DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “partially” in claims 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “partially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The metes and bounds for determining the partial curve of the display screen is unclear. Examiner suggests amending to use clear and concise language.
The term “partially” in claims 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “partially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The metes and bounds for determining the partial curve of the display screen is unclear. Examiner suggests amending to use clear and concise language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timothy Barbour et al., (US20210350656; hereinafter Barbour) and Takahiro Sato (JP 2021062154 A; hereinafter Sato).
Regarding claim 1, Barbour discloses an electronic gaming device (recited in at least: Barbour: [Abstract])) comprising: a pedestal (“the pedestal” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0006])); a main display positioned on the pedestal (“including a pedestal 302 and display 308 in accordance with the present disclosure” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0053])); a hinge assembly coupling the main display to the pedestal (“button deck 306 and access door 304 are rotatably coupled to a base 310 of pedestal 302, for example by a limited-torque hinge” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0054])), the main display being configured to rotate relative to the pedestal about a rotational axis defined by the hinge assembly between a closed position and an open position (“More specifically, in the example embodiment, access door 304 and button deck 306 are rotatably coupled to pedestal 302 such that one or both of access door 304 and button deck 306 may rotate between closed positions (e.g., as shown in FIGS. 4 and 5) and open positions. During various service operations, service technicians or other support personnel (e.g., “credentialed operators”) may need access to components housed within pedestal 302” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0056])); and a player tracking assembly coupled to the pedestal, the player tracking assembly including a secondary display and a housing supporting the secondary display on the pedestal, the housing having a bend shape defining providing clearance for the main display to rotate within as the main display is moved between the closed position and the open position (“a player tracking system (e.g., in communication with player tracking system server 110 and player tracking interface 232) is positioned above logic cage 804 such that the player tracking system is more easily accessed by technicians. In some embodiments, the player tracking system may be removably coupled to a housing wherein the housing is removably coupled to a spring-loaded mechanism (e.g., as described above) such that when the spring-loaded mechanism is actuated the player tracking system extends upward. In other embodiments, the player tracking system may be stationary (e.g., does not extend upward)” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0070])).
However, Barbour’s electronic gaming device does not explicitly disclose a recess. Sato teaches a recess within the structure to hold the elements (shown in FIGs 1-2 and where the main display and the secondary display are in a recess in the structure; “the operation window G10 configured as described above has a shape in which a recess is formed with respect to the outer surface of the back wall G3 and an opening is formed by penetrating most of the recess. Have. The opening corresponds to the opening G10a, and the portion of the recess where the opening is not formed corresponds to the peripheral edge portion G10b. The peripheral edge portion G10b is formed as a flat surface (vertical surface) substantially parallel to the outer surface of the back wall G3, and the connecting portion G10d is formed as a flat surface in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction” (recited in at least: Sato paragraph [0431])).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a recess in the build of the gaming structure as taught by Sato into the gaming device/structure of Barbour for the added benefit of having room within the structure to move things around.
Regarding claim 2, Barbour in view of Sum teach the claimed subject matter as stated above, and Sato further teaches wherein the housing includes an inner surface defining the recess, the inner surface extending from a first end to a second end, wherein a recess plane is defined extending through the first end and the second end, and wherein the main display rotates through the recess plane as the main display is moved between the closed position and the open position (“The outer shape of the closing lid G100 (rear surface G100a) is substantially the same as the outer shape of the peripheral portion G10b of the operating window G10 (similar shape slightly smaller than the peripheral portion G10b), and from the opening G10a of the operating window G10. Is also getting bigger. As a result, the opening G10a of the operation window G10 can be closed by fitting the closing lid G100 into the recess (attaching the closing lid G100 to the back wall G3 so as to fill the recess)” (recited in at least: Sato paragraph [0433])).
Regarding claim 3, Barbour in view of Sum teach the claimed subject matter as stated above, and Sato further teaches wherein the first end is overlapped with the main display when the main display is in the open position (“As shown in FIG. 104, the operation window G10 has an opening G10a formed in a horizontally long rectangular shape as a through hole penetrating in the front-rear direction, and an outer surface (back side) of the back wall G3 of the cabinet G at the peripheral edge of the opening G10a. The peripheral edge G10b formed so as to have a rectangular surface at a recessed position with respect to the peripheral surface), the four screw holes G10c formed in the peripheral edge G10b, and the outer edge and the back wall of the peripheral edge G10b. It is provided with a connecting portion G10d for connecting to the outer surface of the G3” (recited in at least: Sato paragraph [0488])).
Regarding claim 4, Barbour in view of Sum teach the claimed subject matter as stated above, and Sato further teaches wherein the main display extends from a front edge to a rear edge, and wherein the first end of the inner surface is positioned above the rear edge (“The lower surface B2a of the projector device B2 has an inclined surface B2a1 inclined upward from the rear to the front in the front portion thereof. As shown in FIG. 8, the projector cover B1 is arranged symmetrically in the left-right direction of the horizontally arranged upper wall portion B12, the reflector holding portion B11 arranged on the front side of the upper wall portion B12, and the upper wall portion B12. It has side wall portions B13 and B13. The front portion of the upper wall portion B12 projects forward of the cabinet G (see FIG. 5)” (recited in at least: Sato paragraph [0042])).
Regarding claim 9, Barbour in view of Sum teach the claimed subject matter as stated above, and Sato further teaches wherein the main display includes a display screen that is at least partially curved (“That is, the rear end (side 9050c) of the door-side right screen 9050 and the rear end (side 9060c) of the door-side left screen 9060 are respectively located on substantially the same plane as the display surface 9040b of the cabinet-side screen 9040. Since the door-side right screen 9050 and the door-side left screen 9060 are curved so as to be convex forward” (recited in at least: Sato paragraph [0314])).
Regarding claim 10, Barbour in view of Sum teach the claimed subject matter as stated above, and Sato further teaches wherein the main display extends from a front edge to a rear edge and includes a display screen having a first planar section extending from the front edge and a second curved section extending from the first planar section to the rear edge (“the side surface portion 1045c formed continuously is provided. The flat surface portion 1045a and the side surface portion 1045c are formed in a planar shape, and their surfaces are substantially orthogonal to each other. The curved portion 1045b has a shape in which a flat plate is curved, as in the door-side right screen 9050 and the door-side left screen 9060 (see FIG. 58)” (recited in at least: Sato paragraph [0355])).
Regarding claim 11, Barbour in view of Sum teach the claimed subject matter as stated above, and Sato further teaches wherein a rear edge of the main display moves along an arc within the recess as the main display is moved between the closed position and the open position, and wherein the bend shape of the housing is shaped in correspondence with the arc (“it has been described that the shapes of the door-side right screen 9050 and the door-side left screen 9060 are curved shapes of a flat screen (the shape in the top view is an arc shape). However, the shape of the second screen (door-side right screen, door-side left screen, and door-side upper screen) in the present invention is not particularly limited, and a screen having an arbitrary shape can be appropriately adopted. For example, the second screen may be a flat-shaped screen such as the cabinet-side screen 9040, a screen having irregularities, or a screen having a rounded shape” (recited in at least: Sato paragraph [0344])).
Regarding claim 12, Barbour discloses a player tracking assembly for use with an electronic gaming device (recited in at least: Barbour: [Abstract])) having a main display positioned on a pedestal and configured to rotate relative to the pedestal between a closed position and an open position (“including a pedestal 302 and display 308 in accordance with the present disclosure” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0053])), the player tracking device comprising: a secondary display configured to display player tracking information (“The gaming device 200 may further include a bill validator 234, player-input buttons 236 for player input, cabinet security sensors 238 to detect unauthorized opening of the cabinet 218, a primary game display 240, and a secondary game display 242, each coupled to and operable under the control of game controller 202” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0046])); and a housing configured to support the secondary display on the pedestal, the housing having a bend shape defining and providing clearance for the main display to rotate within the main display is moved between the closed position and the open position (As shown in the figure of this description: “An optional topper screen 140 may be used as a secondary game display for bonus play, to show game features or attraction activities while a game is not in play, or any other information or media desired by the game designer or operator. In some embodiments, topper screen 140 may also or alternatively be used to display progressive jackpot prizes available to a player during play of gaming device 104B” (recited in at least Barbour paragraph [0039])).
However, Barbour’s electronic gaming device does not explicitly disclose a recess. Sato teaches a recess within the structure to hold the elements (shown in FIGs 1-2 and where the main display and the secondary display are in a recess in the structure; “the operation window G10 configured as described above has a shape in which a recess is formed with respect to the outer surface of the back wall G3 and an opening is formed by penetrating most of the recess. Have. The opening corresponds to the opening G10a, and the portion of the recess where the opening is not formed corresponds to the peripheral edge portion G10b. The peripheral edge portion G10b is formed as a flat surface (vertical surface) substantially parallel to the outer surface of the back wall G3, and the connecting portion G10d is formed as a flat surface in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction” (recited in at least: Sato paragraph [0431])).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a recess in the build of the gaming structure as taught by Sato into the gaming device/structure of Barbour for the added benefit of having room within the structure to move things around.
Regarding claim 13, Barbour in view of Sum teach the claimed subject matter as stated above, and Sato further teaches wherein the housing further includes an inner surface defining the recess, the inner surface extending from a first end to a second end, wherein a recess plane is defined extending through the first end and the second end, and wherein the main display rotates through the recess plane as the main display is moved between the closed position and the open position (“The outer shape of the closing lid G100 (rear surface G100a) is substantially the same as the outer shape of the peripheral portion G10b of the operating window G10 (similar shape slightly smaller than the peripheral portion G10b), and from the opening G10a of the operating window G10. Is also getting bigger. As a result, the opening G10a of the operation window G10 can be closed by fitting the closing lid G100 into the recess (attaching the closing lid G100 to the back wall G3 so as to fill the recess)” (recited in at least: Sato paragraph [0433])).
Regarding claim 18, Barbour discloses an electronic gaming device (recited in at least: Barbour: [Abstract])) comprising: a pedestal (“the pedestal” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0006])); a main display positioned on the pedestal (“including a pedestal 302 and display 308 in accordance with the present disclosure” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0053])); a hinge assembly coupling the main display to the pedestal (“button deck 306 and access door 304 are rotatably coupled to a base 310 of pedestal 302, for example by a limited-torque hinge” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0054])), the main display being configured to rotate relative to the pedestal about a rotational axis defined by the hinge assembly between a closed position and an open position (“More specifically, in the example embodiment, access door 304 and button deck 306 are rotatably coupled to pedestal 302 such that one or both of access door 304 and button deck 306 may rotate between closed positions (e.g., as shown in FIGS. 4 and 5) and open positions. During various service operations, service technicians or other support personnel (e.g., “credentialed operators”) may need access to components housed within pedestal 302” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0056])); and a player tracking assembly coupled to the pedestal, the player tracking assembly including a secondary display and housing supporting the secondary display on the pedestal, the housing including an inner surface extending from a first end to a second end, wherein plane is defined extending through the first end and the second end, the inner surface providing clearance for the main display to rotate through as the main display is moved between the closed position and the open position (“a player tracking system (e.g., in communication with player tracking system server 110 and player tracking interface 232) is positioned above logic cage 804 such that the player tracking system is more easily accessed by technicians. In some embodiments, the player tracking system may be removably coupled to a housing wherein the housing is removably coupled to a spring-loaded mechanism (e.g., as described above) such that when the spring-loaded mechanism is actuated the player tracking system extends upward. In other embodiments, the player tracking system may be stationary (e.g., does not extend upward)” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0070])),
However, Barbour does not explicitly disclose a recess and wherein the first end is overlapped with the main display when the main display is in the open position.
Sato teaches a recess within the structure to hold the elements (shown in FIGs 1-2 and where the main display and the secondary display are in a recess in the structure; “the operation window G10 configured as described above has a shape in which a recess is formed with respect to the outer surface of the back wall G3 and an opening is formed by penetrating most of the recess. Have. The opening corresponds to the opening G10a, and the portion of the recess where the opening is not formed corresponds to the peripheral edge portion G10b. The peripheral edge portion G10b is formed as a flat surface (vertical surface) substantially parallel to the outer surface of the back wall G3, and the connecting portion G10d is formed as a flat surface in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction” (recited in at least: Sato paragraph [0431])) and wherein the first end is overlapped with the main display when the main display is in the open position (“As shown in FIG. 104, the operation window G10 has an opening G10a formed in a horizontally long rectangular shape as a through hole penetrating in the front-rear direction, and an outer surface (back side) of the back wall G3 of the cabinet G at the peripheral edge of the opening G10a. The peripheral edge G10b formed so as to have a rectangular surface at a recessed position with respect to the peripheral surface), the four screw holes G10c formed in the peripheral edge G10b, and the outer edge and the back wall of the peripheral edge G10b. It is provided with a connecting portion G10d for connecting to the outer surface of the G3” (recited in at least: Sato paragraph [0488])).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a recess and an overlap withing moving the main display in an open position in the build of the gaming structure as taught by Sato into the gaming device/structure of Barbour for the added benefit of having room within the structure to move things around.
Regarding claim 19, Barbour in view of Sum teach the claimed subject matter as stated above, and Sato further teaches wherein the main display includes a display screen that is at least partially curved (“That is, the rear end (side 9050c) of the door-side right screen 9050 and the rear end (side 9060c) of the door-side left screen 9060 are respectively located on substantially the same plane as the display surface 9040b of the cabinet-side screen 9040. Since the door-side right screen 9050 and the door-side left screen 9060 are curved so as to be convex forward” (recited in at least: Sato paragraph [0314])).
Regarding claim 20, Barbour in view of Sum teach the claimed subject matter as stated above, and Sato further teaches wherein the main display extends from a front edge to a rear edge and includes a display screen having a first planar section extending from the front edge and a second curved section extending from the first planar section to the rear edge (“the side surface portion 1045c formed continuously is provided. The flat surface portion 1045a and the side surface portion 1045c are formed in a planar shape, and their surfaces are substantially orthogonal to each other. The curved portion 1045b has a shape in which a flat plate is curved, as in the door-side right screen 9050 and the door-side left screen 9060 (see FIG. 58)” (recited in at least: Sato paragraph [0355])).
Claims 5-8, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbour and Sato in view of Ryan Patrick Rye et al., (US 20240013611 A1; hereinafter Rye).
Regarding claim 5, Barbour in view of Sum teach the claimed subject matter as stated above; however, they do not explicitly teach wherein the housing includes a neck supporting the secondary display and a shoulder coupled to the neck and configured to be attached to the pedestal.
Rye teaches wherein the housing includes a neck supporting the secondary display and a shoulder (element 50; FIG 1) coupled to the neck and configured to be attached to the pedestal (“As illustrated in FIG. 1C, the second display may thus be referred to as a top display, as it may be mounted to the top portion 26A of the housing 26, such as via a display support 48” (recited in at least: Rye paragraph [0034])).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a neck supporting system with a shoulder as taught by Rye into the system of Barbour to have the displays attached to one another with less bulky material.
Regarding claim 6, Barbour and Sato in view of Rye teach the claimed matter as stated above, and Rye further teaches wherein the shoulder is configured to electrically connect the secondary display to at least one port accessible on the pedestal (“As another example, the gaming machine 22 may include a tower light or candle 50. The tower light or candle 50 may include one or more illumination or display devices (lights, video displays, etc.) for providing visual indications or information, and/or have other features” (recited in at least: Rye paragraph [0050])).
Regarding claim 7, Barbour and Sato in view of Rye teach the claimed matter as stated above, and Barbour further teaches wherein the housing further comprises a card reader unit housing and an elbow coupling the card reader housing to the shoulder (“a player tracking card reader 144, a transceiver for wireless communication with a player's smartphone, a keypad 146, and/or an illuminated display 148 for reading, receiving, entering, and/or displaying player tracking information is provided in EGM 104A. In such embodiments, a game controller within the gaming device 104A can communicate with the player tracking system server 110 to send and receive player tracking information” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0032])).
Regarding claim 8, Barbour and Sato in view of Rye teach the claimed matter as stated above, and Barbour further teaches wherein the card reader unit housing is configured to be positioned on a lateral side of the pedestal and includes a front face defining a slot configured to receive a player tracking card therein (“a player tracking card reader 144, a transceiver for wireless communication with a player's smartphone, a keypad 146, and/or an illuminated display 148 for reading, receiving, entering, and/or displaying player tracking information is provided in EGM 104A” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0032])).
Regarding claim 14, Barbour in view of Sum teach the claimed subject matter as stated above; however, they do not explicitly teach wherein the housing includes a neck supporting the secondary display and a shoulder coupled to the neck and configured to be attached to the pedestal.
Rye teaches wherein the housing includes a neck supporting the secondary display and a shoulder (element 50; FIG 1) coupled to the neck and configured to be attached to the pedestal (“As illustrated in FIG. 1C, the second display may thus be referred to as a top display, as it may be mounted to the top portion 26A of the housing 26, such as via a display support 48” (recited in at least: Rye paragraph [0034])).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a neck supporting system with a shoulder as taught by Rye into the system of Barbour to have the displays attached to one another with less bulky material
Regarding claim 15, Barbour and Sato in view of Rye teach the claimed matter as stated above, and Rye further teaches wherein the shoulder is configured to electrically connect the secondary display to at least one port accessible on the pedestal (“As another example, the gaming machine 22 may include a tower light or candle 50. The tower light or candle 50 may include one or more illumination or display devices (lights, video displays, etc.) for providing visual indications or information, and/or have other features” (recited in at least: Rye paragraph [0050])).
Regarding claim 16, Barbour and Sato in view of Rye teach the claimed matter as stated above, and Barbour further teaches wherein the housing further comprises a card reader unit housing and an elbow coupling the card reader housing to the shoulder (“a player tracking card reader 144, a transceiver for wireless communication with a player's smartphone, a keypad 146, and/or an illuminated display 148 for reading, receiving, entering, and/or displaying player tracking information is provided in EGM 104A. In such embodiments, a game controller within the gaming device 104A can communicate with the player tracking system server 110 to send and receive player tracking information” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0032])).
Regarding claim 17, Barbour and Sato in view of Rye teach the claimed matter as stated above, and Barbour further teaches wherein the card reader unit housing is configured to be positioned on a lateral side of the pedestal and includes a front face defining a slot configured to receive a player tracking card therein (“a player tracking card reader 144, a transceiver for wireless communication with a player's smartphone, a keypad 146, and/or an illuminated display 148 for reading, receiving, entering, and/or displaying player tracking information is provided in EGM 104A” (recited in at least: Barbour paragraph [0032])).
Conclusion
/SELWA A ALSOMAIRY/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/Jay Trent Liddle/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715