DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a control device in claims 1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the number of the gear ratios that are switchable by the transmission" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being dependent on rejected independent claim 1 and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimine et al US 2022/0041064 A1 (hence Nishimine) in view of Satyanarayana et al US 2023/0250875 A1 (hence Satyanarayana).
In re claim 1, Nishimine discloses a vehicle configured to be able to select a traveling mode between an MT mode in which an electric motor is controlled with torque characteristics like an MT vehicle having a manual transmission and an internal combustion engine, and an EV mode in which the electric motor is controlled with normal torque characteristics (Abstract) and teaches the following:
A battery electric vehicle (Fig.1, #10, and Paragraph 0036 “an electric vehicle 10”) including an electric motor as a driving source (Fig.1, #2, and Paragraph 0036 “an electric motor 2 as a power source”), the battery electric vehicle comprising:
a transmission having a plurality of switchable gear ratios (Paragraph 0090 “a stepped or continuously variable automatic transmission”);
a pseudo shifter configured to select shift positions of the gear ratios that are switchable by the transmission (Fig.1, #26, and Paragraph 0041 “a pseudo-gearshift 26”);
and a control device configured to control the electric motor (Paragraph 0051 “The control signal calculation unit 520 processes the signals from these sensors and calculates motor torque which the electric motor 2 is made to output”) and the transmission (Paragraph 0090 “the automatic transmission may be controlled so as to output the motor torque calculated by MT vehicle model”), wherein the control device is configured to determine a combination of motor torque of the electric motor and the gear ratio of the transmission in such a manner that a relationship among an accelerator operation amount (Paragraph 0051 “The control signal calculation unit 520 receives signals from the wheel speed sensor 30, the accelerator position sensor 32”), a vehicle speed (Paragraph 0037 “The wheel speed sensor 30 is also used as a vehicle speed sensor for detecting the vehicle speed of the electric vehicle 10”), and drive wheel torque is switched according to the shift position selected by the pseudo shifter (Paragraphs 0051 “the shift position sensor 36”, and Paragraphs 0053-0055, and Fig.6, and Paragraph 0062)
However, Nishimine discloses that the pseudo-gearshift has positions corresponding to first speed through six speed (Paragraph 0041) doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
a larger number of shift positions than the number of the gear ratios that are switchable by the transmission
Nevertheless, Satyanarayana discloses a two-speed transmission system for an electric vehicle (Abstract) and teaches the following:
a larger number of shift positions than the number of the gear ratios that are switchable by the transmission (Paragraph 0033 “two-speed transmission system”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Nishimine reference to include a two-speed transmission system, as taught by Satyanarayana, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure that the electric motor operates in highest efficient zones for a greater portion in a selected drive cycle (Satyanarayana, Paragraph 0083). By implementing a two-speed transmission system, the pseudo-gearshift having positions corresponding to first speed through six speed will have a larger number of shift positions than the number of the gear ratios that are switchable by the transmission.
In re claim 2, Nishimine teaches the following:
wherein: the control device has a map for each of required values of the drive wheel torque and each of the gear ratios of the transmission, the map defining, for each of the shift positions of the pseudo shifter, a relationship between a motor speed of the electric motor and the motor torque (Fig.4, #550, Fig.5, and Paragraph 0056); and the control device is configured to determine the motor torque based on the shift position selected by the pseudo shifter according to the map corresponding to the gear ratio at which the transmission is to be operated and the required value of the drive wheel torque (Paragraph 0057)
In re claim 3, Nishimine teaches the following:
wherein: one or more of the shift positions selectable by the pseudo shifter are associated with each of the gear ratios of the transmission; and the map for each of the gear ratios defines the relationship between the motor speed and the motor torque in the one or more shift positions associated with the gear ratio (Paragraph 0062)
In re claim 5, Nishimine teaches the following:
wherein the pseudo shifter includes either or both of an absolute instruction shifter whose shift positions are associated with predetermined physical positions and configured to select the physical position with a shift operation member, and a relative instruction shifter in which an increase or decrease in an instruction value of the shift position is associated with a relative operation of the shift operation member (Fig.1, #26, and Paragraph 0041 “a pseudo-gearshift 26”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Amano JP 2024028601 A discloses a vehicle has a rotating electric machine for supplying electric power from an inverter (16), and for outputting torque to-be transmitted to a wheel and a shift device that selects a mode by a driver from multiple modes in which torque characteristic to rotating speed of the rotating electric machine is defined stepwise, where the torque characteristic is an electric vehicle (10) is arbitrarily set by the driver.
Palermo et al US 2025/0087201 A1 discloses a road vehicle provided with a reproduction device for the realization of a sound associable with an electric motor and a related method.
/RAMI KHATIB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669