DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-4, 10-14, and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ristock et al. (US 2009/0172194 A1; hereafter RISTOCK) in view of Douglas et al. (US 6,223, 287 B1; hereafter DOUGLAS).
With respect to claim 1, RISTOCK discloses a method (Abstract; Title; 200 of FIG. 2; 300 of FIG. 3) comprising:
subscribing (paragraphs [0034] and [0037], see the open stat request), by an event proxy server (109, 110 in FIG. 1; 209, 210 in FIG. 2; 309, 310 in FIG. 3), to events of an event router (115 and 116 in FIG. 1; 203 and 204 in FIG. 2); and
managing, by the event proxy server (109, 110 in FIG. 1; 209, 210 in FIG. 2; 309, 310 in FIG. 3), subscriptions to the events (608, 610, 611, 612, 613, 614, 615 in FIG. 6) by remote clients (105, 112, Agents in FIG. 1) by pushing events (608, 610, 611, 612, 613, 614, 615 in FIG. 6) to subscribed remote clients (105, 112, Agents in FIG. 1)
according to event filters (609 in FIG. 6; paragraphs [0034] and [0035], see the estimated waiting time; paragraphs [0084] and [0085], see the “time to answer”) that selectively permit pushing of the events (608, 610, 611, 612, 613, 614, 615 in FIG. 6) to the remote clients (105, 112, Agents in FIG. 1) according to an event attribute (609 in FIG. 6; paragraphs [0034] and [0035], see the estimated waiting time; paragraphs [0084] and [0085], see the “time to answer”).
RISTOCK does not disclose through an open hypertext transport protocol (HTTP) connection.
DOUGLAS discloses through (Messages Block 6o in FIG. 5, see the message exchanged for event information) an open hypertext transport protocol (HTTP) connection (43, Secured https channel of FIG. 4; column 4, lines 20-35).
DOUGLAS teaches the benefit of securely exchanging sensitive information by using a secure http protocol connection (column 1, lines 20-30). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the secure https connection as taught by DOUGLAS to transmit the event information of RISTOCK and produce an expected and successful system and metho for telephone event management.
With respect to claim 2, RISTOCK further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
contacting, by the event proxy server (109, 110 in FIG. 1; 209, 210 in FIG. 2; 309, 310 in FIG. 3), the event router (115 and 116 in FIG. 1; 203 and 204 in FIG. 2) of a plurality of event routers based (115 and 116 in FIG. 1; 203 and 204 in FIG. 2) on subscribed attributes (609 in FIG. 6; paragraphs [0034] and [0035], see the estimated waiting time; paragraphs [0084] and [0085], see the “time to answer”).
With respect to claim 3, RISTOCK further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the subscribing to the events of the event router comprises:
determining a message broker (paragraphs [0034] and [0037], see the open stat request; and the choice of which stat or CTI server to monitor) of a plurality of message brokers of the event router (115 and 116 in FIG. 1; 203 and 204 in FIG. 2); and subscribing to the determined message broker.
With respect to claim 4, RISTOCK further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining to subscribe (paragraphs [0034] and [0037], see the open stat request) to the event proxy server (109, 110 in FIG. 1; 209, 210 in FIG. 2; 309, 310 in FIG. 3) from a plurality of event proxy servers (109, 110 in FIG. 1; 209, 210 in FIG. 2; 309, 310 in FIG. 3) based on subscription attributes (609 in FIG. 6; paragraphs [0034] and [0035], see the estimated waiting time; paragraphs [0084] and [0085], see the “time to answer”).
With respect to claim 10, RISTOCK further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
initiating creation of a connection to a client to push an event (608, 610, 611, 612, 613, 614, 615 in FIG. 6) to the client (105, 112, Agents in FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 11, RISTOCK discloses a system (Abstract; Title; 200 of FIG. 2; 300 of FIG. 3) comprising:
an event proxy server (109, 110 in FIG. 1; 209, 210 in FIG. 2; 309, 310 in FIG. 3) configured to perform operations comprising:
subscribing (paragraphs [0034] and [0037], see the open stat request) to events (608, 610, 611, 612, 613, 614, 615 in FIG. 6) of an event router (115 and 116 in FIG. 1; 203 and 204 in FIG. 2); and
managing subscriptions to the events (608, 610, 611, 612, 613, 614, 615 in FIG. 6) by remote clients (105, 112, Agents in FIG. 1) by pushing events (608, 610, 611, 612, 613, 614, 615 in FIG. 6) to subscribed remote clients (105, 112, Agents in FIG. 1)
according to event filters (609 in FIG. 6; paragraphs [0034] and [0035], see the estimated waiting time; paragraphs [0084] and [0085], see the “time to answer”) that selectively permit pushing of the events (608, 610, 611, 612, 613, 614, 615 in FIG. 6) to the remote clients (105, 112, Agents in FIG. 1) according to an event attribute (609 in FIG. 6; paragraphs [0034] and [0035], see the estimated waiting time; paragraphs [0084] and [0085], see the “time to answer”).
RISTOCK does not disclose through an open hypertext transport protocol (HTTP) connection.
DOUGLAS discloses through (Messages Block 6o in FIG. 5, see the message exchanged for event information) an open hypertext transport protocol (HTTP) connection (43, Secured https channel of FIG. 4; column 4, lines 20-35).
DOUGLAS teaches the benefit of securely exchanging sensitive information by using a secure http protocol connection (column 1, lines 20-30). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the secure https connection as taught by DOUGLAS to transmit the event information of RISTOCK and produce an expected and successful system and metho for telephone event management.
With respect to claim 12, RISTOCK further discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise:
contacting, by the event proxy server (109, 110 in FIG. 1; 209, 210 in FIG. 2; 309, 310 in FIG. 3), the event router (115 and 116 in FIG. 1; 203 and 204 in FIG. 2) of a plurality of event routers (115 and 116 in FIG. 1; 203 and 204 in FIG. 2) based on subscribed attributes (609 in FIG. 6; paragraphs [0034] and [0035], see the estimated waiting time; paragraphs [0084] and [0085], see the “time to answer”).
With respect to claim 13, RISTOCK further discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the subscribing to the events of the event router comprises:
determining a message broker (paragraphs [0034] and [0037], see the open stat request) of a plurality of message brokers of the event router (115 and 116 in FIG. 1; 203 and 204 in FIG. 2); and subscribing (paragraphs [0034] and [0037], see the open stat request) to the determined message broker (609 in FIG. 6; paragraphs [0034] and [0035], see the estimated waiting time; paragraphs [0084] and [0085], see the “time to answer”).
With respect to claim 14, RISTOCK further discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining to subscribe (paragraphs [0034] and [0037], see the open stat request) to the event proxy server (109, 110 in FIG. 1; 209, 210 in FIG. 2; 309, 310 in FIG. 3) from a plurality of event proxy servers (109, 110 in FIG. 1; 209, 210 in FIG. 2; 309, 310 in FIG. 3) based on subscription attributes (609 in FIG. 6; paragraphs [0034] and [0035], see the estimated waiting time; paragraphs [0084] and [0085], see the “time to answer”).
With respect to claim 20, RISTOCK further discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise:
initiating creation of a connection to a client to push an event (608, 610, 611, 612, 613, 614, 615 in FIG. 6) to the client (105, 112, Agents in FIG. 1).
Claim 5-9 and 15-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over RISTOCK in view of DOUGLAS and further in view of Allavarpu et al. (US 7,010,586 B1; hereafter ALLAVARPU).
With respect to claim 5, RISTOCK does not disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
operating a security policy engine.
ALLAVARPU discloses operating a security policy engine (1208a, 1208b, 1208c of FIG. 13; column 24, liens 5-10, column 24, lines 50-59).
ALLAVARPU teaches the benefits of object-level access control and client authentication by using client-side authentication libraries in event management (column 6, lines 30-37). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the client-side authentication libraries as taught by ALLAVARPU with the method and system of RISTOCK to produce an expected and successful event processing technique.
With respect to claim 6, RISTOCK further discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the event proxy server (109, 110 in FIG. 1; 209, 210 in FIG. 2; 309, 310 in FIG. 3) is a dedicated server for handling event filtering (609 in FIG. 6; paragraphs [0034] and [0035], see the estimated waiting time; paragraphs [0084] and [0085], see the “time to answer”).
RISTOCK does not disclose operating the security policy engine.
ALLAVARPU discloses operating the security policy engine (1208a, 1208b, 1208c of FIG. 13; column 24, liens 5-10, column 24, lines 50-59).
ALLAVARPU teaches the benefits of object-level access control and client authentication by using client-side authentication libraries in event management (column 6, lines 30-37). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the client-side authentication libraries as taught by ALLAVARPU with the method and system of RISTOCK to produce an expected and successful event processing technique.
With respect to claim 7, RISTOCK does not disclose the method of claim 5, wherein the security policy engine includes a signed uniform resource locator (URL).
ALLAVARPU discloses wherein the security policy engine includes a signed uniform resource locator (URL) (1208a, 1208b, 1208c of FIG. 13; column 24, liens 5-10, column 24, lines 50-59).
ALLAVARPU teaches the benefits of object-level access control and client authentication by using client-side authentication libraries in event management (column 6, lines 30-37). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the client-side authentication libraries as taught by ALLAVARPU with the method and system of RISTOCK to produce an expected and successful event processing technique.
With respect to claim 8, RISTOCK further discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the signed URL comprises a subscription message (paragraphs [0034] and [0037], see the open stat request).
RISTOCK does not disclose and a verification token.
ALLAVARPU discloses and a verification token (1208a, 1208b, 1208c of FIG. 13; column 24, liens 5-10, column 24, lines 50-59).
ALLAVARPU teaches the benefits of object-level access control and client authentication by using client-side authentication libraries in event management (column 6, lines 30-37). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the client-side authentication libraries as taught by ALLAVARPU with the method and system of RISTOCK to produce an expected and successful event processing technique.
With respect to claim 9, RISTOCK further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a subscription request (paragraphs [0034] and [0037], see the open stat request) from a subscriber, the subscription request being for events (608, 610, 611, 612, 613, 614, 615 in FIG. 6) .
RISTOCK does not disclose of an account; and
determining if the subscriber is authorized to view events for the account.
ALLAVARPU discloses of an account (1208a, 1208b, 1208c of FIG. 13; column 24, liens 5-10, column 24, lines 50-59); and
determining if the subscriber is authorized to view events for the account (1208a, 1208b, 1208c of FIG. 13; column 24, liens 5-10, column 24, lines 50-59).
ALLAVARPU teaches the benefits of object-level access control and client authentication by using client-side authentication libraries in event management (column 6, lines 30-37). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the client-side authentication libraries as taught by ALLAVARPU with the method and system of RISTOCK to produce an expected and successful event processing technique.
With respect to claim 15, RISTOCK does not disclose the system of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise:
operating a security policy engine.
ALLAVARPU discloses operating a security policy engine (1208a, 1208b, 1208c of FIG. 13; column 24, liens 5-10, column 24, lines 50-59).
ALLAVARPU teaches the benefits of object-level access control and client authentication by using client-side authentication libraries in event management (column 6, lines 30-37). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the client-side authentication libraries as taught by ALLAVARPU with the method and system of RISTOCK to produce an expected and successful event processing technique.
With respect to claim 16, RISTOCK further discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the event proxy server is a dedicated server for handling event filtering (609 in FIG. 6; paragraphs [0034] and [0035], see the estimated waiting time; paragraphs [0084] and [0085], see the “time to answer”).
RISTOCK does not disclose and operating the security policy engine.
ALLAVARPU discloses and operating the security policy engine (1208a, 1208b, 1208c of FIG. 13; column 24, liens 5-10, column 24, lines 50-59).
ALLAVARPU teaches the benefits of object-level access control and client authentication by using client-side authentication libraries in event management (column 6, lines 30-37). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the client-side authentication libraries as taught by ALLAVARPU with the method and system of RISTOCK to produce an expected and successful event processing technique.
With respect to claim 17, RISTOCK does not disclose the system of claim 15, wherein the security policy engine includes a signed uniform resource locator (URL).
ALLAVARPU discloses wherein the security policy engine includes a signed uniform resource locator (URL) (1208a, 1208b, 1208c of FIG. 13; column 24, liens 5-10, column 24, lines 50-59).
ALLAVARPU teaches the benefits of object-level access control and client authentication by using client-side authentication libraries in event management (column 6, lines 30-37). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the client-side authentication libraries as taught by ALLAVARPU with the method and system of RISTOCK to produce an expected and successful event processing technique.
With respect to claim 18, RISTOCK further discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the signed URL comprises a subscription message (paragraphs [0034] and [0037], see the open stat request).
RISTOCK does not disclose and a verification token.
ALLAVARPU discloses and a verification token (1208a, 1208b, 1208c of FIG. 13; column 24, liens 5-10, column 24, lines 50-59).
ALLAVARPU teaches the benefits of object-level access control and client authentication by using client-side authentication libraries in event management (column 6, lines 30-37). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the client-side authentication libraries as taught by ALLAVARPU with the method and system of RISTOCK to produce an expected and successful event processing technique.
With respect to claim 19, RISTOCK further discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving a subscription request (paragraphs [0034] and [0037], see the open stat request) from a subscriber, the subscription request being for events (608, 610, 611, 612, 613, 614, 615 in FIG. 6) .
RISTOCK does not disclose of an account; and
determining if the subscriber is authorized to view events for the account.
ALLAVARPU discloses of an account (1208a, 1208b, 1208c of FIG. 13; column 24, liens 5-10, column 24, lines 50-59); and
determining if the subscriber is authorized to view events for the account (1208a, 1208b, 1208c of FIG. 13; column 24, liens 5-10, column 24, lines 50-59).
ALLAVARPU teaches the benefits of object-level access control and client authentication by using client-side authentication libraries in event management (column 6, lines 30-37). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the client-side authentication libraries as taught by ALLAVARPU with the method and system of RISTOCK to produce an expected and successful event processing technique.
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 September 29, 2026