DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is made FINAL. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and addressed below; claims 5, 9, 11, 14, and 18 have been amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/2/2026 was filed before the mailing date of the present Office Action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In response to Applicant’s amendments, Examiner withdraws the previous claim objections; withdraws the previous § 103 rejection of claims 5-7; maintains the previous § 103 rejection of claims 1-4 and 8-20; and adds the below § 103 rejection of claims 5-7, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 6/2/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 5 under Herman in view of Halmos have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0024069 to Herman, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant's remaining arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant argues that neither Herman nor Halmos teaches identifying an idling engine from spectral vibration data. Remarks at p. 7. Applicant supports their position by stating that “Halmos merely mentions ‘idling vehicle’ as one example among several possible targets that might be detected,” and that “[t]his passing reference does not teach using vibration signatures to identify that a vehicle is idling…[and] Halmos does not disclose analyzing spectral vibration dat to determine that detected vibrations correspond to an idling engine.” Remarks at pp. 7-8 (emphasis in original). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Herman teaches detecting the operational status of a vehicle using spectral vibrational frequencies (¶ [0013] describing receiving transient velocity data of a vehicle and determine an operating condition of the second vehicle based on the transient velocity data; ¶ [0115] describing that the measurements were performed by a laser Doppler vibrometer; ¶ [0116] describing that after fast Fourier transform conversion into the frequency domain demonstrate that at specific vibration frequencies the radial velocity may be used to detect a change in the vehicle's state). While Herman does not expressly teaches determining whether the vehicle is idling, it does teach that the spectral vibrational frequencies are used to determine whether the vehicle is stationary or moving (¶ [0080]), and whether the vehicle’s engine is on or off (Figures 8 and 9; ¶ [0115]). Halmos teaches identifying that a vehicle is idling based on its detected vibrational frequency (¶ [0034] “Target 110 may generally be an idling vehicle, or any other device or object which presence may be detected based on detecting its vibration”). In other words, Halmos is not simply detecting that a vehicle happens to be idling, as Applicant alleges, but, rather, Halmos targets and identifies idling vehicles based on their unique vibrational frequency. Therefore, the combination of Herman and Halmos teaches identifying an idling engine from spectral vibration data, and Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Second, Applicant argues that neither Herman nor Halmos teaches a specific causal relationship where the vehicle identifies that spectral vibrations correspond to an idling engine, and responsive to that identification, the vehicle executes a driving maneuver to change its driving path. Remarks at p. 9. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Herman expressly teaches identifying the operational status of a surrounding vehicle and executing a driving maneuver based on the operational status of the surrounding vehicle (¶ [0080] describing that the computer may further determine, based on the collected data, whether the object vehicle is stationary or moving; ¶ [0112] describing that the computer may adjust the travel path of the host vehicle travelling behind the object vehicle to slow down or move to a lane farther from object vehicle; ¶ [0029] describing predicting a trajectory of the second vehicle based on the determined operating condition of the second vehicle, and adjusting a travel path of the first vehicle based on the predicted trajectory of the second vehicle). Halmos teaches that you can identifying an idling vehicle based on vibrational frequency. Therefore, together Herman and Halmos teaches a specific causal relationship where the vehicle identifies that spectral vibrations correspond to an idling engine, and responsive to that identification, the vehicle executes a driving maneuver to change its driving path. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Third, Applicant argues that Halmos is non-analogous art. In response to applicant's argument that Halmos is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Halmos is in the same field of endeavor and reasonably pertinent to the problem.
Halmos is using vibrational frequency to determine operational status of objects, which is exactly what the claimed invention is doing. Furthermore, the present invention’s autonomous vehicle control is secondary to the vibrational frequency detection, analysis, and determination. The different between the present invention and Halmos is how the determinations based on the vibrational frequencies are used. In other words, the field of endeavor isn’t vehicle controls alone, rather it is operational status detection of objects using vibrational frequencies, which Halmos is in the field of and is also reasonably pertinent to the present invention’s claims directed to operational status detection of objects using vibrational frequencies. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
In conclusion, Applicant arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, and 20 are unpersuasive and the rejection in view of Herman and Halmos is maintained. Applicant did not submit arguments with respect to dependent claims 2-4, 8-10, and 12-19. Therefore, the rejection of dependent claims 2-4, 8-10, and 12-19 are maintained for the same reasons as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0229657 to Herman et al. (hereafter, “Herman I”; previously of record) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0329013 to Halmos (previously of record).
Regarding claim 1, Herman I discloses:
A system comprising:
a sensing system (FIG. 1; Ref. Nos. 112, 112f, 112t) of an autonomous vehicle (AV) (FIG. 1; Ref. No. 105), the sensing system to:
determine a first spectral representation of vibrations of a vehicle, located in a driving environment of the AV, at a first time (¶ [0013] describing receiving transient velocity data of a vehicle and determine an operating condition of the second vehicle based on the transient velocity data; ¶ [0115] describing that the measurements were performed by a laser Doppler vibrometer; ¶ [0116] describing that after fast Fourier transform conversion into the frequency domain demonstrate that at specific vibration frequencies the radial velocity may be used to detect a change in the vehicle's state); and
a control system of the AV communicatively coupled to the sensing system (FIG. 1; Ref. No. 110), the control system to:
execute, responsive to at least identifying that the first spectral representation of vibrations corresponds to vibrations of an engine of the vehicle, a driving maneuver to change a driving path of the AV in the driving environment (¶ [0080] describing that the computer may further determine, based on the collected data, whether the object vehicle is stationary or moving; ¶ [0112] describing that the computer may adjust the travel path of the host vehicle travelling behind the object vehicle to slow down or move to a lane farther from object vehicle; ¶ [0029] describing predicting a trajectory of the second vehicle based on the determined operating condition of the second vehicle, and adjusting a travel path of the first vehicle based on the predicted trajectory of the second vehicle).
While Herman I does disclose the use of vibrational frequency to determine whether the vehicle is stationary or moving, Herman I does not expressly state that the vehicle is idling when determined to be stationary.
Halmos, in the same field of endeavor, teaches use of unique vibrational frequencies of a vehicle to determine whether the vehicle is idling (¶ [0030] describing vibration signatures and unique vibrational frequencies of target vehicles that are determined to be idling).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Herman I’s invention to incorporate determining that the vehicle is idling when determined to be stationary, as taught by Halmos, with a reasonable expectation of success in detecting small movements of targets, such as an idling vehicle (Halmos at ¶ [0030]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Herman I and Halmos renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Herman I further discloses:
wherein the sensing system of the AV comprises:
a photodetector to generate a signal representative of a frequency modulation of a light beam reflected from the vehicle, and wherein the first spectral representation of vibrations is determined based on the signal (¶ [0044] describing use of light detection and ranging (lidar) sensor(s), i.e. photodetector, to detect the vibrations; ¶ [0046] describing the sensors for detecting transient velocity such as frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) lidar, frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) radar, and/or time-of-flight (TOF) cameras; ¶ [0115] describing that the measurements were performed by a laser Doppler vibrometer).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Herman I and Halmos renders obvious all the limitations of claim 2. Herman I further discloses:
wherein the first spectral representation of vibrations is determined using a zero-crossing rate of the signal (Figure 9 depicting the zero-crossing transient velocity signal used to determine the first spectral representation of vibrations).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Herman I and Halmos renders obvious all the limitations of claim 3. Halmos further discloses:
wherein to determine the zero-crossing rate of the signal, the sensing system is to:
subtract a constant offset from the signal (Figure 3C depicting the offset 336 in determining the zero-crossing rate of the signal; ¶ [0060] describing the subtraction of the offset from the signal).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Herman I’s invention to incorporate subtracting an offset from the signal in determining the zero-crossing rate of the signal, as taught by Halmos, with a reasonable expectation of success in improving the achieved sensitivity achieved by spectrograms by producing a much more sensitive measurement of the vibration spectrum (Halmos at ¶ [0059]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Herman I and Halmos renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Herman I further discloses:
wherein the control system is to execute the driving maneuver in further view of a distance from the AV to the vehicle (¶ [0111] describing executing driving maneuvers based on a predetermined distance from the object vehicle).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Herman I and Halmos renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Herman I further discloses:
wherein the first spectral representation of vibrations comprises a first frequency peak associated with revolutions per minute (RPM) of the idling engine (Figure 8 depicting multiple vibration frequency peaks associated with an RPM of an idling engine; see also ¶ [0115] describing the measured vibrational frequencies represented in Figure 8).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Herman I and Halmos renders obvious all the limitations of claim 9. Herman I further discloses:
wherein the first spectral representation of vibrations comprises one or more additional frequency peaks associated with multiples of the RPM of the idling engine (Figure 8 depicting multiple vibration frequency peaks associated with an RPM of an idling engine; see also ¶ [0115] describing the measured vibrational frequencies represented in Figure 8).
Regarding claim 11, Herman I discloses:
A method comprising:
determining, using a sensing system of an autonomous vehicle (AV), a first spectral representation of vibrations of a vehicle, located in a driving environment of the AV, at a first time (¶ [0013] describing using sensor to receive transient velocity data of a vehicle and determine an operating condition of the second vehicle based on the transient velocity data; ¶ [0115] describing that the measurements were performed by a laser Doppler vibrometer; ¶ [0116] describing that after fast Fourier transform conversion into the frequency domain demonstrate that at specific vibration frequencies the radial velocity may be used to detect a change in the vehicle's state); and
executing, responsive to at least identifying that the first spectral representation of vibrations corresponds to vibrations of an engine of the vehicle, a driving maneuver to change a driving path of the AV in the driving environment (¶ [0080] describing that the computer may further determine, based on the collected data, whether the object vehicle is stationary or moving; ¶ [0112] describing that the computer may adjust the travel path of the host vehicle travelling behind the object vehicle to slow down or move to a lane farther from object vehicle; ¶ [0029] describing predicting a trajectory of the second vehicle based on the determined operating condition of the second vehicle, and adjusting a travel path of the first vehicle based on the predicted trajectory of the second vehicle).
While Herman I does disclose the use of vibrational frequency to determine whether the vehicle is stationary or moving, Herman I does not expressly state that the vehicle is idling when determined to be stationary.
Halmos, in the same field of endeavor, teaches use of unique vibrational frequencies of a vehicle to determine whether the vehicle is idling (¶ [0030] describing vibration signatures and unique vibrational frequencies of target vehicles that are determined to be idling).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Herman I’s invention to incorporate determining that the vehicle is idling when determined to be stationary, as taught by Halmos, with a reasonable expectation of success in detecting small movements of targets, such as an idling vehicle (Halmos at ¶ [0030]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Herman I and Halmos renders obvious all the limitations of claim 11. Herman I further discloses:
wherein determining the first spectral representation of vibrations comprises:
generating, using a photodetector, a signal representative of a frequency modulation of a light beam reflected from the vehicle, and determining the first spectral representation of vibrations based on the signal (¶ [0044] describing use of light detection and ranging (lidar) sensor(s), i.e. photodetector, to detect the vibrations; ¶ [0046] describing the sensors for detecting transient velocity such as frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) lidar, frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) radar, and/or time-of-flight (TOF) cameras; ¶ [0115] describing that the measurements were performed by a laser Doppler vibrometer).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Herman I and Halmos renders obvious all the limitations of claim 12. Herman I further discloses:
wherein determining the first spectral representation of vibrations comprises:
determining a zero-crossing rate of the signal (Figure 9 depicting the zero-crossing transient velocity signal used to determine the first spectral representation of vibrations).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Herman I and Halmos renders obvious all the limitations of claim 11. Herman I further discloses:
further comprising:
determining a second spectral representation of vibrations of the vehicle at a second time that is later than the first time (¶ [0096] describing collecting more than one spectral representation of vibrations at different predetermined time periods, which includes at least a second time later than a first); and
identifying that the second spectral representation of vibrations corresponds to a higher engine revolutions per minute (RPM) than the first spectral representation of vibrations (¶ [0067] Table 1 depicting a higher RPM for a later detected signal; see also ¶ [0062] the sensors detect a change in the engine speed or RPMs).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Herman I and Halmos renders obvious all the limitations of claim 14. Herman I further discloses:
wherein executing the driving maneuver comprises:
causing, responsive to identifying that the first spectral representation of vibrations corresponds to the vibrations of the idling engine, the AV to perform a first modification of a driving path of the AV comprising at least one of:
decelerating the AV at a first rate, or
moving the AV laterally across a roadway (¶ [0112] describing that the computer may adjust the travel path of the host vehicle travelling behind the object vehicle to slow down or move to a lane farther from object vehicle based on the determination of the vibration frequencies representing an idle engine); and
causing, responsive to identifying that the second spectral representation of vibrations corresponds to a higher engine RPM than the first spectral representation of vibrations, the AV to perform a second modification of the driving path of the AV (¶¶ [0110] – [0112] describing adjusting the travel path of the vehicle based on the determined operating conditions of the target vehicle based on the detected vibrations, which includes a second detected vibration being higher RPMs than a previous detected vibration. The vibrational detections are real-time updates to the travel path of the host vehicle and would include increasing speed, decreasing speed, changing lanes, etc., based on the different operating conditions depicted in Table 2. Specifically, Table 2 shows that one of the operating conditions is “Engine speed increased,” which would necessarily require a previously detected vibrational RPM less than the RPM detected to determine that the engine speed had increase from the previous detection, and based on that operating condition the vehicle would perform a different maneuver than the previous maneuver).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Herman I and Halmos renders obvious all the limitations of claim 15.
Neither Herman I nor Halmos expressly disclose wherein the second modification of the driving path of the AV comprises decelerating the AV at a second rate that is greater than the first rate.
However, Herman I does discloses braking as an adjustment to the travel path of the vehicle based on the RPMs of the target vehicle (¶¶ [0110] – [0112] describing adjusting the travel path of the vehicle based on the determined operating conditions of the target vehicle based on the detected vibrations, which includes a second detected vibration being higher RPMs than a previous detected vibration. The vibrational detections are real-time updates to the travel path of the host vehicle and would include increasing speed, decreasing speed, changing lanes, etc., based on the different operating conditions depicted in Table 2. Specifically, Table 2 shows that one of the operating conditions is “Engine speed increased,” which would necessarily require a previously detected vibrational RPM less than the RPM detected to determine that the engine speed had increase from the previous detection, and based on that operating condition the vehicle would perform a different maneuver than the previous maneuver. That maneuver includes braking, or deceleration of the vehicle based on the detected vibrational frequencies (¶ [0052] describing slowing down or stopping the vehicle in response to the detected vibration of the target vehicle); NOTE: The first rate of deceleration in claim 6 is recited in the alternative and, therefore, the recited second rate of claim 7 is satisfied by disclosure of a single rate because the first rate is not required).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Herman I’s invention to incorporate a vehicle path adjustment of braking at a second rate based on the teachings of Herman I with a reasonable expectation of success adjusting in real-time the travel path of the host vehicle is response to the changing operating conditions of the nearby target vehicle (Herman I at ¶¶ [0110] – [0112]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Herman I and Halmos renders obvious all the limitations of claim 11. Herman I further discloses:
wherein executing the driving maneuver is in further view of a distance from the AV to the vehicle (¶ [0111] describing executing driving maneuvers based on a predetermined distance from the object vehicle).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Herman I and Halmos renders obvious all the limitations of claim 11. Herman I further discloses:
wherein the first spectral representation of vibrations comprises a first frequency peak associated with revolutions per minute (RPM) of the idling engine (Figure 8 depicting multiple vibration frequency peaks associated with an RPM of an idling engine; see also ¶ [0115] describing the measured vibrational frequencies represented in Figure 8).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Herman I and Halmos renders obvious all the limitations of claim 18. Herman I further discloses:
wherein the first spectral representation of vibrations comprises one or more additional frequency peaks associated with multiples of the RPM of the idling engine (Figure 8 depicting multiple vibration frequency peaks associated with an RPM of an idling engine; see also ¶ [0115] describing the measured vibrational frequencies represented in Figure 8).
Regarding claim 20, Herman I discloses:
An autonomous vehicle (AV) comprising:
a sensing system to:
determine a spectral representation of vibrations of a stationary vehicle, located in a driving environment of the AV, at a first time (¶ [0013] describing receiving transient velocity data of a vehicle and determine an operating condition of the second vehicle based on the transient velocity data; ¶ [0115] describing that the measurements were performed by a laser Doppler vibrometer; ¶ [0116] describing that after fast Fourier transform conversion into the frequency domain demonstrate that at specific vibration frequencies the radial velocity may be used to detect a change in the vehicle's state); and
a control system (Figure 1, Ref. No. 110) communicatively coupled to the sensing system, the control system to:
execute, responsive to at least identifying that the spectral representation of vibrations corresponds to vibrations of an idling engine of the stationary vehicle, a driving maneuver to change a driving path of the autonomous vehicle in the driving environment (¶ [0080] describing that the computer may further determine, based on the collected data, whether the object vehicle is stationary or moving; ¶ [0112] describing that the computer may adjust the travel path of the host vehicle travelling behind the object vehicle to slow down or move to a lane farther from object vehicle; ¶ [0029] describing predicting a trajectory of the second vehicle based on the determined operating condition of the second vehicle, and adjusting a travel path of the first vehicle based on the predicted trajectory of the second vehicle).
While Herman I does disclose the use of vibrational frequency to determine whether the vehicle is stationary or moving, Herman I does not expressly state that the vehicle is idling when determined to be stationary.
Halmos, in the same field of endeavor, teaches use of unique vibrational frequencies of a vehicle to determine whether the vehicle is idling (¶ [0030] describing vibration signatures and unique vibrational frequencies of target vehicles that are determined to be idling).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Herman I’s invention to incorporate determining that the vehicle is idling when determined to be stationary, as taught by Halmos, with a reasonable expectation of success in detecting small movements of targets, such as an idling vehicle (Halmos at ¶ [0030]).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herman I and Halmos, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0024069 to Herman et al. (hereafter, “Herman II”; newly of record).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Herman I and Halmos renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1. Herman I further discloses:
wherein the sensing system is further to:
determine a second spectral representation of vibrations of the vehicle at a second time that is later than the first time (¶ [0096] describing collecting more than one spectral representation of vibrations at different predetermined time periods, which includes at least a second time later than a first); and
identify that the second spectral representation of vibrations corresponds to a higher engine revolutions per minute (RPM) than the first spectral representation of vibrations (¶ [0067] Table 1 depicting a higher RPM for a later detected signal; see also ¶ [0062] the sensors detect a change in the engine speed or RPMs).
Neither Herman I nor Halmos expressly disclose wherein the driving maneuver is responsive to a prediction, based at least on a change from the first spectral representation of vibrations to the second spectral representation of vibrations, that the vehicle starts motion from a stationary position.
Herman II, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the driving maneuver is responsive to a prediction, based at least on a change from the first spectral representation of vibrations to the second spectral representation of vibrations, that the vehicle starts motion from a stationary position (¶¶ [0036] – [0038] describing predicting an operating condition of an idling vehicle and performing a driving maneuver based on a difference in vibrational frequencies indicating that the stationary vehicle is beginning to move; see also ¶ [0001] describing the concern with idling vehicle that begin to move into traffic).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Herman I’s invention to incorporate predicting that an idling vehicle is beginning to move based on the vibrational frequencies, as taught by Herman II, with a reasonable expectation of success in predicting the trajectory of a second vehicle in order to adjust a travel path of the first vehicle to avoid a potential collision (Herman II at ¶ [0036]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Herman I, Halmos, and Herman II renders obvious all the limitations of claim 5. Herman I further discloses:
wherein to execute the driving maneuver, the control system is to:
responsive to identifying that the first spectral representation of vibrations corresponds to the vibrations of the idling engine, cause the AV to perform a first modification of the driving path of the AV comprising at least one of:
decelerating the AV at a first rate, or
moving the AV laterally across a roadway (¶ [0112] describing that the computer may adjust the travel path of the host vehicle travelling behind the object vehicle to slow down or move to a lane farther from object vehicle based on the determination of the vibration frequencies representing an idle engine); and
responsive to identifying that the second spectral representation of vibrations corresponds to a higher engine RPM than the first spectral representation of vibrations, cause the AV to perform a second modification of the driving path of the AV (¶¶ [0110] – [0112] describing adjusting the travel path of the vehicle based on the determined operating conditions of the target vehicle based on the detected vibrations, which includes a second detected vibration being higher RPMs than a previous detected vibration. The vibrational detections are real-time updates to the travel path of the host vehicle and would include increasing speed, decreasing speed, changing lanes, etc., based on the different operating conditions depicted in Table 2. Specifically, Table 2 shows that one of the operating conditions is “Engine speed increased,” which would necessarily require a previously detected vibrational RPM less than the RPM detected to determine that the engine speed had increase from the previous detection, and based on that operating condition the vehicle would perform a different maneuver than the previous maneuver).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Herman I, Halmos, and Herman II renders obvious all the limitations of claim 6.
Herman I, Halmos, nor Herman II expressly disclose wherein the second modification of the driving path of the AV comprises decelerating the AV at a second rate that is greater than the first rate.
However, Herman I does discloses braking as an adjustment to the travel path of the vehicle based on the RPMs of the target vehicle (¶¶ [0110] – [0112] describing adjusting the travel path of the vehicle based on the determined operating conditions of the target vehicle based on the detected vibrations, which includes a second detected vibration being higher RPMs than a previous detected vibration. The vibrational detections are real-time updates to the travel path of the host vehicle and would include increasing speed, decreasing speed, changing lanes, etc., based on the different operating conditions depicted in Table 2. Specifically, Table 2 shows that one of the operating conditions is “Engine speed increased,” which would necessarily require a previously detected vibrational RPM less than the RPM detected to determine that the engine speed had increase from the previous detection, and based on that operating condition the vehicle would perform a different maneuver than the previous maneuver. That maneuver includes braking, or deceleration of the vehicle based on the detected vibrational frequencies (¶ [0052] describing slowing down or stopping the vehicle in response to the detected vibration of the target vehicle); NOTE: The first rate of deceleration in claim 6 is recited in the alternative and, therefore, the recited second rate of claim 7 is satisfied by disclosure of a single rate because the first rate is not required).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Herman I’s invention to incorporate a vehicle path adjustment of braking at a second rate based on the teachings of Herman I with a reasonable expectation of success adjusting in real-time the travel path of the host vehicle is response to the changing operating conditions of the nearby target vehicle (Herman I at ¶¶ [0110] – [0112]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Pat. No. 11,040,729 to Zhao et al. teaches predicting the trajectories of surrounding vehicles and adjusting the host vehicle’s trajectories based on the trajectory changes of the surrounding vehicles (Col. 4, l. 63 – Col. 5, l. 57; Col. 11, l. 61 – Col. 13, l. 26);
U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0146962 to Kaji et al. teaches predicting a future operating status of a surrounding vehicle in order to adjust the trajectory of the host vehicle (¶¶ [0275] – [0278]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JDH/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
6/17/26