DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified but untranslated copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17979262, filed on 12/16/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “CARRIER STRUCTURE CONTAINING PINS WITHIN POSITIONING HOLES ADJACENT TO NOTCHED TRACES”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12219693. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they were parent and child application with continuity and cover the same subject matter where the claims are basically identical.
US 18991932
US 12219693
1. A carrier structure being defined with a main area and a peripheral area adjacent to the main area, the carrier structure comprising: a plurality of packaging substrates disposed in the main area; a plurality of positioning holes disposed in the peripheral area; and at least one positioning trace disposed in the peripheral area and arranged along one of the plurality of positioning holes.
2. The carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the at least one positioning trace is free from surrounding entire edges of the one of the plurality of positioning holes to form a notch.
3. The carrier structure of claim 2, wherein the notch of the at least one positioning trace is facing toward the main area.
4. The carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the at least one positioning trace is arranged on edges of the one of the plurality of positioning holes away from sides of the main area.
5. The carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of positioning holes are circular, and the at least one positioning trace surrounds a semicircular edge of the one of the plurality of positioning holes and presents a semicircular arc.
6. The carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of positioning holes are circular, and the at least one positioning trace surrounds a quarter-circular edge of the one of the plurality of positioning holes and presents a quarter-circular arc.
7. The carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of positioning holes are circular, and the at least one positioning trace surrounds most of edges of the one of the plurality of positioning holes and not arranged at top of an arc of the one of the plurality of positioning holes.
8. The carrier structure of claim 1, further comprising an insulating protective layer covering the peripheral area and the main area, wherein the insulating protective layer is formed with a plurality of openings, and the plurality of positioning holes and the at least one positioning trace are exposed from the plurality of openings.
9. The carrier structure of claim 8, wherein shapes of the plurality of openings are corresponding to contour shapes formed by the plurality of positioning holes and the at least one positioning trace on edges of the one of the plurality of positioning holes.
10. The carrier structure of claim 8, wherein shapes of the plurality of openings are symmetrical.
11. The carrier structure of claim 8, wherein shapes of the plurality of openings are asymmetrical.
1. A carrier structure being defined with a main area and a peripheral area adjacent to the main area, the carrier structure comprising:
a plurality of packaging substrates disposed in the main area;
a plurality of positioning holes disposed in the peripheral area; and
a plurality of positioning traces disposed in the peripheral area and arranged along a part of edges of the plurality of positioning holes.
2. The carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of positioning traces are free from surrounding entire edges of the plurality of positioning holes to form notches.
3. The carrier structure of claim 2, wherein the notches of the plurality of positioning traces are facing toward the main area.
4. The carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of positioning traces are arranged on the edges of the plurality of positioning holes away from sides of the main area.
5. The carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of positioning holes are circular, and the plurality of positioning traces surround semicircular edges of the plurality of positioning holes and present semicircular arcs.
6. The carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of positioning holes are circular, and the plurality of positioning traces surround quarter-circular edges of the plurality of positioning holes and present quarter-circular arcs.
7. The carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of positioning holes are circular, and the plurality of positioning traces surround most of the edges of the plurality of positioning holes and not arranged at top of arcs of the positioning holes.
8. The carrier structure of claim 1, further comprising an insulating protective layer covering the peripheral area and the main area, wherein the insulating protective layer is formed with a plurality of openings, and the plurality of positioning holes and the plurality of positioning traces are exposed from the plurality of openings.
9. The carrier structure of claim 8, wherein shapes of the plurality of openings are corresponding to contour shapes formed by the plurality of positioning holes and the plurality of positioning traces on the edges of the positioning holes.
10. The carrier structure of claim 8, wherein shapes of the plurality of openings are symmetrical.
11. The carrier structure of claim 8, wherein shapes of the plurality of openings are asymmetrical.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US6246015) in view of Tokura (US5418691).
Regarding Claim 1. KIM teaches, in FIG. 1a-7, a carrier structure being defined with a main area (middle area where 19’ is disposed) and a peripheral area (area where 18 is disposed/placed) adjacent to the main area, the carrier structure comprising: a plurality of packaging substrates (area where 19’ is located) disposed in the main area; a plurality of positioning holes (18) disposed in the peripheral area; but does not disclose at least one positioning trace disposed in the peripheral area and arranged along one of the plurality of positioning holes.
Tokura teaches, in Fig. 1-9, 12-17, at least one positioning trace (3) disposed in the peripheral area (see Kim above) and arranged along one (2) of the plurality of positioning holes (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the carrier structure as disclosed by KIM with the at least one positioning trace as disclosed by Tokura in order to provide reinforcement for the hole (Tokura, column 3 lines 18-20).
Regarding Claim 2. KIM and Tokura teaches the carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the at least one positioning trace is free from surrounding entire edges of the one of the plurality of positioning holes to form a notch (see Tokura, Fig. 1-9, 12-17).
Regarding Claim 3. KIM and Tokura teaches the carrier structure of claim 2, wherein the notch of the at least one positioning trace is facing toward the main area (see Tokura, Fig. 1-9, 12-17)(rearrangement of parts- rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Regarding Claim 4. KIM and Tokura teaches the carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the at least one positioning trace is arranged on edges of the one of the plurality of positioning holes away from sides of the main area (see Tokura, Fig. 1-9, 12-17)(rearrangement of parts- rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950))..
Regarding Claim 5. KIM and Tokura teaches the carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of positioning holes are circular (see Tokura, Fig. 1-9, Fig. 12-17), and the at least one positioning trace surrounds a semicircular edge of the one of the plurality of positioning holes and presents a semicircular arc (see Tokura, Fig. 1-9, Fig. 12-17).
Regarding Claim 6. KIM and Tokura teaches the carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of positioning holes are circular (see Tokura, Fig. 1-9, Fig. 12-17), but does not disclose the at least one positioning trace surrounds a quarter-circular edge of the one of the plurality of positioning holes and presents a quarter-circular arc.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to change the shape of the positioning trace is quarter-circular in order to reduce the amount of material needed for the trace as known in the art, since it has been held that changing the shape of an object is routine to one of ordinary skill in the art if persuasive evidence is absent that the particular configuration of the claimed object is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding Claim 7. KIM and Tokura teaches the carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of positioning holes are circular (see Tokura, Fig. 1-9 and 12-17), but does not disclose the at least one positioning trace surrounds most of edges of the one of the plurality of positioning holes and not arranged at top of an arc of the one of the plurality of positioning holes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to change the shape of the positioning trace to cover most of the edges of the positioning holes and not arranged at the top of an arc in order to prevent unnecessary electrical noise from being generated as known in the art, since it has been held that changing the shape of an object is routine to one of ordinary skill in the art if persuasive evidence is absent that the particular configuration of the claimed object is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Tokura in view of Wyatt (CN107211526).
Regarding Claim 8. KIM and Tokura teaches the carrier structure of claim 1, further comprising but does not disclose an insulating protective layer covering the peripheral area and the main area, wherein the insulating protective layer is formed with a plurality of openings, and the plurality of positioning holes and the at least one positioning trace are exposed from the plurality of openings.
Wyatt teaches, in Fig. 4, an insulating protective layer (404, 408) covering the peripheral area and the main area, wherein the insulating protective layer is formed with a plurality of openings (see Fig. 4), and the plurality of positioning holes and the at least one positioning trace are exposed from the plurality of openings (see Fig. 4) (page 4 last paragraphs- page 5 first paragraph).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the carrier structure as disclosed by Kim and Tokura with the insulating protective layer as disclosed by Wyatt in order to provide delay/protection/Operations and electrically isolate the layer from external influences (Wyatt, page 3 paragraph 2).
Regarding Claim 10. KIM, Tokura and Wyatt teaches the carrier structure of claim 8, wherein shapes of the plurality of openings are symmetrical (Wyatt, see Fig. 4, diagonal slice/fold from top to bottom).
Regarding Claim 11. KIM, Tokura and Wyatt teaches the carrier structure of claim 8, wherein shapes of the plurality of openings are asymmetrical (Wyatt, see Fig. 4, horizontal or vertical slice/ fold).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US6246015) in view of WYATT (CN107211526).
Regarding Claim 1. KIM teaches, in FIG. 1a-7, a carrier structure being defined with a main area (middle area where 19’ is disposed) and a peripheral area (area where 18 is disposed/placed) adjacent to the main area, the carrier structure comprising: a plurality of packaging substrates (area where 19’ is located) disposed in the main area; a plurality of positioning holes (18) disposed in the peripheral area; but does not disclose at least one positioning trace disposed in the peripheral area and arranged along one of the plurality of positioning holes.
WYATT teaches, in Fig. 1-3, at least one positioning trace (114, 120) disposed in the peripheral area (see Fig. 1) and arranged along one of the plurality of positioning holes (102, 110, 112).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the carrier structure as disclosed by KIM with the at least one positioning trace as disclosed by WYATT in order to prevent or minimize bending of the PCB (Wyatt, page 4- 5th paragraph above the last paragraph ).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is presented in the Notice of References Cited.
/MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847