
displaying a warning indicating that it is not possible to bring the object into a room.
In additional, Gore discloses (Abstract, aspects of the disclosure relate to virtual reality systems (and/or augmented reality systems) that facilitate visualization of replacement and/or additional items for rebuilding a damaged room. The system may provide a virtual representation of a subject real world room. A user may select items, such as appliances and furniture, for placement in the virtual room and the system may update the virtual room to include a representation of the items ...) receiving, via wireless communication (FIG. 1; Col 5, lines 50-67 to Col 6, lines 1-17, ... the virtual reality visualization device 101 may include one or more transceivers, digital signal processors, and additional circuitry and software for communicating with wireless computing devices 141 (e.g., mobile phones, portable customer computing devices) via one or more network devices 135 (e.g., base transceiver stations) in the wireless telecommunications network 133), a user selection of an object displayed in the displayed representation of the 3D model (Col 14, lines 30-67 to Col 15, lines 1-36, FIG. 5 illustrates an example method of generating a virtual reality visualization for facilitating the selection and purchase of replacement objects as part of a claims process. The method illustrated in FIG. 5 may be performed by a special-purpose computing device, such as virtual reality visualization device 101. The methods may be performed by and or embodied in virtual reality visualization system 200, virtual reality realization device 210, user device 220 ... At step 505, the virtual reality visualization system (and/or device) may store room information regarding a real world room. As described above, such room information may comprise physical dimensions of the room and other information describing one or more features of the room (such as the location of outlets) ... At step 510, the system may generate a virtual room based on the room information associated with the real world room. The virtual room may be generated to be a virtual representation appearing similar to the real world room ...; Col 15, lines 37-45 to Col 16, lines 1-35, at step 515, the system may generate recommended items based on the user information ...; Col 16, lines 37-53, at step 520, the system may generate and display (or cause to be displayed) a user interface comprising the virtual room, any objects therein, the list of recommended objects, and the settlement amount. The user interface may be displayed on a display interface such as display interface 227 of FIG. 2. The user interface may present a three dimensional view of the virtual room and the system may receive user input from the user to navigate within and interact with the virtual room ... At step 525, the system may receive user input indicating a selection of items by the user. The user input may select items from the recommended list of objects or from another list of objects); and
displaying a warning indicating that it is not possible to bring the object into a room (Col 17, lines 1-5, the system may determine whether the replacement object would fit in the room at the selected location, and may notify the user if the object does not fit. It’s noted that Gore does not use “display the notification of the selected object does not fit in the room ...”. However, Gore describes that the user device interfaces with the virtual reality visualization device to generate a display of the user interface and the display of the user interface displays three-dimensional representation of the virtual room. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to understand that the notification of “notify the user if the object does not fit” will be displayed on the display of the user interface during the user selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the systems and methods for capturing and analyzing three-dimensional (3D) images taught by Spader incorporate the teachings of Gore, and applying the virtual reality room visualization system taught by Gore to generate a list of recommended objects through the user interface and allow the user to select objects for the 3D model of room; and provide the notification of “the selected object does not fit into the room” on the display of the user interface during the user selection. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Spader according to the relied-upon teachings of Gore to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
However, the combination of Spader in view of Gore does not disclose wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links.
In additional, Ogunbunmi discloses (Paragraph [0013], FIGS. 1A-1B are block diagrams illustrating example computing devices that may be used to generate and display a virtual tour for an asset configured to generate leads for loan applications for the asset ...) wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links (Paragraph [0038], FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating further details of one example of server computing device 100 shown in FIGS. 1A-1B ...; paragraph [0044], server computing device 100 may utilize communication units 206 to communicate with external devices via one or more networks, such as one or more wireless networks. Communication units 206 may comprise network interface cards, such as an Ethernet cards, optical transceivers, radio frequency transceivers ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the systems and methods for capturing and analyzing three-dimensional (3D) images taught by Spader in view of Gore incorporate the teachings of Ogunbunmi, and applying the system for generating and displaying a virtual tour via the user device taught by Ogunbunmi to implement the wireless communication over radio frequency links for supporting the data transmission. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Spader in view of Gore according to the relied-upon teachings of Ogunbunmi to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), and Spader discloses comprising, via the one or more processors, transceivers, sensors, and/or servers (FIG. 2; Col 13, lines 25-45, structural analysis computing device 102 may also include a communication interface 226, which is communicatively coupleable to a remote device such as another structural analysis computing device 102, 104 and/or insurance server 112 (shown in FIG. 1). Communication interface 1125 may include, for example, a wired or wireless network adapter or a wireless data transceiver for use with a mobile phone network (e.g., Global System for Mobile communications (GSM), 3G, 4G or Bluetooth) or other mobile data network (e.g., Worldwide Interoperability for Microwave Access (WIMAX))), receiving navigation input (FIG. 6; Col 15, lines 64-67 to Col 16, lines 1-8, 3D model 602 may be displayed to user 300 on user interface 402 such that user 300 may navigate between various rooms 604 of structure 302 to view 3D images ...) via wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links (See claim 1);
wherein visual navigation through the 3D model is based upon the received navigation input (Col 26, lines 44-63, the mobile smart device 3D Photogrammetry application may (i) prompt/accept initial claim identification information; (ii) prompt/accept room data (room name/room type/ceiling type/window type/window subtype/doorway type/doorway subtype/staircase); (iii) scan and display the interior structure of a room as a 3D image that may be navigated within; (iv) auto-populate all of the room's interior structural wall measurements in the 3D image (including: wall lengths, wall heights, missing wall lengths, and/or missing wall heights); (v) provide “point and click” ability to measure the following: cabinetry lengths; cabinetry heights; countertop dimensions; door opening dimensions; window opening dimensions; and/or built-in appliance dimensions; (vi) provide ability to record/save measurements and other annotations (such as room comments) within the 3D room image; (vii) provide ability to create an XML data file from the room data provided by the user and from within the 3D room image; and/or (viii) provide ability to export 3D room image(s) and XML data file(s) to an insurance provider estimatics platform software).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1).
However, Spader does not specifically disclose further comprising, via the one or more processors, transceivers, sensors, and/or servers:
displaying an arrow on the displayed representation of the 3D model; and
receiving navigation input via wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links, the navigation input comprising a user selection of the arrow;
wherein visual navigation through the 3D model is based upon the received navigation input.
In additional, Ogunbunmi discloses further comprising, via the one or more processors, transceivers, sensors, and/or servers (Paragraph [0038], FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating further details of one example of server computing device 100 shown in FIGS. 1A-1B ...; paragraph [0044] ... server computing device 100 utilizes communication units 206 to wirelessly communicate with an external device such as user computing device 102 ...; paragraph [0036], virtual tour unit 110 is configured to also receive one or more profile questions associated with the requested portions of the virtual tour. In one example, virtual tour unit 110 of user computing device 102 may receive the one or more profile questions directly from lead generation unit 112 of server computing device 100):
displaying an arrow (Paragraph [0027], GUI 104 may include one or more navigation keys 109, which, in response to user input ... Navigation keys 109 may include a plurality of keys corresponding to a direction of movement (e.g., “forward”, “backward”, “left”, “right”, etc.) ... “forward arrow”) on the displayed representation of the 3D model (Paragraph [0047], virtual tour content 224 may include graphical content that graphically depicts an asset in a variety of views ... While FIGS. 1A and 1B depict examples of a virtual tour comprised of graphics and still images, examples configured according to the present disclosure may include various types of graphical content, including videos, animated graphics, panoramas, 3D graphical content ...); and
receiving navigation input (Paragraph [0016], the techniques described in this disclosure generate leads for loan applications for purchase of an asset via a virtual tour of the asset. A customer may visit a website for the asset and activate a virtual tour that includes a sequence of graphical content representing different views of the asset. In the example of the asset being a property, the virtual tour provides the customer (e.g., a potential home buyer) with a guided or self-directed graphical simulation of a physical walkthrough of the property, and may include navigation tools for moving between different portions of the virtual tour, e.g., different views of rooms of the property) via wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links (Paragraph [0044], server computing device 100 may utilize communication units 206 to communicate with external devices via one or more networks, such as one or more wireless networks. Communication units 206 may comprise network interface cards, such as an Ethernet cards, optical transceivers, radio frequency transceivers ...), the navigation input comprising a user selection of the arrow (Paragraph [0027], virtual tour unit 110 may be configured to modify GUI 104 to output a different view 106 of the asset in response to user input. GUI 104 may include one or more user interface elements (e.g., buttons) that enable a user to navigate between various portions of the virtual tour associated with different views of the asset. In the illustrated example of FIG. 1A, GUI 104 may include one or more navigation keys 109, which, in response to user input ...);
wherein visual navigation through the 3D model is based upon the received navigation input (Paragraph [0027], virtual tour unit 110 may receive user input from a navigation key 109 (e.g., “forward”) and, in response, modify GUI 104 to display a new view that is positioned in the virtual tour in a forward direction relative to the current view 106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the systems and methods for capturing and analyzing three-dimensional (3D) images taught by Spader in view of Gore incorporate the teachings of Ogunbunmi, and applying the system for generating and displaying a virtual tour via the user device taught by Ogunbunmi to implement the navigation keys on the user interface and allow the user to navigate the different portion of the 3D model. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Spader in view of Gore according to the relied-upon teachings of Ogunbunmi to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), and Spader discloses further comprising, via the one or more processors, transceivers, sensors, and/or servers (FIG. 2; Col 13, lines 25-45, structural analysis computing device 102 may also include a communication interface 226, which is communicatively coupleable to a remote device such as another structural analysis computing device 102, 104 and/or insurance server 112 (shown in FIG. 1). Communication interface 1125 may include, for example, a wired or wireless network adapter or a wireless data transceiver for use with a mobile phone network (e.g., Global System for Mobile communications (GSM), 3G, 4G or Bluetooth) or other mobile data network (e.g., Worldwide Interoperability for Microwave Access (WIMAX))), measuring a plurality of dimensions of the object from the LIDAR data (Col 24, lines 6-19, the present embodiments relate to 3D scanning ... The 3D scanners may also include 3D digitizers, lasers scanners, white light scanners, CT, LIDAR, etc. and other devices that capture the geometry of physical objects (such as rooms, homes, vehicles, personal belongings, people, pets, etc.) with numerous measurements; Col 28, lines 17-53, 3D data (or 3D image data) of a room of a structure after an insurance-related event has occurred (e.g., event that causes fire, smoke, water, hail, wind, or other damage to the structure) that is acquired or generated by a 3D laser or light (or other) scanner (such as a 3D scanner associated with a mobile device (e.g., smart phone or tablet)); (2) determining or identifying, via the one or more processors, room (or home) features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques, or machine learning techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner; (3) determining or estimating, via the one or more processors, the type, dimensions, and/or manufacturer of the room features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), and Spader discloses wherein the object is an object of a plurality of objects (FIG. 2; Col 11, lines 43-52, if the object pictured in the 3D images is a structure or room, structural analysis software platform 210 may be configured to automatically extract one or more of wall length, wall height, doorway dimension, window dimension, missing wall height, and/or missing wall length), and the computer-implemented method further comprises, via the one or more processors, transceivers, sensors, and/or servers:
measuring dimensional data of each object of the plurality of objects based upon processor analysis of the received LIDAR data (Col 11, lines 43-52, if the object pictured in the 3D images is a structure or room, structural analysis software platform 210 may be configured to automatically extract one or more of wall length, wall height, doorway dimension, window dimension, missing wall height, and/or missing wall length; Col 14, lines 51-67 to Col 15, lines 1-13, FIG. 5 depicts one exemplary embodiment of structural analysis software platform 210 (shown in FIG. 2) extracting additional measurements for each object of the plurality of objects ...).
However, Spader does not specifically disclose presenting, to a user, a list of objects of the plurality of objects, the list including a price of each object of the plurality of objects; and
receiving the user selection includes receiving, from the user, the selection from the list of objects.
In additional, Gore discloses presenting, to a user, a list of objects of the plurality of objects, the list including a price of each object of the plurality of objects (Col 14, lines 30-67 to Col 15, lines 1-36, FIG. 5 illustrates an example method of generating a virtual reality visualization for facilitating the selection and purchase of replacement objects as part of a claims process. The method illustrated in FIG. 5 may be performed by a special-purpose computing device, such as virtual reality visualization device 101. The methods may be performed by and or embodied in virtual reality visualization system 200, virtual reality realization device 210, user device 220 ... At step 505, the virtual reality visualization system (and/or device) may store room information regarding a real world room. As described above, such room information may comprise physical dimensions of the room and other information describing one or more features of the room (such as the location of outlets) ... At step 510, the system may generate a virtual room based on the room information associated with the real world room. The virtual room may be generated to be a virtual representation appearing similar to the real world room ...; Col 15, lines 37-45 to Col 16, lines 1-35, at step 515, the system may generate recommended items based on the user information ...; Col 16, lines 37-53, at step 520, the system may generate and display (or cause to be displayed) a user interface comprising the virtual room, any objects therein, the list of recommended objects, and the settlement amount. The user interface may be displayed on a display interface such as display interface 227 of FIG. 2); and
receiving the user selection includes receiving, from the user, the selection from the list of objects (Col 16, lines 45-67, at step 525, the system may receive user input indicating a selection of items by the user. The user input may select items from the recommended list of objects or from another list of objects, such as a full catalog of available objects. The user input may comprise a mouse click, touch, or other appropriate form of user input that indicates that the user has selected a particular object. The selected object may be added to a list of selected objects included on the user interface ... At steps 530, the system may update the virtual room to include a representation of the selected object. For example, if the user selects a particular couch as a replacement object, the system may update the virtual room to include a virtual representation of the couch. The representation may be placed in the room at a user-specified location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the systems and methods for capturing and analyzing three-dimensional (3D) images taught by Spader incorporate the teachings of Gore, and applying the virtual reality room visualization system taught by Gore to generate a list of recommended objects through the user interface and allow the user to select objects for the 3D model of room. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Spader according to the relied-upon teachings of Gore to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), and Spader discloses further comprising, via the one or more processors, transceivers, sensors, and/or servers:
receiving camera data (FIGS. 1 and 2; Col, 9; lines 31-46, structural analysis computing device 102 may include an object sensor 110 ... Object sensor 110 may be configured to capture one or more three-dimensional (3D) images of a structure and/or of any other subject, such a room, object, and/or feature of the structure) including color data (Col 16, lines 20-65, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate a second exemplary use of mobile photogrammetry system 100 (shown in FIG. 1). More specifically, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate using mobile photogrammetry system 100 for object inventory, for example, in a “before-and-after” break-in scenario. FIG. 7 depicts a first 3D image 700 (e.g., a “before” 3D image 700) of a room 702 ... FIG. 8 depicts a second 3D image 800 (e.g., an “after” image 800) of room 702 after, for example, a break-in and theft ... structural analysis software platform 210 may be configured to use other 3D image analysis to automatically identify differences 804 between first and second 3D images 700 and 800, such as color comparison); wherein the 3D model is built further based upon the color data (Col 20, lines 5-37, FIG. 13 depicts a diagram 1300 of components of one or more exemplary structural analysis computing devices 1310 that may be used in mobile photogrammetry system 100 (shown in FIG. 1) ... structural analysis computing device 1310 may include an object sensor 1330 configured to capture 3D images 1322 of an object and to make 3D images accessible to other components of structural analysis computing device 1310. Structural analysis computing device 1310 may also include an extracting component 1340 configured to automatically determine or extract a first plurality of measurements of the object from 3D image 1322. Structural analysis computing device 1310 may further include a displaying component 1350 (e.g., display device 222, shown in FIG. 2) configured to display 3D image 1322 on a user interface (e.g., user interface 402, shown in FIG. 4) with the first plurality of measurements of the object pictured in 3D image 1322).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), and Spader discloses further comprising, via the one or more processors, transceivers, sensors, and/or servers, receiving camera data (FIGS. 1 and 2; Col, 9; lines 31-46, structural analysis computing device 102 may include an object sensor 110 ... Object sensor 110 may be configured to capture one or more three-dimensional (3D) images of a structure and/or of any other subject, such a room, object, and/or feature of the structure) including color data (Col 16, lines 20-65, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate a second exemplary use of mobile photogrammetry system 100 (shown in FIG. 1). More specifically, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate using mobile photogrammetry system 100 for object inventory, for example, in a “before-and-after” break-in scenario. FIG. 7 depicts a first 3D image 700 (e.g., a “before” 3D image 700) of a room 702 ... FIG. 8 depicts a second 3D image 800 (e.g., an “after” image 800) of room 702 after, for example, a break-in and theft ... structural analysis software platform 210 may be configured to use other 3D image analysis to automatically identify differences 804 between first and second 3D images 700 and 800, such as color comparison);
wherein the building of the 3D model further comprises:
deriving dimensions of a wall based upon processor analysis of the LIDAR data (Col 26, lines 44-64, scan and display the interior structure of a room as a 3D image that may be navigated within; (iv) auto-populate all of the room's interior structural wall measurements in the 3D image (including: wall lengths, wall heights, missing wall lengths, and/or missing wall heights); Col 28, lines 17-53, 3D data (or 3D image data) of a room of a structure after an insurance-related event has occurred (e.g., event that causes fire, smoke, water, hail, wind, or other damage to the structure) that is acquired or generated by a 3D laser or light (or other) scanner (such as a 3D scanner associated with a mobile device (e.g., smart phone or tablet)); (2) determining or identifying, via the one or more processors, room (or home) features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques, or machine learning techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner; (3) determining or estimating, via the one or more processors, the type, dimensions, and/or manufacturer of the room features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner ...); deriving a color of the wall based upon processor analysis of the camera data (Col 16, lines 20-65, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate a second exemplary use of mobile photogrammetry system 100 (shown in FIG. 1). More specifically, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate using mobile photogrammetry system 100 for object inventory, for example, in a “before-and-after” break-in scenario. FIG. 7 depicts a first 3D image 700 (e.g., a “before” 3D image 700) of a room 702 ... FIG. 8 depicts a second 3D image 800 (e.g., an “after” image 800) of room 702 after, for example, a break-in and theft ... structural analysis software platform 210 may be configured to use other 3D image analysis to automatically identify differences 804 between first and second 3D images 700 and 800, such as color comparison); and
filling, into the 3D model, the wall including the derived dimensions of the wall and the derived color of the wall (Col 30, lines 27-35, generating, via the one or more processors, a virtual depiction of the room based upon the 3D data and/or room dimensions determined from the 3D data, the virtual depiction of the room including (a) the room dimensions, and/or (b) type, dimensions, and/or manufacturer of the room features superimposed on the virtual depiction of the room, and (c) a graphical representative of the extent of damage to the home, room, and/or room features).
Regarding claim 8, Spader discloses a computer system configured for 3D representation of a home, the computer system comprising one or more processors, sensors, servers, and/or transceivers configured to:
receive light detection and ranging (LIDAR) data generated from a LIDAR camera (FIGS. 1 and 2; Col 13, lines 51-67 to Col 14, lines 1-5; FIGS. 3-6 illustrate various aspects of the disclosure using a first example of an object, in this case a structure 302, being analyzed using the mobile photogrammetry system 100 shown in FIG. 1. In particular, FIG. 3 depicts a user 300 using a structural analysis computing device 102 (as shown in FIGS. 1 and 2) to capture three-dimensional (3D) images of structure 302 for analysis; Col 24, lines 6-19, the present embodiments relate to 3D scanning ... The 3D scanners may also include 3D digitizers, lasers scanners, white light scanners, CT, LIDAR, etc. and other devices that capture the geometry of physical objects (such as rooms, homes, vehicles, personal belongings, people, pets, etc.) with numerous measurements);
measure plurality of dimensions of the home based upon processor analysis of the LIDAR data (Col 28, lines 17-53, 3D data (or 3D image data) of a room of a structure after an insurance-related event has occurred (e.g., event that causes fire, smoke, water, hail, wind, or other damage to the structure) that is acquired or generated by a 3D laser or light (or other) scanner (such as a 3D scanner associated with a mobile device (e.g., smart phone or tablet)); (2) determining or identifying, via the one or more processors, room (or home) features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques, or machine learning techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner; (3) determining or estimating, via the one or more processors, the type, dimensions, and/or manufacturer of the room features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner ...);
build a 3D model of the home based upon the measured plurality of dimensions (Col 12, lines 3-17, ... the structural analysis software platform may be configured to display (e.g., on display device 222 and/or a user interface thereon) one or more of the automatically extracted measurements on the displayed 3D image(s) for review; Col 14, lines 5-21, FIG. 4 depicts an exemplary user interface 402 of structural analysis software platform 210 (shown in FIG. 2) on a display device 222 (also shown in FIG. 2) of structural analysis computing device 102 ... 3D model 404 may displayed with one or more automatically extracted measurements 406 of room 304, such as wall length(s) and/or wall height(s) ...);
display a representation of the 3D model (Col 15, lines 64-67 to Col 16, lines 1-8, FIG. 6 depicts an exemplary 3D model (also referred to herein as a “3D image”) 602 of structure 302 (shown in FIG. 3). 3D model 602 may be displayed to user 300 on user interface 402).
However, Spader does not specifically disclose receive, via wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links, a user selection of an object displayed in the displayed representation of the 3D model; and
display a warning indicating that it is not possible to bring the object into a room.
In additional, Gore discloses (Abstract, aspects of the disclosure relate to virtual reality systems (and/or augmented reality systems) that facilitate visualization of replacement and/or additional items for rebuilding a damaged room. The system may provide a virtual representation of a subject real world room. A user may select items, such as appliances and furniture, for placement in the virtual room and the system may update the virtual room to include a representation of the items ...) receive, via wireless communication (FIG. 1; Col 5, lines 50-67 to Col 6, lines 1-17, ... the virtual reality visualization device 101 may include one or more transceivers, digital signal processors, and additional circuitry and software for communicating with wireless computing devices 141 (e.g., mobile phones, portable customer computing devices) via one or more network devices 135 (e.g., base transceiver stations) in the wireless telecommunications network 133), a user selection of an object displayed in the displayed representation of the 3D model (Col 14, lines 30-67 to Col 15, lines 1-36, FIG. 5 illustrates an example method of generating a virtual reality visualization for facilitating the selection and purchase of replacement objects as part of a claims process. The method illustrated in FIG. 5 may be performed by a special-purpose computing device, such as virtual reality visualization device 101. The methods may be performed by and or embodied in virtual reality visualization system 200, virtual reality realization device 210, user device 220 ... At step 505, the virtual reality visualization system (and/or device) may store room information regarding a real world room. As described above, such room information may comprise physical dimensions of the room and other information describing one or more features of the room (such as the location of outlets) ... At step 510, the system may generate a virtual room based on the room information associated with the real world room. The virtual room may be generated to be a virtual representation appearing similar to the real world room ...; Col 15, lines 37-45 to Col 16, lines 1-35, at step 515, the system may generate recommended items based on the user information ...; Col 16, lines 37-53, at step 520, the system may generate and display (or cause to be displayed) a user interface comprising the virtual room, any objects therein, the list of recommended objects, and the settlement amount. The user interface may be displayed on a display interface such as display interface 227 of FIG. 2. The user interface may present a three dimensional view of the virtual room and the system may receive user input from the user to navigate within and interact with the virtual room ... At step 525, the system may receive user input indicating a selection of items by the user. The user input may select items from the recommended list of objects or from another list of objects); and
display a warning indicating that it is not possible to bring the object into a room (Col 17, lines 1-5, the system may determine whether the replacement object would fit in the room at the selected location, and may notify the user if the object does not fit. It’s noted that Gore does not use “display the notification of the selected object does not fit in the room ...”. However, Gore describes that the user device interfaces with the virtual reality visualization device to generate a display of the user interface and the display of the user interface displays three-dimensional representation of the virtual room. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to understand that the notification of “notify the user if the object does not fit” will be displayed on the display of the user interface during the user selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the systems and methods for capturing and analyzing three-dimensional (3D) images taught by Spader incorporate the teachings of Gore, and applying the virtual reality room visualization system taught by Gore to generate a list of recommended objects through the user interface and allow the user to select objects for the 3D model of room; and provide the notification of “the selected object does not fit into the room” on the display of the user interface during the user selection. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Spader according to the relied-upon teachings of Gore to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
However, the combination of Spader in view of Gore does not disclose wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links.
In additional, Ogunbunmi discloses (Paragraph [0013], FIGS. 1A-1B are block diagrams illustrating example computing devices that may be used to generate and display a virtual tour for an asset configured to generate leads for loan applications for the asset ...) wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links (Paragraph [0038], FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating further details of one example of server computing device 100 shown in FIGS. 1A-1B ...; paragraph [0044], server computing device 100 may utilize communication units 206 to communicate with external devices via one or more networks, such as one or more wireless networks. Communication units 206 may comprise network interface cards, such as an Ethernet cards, optical transceivers, radio frequency transceivers ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the systems and methods for capturing and analyzing three-dimensional (3D) images taught by Spader in view of Gore incorporate the teachings of Ogunbunmi, and applying the system for generating and displaying a virtual tour via the user device taught by Ogunbunmi to implement the wireless communication over radio frequency links for supporting the data transmission. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Spader in view of Gore according to the relied-upon teachings of Ogunbunmi to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), and Spader discloses further configured to, via the one or more processors, sensors, servers, and/or transceivers (FIG. 2; Col 13, lines 25-45, structural analysis computing device 102 may also include a communication interface 226, which is communicatively coupleable to a remote device such as another structural analysis computing device 102, 104 and/or insurance server 112 (shown in FIG. 1). Communication interface 1125 may include, for example, a wired or wireless network adapter or a wireless data transceiver for use with a mobile phone network (e.g., Global System for Mobile communications (GSM), 3G, 4G or Bluetooth) or other mobile data network (e.g., Worldwide Interoperability for Microwave Access (WIMAX))) receive navigation input (FIG. 6; Col 15, lines 64-67 to Col 16, lines 1-8, 3D model 602 may be displayed to user 300 on user interface 402 such that user 300 may navigate between various rooms 604 of structure 302 to view 3D images ...) via wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links (see claim 8);
wherein visual navigation through the 3D model is based upon the received navigation input (Col 26, lines 44-63, the mobile smart device 3D Photogrammetry application may (i) prompt/accept initial claim identification information; (ii) prompt/accept room data (room name/room type/ceiling type/window type/window subtype/doorway type/doorway subtype/staircase); (iii) scan and display the interior structure of a room as a 3D image that may be navigated within; (iv) auto-populate all of the room's interior structural wall measurements in the 3D image (including: wall lengths, wall heights, missing wall lengths, and/or missing wall heights); (v) provide “point and click” ability to measure the following: cabinetry lengths; cabinetry heights; countertop dimensions; door opening dimensions; window opening dimensions; and/or built-in appliance dimensions; (vi) provide ability to record/save measurements and other annotations (such as room comments) within the 3D room image; (vii) provide ability to create an XML data file from the room data provided by the user and from within the 3D room image; and/or (viii) provide ability to export 3D room image(s) and XML data file(s) to an insurance provider estimatics platform software).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8).
However, Spader does not specifically disclose further configured to, via the one or more processors, sensors, servers, and/or transceivers:
display an arrow on the displayed representation of the 3D model;
receive navigation input via wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links, the navigation input comprising a user selection of the arrow; and
base visual navigation through the 3D model upon the received navigation input.
In additional, Ogunbunmi discloses further configured to, via the one or more processors, sensors, servers, and/or transceivers (Paragraph [0038], FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating further details of one example of server computing device 100 shown in FIGS. 1A-1B ...; paragraph [0044] ... server computing device 100 utilizes communication units 206 to wirelessly communicate with an external device such as user computing device 102 ...; paragraph [0036], virtual tour unit 110 is configured to also receive one or more profile questions associated with the requested portions of the virtual tour. In one example, virtual tour unit 110 of user computing device 102 may receive the one or more profile questions directly from lead generation unit 112 of server computing device 100):
display an arrow (Paragraph [0027], GUI 104 may include one or more navigation keys 109, which, in response to user input ... Navigation keys 109 may include a plurality of keys corresponding to a direction of movement (e.g., “forward”, “backward”, “left”, “right”, etc.) ... “forward arrow”) on the displayed representation of the 3D model (Paragraph [0047], virtual tour content 224 may include graphical content that graphically depicts an asset in a variety of views ... While FIGS. 1A and 1B depict examples of a virtual tour comprised of graphics and still images, examples configured according to the present disclosure may include various types of graphical content, including videos, animated graphics, panoramas, 3D graphical content ...);
receive navigation input (Paragraph [0016], the techniques described in this disclosure generate leads for loan applications for purchase of an asset via a virtual tour of the asset. A customer may visit a website for the asset and activate a virtual tour that includes a sequence of graphical content representing different views of the asset. In the example of the asset being a property, the virtual tour provides the customer (e.g., a potential home buyer) with a guided or self-directed graphical simulation of a physical walkthrough of the property, and may include navigation tools for moving between different portions of the virtual tour, e.g., different views of rooms of the property) via wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links (Paragraph [0044], server computing device 100 may utilize communication units 206 to communicate with external devices via one or more networks, such as one or more wireless networks. Communication units 206 may comprise network interface cards, such as an Ethernet cards, optical transceivers, radio frequency transceivers ...), the navigation input comprising a user selection of the arrow (Paragraph [0027], virtual tour unit 110 may be configured to modify GUI 104 to output a different view 106 of the asset in response to user input. GUI 104 may include one or more user interface elements (e.g., buttons) that enable a user to navigate between various portions of the virtual tour associated with different views of the asset. In the illustrated example of FIG. 1A, GUI 104 may include one or more navigation keys 109, which, in response to user input ...); and
base visual navigation through the 3D model upon the received navigation input (Paragraph [0027], virtual tour unit 110 may receive user input from a navigation key 109 (e.g., “forward”) and, in response, modify GUI 104 to display a new view that is positioned in the virtual tour in a forward direction relative to the current view 106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the systems and methods for capturing and analyzing three-dimensional (3D) images taught by Spader in view of Gore incorporate the teachings of Ogunbunmi, and applying the system for generating and displaying a virtual tour via the user device taught by Ogunbunmi to implement the navigation keys on the user interface and allow the user to navigate the different portion of the 3D model. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Spader in view of Gore according to the relied-upon teachings of Ogunbunmi to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), and Spader discloses further configured to, via the one or more processors, sensors, servers, and/or transceivers FIG. 2; Col 13, lines 25-45, structural analysis computing device 102 may also include a communication interface 226, which is communicatively coupleable to a remote device such as another structural analysis computing device 102, 104 and/or insurance server 112 (shown in FIG. 1). Communication interface 1125 may include, for example, a wired or wireless network adapter or a wireless data transceiver for use with a mobile phone network (e.g., Global System for Mobile communications (GSM), 3G, 4G or Bluetooth) or other mobile data network (e.g., Worldwide Interoperability for Microwave Access (WIMAX))) measure a plurality of dimensions of the object from the LIDAR data (Col 24, lines 6-19, the present embodiments relate to 3D scanning ... The 3D scanners may also include 3D digitizers, lasers scanners, white light scanners, CT, LIDAR, etc. and other devices that capture the geometry of physical objects (such as rooms, homes, vehicles, personal belongings, people, pets, etc.) with numerous measurements; Col 28, lines 17-53, 3D data (or 3D image data) of a room of a structure after an insurance-related event has occurred (e.g., event that causes fire, smoke, water, hail, wind, or other damage to the structure) that is acquired or generated by a 3D laser or light (or other) scanner (such as a 3D scanner associated with a mobile device (e.g., smart phone or tablet)); (2) determining or identifying, via the one or more processors, room (or home) features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques, or machine learning techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner; (3) determining or estimating, via the one or more processors, the type, dimensions, and/or manufacturer of the room features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), and Spader discloses further configured to, via the one or more processors, sensors, servers, and/or transceivers:
receive camera data (FIGS. 1 and 2; Col, 9; lines 31-46, structural analysis computing device 102 may include an object sensor 110 ... Object sensor 110 may be configured to capture one or more three-dimensional (3D) images of a structure and/or of any other subject, such a room, object, and/or feature of the structure) including color data (Col 16, lines 20-65, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate a second exemplary use of mobile photogrammetry system 100 (shown in FIG. 1). More specifically, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate using mobile photogrammetry system 100 for object inventory, for example, in a “before-and-after” break-in scenario. FIG. 7 depicts a first 3D image 700 (e.g., a “before” 3D image 700) of a room 702 ... FIG. 8 depicts a second 3D image 800 (e.g., an “after” image 800) of room 702 after, for example, a break-in and theft ... structural analysis software platform 210 may be configured to use other 3D image analysis to automatically identify differences 804 between first and second 3D images 700 and 800, such as color comparison); and
build the 3D model further based upon the color data (Col 20, lines 5-37, FIG. 13 depicts a diagram 1300 of components of one or more exemplary structural analysis computing devices 1310 that may be used in mobile photogrammetry system 100 (shown in FIG. 1) ... structural analysis computing device 1310 may include an object sensor 1330 configured to capture 3D images 1322 of an object and to make 3D images accessible to other components of structural analysis computing device 1310. Structural analysis computing device 1310 may also include an extracting component 1340 configured to automatically determine or extract a first plurality of measurements of the object from 3D image 1322. Structural analysis computing device 1310 may further include a displaying component 1350 (e.g., display device 222, shown in FIG. 2) configured to display 3D image 1322 on a user interface (e.g., user interface 402, shown in FIG. 4) with the first plurality of measurements of the object pictured in 3D image 1322).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), and Spader discloses further configured to, via the one or more processors, sensors, servers, and/or transceivers:
receive camera data (FIGS. 1 and 2; Col, 9; lines 31-46, structural analysis computing device 102 may include an object sensor 110 ... Object sensor 110 may be configured to capture one or more three-dimensional (3D) images of a structure and/or of any other subject, such a room, object, and/or feature of the structure) including color data (Col 16, lines 20-65, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate a second exemplary use of mobile photogrammetry system 100 (shown in FIG. 1). More specifically, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate using mobile photogrammetry system 100 for object inventory, for example, in a “before-and-after” break-in scenario. FIG. 7 depicts a first 3D image 700 (e.g., a “before” 3D image 700) of a room 702 ... FIG. 8 depicts a second 3D image 800 (e.g., an “after” image 800) of room 702 after, for example, a break-in and theft ... structural analysis software platform 210 may be configured to use other 3D image analysis to automatically identify differences 804 between first and second 3D images 700 and 800, such as color comparison); and
build the 3D model by:
deriving dimensions of a wall based upon processor analysis of the LIDAR data Col 26, lines 44-64, scan and display the interior structure of a room as a 3D image that may be navigated within; (iv) auto-populate all of the room's interior structural wall measurements in the 3D image (including: wall lengths, wall heights, missing wall lengths, and/or missing wall heights); Col 28, lines 17-53, 3D data (or 3D image data) of a room of a structure after an insurance-related event has occurred (e.g., event that causes fire, smoke, water, hail, wind, or other damage to the structure) that is acquired or generated by a 3D laser or light (or other) scanner (such as a 3D scanner associated with a mobile device (e.g., smart phone or tablet)); (2) determining or identifying, via the one or more processors, room (or home) features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques, or machine learning techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner; (3) determining or estimating, via the one or more processors, the type, dimensions, and/or manufacturer of the room features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner ...);
deriving a color of the wall based upon processor analysis of the camera data (Col 16, lines 20-65, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate a second exemplary use of mobile photogrammetry system 100 (shown in FIG. 1). More specifically, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate using mobile photogrammetry system 100 for object inventory, for example, in a “before-and-after” break-in scenario. FIG. 7 depicts a first 3D image 700 (e.g., a “before” 3D image 700) of a room 702 ... FIG. 8 depicts a second 3D image 800 (e.g., an “after” image 800) of room 702 after, for example, a break-in and theft ... structural analysis software platform 210 may be configured to use other 3D image analysis to automatically identify differences 804 between first and second 3D images 700 and 800, such as color comparison); and
filling, into the 3D model, the wall including the derived dimensions of the wall and the derived color of the wall (Col 30, lines 27-35, generating, via the one or more processors, a virtual depiction of the room based upon the 3D data and/or room dimensions determined from the 3D data, the virtual depiction of the room including (a) the room dimensions, and/or (b) type, dimensions, and/or manufacturer of the room features superimposed on the virtual depiction of the room, and (c) a graphical representative of the extent of damage to the home, room, and/or room features).
Regarding claim 14, Spader discloses a computer system configured for 3D representation of a home, comprising:
one or more processors (Col 10, lines 32-40, FIG. 2 depicts a schematic view of an exemplary structural analysis computing device 102, 104 (as shown in FIG. 1) used in mobile photogrammetry system 100 (also shown in FIG. 1). Structural analysis computing device 102, 104 (referred to herein as “structural analysis computing device 102” for simplicity) may include at least one processor 202 ...); and
a non-transitory program memory coupled to the one or more processors and storing executable instructions that when executed by the one or more processors (Col 10, lines 37-46, at least one processor 202 for executing instructions. In some embodiments, executable instructions may be stored in a memory area 220 (which may include and/or be similar to memory device 108, shown in FIG. 1). Processor 202 may include one or more processing units (e.g., in a multi-core configuration). Memory area 220 may be any device allowing information such as executable instructions and/or other data to be stored and retrieved. Memory area 220 may include one or more computer-readable media) cause the computer system to:
receive light detection and ranging (LIDAR) data generated from a LIDAR camera (Col 13, lines 51-67 to Col 14, lines 1-5; FIGS. 3-6 illustrate various aspects of the disclosure using a first example of an object, in this case a structure 302, being analyzed using the mobile photogrammetry system 100 shown in FIG. 1. In particular, FIG. 3 depicts a user 300 using a structural analysis computing device 102 (as shown in FIGS. 1 and 2) to capture three-dimensional (3D) images of structure 302 for analysis; Col 24, lines 6-19, the present embodiments relate to 3D scanning ... The 3D scanners may also include 3D digitizers, lasers scanners, white light scanners, CT, LIDAR, etc. and other devices that capture the geometry of physical objects (such as rooms, homes, vehicles, personal belongings, people, pets, etc.) with numerous measurements);
measure plurality of dimensions of the home based upon processor analysis of the LIDAR data (Col 28, lines 17-53, 3D data (or 3D image data) of a room of a structure after an insurance-related event has occurred (e.g., event that causes fire, smoke, water, hail, wind, or other damage to the structure) that is acquired or generated by a 3D laser or light (or other) scanner (such as a 3D scanner associated with a mobile device (e.g., smart phone or tablet)); (2) determining or identifying, via the one or more processors, room (or home) features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques, or machine learning techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner; (3) determining or estimating, via the one or more processors, the type, dimensions, and/or manufacturer of the room features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner ...);
build a 3D model of the home based upon the measured plurality of dimensions (Col 12, lines 3-17, ... the structural analysis software platform may be configured to display (e.g., on display device 222 and/or a user interface thereon) one or more of the automatically extracted measurements on the displayed 3D image(s) for review; Col 14, lines 5-21, FIG. 4 depicts an exemplary user interface 402 of structural analysis software platform 210 (shown in FIG. 2) on a display device 222 (also shown in FIG. 2) of structural analysis computing device 102 ... 3D model 404 may displayed with one or more automatically extracted measurements 406 of room 304, such as wall length(s) and/or wall height(s) ...);
display a representation of the 3D model (Col 15, lines 64-67 to Col 16, lines 1-8, FIG. 6 depicts an exemplary 3D model (also referred to herein as a “3D image”) 602 of structure 302 (shown in FIG. 3). 3D model 602 may be displayed to user 300 on user interface 402).
However, Spader does not specifically disclose receive, via wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links, a user selection of an object displayed in the displayed representation of the 3D model; and
display a warning indicating that it is not possible to bring the object into a room.
In additional, Gore discloses (Abstract, aspects of the disclosure relate to virtual reality systems (and/or augmented reality systems) that facilitate visualization of replacement and/or additional items for rebuilding a damaged room. The system may provide a virtual representation of a subject real world room. A user may select items, such as appliances and furniture, for placement in the virtual room and the system may update the virtual room to include a representation of the items ...) receive, via wireless communication (FIG. 1; Col 5, lines 50-67 to Col 6, lines 1-17, ... the virtual reality visualization device 101 may include one or more transceivers, digital signal processors, and additional circuitry and software for communicating with wireless computing devices 141 (e.g., mobile phones, portable customer computing devices) via one or more network devices 135 (e.g., base transceiver stations) in the wireless telecommunications network 133), a user selection of an object displayed in the displayed representation of the 3D model (Col 14, lines 30-67 to Col 15, lines 1-36, FIG. 5 illustrates an example method of generating a virtual reality visualization for facilitating the selection and purchase of replacement objects as part of a claims process. The method illustrated in FIG. 5 may be performed by a special-purpose computing device, such as virtual reality visualization device 101. The methods may be performed by and or embodied in virtual reality visualization system 200, virtual reality realization device 210, user device 220 ... At step 505, the virtual reality visualization system (and/or device) may store room information regarding a real world room. As described above, such room information may comprise physical dimensions of the room and other information describing one or more features of the room (such as the location of outlets) ... At step 510, the system may generate a virtual room based on the room information associated with the real world room. The virtual room may be generated to be a virtual representation appearing similar to the real world room ...; Col 15, lines 37-45 to Col 16, lines 1-35, at step 515, the system may generate recommended items based on the user information ...; Col 16, lines 37-53, at step 520, the system may generate and display (or cause to be displayed) a user interface comprising the virtual room, any objects therein, the list of recommended objects, and the settlement amount. The user interface may be displayed on a display interface such as display interface 227 of FIG. 2. The user interface may present a three dimensional view of the virtual room and the system may receive user input from the user to navigate within and interact with the virtual room ... At step 525, the system may receive user input indicating a selection of items by the user. The user input may select items from the recommended list of objects or from another list of objects); and
display a warning indicating that it is not possible to bring the object into a room (Col 17, lines 1-5, the system may determine whether the replacement object would fit in the room at the selected location, and may notify the user if the object does not fit. It’s noted that Gore does not use “display the notification of the selected object does not fit in the room ...”. However, Gore describes that the user device interfaces with the virtual reality visualization device to generate a display of the user interface and the display of the user interface displays three-dimensional representation of the virtual room. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to understand that the notification of “notify the user if the object does not fit” will be displayed on the display of the user interface during the user selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the systems and methods for capturing and analyzing three-dimensional (3D) images taught by Spader incorporate the teachings of Gore, and applying the virtual reality room visualization system taught by Gore to generate a list of recommended objects through the user interface and allow the user to select objects for the 3D model of room; and provide the notification of “the selected object does not fit into the room” on the display of the user interface during the user selection. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Spader according to the relied-upon teachings of Gore to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
However, the combination of Spader in view of Gore does not disclose wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links.
In additional, Ogunbunmi discloses (Paragraph [0013], FIGS. 1A-1B are block diagrams illustrating example computing devices that may be used to generate and display a virtual tour for an asset configured to generate leads for loan applications for the asset ...) wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links (Paragraph [0038], FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating further details of one example of server computing device 100 shown in FIGS. 1A-1B ...; paragraph [0044], server computing device 100 may utilize communication units 206 to communicate with external devices via one or more networks, such as one or more wireless networks. Communication units 206 may comprise network interface cards, such as an Ethernet cards, optical transceivers, radio frequency transceivers ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the systems and methods for capturing and analyzing three-dimensional (3D) images taught by Spader in view of Gore incorporate the teachings of Ogunbunmi, and applying the system for generating and displaying a virtual tour via the user device taught by Ogunbunmi to implement the wireless communication over radio frequency links for supporting the data transmission. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Spader in view of Gore according to the relied-upon teachings of Ogunbunmi to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), and Spader discloses wherein: the executable instructions further cause the computer system (FIG. 2; Col 13, lines 25-45, structural analysis computing device 102 may also include a communication interface 226, which is communicatively coupleable to a remote device such as another structural analysis computing device 102, 104 and/or insurance server 112 (shown in FIG. 1). Communication interface 1125 may include, for example, a wired or wireless network adapter or a wireless data transceiver for use with a mobile phone network (e.g., Global System for Mobile communications (GSM), 3G, 4G or Bluetooth) or other mobile data network (e.g., Worldwide Interoperability for Microwave Access (WIMAX))) to receive navigation input (FIG. 6; Col 15, lines 64-67 to Col 16, lines 1-8, 3D model 602 may be displayed to user 300 on user interface 402 such that user 300 may navigate between various rooms 604 of structure 302 to view 3D images ...) via wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links (see claim 14); and
visual navigation through the 3D model is based upon the received navigation input (Col 26, lines 44-63, the mobile smart device 3D Photogrammetry application may (i) prompt/accept initial claim identification information; (ii) prompt/accept room data (room name/room type/ceiling type/window type/window subtype/doorway type/doorway subtype/staircase); (iii) scan and display the interior structure of a room as a 3D image that may be navigated within; (iv) auto-populate all of the room's interior structural wall measurements in the 3D image (including: wall lengths, wall heights, missing wall lengths, and/or missing wall heights); (v) provide “point and click” ability to measure the following: cabinetry lengths; cabinetry heights; countertop dimensions; door opening dimensions; window opening dimensions; and/or built-in appliance dimensions; (vi) provide ability to record/save measurements and other annotations (such as room comments) within the 3D room image; (vii) provide ability to create an XML data file from the room data provided by the user and from within the 3D room image; and/or (viii) provide ability to export 3D room image(s) and XML data file(s) to an insurance provider estimatics platform software).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14).
However, Spader does not specifically disclose wherein the executable instructions further cause the computer system to:
display an arrow on the displayed representation of the 3D model;
receive navigation input via wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links, the navigation input comprising a user selection of the arrow; and
base visual navigation through the 3D model upon the received navigation input.
In additional, Ogunbunmi discloses wherein the executable instructions further cause the computer system (Paragraph [0038], FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating further details of one example of server computing device 100 shown in FIGS. 1A-1B ...; paragraph [0044] ... server computing device 100 utilizes communication units 206 to wirelessly communicate with an external device such as user computing device 102 ...; paragraph [0036], virtual tour unit 110 is configured to also receive one or more profile questions associated with the requested portions of the virtual tour. In one example, virtual tour unit 110 of user computing device 102 may receive the one or more profile questions directly from lead generation unit 112 of server computing device 100) to:
display an arrow (Paragraph [0027], GUI 104 may include one or more navigation keys 109, which, in response to user input ... Navigation keys 109 may include a plurality of keys corresponding to a direction of movement (e.g., “forward”, “backward”, “left”, “right”, etc.) ... “forward arrow”) on the displayed representation of the 3D model (Paragraph [0047], virtual tour content 224 may include graphical content that graphically depicts an asset in a variety of views ... While FIGS. 1A and 1B depict examples of a virtual tour comprised of graphics and still images, examples configured according to the present disclosure may include various types of graphical content, including videos, animated graphics, panoramas, 3D graphical content ...);
receive navigation input (Paragraph [0016], the techniques described in this disclosure generate leads for loan applications for purchase of an asset via a virtual tour of the asset. A customer may visit a website for the asset and activate a virtual tour that includes a sequence of graphical content representing different views of the asset. In the example of the asset being a property, the virtual tour provides the customer (e.g., a potential home buyer) with a guided or self-directed graphical simulation of a physical walkthrough of the property, and may include navigation tools for moving between different portions of the virtual tour, e.g., different views of rooms of the property) via wireless communication or data transmission over one or more radio frequency links (Paragraph [0044], server computing device 100 may utilize communication units 206 to communicate with external devices via one or more networks, such as one or more wireless networks. Communication units 206 may comprise network interface cards, such as an Ethernet cards, optical transceivers, radio frequency transceivers ...), the navigation input comprising a user selection of the arrow (Paragraph [0027], virtual tour unit 110 may be configured to modify GUI 104 to output a different view 106 of the asset in response to user input. GUI 104 may include one or more user interface elements (e.g., buttons) that enable a user to navigate between various portions of the virtual tour associated with different views of the asset. In the illustrated example of FIG. 1A, GUI 104 may include one or more navigation keys 109, which, in response to user input ...); and
base visual navigation through the 3D model upon the received navigation input (Paragraph [0027], virtual tour unit 110 may receive user input from a navigation key 109 (e.g., “forward”) and, in response, modify GUI 104 to display a new view that is positioned in the virtual tour in a forward direction relative to the current view 106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the systems and methods for capturing and analyzing three-dimensional (3D) images taught by Spader in view of Gore incorporate the teachings of Ogunbunmi, and applying the system for generating and displaying a virtual tour via the user device taught by Ogunbunmi to implement the navigation keys on the user interface and allow the user to navigate the different portion of the 3D model. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Spader in view of Gore according to the relied-upon teachings of Ogunbunmi to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), and Spader discloses wherein:
the executable instructions further cause the computer system (FIG. 2; Col 13, lines 25-45, structural analysis computing device 102 may also include a communication interface 226, which is communicatively coupleable to a remote device such as another structural analysis computing device 102, 104 and/or insurance server 112 (shown in FIG. 1). Communication interface 1125 may include, for example, a wired or wireless network adapter or a wireless data transceiver for use with a mobile phone network (e.g., Global System for Mobile communications (GSM), 3G, 4G or Bluetooth) or other mobile data network (e.g., Worldwide Interoperability for Microwave Access (WIMAX))) to measure a plurality of dimensions of the object from the LIDAR data . (Col 24, lines 6-19, the present embodiments relate to 3D scanning ... The 3D scanners may also include 3D digitizers, lasers scanners, white light scanners, CT, LIDAR, etc. and other devices that capture the geometry of physical objects (such as rooms, homes, vehicles, personal belongings, people, pets, etc.) with numerous measurements; Col 28, lines 17-53, 3D data (or 3D image data) of a room of a structure after an insurance-related event has occurred (e.g., event that causes fire, smoke, water, hail, wind, or other damage to the structure) that is acquired or generated by a 3D laser or light (or other) scanner (such as a 3D scanner associated with a mobile device (e.g., smart phone or tablet)); (2) determining or identifying, via the one or more processors, room (or home) features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques, or machine learning techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner; (3) determining or estimating, via the one or more processors, the type, dimensions, and/or manufacturer of the room features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner)
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), and Spader discloses wherein the object is an object of a plurality of objects (FIG. 2; Col 11, lines 43-52, if the object pictured in the 3D images is a structure or room, structural analysis software platform 210 may be configured to automatically extract one or more of wall length, wall height, doorway dimension, window dimension, missing wall height, and/or missing wall length), and the executable instructions further cause the computer system to:
measure dimensional data of each object of the plurality of objects based upon processor analysis of the received LIDAR data (Col 11, lines 43-52, if the object pictured in the 3D images is a structure or room, structural analysis software platform 210 may be configured to automatically extract one or more of wall length, wall height, doorway dimension, window dimension, missing wall height, and/or missing wall length; Col 14, lines 51-67 to Col 15, lines 1-13, FIG. 5 depicts one exemplary embodiment of structural analysis software platform 210 (shown in FIG. 2) extracting additional measurements for each object of the plurality of objects ...).
However, Spader does not specifically disclose present, to a user, a list of objects of the plurality of objects, the list including a price of each object of the plurality of objects; and
receive the user selection by receiving, from the user, the selection from the list of objects.
In additional, Gore discloses present, to a user, a list of objects of the plurality of objects, the list including a price of each object of the plurality of objects (Col 14, lines 30-67 to Col 15, lines 1-36, FIG. 5 illustrates an example method of generating a virtual reality visualization for facilitating the selection and purchase of replacement objects as part of a claims process. The method illustrated in FIG. 5 may be performed by a special-purpose computing device, such as virtual reality visualization device 101. The methods may be performed by and or embodied in virtual reality visualization system 200, virtual reality realization device 210, user device 220 ... At step 505, the virtual reality visualization system (and/or device) may store room information regarding a real world room. As described above, such room information may comprise physical dimensions of the room and other information describing one or more features of the room (such as the location of outlets) ... At step 510, the system may generate a virtual room based on the room information associated with the real world room. The virtual room may be generated to be a virtual representation appearing similar to the real world room ...; Col 15, lines 37-45 to Col 16, lines 1-35, at step 515, the system may generate recommended items based on the user information ...; Col 16, lines 37-53, at step 520, the system may generate and display (or cause to be displayed) a user interface comprising the virtual room, any objects therein, the list of recommended objects, and the settlement amount. The user interface may be displayed on a display interface such as display interface 227 of FIG. 2); and
receive the user selection by receiving, from the user, the selection from the list of objects (Col 16, lines 45-67, at step 525, the system may receive user input indicating a selection of items by the user. The user input may select items from the recommended list of objects or from another list of objects, such as a full catalog of available objects. The user input may comprise a mouse click, touch, or other appropriate form of user input that indicates that the user has selected a particular object. The selected object may be added to a list of selected objects included on the user interface ... At steps 530, the system may update the virtual room to include a representation of the selected object. For example, if the user selects a particular couch as a replacement object, the system may update the virtual room to include a virtual representation of the couch. The representation may be placed in the room at a user-specified location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the systems and methods for capturing and analyzing three-dimensional (3D) images taught by Spader incorporate the teachings of Gore, and applying the virtual reality room visualization system taught by Gore to generate a list of recommended objects through the user interface and allow the user to select objects for the 3D model of room. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Spader according to the relied-upon teachings of Gore to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), and Spader discloses wherein the executable instructions further cause the computer system to:
receive camera data (FIGS. 1 and 2; Col, 9; lines 31-46, structural analysis computing device 102 may include an object sensor 110 ... Object sensor 110 may be configured to capture one or more three-dimensional (3D) images of a structure and/or of any other subject, such a room, object, and/or feature of the structure) including color data (Col 16, lines 20-65, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate a second exemplary use of mobile photogrammetry system 100 (shown in FIG. 1). More specifically, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate using mobile photogrammetry system 100 for object inventory, for example, in a “before-and-after” break-in scenario. FIG. 7 depicts a first 3D image 700 (e.g., a “before” 3D image 700) of a room 702 ... FIG. 8 depicts a second 3D image 800 (e.g., an “after” image 800) of room 702 after, for example, a break-in and theft ... structural analysis software platform 210 may be configured to use other 3D image analysis to automatically identify differences 804 between first and second 3D images 700 and 800, such as color comparison); and
build the 3D model further based upon the color data (Col 20, lines 5-37, FIG. 13 depicts a diagram 1300 of components of one or more exemplary structural analysis computing devices 1310 that may be used in mobile photogrammetry system 100 (shown in FIG. 1) ... structural analysis computing device 1310 may include an object sensor 1330 configured to capture 3D images 1322 of an object and to make 3D images accessible to other components of structural analysis computing device 1310. Structural analysis computing device 1310 may also include an extracting component 1340 configured to automatically determine or extract a first plurality of measurements of the object from 3D image 1322. Structural analysis computing device 1310 may further include a displaying component 1350 (e.g., display device 222, shown in FIG. 2) configured to display 3D image 1322 on a user interface (e.g., user interface 402, shown in FIG. 4) with the first plurality of measurements of the object pictured in 3D image 1322).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Spader in view of Gore in view of Ogunbunmi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 14), and Spader discloses wherein the executable instructions further cause the computer system to:
receive camera data (FIGS. 1 and 2; Col, 9; lines 31-46, structural analysis computing device 102 may include an object sensor 110 ... Object sensor 110 may be configured to capture one or more three-dimensional (3D) images of a structure and/or of any other subject, such a room, object, and/or feature of the structure) including color data (Col 16, lines 20-65, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate a second exemplary use of mobile photogrammetry system 100 (shown in FIG. 1). More specifically, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate using mobile photogrammetry system 100 for object inventory, for example, in a “before-and-after” break-in scenario. FIG. 7 depicts a first 3D image 700 (e.g., a “before” 3D image 700) of a room 702 ... FIG. 8 depicts a second 3D image 800 (e.g., an “after” image 800) of room 702 after, for example, a break-in and theft ... structural analysis software platform 210 may be configured to use other 3D image analysis to automatically identify differences 804 between first and second 3D images 700 and 800, such as color comparison); and
build the 3D model by:
deriving dimensions of a wall based upon processor analysis of the LIDAR data (Col 26, lines 44-64, scan and display the interior structure of a room as a 3D image that may be navigated within; (iv) auto-populate all of the room's interior structural wall measurements in the 3D image (including: wall lengths, wall heights, missing wall lengths, and/or missing wall heights); Col 28, lines 17-53, 3D data (or 3D image data) of a room of a structure after an insurance-related event has occurred (e.g., event that causes fire, smoke, water, hail, wind, or other damage to the structure) that is acquired or generated by a 3D laser or light (or other) scanner (such as a 3D scanner associated with a mobile device (e.g., smart phone or tablet)); (2) determining or identifying, via the one or more processors, room (or home) features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques, or machine learning techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner; (3) determining or estimating, via the one or more processors, the type, dimensions, and/or manufacturer of the room features based upon computer analysis (such as via object recognition and/or optical character recognition techniques) of the 3D data from the 3D scanner ...);
deriving a color of the wall based upon processor analysis of the camera data (Col 16, lines 20-65, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate a second exemplary use of mobile photogrammetry system 100 (shown in FIG. 1). More specifically, FIGS. 7 and 8 illustrate using mobile photogrammetry system 100 for object inventory, for example, in a “before-and-after” break-in scenario. FIG. 7 depicts a first 3D image 700 (e.g., a “before” 3D image 700) of a room 702 ... FIG. 8 depicts a second 3D image 800 (e.g., an “after” image 800) of room 702 after, for example, a break-in and theft ... structural analysis software platform 210 may be configured to use other 3D image analysis to automatically identify differences 804 between first and second 3D images 700 and 800, such as color comparison); and
filling, into the 3D model, the wall including the derived dimensions of the wall and the derived color of the wall (Col 30, lines 27-35, generating, via the one or more processors, a virtual depiction of the room based upon the 3D data and/or room dimensions determined from the 3D data, the virtual depiction of the room including (a) the room dimensions, and/or (b) type, dimensions, and/or manufacturer of the room features superimposed on the virtual depiction of the room, and (c) a graphical representative of the extent of damage to the home, room, and/or room features).
Conclusion
/XILIN GUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616