DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, 11, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bolotine et al. (Pub. No. US 2007/0126872 A1; hereafter Bolotine).
Regarding claim 1, Bolotine discloses a camera comprising: a base configured for mounting to a support structure (see Bolotine Fig. 1, item 14), the base comprising first connecting structure (see Bolotine Fig. 1, item 42); and a camera unit configured for releaseable attachment with the base (see Bolotine Fig. 1, item 12), the camera unit comprising second connecting structure configured for releasable connection with the first connecting structure to releaseably secure the camera unit to the base (see Bolotine Fig. 2, item 44).
Regarding claim 2, Bolotine discloses the camera of claim 1, wherein the camera unit includes camera electronics for operating the camera unit as a pan/tilt/zoom camera (see Bolotine paragraph [0012] “The invention may be used in conjunction with… a PTZ camera).
Regarding claim 3, Bolotine discloses the camera of claim 1, wherein the base comprises a mounting plate for attaching the base to the support structure (see Bolotine Figs. 1 and 9, items 414 and 256), and a camera mount extending laterally from the mounting plate and including the first connecting structure (see Bolotine Fig. 1, items 30 and 42).
Regarding claim 4, Bolotine discloses the camera of claim 3, wherein the camera unit comprising a camera body and a connector coupled to the camera body, the connector including the second connecting structure, and wherein the connector is rotatable relative to the camera body (see Bolotine Figs. 1 and 2, items 26, 18, and 44. The camera body 28 is rotatable with respect to the connector as the camera has panning capabilities.).
Regarding claim 5, Bolotine discloses the camera of claim 4, wherein the first and second connecting structures comprise a bayonet style connection (see Bolotine Figs. 1 and 2, items 42 and 44. See also paragraph [0044] “Camera head base 18 includes two bayonet catches 44 (FIG. 2) for matingly latching with catches 42 to thereby secure camera head assembly module 12 to mounting frame 14”).
Regarding claim 6, Bolotine discloses the camera of claim 1, wherein the base includes a first electrical connector and the camera unit includes a second electric connector, the second electrical connector coming into electrical contact with the first electrical connector when the camera unit is attached to the base (see Bolotine Fig. 2, items 46 and 48), and wherein the first and second electrical connectors are hot pluggable connectors (see Bolotine Fig. 12, items 266 and 278).
Regarding claim 10. An electrical device comprising: an electrical device body housing electronics for operating the electrical device (see Bolotine Fig. 1, item 28); and a connector coupled to the electrical device body, the connector including a hot pluggable electrical connector configured for making an electrical connection with a base to electrically connect the electrical device to the base when the base is energized (see Bolotine Fig. 12, items 266 and 278).
Regarding claim 11, Bolotine discloses the electrical device of claim 10, wherein the electrical device body comprises a camera unit including a camera body housing camera electronics, and wherein the camera unit comprises a pan/tilt/zoom camera (see Bolotine paragraph [0012] “The invention may be used in conjunction with… a PTZ camera).
Regarding claim 13, Bolotine discloses the electrical device of claim 10, further comprising a plurality of hot pluggable electrical connectors (see Bolotine Fig. 12, items 266 and 278, which disclose at least two, 9V and 20V).
Regarding claim 14, Bolotine discloses the electrical device of claim 10, wherein the connector includes connecting structure configured for releaseable connection with connecting structure on the base for releaseably securing the electrical device to the base (see Bolotine Figs. 1 and 2, items 42 and 44).
Regarding claim 19, Bolotine discloses a base for use with an electrical device, the base comprising: a mount assembly configured for attaching the base to a support surface (see Bolotine Fig. 1, item 14), the mount assembly providing structure on the base for attaching the electrical device to the base (see Bolotine Fig. 2, item 42); and a hot pluggable electrical connector coupled to the mount assembly and configured for making an electrical connection with the electrical device to electrically connect the base to the electrical device when the base is energized (see Bolotine Fig. 12, items 266 and 278).
Regarding claim 20, Bolotine discloses the base of claim 19, wherein the mount assembly includes connecting structure configured for releaseable connection with connecting structure on the electrical device for releaseably securing the electrical device to the base (see Bolotine Figs. 1-3, items 42 and 44).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Elberbaum (U.S. Patent No. 6,678,001; hereafter Elberbaum).
Regarding claim 1, Elberbaum discloses a camera comprising: a base configured for mounting to a support structure (see Elberbaum Fig. 2A, item 7), the base comprising first connecting structure (see Elberbaum Fig. 2A, item 7A); and a camera unit configured for releaseable attachment with the base (see Elberbaum Fig. 1A, items 5, 6, and 8, combined, can be construed as the camera unit), the camera unit comprising second connecting structure configured for releasable connection with the first connecting structure to releaseably secure the camera unit to the base (see Elberbaum Fig. 2A, items 6 and 6M).
Regarding claim 3, Elberbaum discloses the camera of claim 1, wherein the base comprises a mounting plate for attaching the base to the support structure (see Elberbaum Fig. 5, in this embodiment, the equivalent of base 7 can be construed as items 16 and 17B. 17B being construed as a mounting plate), and a camera mount extending laterally from the mounting plate and including the first connecting structure (see Elberbaum Fig. 5, items 16 and screw holes for connecting camera mounting screws 18N).
Regarding claim 7, Elberbaum discloses the camera of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the base and camera unit are formed from a polymer material (see Elberbaum cols. 3 and 4, ll. 67 and 1-4 “The camera case 5, 50 or 51 shown can be made by a metal molding or machining, or by an injection of a strong, tough and non-flammable plastic material.”).
Regarding claim 8, Elberbaum discloses the camera of claim 1, wherein the base and camera unit together form an explosion-proof housing when the camera unit is attached to the base (see Elberbaum col.1, ll. 44-45 “It is an object of the present invention to provide a housing for a television camera that is vandal proof and/or explosion proof”).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thompson (Pub. No. US 2006/0216019 A1; hereafter Thompson).
Regarding claim 1, Thompson discloses a camera comprising: a base configured for mounting to a support structure (see Thompson Fig. 1, item 200), the base comprising first connecting structure (see Thompson Fig. 5, item 262); and a camera unit configured for releaseable attachment with the base (see Thompson Fig. 1, item 100), the camera unit comprising second connecting structure configured for releasable connection with the first connecting structure to releaseably secure the camera unit to the base (see Thompson Fig. 4, item 190 and paragraph [0070] “in one embodiment, the imaging device head sub-assembly 100 is removably mounted to the portable imaging sub-assembly 500.”).
Regarding claim 3, Thompson discloses the camera of claim 1, wherein the base comprises a mounting plate for attaching the base to the support structure (see Thompson Fig. 5, item 282), and a camera mount extending laterally from the mounting plate and including the first connecting structure (see Thompson Fig. 5, items 262).
Regarding claim 7, Thompson discloses the camera of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the base and camera unit are formed from a polymer material (see Thompson paragraph [0058] “An exemplary list of the type of materials for the housing, end plates, mounting pads, spacers, and imaging device mounting boards include: steel, aluminum, titanium, a rigid plastic, etc.”).
Regarding claim 9, Thompson discloses the camera of claim 1, wherein the base and camera unit together weigh less than 20 kg (see Thompson paragraph [0077] “In one particular configuration, the combination of the imaging device and the mounting assembly weighs less than approximately 10 pounds.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elberbaum in view of Bolotine.
Regarding claim 10, Elberbaum discloses an electrical device comprising: an electrical device body housing electronics for operating the electrical device (see Elberbaum Fig. 3A, item 5Z); and a connector coupled to the electrical device body, the connector including an electrical connector configured for making an electrical connection with a base to electrically connect the electrical device to the base when the base is energized (see Elberbaum Fig. 3A, item 5YF).
Elberbaum does not specifically disclose that the connection is hot pluggable.
Bolotine discloses that it was well known to provide hot-pluggable capability to replaceable surveillance cameras (see Bolotine Fig. 12, items 266 and 278).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Elberbaum with a hot pluggable connector, like that in Bolotine, in order to enable the device to be mounted without having to cut the power to the device, especially in places where the user does not have access to the power source.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elberbaum in view of Bolotine as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Fawcett et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,893,284 B1; hereafter Fawcett)
Regarding claim 12, Elberbaum in view of Bolotine discloses he electrical device of claim 10, but does not disclose that wherein the electrical connector is an exde connector.
Fawcett discloses that exd is a connection standard for use in environments with explosive hazards (see Fawcett col. 1, ll. 21-24 “The International Electromechanical Commission (OEC) has established standards which should be applied in particular circumstances, for example the Exd standard.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the electrical connections of the device to be in compliance with the known and established international standards so that proper safety and reproducibility are established.
Conclusion
/NOAM REISNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 9/23/2026