DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 12-20, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nanno et al (U.S. Pub. 2017/0229680) in view of Sakurai et al (U.S. Pub. 2008/0207478)
Regarding claim 1, an ink jet printing apparatus, the apparatus comprising: a base (21) (Figure 1; Paragraph 0092); a stage (ST)
A first column part (22a) disposed on the base; a second column part (22b) disposed on the base and spaced apart from the first column part in the first direction (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0092-0093)
A head part (30) configured to eject ink on the substrate at a fixed position and disposed on the stage (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0082, 0095)
A head management part (60) disposed between the first column part and the second column part and capable of moving in a second direction (y-axis) intersecting the first direction (x-axis) (66 – carriage is movable in the y-axis; Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0114; Figure 2)
Nanno discloses a stage but does not expressly disclose a stage capable of moving a substrate in a first direction. Sakurai discloses a moving table movable in an x-axis direction and a y-axis direction (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0020-0024)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sakurai into the device of Nanno, for the purpose of allowing the flexibility of the substrate to be properly positioned for ink ejection operations and/or allowing the moving table to be moved to a loading/unloading position for the substrate.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the head management part is spaced apart from the head part in a plan view (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 3, wherein the head part defines a workspace to which the ink is ejected, wherein the workspace overlaps the head part in a plan view (Figure 2)
Sakurai discloses wherein after the head part ejects the ink on the substrate, the stage moves in the first direction so as to move away from the workspace (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0020-0024)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sakurai into the device of Nanno, for the purpose of allowing the flexibility of the substrate to be properly positioned for ink ejection operations and/or allowing the moving table to be moved to a loading/unloading position for the substrate.
Regarding claim 4, after the stage moves in the first direction away from the work space, the head management part moves in the second direction toward the work space (carriage 66 is movable in the y-axis to perform inspection with the camera 64; Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0114; Figure 2)
Sakurai discloses the stage moves in the first direction so as to move away from the workspace (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0020-0024)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sakurai into the device of Nanno, for the purpose of allowing the flexibility of the substrate to be properly positioned for ink ejection operations and/or allowing the moving table to be moved to a loading/unloading position for the substrate.
Regarding claim 5, a head management apparatus configured to manage the head part; and a head management frame (65) on which the head management apparatus is loaded (Figure 2; carriage 66 is movable in the y-axis to perform inspection with the camera 64; Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0114-0015; Figure 2)
Regarding claim 6, wherein the head management frame is adjacent to each of the first column part and the second column part in the first direction and has a U-shape in a side view (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 8, a sub-head management part (66) spaced apart from the stage in the first direction and capable of moving in the first direction (Figure 2; Gantry 65 and carriage 66 are movable in the y-axis and x-axis directions; Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0114-0115)
Regarding claim 9, the sub-head management part moves in the first direction toward the workspace (Figure 2; Gantry 65 and carriage 66 are movable in the y-axis and x-axis directions; Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0114-0115)
Sakurai discloses the stage moves in the first direction so as to move away from the workspace (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0020-0024)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sakurai into the device of Nanno, for the purpose of allowing the flexibility of the substrate to be properly positioned for ink ejection operations and/or allowing the moving table to be moved to a loading/unloading position for the substrate.
Regarding claim 12, an ink supply part (44b, 44g, 44r) configured to supply the ink to the head part and disposed on the head part (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0101-0102)
Regarding claim 13, wherein the head part is supported by a first structure (33) (Figure 2; Paragraph 0098); wherein the ink supply part is supported by a second structure (25) different from the first structure and wherein the first structure and the second structure are spaced apart from each other (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0093-0094)
Regarding claim 14, wherein each of the first column part (22a) and the second column part (22b) is provided in plural; wherein the plurality of first column parts are spaced apart from each other in the second direction; and wherein the plurality of second column parts are spaced apart from each other in the second direction (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 15, a first bridge disposed on the plurality of first column parts, extending in the second direction, and connecting the plurality of first column parts; and a second bridge disposed on the plurality of second column parts, extending in the second direction, and connecting the plurality of second column parts (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 16, wherein the head part (30) is fixed by the first bridge and the second bridge (head part 30 is connected to two bridges [25, 65] by the guide shafts [23a, 23b]) (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 17, an ink jet printing method, the method comprising: providing a stage (ST) disposed on a base (21) and on which a substrate is loaded, a first column part (22a) and a second column part (22b) spaced apart from each other in a first direction and disposed on the base, a head part (30) disposed on the stage, and a head management part (60) disposed between the first column part and the second column part (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0092-0093)
Ejecting ink on the substrate by the head part while a position of the head part is fixed (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0082, 0095)
Transporting the head management part in a second direction intersecting the first direction to overlap the head part in a plan view (66 – carriage is movable in the y-axis; Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0114; Figure 2)
Nanno discloses a stage but does not expressly disclose a stage capable of moving a substrate in a first direction. Sakurai discloses a moving table movable in an x-axis direction and a y-axis direction (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0020-0024)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sakurai into the device of Nanno, for the purpose of allowing the flexibility of the substrate to be properly positioned for ink ejection operations and/or allowing the moving table to be moved to a loading/unloading position for the substrate.
Regarding claim 18, wherein when the head management part is disposed between the first column part and the second column part, the head management part is spaced apart from the head part in the plan view (Figure 2)
Regarding claim 19, wherein the head part defines a workspace to which the ink is ejected, wherein the workspace overlaps the head part in the plan view (Figure 2)
Sakurai discloses wherein after the head part ejects the ink on the substrate, the stage moves in the first direction so as to move away from the workspace (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0020-0024)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sakurai into the device of Nanno, for the purpose of allowing the flexibility of the substrate to be properly positioned for ink ejection operations and/or allowing the moving table to be moved to a loading/unloading position for the substrate.
Regarding claim 20, after the stage moves in the first direction away from the work space, the head management part moves in the second direction toward the work space (carriage 66 is movable in the y-axis to perform inspection with the camera 64; Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0114; Figure 2)
Sakurai discloses the stage moves in the first direction so as to move away from the workspace (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0020-0024)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sakurai into the device of Nanno, for the purpose of allowing the flexibility of the substrate to be properly positioned for ink ejection operations and/or allowing the moving table to be moved to a loading/unloading position for the substrate
Regarding claim 22, providing a sub-head management part (66) spaced apart from the stage in the first direction before the transporting of the substrate in the first direction (Figure 2; Gantry 65 and carriage 66 are movable in the y-axis and x-axis directions; Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0114-0115)
Regarding claim 23, transporting the sub-head management part in the first direction so as to overlap the head part in the plan view after the ejecting of the ink on the substrate (Figure 2; Gantry 65 and carriage 66 are movable in the y-axis and x-axis directions; Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0114-0115)
Claim(s) 7, 10-11, 21, 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nanno et al (U.S. Pub. 2017/0229680) as modified by Sakurai et al (U.S. Pub. 2008/0207478) and further in view of Barrett (U.S. Pub. 2019/0061384)
Regarding claims 7, 21, Nanno discloses an inspection unit (64) configured to inspect the head part (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0111, 0114-0115)
Barrett discloses it is known in the art to incorporate a nozzle cleaning gantry to clean the nozzles of the print head (Paragraphs 0016, 0084, 0092)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Barrett into the device of Nanno as modified by Sakurai, for the purpose of maintaining a high-quality image forming device
Regarding claim 10, wherein the sub-head management part includes an inspection unit (64) configured to inspect the head part (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0111, 0114-0115)
Barrett discloses it is known in the art to incorporate a nozzle cleaning gantry to clean the nozzles of the print head (Paragraphs 0016, 0084, 0092)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Barrett into the device of Nanno as modified by Sakurai, for the purpose of maintaining a high-quality image forming device
Regarding claim 11, Nanno discloses an inspection unit (64) configured to inspect the head part (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0111, 0114-0115)
Barrett discloses it is known in the art to incorporate a nozzle cleaning gantry to clean the nozzles of the print head (Paragraphs 0016, 0084, 0092). Nanno further in view of Barrett discloses it is known to incorporate an inspection unit and a cleaning unit within the management parts
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Barrett into the device of Nanno as modified by Sakurai, for the purpose of maintaining a high-quality image forming device
Regarding claim 24, Nanno discloses an inspecting part (64) after transporting of the sub-management part in the first direction (Figure 2; Gantry 65 and carriage 66 are movable in the y-axis and x-axis directions; Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0114-0115)
Barrett discloses it is known in the art to incorporate a nozzle cleaning gantry to clean the nozzles of the print head (Paragraphs 0016, 0084, 0092). Nanno further in view of Barrett discloses it is known to incorporate an inspection unit and a cleaning unit within the management parts, wherein the gantry 65 is movable in the x-axis and y-axis directions; (Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0114-0115)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Barrett into the device of Nanno as modified by Sakurai, for the purpose of maintaining a high-quality image forming device
Regarding claim 25, Nanno discloses an inspecting part (64) after transporting of the sub-management part in the second direction (Figure 2; Gantry 65 and carriage 66 are movable in the y-axis and x-axis directions; Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0114-0115)
Barrett discloses it is known in the art to incorporate a nozzle cleaning gantry to clean the nozzles of the print head (Paragraphs 0016, 0084, 0092). Nanno further in view of Barrett discloses it is known to incorporate an inspection unit and a cleaning unit within the management parts, wherein the gantry 65 is movable in the x-axis and y-axis directions; (Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0114-0115)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Barrett into the device of Nanno as modified by Sakurai, for the purpose of maintaining a high-quality image forming device
Conclusion
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 July 8, 2026