DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, line 3, “…light can tune theat least…” should read “…light can tune the at least…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leo et al. (US 20230273503 A1, hereinafter “Leo”), modified in view of Feng et al. (US 20210109195 A1, hereinafter “Feng”).
Regarding claim 1, Leo teaches a device comprising:
one or more chips or photonic integrated circuits comprising at least one optical parametric oscillator (OPO) Leo; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0088], optical parametric oscillator (OPO) 10 (may be implemented as a photonic integrated circuit [0049]); [0100], the parametric gain element 101 is adapted for converting coherent pump light into coherent signal light (signal and idle components) through an instantaneous nonlinear optical process),
Leo does not teach,
the beam steering device configured to provide emission away from the chips or photonic integrated circuits in response to the at least one wavelength of the electromagnetic radiation selected so the steering angle of the emission of the electromagnetic radiation can span a range larger than 5 degrees with respect to a surface normal of the beam steering device.
Feng disclosed in Fig. 8A, 8B, [0118]-[0119], the Lidar chips can be modified to include beam-steering mechanism(s) for tuning a direction that the Lidar output signal travels away from the Lidar chip. The utility waveguide 16 shown in Fig. 8A, 8B carries the outgoing Lidar signal to a splitter 200 that divides the outgoing Lidar signal into multiple output signals that are each carried on a steering waveguide 202; Fig. 9, Fig. 10, [0125], disclosed by properly design of the taper 206 of the steering waveguides 202, a scanning angle range greater than 60˚, 30˚ or 20˚ and/or less than 5˚, 3˚ or 1˚ can be achieved.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is including chip scale beam steering device onto a photonic integrated circuit with OPO to scan the FOV predictably to realize a chip scale laser scanning system.
Regarding claim 4, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 1, further comprising an input for wavelength injection locking the OPO or wherein the OPO comprises a periodically poled nonlinear medium tuned for a desired wavelength range comprising the wavelength (Leo; Fig. 5, [0131], disclosed an optical parametric oscillator 50 comprises nonlinear optical medium 519 for second harmonic generation (SHG) including a periodically poled fiber or nonlinear integrated waveguide may be provided as nonlinear optical medium 519 to generate a frequency-doubled soliton centered at 775 nm based on a circulating, resonant temporal cavity soliton centered at 1550 nm).
Regarding claim 9, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 1, wherein the OPO comprises a resonator and one of the chips or photonic integrated circuits comprises the OPO Leo; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0088], an optical parametric oscillator (OPO) 10 (may be implemented as a photonic integrated circuit [0049]). The parametric gain element 101 is optically connected to the coupling element 102, thereby providing optical feedback in the optical cavity 10 arranged in a ring resonator configuration),
Leo does not teach,
and the beam steering device
and wherein the beam steering device is placed inside or outside the resonator.
Feng disclosed in Fig. 8A, 8B, [0118]-[0119], the Lidar chips can be modified to include beam-steering mechanism(s) for running a direction that the Lidar output signal travels away from the Lidar chip. The utility waveguide 16 shown in Fig. 8A, 8B carries the outgoing Lidar signal to a splitter 200 that divides the outgoing Lidar signal into multiple output signals that are each carried on a steering waveguide 202;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is including chip scale beam steering device onto a photonic integrated circuit with OPO to scan the FOV predictably to realize a chip scale laser scanning system.
Regarding claim 17, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 1, further comprising an input coupler configured for inputting a continuous-wave or pulsed pump to the OPO (Leo; Fig. 1, [0088], intracavity power adjustment means 108, the coupling element 102, OPO 10; [0089], the intracavity power adjustment means 108 include a laser source for generating the coherent pump light, an optical amplifier with adjustable optical gain, an amplitude modulator positioned in a light path of the coherent pump light incident on the coupling element 102; [0091], the coupling element 102 (optical fiber coupler) is adapted for receiving and injecting narrow band coherent pump light into the optical cavity 100; [0100], the parametric gain element 101 is adapted for converting coherent pump light into coherent signal light (signal and idle components) through an instantaneous nonlinear optical process).
Regarding claim 19, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 1.
Leo does not teach,
further comprising: an input coupler for receiving the beam after interaction of the emission with a target; and a detector for detecting the electromagnetic radiation received at the input coupler.
Feng disclosed in Fig. 1, [0029], lidar chip includes taper 20 [0033] and light sensor 40, 42 [0038]; [0033], the utility waveguide 16 include a taper 20 that terminate at the facet 18. The taper 20 can relax the alignment tolerances required for efficient coupling of the utility waveguide 16 to the Lidar input light and the outgoing Lidar signal. Accordingly, the taper 20 can increase the percentage of the lidar input signal that is successfully returned to the chip for processing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device; further comprising: an input coupler for receiving the beam after interaction of the emission with a target; and a detector for detecting the electromagnetic radiation received at the input coupler taught by Feng with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is including tape coupler to couple the emission light to the target and couple the receiving light reflected from the target to the detector 40 42 for determining the distance and/or the relative speed of the object from the chip (Feng; [0029], [0033], [0038], [0090]).
Regarding claim 20, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 1.
Leo does not teach,
A LIDAR or remote sensing system comprising the device of claim 1.
Feng disclosed in Fig. 1, [0029], a Lidar chip that includes a component assembly 8 with a laser cavity; Fig. 8A, 8B, [0118]-[0119], the Lidar chips can be modified to include beam-steering mechanism(s) for tunning a direction that the Lidar output signal travels away from the Lidar chip.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device; a device is used for Lidar system taught by Feng with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using the device for Lidar system including OPO based laser source with beam steering mechanism on a photonic integrated circuit predictably to realize a compact chip scale laser scanning system for Lidar application.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leo, modified in view of Feng, in view of Marandi et al. (US 20200285131 A1, hereinafter “Marandi”).
Regarding claim 2, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 1.
Leo does not teach,
wherein the OPO is a wavelength-tunable OPO in which the wavelength of the signal and or idler can be tuned to provide beam steering of the electromagnetic radiation.
Marandi disclosed Fig. 6, [0090], on chip OPOs includes a partial ring resonator 600, a parametric gain section 602, and a pair of wavelength sensitive couplers 604, 606 capable of coupling different spectral contents of the electromagnetic field 102 or the pump electromagnetic radiation or field 100 into and out of the resonator. The couplers 604, 606 are directional couplers and their wavelength selectivity is tuned by the gap size 606 between two waveguides or waveguide sections of the directional coupler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng, include a wavelength-tunable OPO in which the wavelength of the signal and or idler can be tuned to provide beam steering of the electromagnetic radiation taught by Marandi with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using a pair of wavelength sensitive couplers of coupling different spectral contents of the electromagnetic filed or the pump electromagnetic radiation into and out of the resonator to realize a wavelength-tunable OPO system (Marandi; [0090]).
Regarding claim 3, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 2, wherein tuning of the wavelength is achieved using an actuator coupled to the OPO, the actuator comprising an electro-optic modulator, a thermo- optic modulator, a heater, a piezo-electric device, or a vernier tuning device in the form of coupled resonators further coupled to the OPO (Leo; Fig. 6, [0117], optical cavity 600 further comprises a means 615 for adjusting an optical path length of the optical cavity which is used for stabilizing a resonance of the optical cavity and/or for controlling the amount of cavity detuning. The intracavity optical path length adjustment means 615 include electrooptic phase modulator, paired acousto-optic modulators, fiber stretchers, or mirror-mounted piezo actuators).
Regarding claim 5, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 1, further comprising an input coupler to the OPO and a laser operable for inputting input electromagnetic radiation comprising at least one of an input signal, an input idler, or the pump (Leo; Fig. 1, [0088], intracavity power adjustment means 108, the coupling element 102, OPO 10; [0089], the intracavity power adjustment means 108 include a laser source for generating the coherent pump light, an optical amplifier with adjustable optical gain, an amplitude modulator positioned in a light path of the coherent pump light incident on the coupling element 102; [0091], the coupling element 102 (optical fiber coupler) is adapted for receiving and injecting narrow band coherent pump light into the optical cavity 100; [0100], the parametric gain element 101 is adapted for converting coherent pump light into coherent signal light (signal and idle components) through an instantaneous nonlinear optical process),
Leo does not teach,
wherein tuning the wavelength of the inputted light can tune the at least one wavelength of the signal or the idler generated by the OPO.
Marandi disclosed Fig. 6, [0090], on chip OPOs includes a partial ring resonator 600, a parametric gain section 602, and a pair of wavelength sensitive couplers 604, 606 capable of coupling different spectral contents of the electromagnetic field 102 or the pump electromagnetic radiation or field 100 into and out of the resonator. The couplers 604, 606 are directional couplers and their wavelength selectivity is tuned by the gap size 606 between two waveguides or waveguide sections of the directional coupler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng, include wherein tuning the wavelength of the inputted light can tune the at least one wavelength of the signal or the idler generated by the OPO taught by Marandi with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using a pair of wavelength sensitive couplers of coupling different spectral contents of the electromagnetic filed or the pump electromagnetic radiation into and out of the resonator to realize a wavelength-tunable OPO system (Marandi; [0090]).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leo, modified in view of Feng, in view of Sezer et al. (US 20230305225 A1, hereinafter “Sezer”).
Regarding claim 6, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 1.
Leo does not teach,
comprising a plurality of the OPOs coupled in a cascaded or parallel configuration to output the electromagnetic radiation in a chain of wavelength conversions that extends a wavelength tuning range of the electromagnetic radiation coupled to the beam steering device.
Sezer disclosed in Fig. 4B, [0153], a photonic chip 470, 472 comprises one optical parametric oscillator 460 with at least one photonic integrated circuit 100, 200, or two optical parametric oscillator 460 with at least two photonic integrated circuits 100, 200 (chip 472). In case of two or more optical parametric oscillators, a multiplexer 492 combines the generated light from the two optical parametric oscillators.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng, include comprising a plurality of the OPOs coupled in a cascaded or parallel configuration to output the electromagnetic radiation in a chain of wavelength conversions that extends a wavelength tuning range of the electromagnetic radiation coupled to the beam steering device taught by Sezer with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is including two or more optical parametric oscillators predictably to emit multiple laser signals with different wavelength.
Regarding claim 7, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 6, wherein the OPOs each comprise at least one of: a nonlinear medium comprising at least one of a different poling period (Leo; Fig. 5, [0131], [0132], optical parametric oscillator 50 comprises nonlinear optical medium 519; The nonlinear optical medium 519 may be adjustable as well, e.g. via heating or by varying a poling period of a quasi-phase matched nonlinear optical medium (e.g. fan-type periodically poled crystal or selection of poled structure with different period provided on a same substrate or carrier)) or a configuration for outputting the electromagnetic radiation with a different center frequency, or individual or multiplexed inputs/outputs.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leo, modified in view of Feng, in view of Jeong et al. (US 20180024246 A1, hereinafter “Jeong”).
Regarding claim 8, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 1.
Leo does not teach,
wherein the at least one steering device comprises at least one of a grating coupler, a nanophotonic antenna, an optical phased array, an arrayed delay line, or a metasurface.
Jeong disclosed in Fig. 10, [0316], the beam steering unit 530 may include a first beam steering unit 600, and a second beam steering unit 700; Figs. 12A-12D, [0345], the second beam steering unit 700 may include a plurality of grating couplers 700a that are arranged to respectively correspond to a plurality of output optical paths of the first beam steering unit 600; Fig. 12B, [0356], disclosed a grating coupler 700a may change an emission angle of a beam according to a wavelength of transmission light.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng, include wherein the at least one steering device comprises at least one of a grating coupler, a nanophotonic antenna, an optical phased array, an arrayed delay line, or a metasurface taught by Jeong with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using grating couplers on chip to realize the beam steering. The grating coupler may change an emission angle of a beam according to a wavelength of transmission light (Jeong; [0316], [0345], [0356]).
Regarding claim 10, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 1.
Leo does not teach,
comprising a plurality of the beam steering devices configured for multibeam steering or steering of the electromagnetic radiation in different directions to enable two dimensional (2D) scanning of the beam or beams.
Jeong disclosed in Fig. 10, [0316], the beam steering unit 530 may include a first beam steering unit 600 (steer a beam in a horizontal direction [0318]), and a second beam steering unit 700 (steer a beam in a vertical direction [0319]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng, include comprising a plurality of the beam steering devices configured for multibeam steering or steering of the electromagnetic radiation in different directions to enable two dimensional (2D) scanning of the beam or beams taught by Jeong with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using multiple beam steering devices in vertical and horizontal direction to realize a 2D scanning of laser emitting (Jeong; [0316], [0318], [0319]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leo, modified in view of Feng, in view of Marandi, in view of Hu et al. (US 20210307603 A1, hereinafter “Hu”).
Regarding claim 11, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 1.
Leo does not teach,
wherein the OPO comprises a broadband OPO which has multimode operation for the signal and idler, for instance in the form of a frequency comb OPO or a short-pulse OPO, wherein the beam steering device provides different steering angles for different spectral components of the electromagnetic radiation from the OPO, hence encoding the angular distribution to the spectral distribution of the electromagnetic radiation.
Marandi disclosed in Fig. 24, [0170], a method produces a variety of OPOs, including a broadband OPO [0175]; [0177], OPOs can be used to generate broadband optical frequency combs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng, include wherein the OPO comprises a broadband OPO which has multimode operation for the signal and idler, for instance in the form of a frequency comb OPO or a short-pulse OPO taught by Marandi with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to provide a method to producing a broadband OPO and further generate broadband optical frequency combs for further usage.
However, Leo modified in view of Feng, in view of Marandi still not teach,
wherein the beam steering device provides different steering angles for different spectral components of the electromagnetic radiation from the OPO, hence encoding the angular distribution to the spectral distribution of the electromagnetic radiation.
Hu disclosed in Fig. 5B, [0073], illustrates the effect of wavelength-dependent beam steering by the gratings in an OPA 150/500. The OPA 150/500 emits the broadband probe beam 151 towards a sample 11. The grating diffracts the different spectral components of the probe beam 151 at different angles, creating an angular fan or spread the transform lens 502 turns into a spatial spread on the surface of the sample 11.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng, include wherein the OPO comprises a broadband OPO which has multimode operation for the signal and idler, for instance in the form of a frequency comb OPO or a short-pulse OPO taught by Marandi, include wherein the beam steering device provides different steering angles for different spectral components of the electromagnetic radiation from the OPO, hence encoding the angular distribution to the spectral distribution of the electromagnetic radiation taught by Hu with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is including a beam steering device which provides different steering angles for different spectral components of the electromagnetic radiation from the OPO creating an angular fan or spread the transform lens 502 turns into a spatial spread on the target surface.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leo, modified in view of Feng, in view of Oron et al. (US 20020154383 A1, hereinafter “Oron”).
Regarding claim 12, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 1.
Leo does not teach, further comprising:
a receiving unit on the same one of the chips as the OPO or on a separate one of the chips to realize a ranging device wherein the receiving unit comprises one or more spectral filters or a wavelength division demultiplexer configured to route different wavelength components of a beam comprising a received portion of the electromagnetic radiation, corresponding to different angles of incidence of the beam, to different outputs, or
an EO-based or PZT-based tunable filter, wherein the tunable filter can selectively route different angles of incidence of the beam to one or multiple outputs.
Oron disclosed in Fig. 15, [0073], illustration of an optical demultiplexing system. An incident beam of light 26, composed of a multitude of wavelengths, is illuminated on a wavelength-dispersive component 28 (e.g. grating or prism). Component 28 splits the incident beam 26 into a series of separate beams 29a-29n, each having a different wavelength. The beams 29a-29n, each propagating in a slightly different direction, are incident upon a receiver 30 that couples the separate beams into corresponding different output fibers 31a-31n, causing different output fibers to contain beams of different wavelength.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng, include a receiving unit to realize a ranging device wherein the receiving unit comprises a wavelength division demultiplexer configured to route different wavelength components of a beam comprising a received portion of the electromagnetic radiation, corresponding to different angles of incidence of the beam, to different outputs taught by Oron with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using wavelength demultiplexer to split the incident beam into a series of separate beams, each having a different wavelength. The series of separate beams, each propagating in a slightly different direction, are incident upon a receiver that couples the separate beams into corresponding different output fibers, causing different output fibers to contain beams of different wavelength (Oron; [0073]).
Claim(s) 13-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leo, modified in view of Feng, in view of Karpf et al. (WO 2019200112 A1, hereinafter “Karpf”).
Regarding claim 13, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 1 comprising one or more of the OPOs (Leo; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0088], optical parametric oscillator (OPO) 10 (may be implemented as a photonic integrated circuit [0049])).
Leo does not teach,
and one or more of the beam steering devices configured for outputting a beam of the electromagnetic radiation with a desired scanning range and speed.
Feng disclosed in Fig. 8A, 8B, [0118]-[0119], the Lidar chips can be modified to include beam-steering mechanism(s) for running a direction that the Lidar output signal travels away from the Lidar chip. The utility waveguide 16 shown in Fig. 8A, 8B carries the outgoing Lidar signal to a splitter 200 that divides the outgoing Lidar signal into multiple output signals that are each carried on a steering waveguide 202; Fig. 9, Fig. 10, [0125], disclosed by properly design of the taper 206 of the steering waveguides 202, a scanning angle range greater than 60˚, 30˚ or 20˚ and/or less than 5˚, 3˚ or 1˚ can be achieved.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is including chip scale beam steering device onto a photonic integrated circuit with OPO to scan the FOV predictably to realize a chip scale laser scanning system.
However, Leo modified in view of Fend still not teach,
with a desired scanning speed.
Karpf disclosed in Fig. 1, [0037], a swept laser 12 output a wavelength swept light source 14 about a frequency w0. Frequency doubling is then performed on the swept light source by using nonlinear mechanisms such as OPOs; [0029]-[0030], disclosed the advantage of this device includes rapid and adjustable sweeping speeds (up to several MHz), broadband coverage and narrow instantaneous linewidth; [0031], high speed imaging can be realized since the swept source output can be diffracted by an optical grating to produce a wavelength dependent angle scan which results in a rapid beam steering mechanism (speed reach above the MHz range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng, include with a desired scanning speed taught by Karpf with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is including an optical grating with a swept source output to produce a wavelength dependent angle scan which results in a rapid beam steering mechanism up to MHz range (Karpf; [0029]-[0031], [0037]).
Regarding claim 14, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 1.
Leo does not teach,
further comprising a control circuit controlling tuning of the at least one wavelength of the electromagnetic radiation to implement beam steering of the emission at sub-Hz to MHz speed over the scanning angle of the emission.
Karpf disclosed in Fig. 1, [0037], a swept laser 12 output a wavelength swept light source 14 about a frequency w0. Frequency doubling is then performed on the swept light source by using nonlinear mechanisms such optical parametric oscillators (OPOs); [0029]-[0030], disclosed an advantage of using a swept source laser operating in the visible wavelength range by frequency-doubling the entire sweep of a near-infrared swept source laser include rapid and adjustable sweeping speeds (up to several MHz), broadband coverage, and narrow instantaneous linewidth; [0031], the technology may be employed for high speed imaging, since the swept source output can be diffracted by an optical grating to produce a wavelength dependent angle scan which results in a rapid beam steering mechanism at the speed of the wavelength sweep reach above the MHz range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng, include further comprising a control circuit controlling tuning of the at least one wavelength of the electromagnetic radiation to implement beam steering of the emission at sub-Hz to MHz speed over the scanning angle of the emission taught by Karpf with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is including an optical grating with a swept source output to produce a wavelength dependent angle scan which results in a rapid beam steering mechanism up to MHz range (Karpf; [0029]-[0031], [0037]).
Regarding claim 16, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 14.
Leo does not teach,
wherein the control circuit is further configured for outputting the electromagnetic radiation comprising pulses ranging from nanosecond to femtosecond pulse lengths useful for time of flight (TOF) measurements in addition to the beam steering of the beam.
Karpf disclosed in [0035], [00153], pulse modulator provides pulse duration of less than about 10 ns or less than about 1 ns or less than about 100 ps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng, include further comprising a control circuit controlling tuning of the at least one wavelength of the electromagnetic radiation to implement beam steering of the emission at sub-Hz to MHz speed over the scanning angle of the emission; wherein the control circuit is further configured for outputting the electromagnetic radiation comprising pulses ranging from nanosecond to femtosecond pulse lengths useful for time of flight (TOF) measurements in addition to the beam steering of the beam taught by Karpf with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that the pulse modulator is configured to provide different pulse durations (10ns, leas then 1ns, or less than 100ps) for different application.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leo, modified in view of Feng, in view of Karpf, in view of Duport (US 20220404472 A1, hereinafter “Duport”).
Regarding claim 15, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 14.
Leo does not teach,
wherein the control circuit is further configured to provide frequency-modulated continuous wave (FMCW) modulation of the electromagnetic radiation as well as beam steering of the electromagnetic radiation.
Karpf disclosed in Fig. 1, [0037], a swept laser 12 output a wavelength swept light source 14 about a frequency w0. Frequency doubling is then performed on the swept light source by using nonlinear mechanisms such optical parametric oscillators (OPOs); [0029]-[0030], disclosed an advantage of using a swept source laser operating in the visible wavelength range by frequency-doubling the entire sweep of a near-infrared swept source laser include rapid and adjustable sweeping speeds (up to several MHz), broadband coverage, and narrow instantaneous linewidth; [0031], the technology may be employed for high speed imaging, since the swept source output can be diffracted by an optical grating to produce a wavelength dependent angle scan which results in a rapid beam steering mechanism at the speed of the wavelength sweep reach above the MHz range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng, include further comprising a control circuit controlling tuning of the at least one wavelength of the electromagnetic radiation to implement beam steering of the emission at sub-Hz to MHz speed over the scanning angle of the emission; the control circuit is further configured to provide beam steering of the electromagnetic radiation taught by Karpf with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is including an optical grating with a swept source output to produce a wavelength dependent angle scan which results in a rapid beam steering mechanism up to MHz range (Karpf; [0029]-[0031], [0037]).
However, Leo modified in view of Feng, in view of Karpf still not teach,
wherein the control circuit is further configured to provide frequency-modulated continuous wave (FMCW) modulation of the electromagnetic radiation
Duport disclosed in Fig. 5, [0080], the laser assembly is an optical parametric oscillator (OPO) comprising a single laser source 21; [0061], the trigger of the laser pulses (or the frequency modulation in the case where the one or more laser sources of the laser assembly are frequency-modulated continuous-wave laser source).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng, include further comprising a control circuit controlling tuning of the at least one wavelength of the electromagnetic radiation to implement beam steering of the emission at sub-Hz to MHz speed over the scanning angle of the emission taught by Karpf, include the control circuit is further configured to provide frequency-modulated continuous wave (FMCW) modulation of the electromagnetic radiation as well as beam steering of the electromagnetic radiation taught by Duport with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using the laser with frequency modulated continuous-wave (FMCW) laser source for determining the distance of the object which has advantages including continuous transmission, low power operation, superior range resolution, dynamic range, simultaneous distance and velocity measurement, reduced blooming and improve reliability.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leo, modified in view of Feng, in view of Laenen et al. (“Generation of synchronized, independently tunable 120fs light pulses with optical parametric oscillators” Optical letter, J. Opt. Soc. Am., vol. 19, No. 19, Oct. 1, 1994 (Oct. 1, 1994), pp. 1553-1555, US, hereinafter “Laenen”).
Regarding claim 18, Leo as modified above teaches the device as recited to claim 1.
Leo does not teach,
wherein the OPO is configured to output the electromagnetic radiation comprising a frequency comb or a pulse having a duration in a range of 1 fs to 1 ns.
Laenen disclosed in column 1, paragraph 2, a shortening to 120fs for the output of a non-cw OPO synchronously pumped by 500fs pulses of an additive pulse mode locked Nd:glass laser. Furthermore, demonstrate parallel operation of two similar OPO’s with easy angle turning and synchronization on the femtosecond time scale.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Leo to include the beam steering device taught by Feng, include wherein the OPO is configured to output the electromagnetic radiation comprising a frequency comb or a pulse having a duration in a range of 1 fs to 1 ns taught by Laenen with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using OPO to output fs duration pulse laser predictably has ultra-high peak power, minimal heat-affected zone, exceptional precision and resolution for various application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maleki et al. (US 20220021454 A1) disclosed in Fig. 1, [0025], a photonic device includes an optical parametric oscillator based optical sources 102.
Hochberg et al. (US 20100187442 A1) disclosed in [0134], the steering device is based on a phased array that can be fabricated on a planar photonic integrated circuit; Fig. 19, [0135], shows a top view of one exemplary embodiment of a planar integrated photonic circuit beam steering device 100 suitable for use in a LIDAR application; Fig. 21, [0138], a vertical coupling section of a grating coupler 301 based beam steering array.
Speck et al. (US 20150211984 A1) disclosed in Fig. 5D, [0046], a pulsed laser source 500 that includes an OPO that itself includes a nonlinear crystal 512 that is formed having several channels, each channel having different poling period within the nonlinear crystal 512.
Akselrod et al. (US 10665953 B1) disclosed in Fig. 6, column 8, line 28, a simulation 600 of a beam-steering metasurface with optical radiation incident at -70 degrees and reflected at -10degrees, both measured relative to a vector normal to the metasurface.
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645