DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 71-72,76-77,80-84,88-89 and 92-93 are pending in the application. Claims 73-75,78,79,85-87,90 and 91 are cancelled in the amendment filed 11/24/25.
Any objections and/or rejections from previous office actions that have not been reiterated in this office action are obviated.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimers were approved on 12/3/25.
Drawings
The petition to accept colored drawings was accepted on 6/17/25.
Double Patenting
Claims 71-72,76-77,80-84,88-89 and 92-93 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 42-46,53-55,58-62 and 64-67 of copending Application No. 18/553,092 as stated in the office action mailed 6/2/25.
The Applicant asserts that the instant Application has the earlier term filing date with respect to Application No. 18/553,092. Applicant request withdrawal of the nonstatutory double patenting rejection at this time as they believe the claims are in condition for allowance.
The instant claims are not in condition for allowance at this time and therefore, the rejection is maintained.
New Grounds of Objection/Rejection
Claim Objections
Claim 76 is objected to because of the following informalities: the instant claim 76 is a duplicate of the instant claim 72. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 88 is objected to because of the following informalities: the instant claim 88 is a duplicate of the instant claim 84. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 71-72,76-77,80-84,88-89 and 92-93 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansen et al. (US2014/0357650A1) in view of Zimmerman et al. (US2010/0098633A1), Pomper et al. (US2012/0009121A1) and Dvořáková et al. (J. Med. Chem. 2017, 60, 8385-8393) and in further view of Dennis Wertz Chemistry - A Molecular Science (eBook) 3rd edition: Custom Labs (2014) https://www.webassign.net/question_assets/wertzcams3/bond_lengths/manual.html.
Jansen et al. (US2014/0357650A1) discloses FAP inhibitors having the structures
(abstract; p3, [0024]; p9, [0102]) that encompasses the FAP-α targeting moiety A of the instant claims.
The
moiety comprises a 5 to 10-membered N-containing aromatic ring, etc., such as
(p4, [0032]; p6, [0088]; p9, [0101]; p12, [0173]). The 4-quinolinoyl ring displays the best results with regards to FAP-affinities and reveals the pivotal importance of the nitrogen’s position (p41, [0633]) that encompasses the quinoline ring having a point of attachment to the remainder of the FAP-α targeting moiety at the 4-position of the quinolinyl ring of the instant claims.
The R1 and R2 moieties comprise H, halogen, etc. (p3, [0025]; p5, [0070-0071]; p9, [0103]).
The term halogen is generic for fluoro, etc. (p11, [0150]; p9, TABLE 2) that encompasses the fluoro of the instant claims.
The R1 and R2 comprise H and fluoro that encompass the corresponding R1x and R2x are H and
fluoro of the instant claims.
The R3 moiety comprises -CN, etc. (p4, [0026]; p5, [0072]; p9, [0104]; p14, [0194-0195]) that encompasses the corresponding R3x is -CN of the instant claims.
The R4 is H, etc. (p4, [0027]; p6, [0073]; p9, [0105]; p15, [0197]) that encompasses the corresponding R4x is H of the instant claims.
The n is 0,1,2, or 3 (p4, [0032]; p6, [0078],[0087]; p10, [0111],[0122]; p11, [0132],[0144]; p15, [0202]).
The
moiety (n is 0) encompasses the moiety
moiety when v = 0 of the FAP-α targeting moiety of the instant claims.
The R5-R7 are H, etc. (p4, [0028],[0038]; p6, [0074]; p9, [0106]) that encompass the
corresponding R5x-R7x are H of the instant claims.
The inhibitors may comprise stereoisomers, salts, etc. (p3, [0024]; p10, [0113]) and encompass the stereoisomers and salts of the instant claims.
Jansen et al. does not disclose a chelating group, optionally comprising a radionuclide.
Zimmerman et al. (US2010/0098633A1) discloses small radiopharmaceutical seprase inhibitors
(α-FAP) comprising a complex containing a proline moiety and a metal chelate to chelate a radionuclide (abstract; p1, [0002],[0007]).
The radiopharmaceuticals have a functionalized proline moiety structure
adapted for radioimaging and/or radiotherapy (abstract; p1, [0008]; p6, [0087]).
The U comprises -CN, etc. (p1, [0010]; p6, [0089]).
The G comprises G is H, etc. (p1, [0011]; p6, [0090]).
The V is a bond, a group of formula
, etc. (p1, [0012]; p6, [0091]).
The m is an integer from 0 to 6 (p1, [0018]; p6, [0096]).
The n is an integer from 0 to 6 (p1, [0017]; p6, [0095]).
The metal chelate is a chelating moiety that coordinates with a radionuclide/metal including a radionuclide for PET, SPECT, such as 99mTc, 64Cu, 67Cu, etc. (p1, [0019-0020]; p2, [0029]; p3, [0048-0049]; p6, [0098-0099]).
The chelating moiety comprises tetra-azacyclododecanetetra-acetic acid (DOTA), for example
(p7, [0100]; p43, compounds 22,23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a DOTA derivative to the FAP inhibitors of Jansen et al. by binding a carboxyl moiety of DOTA to an amine moiety of the FAP-α targeting moiety to form an amide bond as Zimmerman et al. teaches of bonding a DOTA derivative chelating moieties, such as
to a FAP-α targeting moiety to yield a FAP-α inhibitor. A 99mTc, 64Cu, 67Cu DOTA-substituted FAP-α targeting moiety provides the advantage of radioimaging and/or radiotherapy via PET or SPECT, with a reasonable expectation of success, as the expression of FAP-α on tumors makes it an attractive target to exploit for imaging and targeted radiotherapy Zimmerman et al. (p1, [0005]).
Jansen et al. does not disclose low molecular weight or that the linker is bound to the carbon atom 6 of the quinolinyl ring.
Pomper et al. (US2012/0009121A1) discloses targeting therapeutic compounds and imaging
agents for prostate cancer and cancer angiogenesis (p2, [0012]). The therapeutic compounds and imaging agents have low molecular weight (p2, [0012] wherein the low molecular weight inhibitors show promise in pre-clinical imaging studies, may have better access to tumors than larger antibodies, and have greater cellular retention and (p1, [0008]; p2, [0012]; p44, [0242]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare low molecular weight DOTA-substituted FAP inhibitors with high affinity and selectivity for FAP to yield imaging agents and/or therapeutic agents with the advantage of increased uptake in tumors and improved cellular retention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Jansen et al. further discloses that the quinolinyl moiety may be substituted at the position 6,7,8 or 9
(p12, [0172]; p16, [0215]).
Dvořáková et al. (J. Med. Chem. 2017, 60, 8385-8393) discloses anti-FAP iBody FAP inhibitors
comprising
wherein R is H or F and n is 5 or 15 (Figure 2).
The anti-FAP iBody is for imaging of FAP-expressing cells (p8387, left column, first full paragraph; p8387, Use of Anti-FAP iBody 1 for detection and visualization of FAP; p8387, Application of Anti-FAP iBody 1 for imaging of FAP-expressing cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to examine the linker of Dvořáková et al. comprising a terminal amine for binding FAP-specific inhibitors to a metal chelating moiety for radiolabeling the FAP-α targeting moiety as FAP is a promising target for the diagnosis and treatment of cancer (Dvořáková et al. abstract). Also, Dvořáková et al. examined various PEG linkers to bind FAP-α targeting moieties for successful site specific targeting wherein Pomper et al. teaches that low molecular weight FAP inhibitors have the benefits of high affinity and selectivity for FAP and are advantageous as imaging and/or therapeutic agents due to increased uptake in tumors and improved cellular retention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the linker of Dvořáková et al. at the position 6 of the quinoline moiety
of Jansen et al. with a reasonable expectation of success as Jansen et al. teaches that the quinolinyl moiety may be substituted at the position 6.
Jansen et al. does not disclose the linker L has the length of greater than lysine to [Symbol font/0x7E]33Å.
Dennis Wertz Chemistry - A Molecular Science (eBook) 3rd edition: Custom Labs (2014)
https://www.webassign.net/question_assets/wertzcams3/bond_lengths/manual.html discloses
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the linker of Dvořáková et al. of the FAP-specific inhibitor is at the carbon 7 of the quinolinyl ring and is used for binding a chelating moiety for the advantage of radioimaging and/or radiotherapy, comprises a length of 26.19 Å when n is 5 and is greater than lysine as the length of the
linker can be calculated via the bond lengths of the table of Dennis Wertz.
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts that the point of attachment of the FAP-α targeting moiety to the linker is through carbon atom 6 of the quinolinyl ring.
The reference of Jansen et al. teaches that the quinolinyl moiety may be substituted at the position 6,7,8 or 9
(p12, [0172]; p16, [0215]).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed at this time.
/MELISSA J PERREIRA/Examiner, Art Unit 1618