DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 11, 15, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 3, 6, 6, and 6, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,156,302. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 4, 3, 6, 6, and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,156,302 “anticipate” Application claims 1, 2, 3, 11, 15, and 19, respectively. Accordingly, Application claims 1, 2, 3, 11, 15, and 19 are not patentably distinct from Patent claims 1, 4, 3, 6, 6, and 6, respectively.
Patent claim 1 Requires:
A tub and shower diverter assembly comprising: a manifold sub-assembly configured to be detachably coupled to, and in fluid communication with, an existing waterway connector of a conventional tub and shower diverter system, the manifold sub-assembly comprising: a manifold; a first flow control valve coupled to the manifold, the first flow control valve configured to provide a flow of water to one of a tub or a shower device; a second flow control valve coupled to the manifold, the second flow control valve configured to provide a flow of water to the other of the tub or the shower device; a first tolerance adjustor adjustably coupled to the first flow control valve; and a second tolerance adjustor adjustably coupled to the second flow control valve; wherein the first tolerance adjustor is configured to be selectively adjusted to change an axial position of the first tolerance adjustor relative to a wall adjacent the manifold sub-assembly; wherein the second tolerance adjustor is configured to be selectively adjusted to change an axial position of the second tolerance adjustor relative to the wall.
Application claim 1 Requires:
A tub and shower diverter assembly comprising: a manifold sub-assembly configured to be detachably coupled to, and in fluid communication with, an existing waterway connector of a conventional tub and shower diverter system, the manifold sub-assembly comprising: a manifold; a flow control valve coupled to the manifold, the flow control valve configured to provide a flow of water to a tub or a shower device; and a tolerance adjustor coupled to the flow control valve, wherein the tolerance adjustor is configured to be selectively adjusted to change an axial position of the tolerance adjustor relative to a wall adjacent the manifold sub-assembly.
Thus, it is apparent that the more specific Patent claim 1 encompasses Application claim 1. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the above paragraph, where Applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, Applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Note that since Application claim 1 is anticipated by Patent claim 1 and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then Application claim 1 is obvious over Patent claim 1.
Similarly, claims 2, 3, 11, 15, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4, 3, 6, 6, and 6, respectively, for the same reason set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-11, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0313066) in view of Feng (Pub. No. US 2015/0308086).
Regarding claim 1, Ye et al. disclose a tub and shower diverter assembly (Figs. 1-27) comprising: a manifold sub-assembly (Fig. 5) configured to be in fluid communication with a conventional tub and shower diverter system (4), the manifold sub-assembly comprising: a manifold (40); a flow control valve (42) coupled to the manifold (40), the flow control valve (42) configured to provide a flow of water to a tub or a shower device (paragraph 118); and a tolerance adjustor (44) coupled to the flow control valve (42), wherein the tolerance adjustor (44) is configured to be selectively adjusted to change an axial position (paragraph 121) of the tolerance adjustor (44) relative to a wall (1) adjacent the manifold sub-assembly, but lacks disclosure wherein the manifold sub-assembly is configured to be detachably coupled to, and in fluid communication with, an existing waterway connector of the conventional tub and shower diverter system.
Feng teaches a tub and shower diverter assembly (Figs. 1-31) comprising a manifold sub-assembly (3) that is configured to be detachably coupled to, and in fluid communication with, an existing waterway connector (2) of a conventional tub and shower diverter system (paragraph 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Ye et al. with a manifold sub-assembly detachably coupled to an existing waterway as taught by Feng, for the advantage of replacing the manifold sub-assembly conveniently without the need to switch off the main valve (paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 2, Ye et al. disclose the tub and shower diverter assembly (Figs. 1-27), further comprising an escutcheon (45) and a push button (452) coupled to the escutcheon (45), wherein the push button (452) abuts (paragraph 134) the tolerance adjustor (44).
Regarding claim 3, Ye et al. disclose the tub and shower diverter assembly (Figs. 1-27), wherein the tolerance adjustor (44) comprises an adapter (442) and an extension (441), and wherein the extension (441) is threadably coupled (paragraph 122) to the adapter (442) and the adapter (442) is coupled to a stem (421) of the flow control valve (42).
Regarding claim 4, Ye et al. disclose the tub and shower diverter assembly (Figs. 1-27), wherein the axial position of the tolerance adjustor (44) is configured to be selectively adjusted by rotating (threaded connection, paragraph 122) the extension (441) relative to the adapter (442).
Regarding claim 9, Ye et al. disclose the tub and shower diverter assembly (Figs. 1-27), wherein the flow control valve (42) is configured to be actuated by push-button (452, paragraph 134).
Regarding claim 10, Ye et al. disclose the tub and shower diverter assembly (Figs. 1-27), further comprising a diverter assembly (Figs. 1-27, paragraphs 116-118), the diverter assembly including an escutcheon (45), a push button assembly (452), and a handle assembly (48).
Regarding claim 11, Ye et al. disclose a tub and shower diverter assembly (Figs. 1-27) comprising: a manifold sub-assembly (Fig. 5) configured to be in fluid communication with a conventional tub and shower diverter system (4), the manifold sub-assembly comprising: a manifold (40) including an opening (405, Fig. 6) configured to receive a mixing valve (41) therein; and a flow control valve (42) housed within a flow control valve housing (406 or 407) defined by the manifold (40), but lacks disclosure wherein the manifold sub-assembly is fluidly coupled to an existing waterway connector of the conventional tub and shower diverter system, the manifold sub-assembly including an inlet/outlet portion configured to be received in the existing waterway connector and an opening positioned opposite the inlet/outlet portion, the flow control valve housing positioned opposite the inlet/outlet portion and next to the opening configured to receive the mixing valve.
Feng teaches a tub and shower diverter assembly (Figs. 1-31) comprising a manifold sub-assembly (3) that is configured to be detachably coupled to, and in fluid communication with, an existing waterway connector (2) of a conventional tub and shower diverter system (paragraph 34), wherein the manifold sub-assembly (3) comprises an inlet/outlet portion (bottom portion of 3, Fig. 5) configured to be received in the existing water connector (2), an opening (Figs. 14-18) positioned opposite the inlet/outlet portion (Fig. 5) configured to receive a mixing valve (4), and a flow control valve housing (at 36) configured to receive a flow control valve (37), wherein the flow control housing (at 36) is positioned opposite the inlet/outlet portion (Fig. 5) and next to the opening (Figs. 14-18) configured to receive the mixing valve (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Ye et al. with a manifold sub-assembly detachably coupled to an existing waterway as taught by Feng, for the advantage of replacing the manifold sub-assembly conveniently without the need to switch off the main valve (paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 13, Feng (modified above) teach wherein the inlet/outlet portion (Fig. 5) comprises: at least one inlet port (31) configured to be fluidly coupled to an inlet (21); and at least one outlet port (32) configured to be fluidly coupled to an outlet (22).
Regarding claim 14, Ye et al. modified with the teachings of Feng disclose the essential features of the claimed invention but lack disclosure wherein the manifold comprises one or more sealing members configured to sealingly engage the existing waterway connector so as to create a substantially watertight seal therebetween.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have one or more sealing members between the manifold and the existing waterway connection of Feng, since the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art of fluid handling to have a seal in between fluidly coupled structures to prevent any leakage.
Regarding claim 15, Ye et al. disclose the tub and shower diverter assembly (Figs. 1-27), further comprising a tolerance adjustor (44) coupled to the flow control valve (42), wherein the tolerance adjustor (44) is configured to be selectively adjusted to change an axial position (paragraph 121) of the tolerance adjustor (44) relative to a wall (1) adjacent the manifold sub-assembly (40).
Regarding claim 16, Ye et al. disclose the tub and shower diverter assembly (Figs. 1-27), wherein the tolerance adjustor (44) comprises an adapter (442) and an extension (441), and wherein the extension (441) is threadably coupled (paragraph 122) to the adapter (442) and the adapter is coupled to a stem (421) of the flow control valve (42).
Regarding claim 17, Ye et al. disclose the tub and shower diverter assembly (Figs. 1-27), further comprising an escutcheon (45) and a push button (452) coupled to the escutcheon (45), wherein the push button (452) abuts (paragraph 134) the tolerance adjustor (44).
Regarding claim 18, Ye et al. disclose the tub and shower diverter assembly (Figs. 1-27), further comprising a diverter assembly (Figs. 1-27), the diverter assembly (paragraphs 116-118) including an escutcheon (45), a push button assembly (452), and a handle assembly (48).
Regarding claim 19, Ye et al. disclose a manifold sub-assembly (Figs. 1-27) for a tub and shower diverter system (4), the manifold sub-assembly comprising: a manifold (40) including a flow control valve (42) coupled to the manifold (40), the flow control valve (42) configured to provide a flow of water to a tub or a shower device (paragraph 118); and a tolerance adjustor (44) coupled to the flow control valve (42), wherein the tolerance adjustor (44) is configured to be selectively adjusted to change an axial position (paragraph 121) of the tolerance adjustor (44) relative to a wall (1) adjacent the manifold sub-assembly, but lacks disclosure wherein the manifold includes an inlet/outlet portion configured to be received in an existing waterway connector, and the flow control valve positioned opposite the inlet/outlet portion.
Feng teaches a tub and shower diverter assembly (Figs. 1-31) comprising a manifold sub-assembly (3) that is configured to be detachably coupled to, and in fluid communication with, an existing waterway connector (2) of a conventional tub and shower diverter system (paragraph 34), wherein the manifold sub-assembly (3) comprises an inlet/outlet portion (bottom portion of 3, Fig. 5) configured to be received in the existing water connector (2), and a flow control valve housing (at 36) configured to receive a flow control valve (37), wherein the flow control housing (at 36) is positioned opposite the inlet/outlet portion (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Ye et al. with a manifold sub-assembly detachably coupled to an existing waterway as taught by Feng, for the advantage of replacing the manifold sub-assembly conveniently without the need to switch off the main valve (paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 20, Ye et al. disclose the manifold sub-assembly (Figs. 1-27), wherein the tolerance adjustor (44) comprises an adapter (442) and an extension (441), and wherein the extension (441) is threadably coupled (paragraph 122) to the adapter (442) and the adapter (442) is coupled to a stem (421) of the flow control valve (42).
Claim(s) 5-8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0313066) in view of Feng (Pub. No. US 2015/0308086), and further in view of Niver (Pub. No. US 2014/0261779).
Regarding claim 5, Ye et al. modified with the teachings of Feng disclose the essential features of the claimed invention but lack disclosure wherein the manifold includes an inlet/outlet portion having a generally frusto-conical shape that is complementary to a central opening of the existing waterway connector.
Niver teaches a manifold subassembly (Figs. 1-8) comprising an inlet/outlet portion (110) that has a generally frustoconical shape (Fig. 1) that is complementary to a central opening of the waterway connector (paragraph 47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the shape of inlet/outlet portion of Ye et al. to have a generally frustoconical shape as taught by Niver since such a modification would provide another alignment option (paragraph 47). A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 6, Feng (modified above) teach wherein the inlet/outlet portion (Fig. 5) comprises: at least one inlet port (31) configured to be fluidly coupled to an inlet (21); and at least one outlet port (32) configured to be fluidly coupled to an outlet (22).
Regarding claim 7, Feng (modified above) teach wherein the manifold (3) comprises an opening (Figs. 14-18) configured to receive a mixing valve (4), the opening (Figs. 14-18) positioned opposite the inlet/outlet portion (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Ye et al. modified with the teachings of Feng disclose the essential features of the claimed invention but lack disclosure wherein the manifold comprises one or more sealing members configured to sealingly engage the existing waterway connector so as to create a substantially watertight seal therebetween.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have one or more sealing members between the manifold and the existing waterway connection of Feng, since the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art of fluid handling to have a seal in between fluidly coupled structures to prevent any leakage.
Regarding claim 12, Ye et al. modified with the teachings of Feng disclose the essential features of the claimed invention but lack disclosure wherein the inlet/outlet portion has a generally frusto-conical shape that is complementary to a central opening of the existing waterway connector.
Niver teaches a manifold subassembly (Figs. 1-8) comprising an inlet/outlet portion (110) that has a generally frustoconical shape (Fig. 1) that is complementary to a central opening of the waterway connector (paragraph 47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the shape of inlet/outlet portion of Ye et al. to have a generally frustoconical shape as taught by Niver since such a modification would provide another alignment option (paragraph 47). A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miyagi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,235,353) disclose a tub and shower diverter assembly having a push button with a tolerance adjuster.
Johnson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,718,103) disclose a tub and shower diverter assembly having an escutcheon connected to a push button of a manifold.
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753