DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-21 are pending.
Priority: 4/22/2009(provisional)
Assignee: Rambus
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,510,395. The following table shows the corresponding claims are obvious variants of each other.
18/991,946
10,510,395
2. A memory controller integrated circuit, comprising: an interface to couple the memory controller integrated circuit, via a conductive link, to a dynamic random access memory (DRAM) device having banks, including a first bank and a second bank; and logic to, via the interface, issue data access commands to the DRAM device, wherein the data access commands include commands addressed to a first one of the banks and commands addressed to a second one of the banks; wherein the logic is to sequence the issuance of the commands addressed to the second one of the banks, relative to issuance of the commands addressed to the first one of the banks, in a manner dependent on progress information, received from the DRAM device, indicating that the first one of the banks is undergoing a refresh operation.
A memory controller integrated circuit (IC) to control a dynamic random access memory (DRAM) device, the memory controller IC comprising: interface circuitry to command the DRAM device to perform a refresh operation on a selected bank of the DRAM device; wherein the memory controller IC is to observe a first time interval from completion of the refresh operation on the selected bank before sending a command directed to the selected bank via the interface circuitry; and wherein the interface circuitry is to issue a command directed to a bank of the DRAM device other than the selected bank using a second time interval from completion of the refresh operation on the selected bank, the second time interval being shorter than the first time interval.
3. The memory controller integrated circuit of claim 2, wherein: a period is to expire following receipt of the progress information and prior to transmission of an ensuing self-refresh command, the period being at least a first time interval when the selected one is the first one of the banks; and a second time interval when the selected one is the second one of the banks; and wherein the first time interval is greater than the second time interval.
2. The memory controller IC of claim 1, wherein: the interface circuitry is to exchange the commands with the DRAM device via calibrated links, each calibrated link operating at a first data rate; in a low power state, the DRAM device is to disable exchange of commands with the interface circuitry at the first data rate; and in the low power state, the DRAM device is to perform a self-refresh operation.
4. The memory controller integrated circuit of claim 2, wherein the refresh operation is a self-refresh operation and wherein the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises logic operable to specify to the DRAM device in association with the self-refresh operation a selective incrementing order to be applied in performing the self-refresh operation.
3. The memory controller IC of claim 2, wherein: the interface circuitry is further to supply a clock signal to the DRAM device, and to freeze the clock signal when the DRAM device is in the low power state; and the memory controller IC is further to selectively communicate one or more commands to the DRAM device when the DRAM device is in the low power state in a manner that exchanges data with the DRAM device at a data rate that is slower than the first data rate.
5. The memory controller integrated circuit of claim 2, wherein the conductive link is a differential link, and wherein the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises a serializer, the data access commands being issued to the DRAM device as differential, serialized information.
4. The memory controller IC of claim 3, wherein the one or more commands that are to be selectively communicated to the DRAM device when the DRAM device is in the low power state include one or more refresh commands, and wherein the one or more refresh commands are to be transmitted to the memory device via at least one uncalibrated sideband link.
6. The memory controller integrated circuit of claim 2, wherein the banks are a first group of banks, wherein the DRAM device comprises a second group of banks, and wherein the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises logic operable to selectively place a first one of the first set of banks and the second set of banks into a low power mode, in which the calibrated data transfer between the memory controller integrated circuit and the respective first set of banks or second set of banks is disabled, and wherein the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises logic to transmit a refresh command, to the DRAM device, the refresh commands being directed to a second one of the first set of banks or the second set of banks during the low power mode.
5. The memory controller IC of claim 1, wherein the interface circuitry to command the DRAM device to perform the refresh operation on the selected bank of the DRAM device is to explicitly specify an address of the selected bank via a refresh command issued to the DRAM device.
9. The memory controller IC of claim 1, wherein the command directed to a bank of the DRAM device other than the selected bank is a refresh command, such that the memory controller IC is to await a first time interval from completion of the refresh operation before sending the refresh command to the selected bank via the interface circuitry, and can send the refresh command to the bank of the DRAM device other than the selected bank at a second, shorter time interval from completion of the refresh operation.
7. The memory controller integrated circuit of claim 6, wherein: the interface is a first interface, and is to couple the memory controller integrated circuit to the DRAM device to issue commands to the first set of banks, the conductive link being a first conductive link; the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises a second interface to couple the memory controller integrated circuit, via a second conductive link, to the DRAM device, to issue commands to the second set of banks.
6. The memory controller IC of claim 1, wherein further, the memory controller IC is to explicitly command the DRAM device to perform the refresh operation on a basis that is a selective one of a refresh operation where the DRAM device progresses incrementally through row addresses of the selected bank, or a refresh operation where the DRAM device progresses incrementally through all banks for a given row address before proceeding to a next row address.
8. The memory controller integrated circuit of claim 6, wherein the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises logic operable to transmit, to the DRAM device, auto-refresh commands which are respective to each of the first set of banks and the second set of banks.
7. The memory controller IC of claim 1, wherein the memory controller IC further has logic to receive from the DRAM device information identifying whether a refresh operation is in progress on the memory device.
9. The memory controller integrated circuit of claim 2, wherein: the interface is a command interface; the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises a data interface, the data interface operable to transfer data with the DRAM device at a first data rate; the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises logic to place the DRAM device into a selective one of a normal data transmission mode, in which the DRAM device is operable to transfer data with the memory controller integrated circuit at the first data rate, and a low power mode, in which the DRAM device is disabled from transferring data with the memory controller integrated circuit at the first data rate; and the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises logic operable to transmit, to the DRAM device, in association with the low power mode, a command for the DRAM device to perform a refresh operation.
8. The memory controller IC of claim 1, wherein the interface circuitry is further to exchange mask information with the DRAM device via the interface circuitry, wherein the banks of the DRAM device further comprise at least eight banks, and wherein each command of read commands and write commands exchange by the memory controller IC is to specify a bank address.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3, 9, 10-14, 16, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 9, 10, 21, the term “first data rate” is unsupported by the specification. The applicant should point out where and how this term is supported, or delete the term.
Regarding claims 3, 11, 16 the following limitations are unsupported by the specification:
memory controller integrated circuit, wherein: a period is to expire following receipt of the progress information and prior to transmission of an ensuing self-refresh command, the period being at least a first time interval when the selected one is the first one of the banks; and a second time interval when the selected one is the second one of the banks; and wherein the first time interval is greater than the second time interval.
Paras. 0012, 0013, 0024, 0025 contain subject matter related to timing, delays and intervals, but the elements of the claims are unsupported. The interpretation of refresh duration between banks is the interpretation for prior art purposes.
Claim(s) 9, 10-14, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9, 10 and 21 cites the limitation: “place the DRAM device into a selective one of a normal data transmission mode, in which the DRAM device is operable to transfer data with the memory controller integrated circuit at the first data rate”. It is ambiguous, vague, incoherent or otherwise unclear what the normal transmission mode refers to. In 0015 the term “normal operating state” is used, and in 0017 the term “normal auto-refresh state” is used. Both terms apparently refer to an active mode as opposed to a low-power mode, which is what is assumed in the interpretation. The applicant should either change the term or elaborate on the term in the claims to make it more consistent with the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-10, 12-15, 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ware et al.(2008/0028127), and further in view of Remaklus et al.(2005/0265103)
As per claim 2, Ware discloses:
A memory controller integrated circuit(Ware, [0025 -- FIG. 3 illustrates a more specific embodiment of a cross-threaded memory system 200 in which buffer devices (205I-205L and 206) and memory devices 207W-207Z may be disposed within multi-chip-package memory subsystems 203.sub.1-203.sub.4.]), comprising:
an interface to couple the memory controller integrated circuit, via a conductive link, to a dynamic random access memory (DRAM) device having banks, including a first bank and a second bank(Ware, [0019 -- Each of the buffer devices 103 may include multiple control interfaces 115 (designated A-D) each coupled to a respective one of the requestors 101A-101D via an n-conductor signal path 102, and also multiple memory interfaces 117 each coupled to a respective one of the memory devices 105W-105Z via an m-conductor signaling path 104]);
and logic to, via the interface, issue data access commands to the DRAM device, wherein the data access commands include commands addressed to a first one of the banks and commands addressed to a second one of the banks(Ware, [0026 -- For purposes of example, the memory devices 207 may be synchronous double-data rate (DDR) DRAM devices that respond to commands and addresses received at CA interface 214, by outputting read and receiving write data via data interface 212]);
Ware does not explicitly disclose the following, however Remaklus discloses:
wherein the logic is to sequence the issuance of the commands addressed to the second one of the banks, relative to issuance of the commands addressed to the first one of the banks(Remaklus, [0034 -- Since the memory controller 120 does not know when this last bank was refreshed, the memory controller 120 directs the volatile memory 110 to perform an auto-refresh operation on the next bank, BankY+1, that is due for refresh as soon as practicable.], [0035 -- Hence, after the volatile memory 110 exits the self-refresh mode, information relating to the bank address and the row address of the last refreshed row and bank is available to the memory controller 120 from the exit row address latch 230 and the exit bank address latch 220. The memory controller 120 can then utilize this information for future operations accordingly.), in a manner dependent on progress information, received from the DRAM device(Remaklus, [0034 -- The memory controller 120 retrieves the content of the exit bank address latch 220 and then uses it to identify the last bank that the volatile memory 110 refreshed prior to exiting self-refresh mode.]), indicating that the first one of the banks is undergoing a refresh operation(Remaklus, [0010 -- During periods of non-use, the memory controller may place the memory in the self-refresh mode. In the self-refresh mode, the memory uses its own internal clock and refresh address counter to generate refreshes to refresh the row(s) of the memory. This method is good for saving power during idle states since the self-refresh mode can be used.], [0034 -- Since the memory controller 120 does not know when this last bank was refreshed, the memory controller 120 directs the volatile memory 110 to perform an auto-refresh operation on the next bank, BankY+1, that is due for refresh as soon as practicable.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of invention to incorporate the features of Remaklus into the system of Ware for the benefit of providing seamless self-refresh for banks of volatile memories efficiently(Remaklus, [0014]).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, in addition, Ware discloses:
a memory controller integrated circuit;
Ware does not explicitly disclose the following, however Remaklus discloses:
memory controller integrated circuit(Remaklus, [0032 -- FIG. 1 shows an arrangement 100 that can be used to practice the seamless refresh method.]), wherein the refresh operation is a self-refresh operation and wherein the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises logic operable to specify to the DRAM device in association with the self-refresh operation a selective incrementing order to be applied in performing the self-refresh operation(Remaklus, [0060 -- Furthermore, during each self-refresh operation, the entry bank address latch 210 is incremented by the refresh trigger 530. By incrementing the entry bank address latch 210, the bank address is updated to identify the next target bank to be refreshed.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of invention to incorporate the features of Remaklus into the system of Ware for the benefit of providing seamless self-refresh for banks of volatile memories efficiently(Remaklus, [0014]).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, in addition, Ware discloses:
a memory controller integrated circuit(Ware, [0025 -- FIG. 3 illustrates a more specific embodiment of a cross-threaded memory system 200 in which buffer devices (205I-205L and 206) and memory devices 207W-207Z may be disposed within multi-chip-package memory subsystems 203.sub.1-203.sub.4.]);
wherein the conductive link is a differential link(Ware, [0041 -- Following the timing and path-width examples described in reference to FIGS. 3-5, each high-speed serial interface 402 may include a single-link, differential signal receiver to sample an incoming serial data signal at 2 Gb/s.]), and wherein the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises a serializer, the data access commands being issued to the DRAM device as differential, serialized information(Ware, [0041 -- Data buffer 400 includes four conversion circuits 401.sub.1-401.sub.4, each having a high-speed serial interface 402 to support serialized read and write data transfer to/from a respective memory access requester (e.g., a respective one of four CPUs 201A-201D in FIG. 3), and a lower-speed parallel-I/O memory interface 432 to support parallel read and write data transfer to/from a respective one of memory devices W-Z (e.g., memory devices 207W-207Z in FIG. 3).]).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, in addition, Ware discloses:
a memory controller integrated circuit;
Ware does not explicitly disclose the following, however Remaklus discloses:
a memory controller integrated circuit(Remaklus, [0032 -- FIG. 1 shows an arrangement 100 that can be used to practice the seamless refresh method.]);
wherein the banks are a first group of banks, wherein the DRAM device comprises a second group of banks, and wherein the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises logic operable to selectively place a first one of the first set of banks and the second set of banks into a low power mode, in which the calibrated data transfer between the memory controller integrated circuit and the respective first set of banks or second set of banks is disabled(Remaklus, [0012 -- In one embodiment, a seamless refresh method is provided which allows a specific bank to be identified for the first self-refresh operation upon a memory entering self-refresh mode; the refresh method also allows information relating to the last refreshed bank to be conveyed to a memory controller upon the memory exiting self-refresh mode.], [0032 -- In one embodiment, a seamless refresh method is provided which allows a specific bank to be identified for the first self-refresh operation upon a memory entering self-refresh mode; the refresh method also allows information relating to the last refreshed bank to be conveyed to a memory controller upon the memory exiting self-refresh mode.]), and wherein the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises logic to transmit a refresh command, to the DRAM device, the refresh commands being directed to a second one of the first set of banks or the second set of banks during the low power mode(Remaklus, [0033 -- When the memory controller 120 commands the volatile memory 110 to enter self-refresh mode, the memory controller 120 signals to the volatile memory 110 which bank to refresh next by using a target bank address. The target bank address is loaded into the entry bank address latch 210.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of invention to incorporate the features of Remaklus into the system of Ware for the benefit of providing seamless self-refresh for banks of volatile memories efficiently(Remaklus, [0014]).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, in addition, Ware discloses:
the interface is a first interface, and is to couple the memory controller integrated circuit to the DRAM device to issue commands to the first set of banks, the conductive link being a first conductive link(Ware, [0019 -- Each of the buffer devices 103 may include multiple control interfaces 115 (designated A-D) each coupled to a respective one of the requestors 101A-101D via an n-conductor signal path 102, and also multiple memory interfaces 117 each coupled to a respective one of the memory devices 105W-105Z via an m-conductor signaling path 104]);
the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises a second interface to couple the memory controller integrated circuit, via a second conductive link, to the DRAM device, to issue commands to the second set of banks(Ware, [0019 -- Each of the buffer devices 103 may include multiple control interfaces 115 (designated A-D) each coupled to a respective one of the requestors 101A-101D via an n-conductor signal path 102, and also multiple memory interfaces 117 each coupled to a respective one of the memory devices 105W-105Z via an m-conductor signaling path 104]).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, in addition, Ware discloses:
a memory controller integrated circuit;
Ware does not explicitly disclose the following, however Remaklus discloses:
wherein the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises logic operable to transmit, to the DRAM device, auto-refresh commands which are respective to each of the first set of banks and the second set of banks(Remaklus, [0040 -- The memory controller 120 may direct the volatile memory 110 to auto-refresh a specific memory bank within the volatile memory 110 while other memory banks remain available for access. For each auto-refresh cycle initiated by the memory controller 120, the bank address 470 may be loaded by the memory controller 120 (see FIG. 1) into the entry bank address latch 210. The bank address 470 is used to select one of the banks 410 for refresh.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of invention to incorporate the features of Remaklus into the system of Ware for the benefit of providing seamless self-refresh for banks of volatile memories efficiently(Remaklus, [0014]).
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, in addition, Ware discloses:
a memory controller integrated circuit(Ware, [0025 -- FIG. 3 illustrates a more specific embodiment of a cross-threaded memory system 200 in which buffer devices (205I-205L and 206) and memory devices 207W-207Z may be disposed within multi-chip-package memory subsystems 203.sub.1-203.sub.4.]);
wherein: the interface is a command interface(Ware, [0026 -- Each memory device 207 may include a control logic circuit 211 having a data interface 212 and a command/address (CA) interface 214]);
the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises a data interface, the data interface operable to transfer data with the DRAM device at a first data rate(Ware, [0026 -- Each memory device 207 may include a control logic circuit 211 having a data interface 212 and a command/address (CA) interface 214, i.e. a transfer of data implies data rate]);
Ware does not explicitly disclose the following, however Remaklus discloses:
the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises logic to place the DRAM device into a selective one of a normal data transmission mode, in which the DRAM device is operable to transfer data with the memory controller integrated circuit at the first data rate(Remaklus, [0040 -- The memory controller 120 may direct the volatile memory 110 to auto-refresh a specific memory bank within the volatile memory 110 while other memory banks remain available for access. For each auto-refresh cycle initiated by the memory controller 120, the bank address 470 may be loaded by the memory controller 120 (see FIG. 1) into the entry bank address latch 210.]), and a low power mode, in which the DRAM device is disabled from transferring data with the memory controller integrated circuit at the first data rate(Remaklus, [0048 -- When the volatile memory 110 is commanded into self-refresh mode, the volatile memory 110 begins to generate refreshes internally using the bank address currently stored in the entry bank address latch 210 from the point where the memory controller 120 left off issuing the last auto-refresh command to the volatile memory 110.]);
and the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises logic operable to transmit, to the DRAM device, in association with the low power mode, a command for the DRAM device to perform a refresh operation(Remaklus, [0034 -- FIG. 3 shows that in Cycle "2" the memory controller 120 issues the command to place the volatile memory 110 in self-refresh mode indicating that the memory's first self-refresh cycle is to be performed on a specific bank, BankX. Then, at Cycle "m+1", the volatile memory 110 exits self-refresh mode and loads the bank address of the last refreshed bank, BankY, into the exit bank address latch 220.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of invention to incorporate the features of Remaklus into the system of Ware for the benefit of providing seamless self-refresh for banks of volatile memories efficiently(Remaklus, [0014]).
As per claim 10, Ware discloses:
A memory controller integrated circuit, comprising:
a first interface to couple the memory controller integrated circuit, via a first conductive link, to a first set of banks of a dynamic random access memory (DRAM) device(Ware, [0019 -- Each of the buffer devices 103 may include multiple control interfaces 115 (designated A-D) each coupled to a respective one of the requestors 101A-101D via an n-conductor signal path 102, and also multiple memory interfaces 117 each coupled to a respective one of the memory devices 105W-105Z via an m-conductor signaling path 104]);
a second interface to couple the memory controller integrated circuit, via a second conductive link, to a second set of banks of the DRAM device(Ware, [0019 -- Each of the buffer devices 103 may include multiple control interfaces 115 (designated A-D) each coupled to a respective one of the requestors 101A-101D via an n-conductor signal path 102, and also multiple memory interfaces 117 each coupled to a respective one of the memory devices 105W-105Z via an m-conductor signaling path 104]);
Ware does not explicitly disclose the following, however Remaklus:
logic to place the DRAM device into a selective one of a normal data transmission mode, in which the DRAM device is operable to transfer data between the first set of banks and the memory controller integrated circuit at a first data rate(Remaklus, [0040 -- The memory controller 120 may direct the volatile memory 110 to auto-refresh a specific memory bank within the volatile memory 110 while other memory banks remain available for access. For each auto-refresh cycle initiated by the memory controller 120, the bank address 470 may be loaded by the memory controller 120 (see FIG. 1) into the entry bank address latch 210.]), and a low power mode, in which the DRAM device is disabled from transferring data between the first set of banks and the memory controller integrated circuit at the first data rate(Remaklus, [0048 -- When the volatile memory 110 is commanded into self-refresh mode, the volatile memory 110 begins to generate refreshes internally using the bank address currently stored in the entry bank address latch 210 from the point where the memory controller 120 left off issuing the last auto-refresh command to the volatile memory 110.]);
and logic to, via the first interface, issue data access commands to first set of banks of the DRAM device, and via the second interface, issue data access commands to the second set of banks of the DRAM device, wherein the data access commands issued to the first set of banks include commands addressed to a first bank and wherein the data access commands issued to the second set of banks include commands addressed to a second bank(Ware, [0021 -- In the particular embodiment of FIG. 1, each of the four memory devices 105W-105Z may include a memory core formed by four address-selectable memory banks 107P-107S (the banks being designated P, Q, R and S) and control logic 110 to store data within and retrieve data from the memory core in response to memory access commands.]);
Ware does not explicitly disclose the following, however Remaklus discloses:
logic Remaklus, [0034 -- Since the memory controller 120 does not know when this last bank was refreshed, the memory controller 120 directs the volatile memory 110 to perform an auto-refresh operation on the next bank, BankY+1, that is due for refresh as soon as practicable.], [0035 -- Hence, after the volatile memory 110 exits the self-refresh mode, information relating to the bank address and the row address of the last refreshed row and bank is available to the memory controller 120 from the exit row address latch 230 and the exit bank address latch 220. The memory controller 120 can then utilize this information for future operations accordingly.]), in a manner dependent on progress information, received from the DRAM device(Remaklus, [0034 -- The memory controller 120 retrieves the content of the exit bank address latch 220 and then uses it to identify the last bank that the volatile memory 110 refreshed prior to exiting self-refresh mode.]), indicating that the first bank is undergoing a refresh operation in association with the low power mode(Remaklus, [0010 -- During periods of non-use, the memory controller may place the memory in the self-refresh mode. In the self-refresh mode, the memory uses its own internal clock and refresh address counter to generate refreshes to refresh the row(s) of the memory. This method is good for saving power during idle states since the self-refresh mode can be used.], [0034 -- Since the memory controller 120 does not know when this last bank was refreshed, the memory controller 120 directs the volatile memory 110 to perform an auto-refresh operation on the next bank, BankY+1, that is due for refresh as soon as practicable.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of invention to incorporate the features of Remaklus into the system of Ware for the benefit of providing seamless self-refresh for banks of volatile memories efficiently(Remaklus, [0014]).
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, in addition, Ware discloses:
a memory controller integrated circuit;
Ware does not explicitly disclose the following, however Remaklus discloses:
a memory controller integrated circuit(Remaklus, [0032 -- FIG. 1 shows an arrangement 100 that can be used to practice the seamless refresh method.]);
wherein the refresh operation is a self-refresh operation and wherein the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises logic operable to specify to the DRAM device in association with the self-refresh operation a selective incrementing order to be applied in performing the self-refresh operation(Remaklus, [0060 -- Furthermore, during each self-refresh operation, the entry bank address latch 210 is incremented by the refresh trigger 530. By incrementing the entry bank address latch 210, the bank address is updated to identify the next target bank to be refreshed.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of invention to incorporate the features of Remaklus into the system of Ware for the benefit of providing seamless self-refresh for banks of volatile memories efficiently(Remaklus, [0014]).
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, in addition, Ware discloses:
a memory controller integrated circuit(Ware, [0025 -- FIG. 3 illustrates a more specific embodiment of a cross-threaded memory system 200 in which buffer devices (205I-205L and 206) and memory devices 207W-207Z may be disposed within multi-chip-package memory subsystems 203.sub.1-203.sub.4.]);
wherein each conductive link is a differential link(Ware, [0041 -- Following the timing and path-width examples described in reference to FIGS. 3-5, each high-speed serial interface 402 may include a single-link, differential signal receiver to sample an incoming serial data signal at 2 Gb/s.]), and wherein the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises, for each of the first interface and the second interface, a serializer, the data access commands being issued to the DRAM device via the respective first interface or second interface as differential, serialized information(Ware, [0041 -- Data buffer 400 includes four conversion circuits 401.sub.1-401.sub.4, each having a high-speed serial interface 402 to support serialized read and write data transfer to/from a respective memory access requester (e.g., a respective one of four CPUs 201A-201D in FIG. 3), and a lower-speed parallel-I/O memory interface 432 to support parallel read and write data transfer to/from a respective one of memory devices W-Z (e.g., memory devices 207W-207Z in FIG. 3).]).
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, in addition, Ware discloses:
a memory controller integrated circuit;
Ware does not explcitly disclose the following, however Remaklus discloses:
wherein the memory controller integrated circuit further comprises logic operable to transmit, to the DRAM device, auto-refresh commands which are respective to each of the first set of banks and the second set of banks(Remaklus, [0040 -- The memory controller 120 may direct the volatile memory 110 to auto-refresh a specific memory bank within the volatile memory 110 while other memory banks remain available for access. For each auto-refresh cycle initiated by the memory controller 120, the bank address 470 may be loaded by the memory controller 120 (see FIG. 1) into the entry bank address latch 210. The bank address 470 is used to select one of the banks 410 for refresh.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of invention to incorporate the features of Remaklus into the system of Ware for the benefit of providing seamless self-refresh for banks of volatile memories efficiently(Remaklus, [0014]).
As per claim 15, Ware discloses:
A method of operation in a memory controller integrated circuit(Ware, [0025 -- FIG. 3 illustrates a more specific embodiment of a cross-threaded memory system 200 in which buffer devices (205I-205L and 206) and memory devices 207W-207Z may be disposed within multi-chip-package memory subsystems 203.sub.1-203.sub.4.]), the memory controller integrated circuit having an interface to couple the memory controller integrated circuit, via a conductive link, to a dynamic random access memory (DRAM) device having banks, including a first bank and a second bank(Ware, [0019 -- Each of the buffer devices 103 may include multiple control interfaces 115 (designated A-D) each coupled to a respective one of the requestors 101A-101D via an n-conductor signal path 102, and also multiple memory interfaces 117 each coupled to a respective one of the memory devices 105W-105Z via an m-conductor signaling path 104]), the method comprising, using logic of the memory controller integrated circuit:
issuing data access commands to the DRAM device, wherein the data access commands include commands addressed to a first one of the banks and commands addressed to a second one of the banks(Ware, [0026 -- For purposes of example, the memory devices 207 may be synchronous double-data rate (DDR) DRAM devices that respond to commands and addresses received at CA interface 214, by outputting read and receiving write data via data interface 212]);
Ware does not explicitly disclose the following, however Remaklus discloses:
and sequencing the issuance of the commands addressed to the second one of the banks, relative to issuance of the commands addressed to the first one of the banks(Remaklus, [0034 -- Since the memory controller 120 does not know when this last bank was refreshed, the memory controller 120 directs the volatile memory 110 to perform an auto-refresh operation on the next bank, BankY+1, that is due for refresh as soon as practicable.], [0035 -- Hence, after the volatile memory 110 exits the self-refresh mode, information relating to the bank address and the row address of the last refreshed row and bank is available to the memory controller 120 from the exit row address latch 230 and the exit bank address latch 220. The memory controller 120 can then utilize this information for future operations accordingly), in a manner dependent on progress information, received from the DRAM device(Remaklus, [0034 -- The memory controller 120 retrieves the content of the exit bank address latch 220 and then uses it to identify the last bank that the volatile memory 110 refreshed prior to exiting self-refresh mode.]), indicating that the first one of the banks is undergoing a refresh operation(Remaklus, [0010 -- During periods of non-use, the memory controller may place the memory in the self-refresh mode. In the self-refresh mode, the memory uses its own internal clock and refresh address counter to generate refreshes to refresh the row(s) of the memory. This method is good for saving power during idle states since the self-refresh mode can be used.], [0034 -- Since the memory controller 120 does not know when this last bank was refreshed, the memory controller 120 directs the volatile memory 110 to perform an auto-refresh operation on the next bank, BankY+1, that is due for refresh as soon as practicable.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of invention to incorporate the features of Remaklus into the system of Ware for the benefit of providing seamless self-refresh for banks of volatile memories efficiently(Remaklus, [0014]).
Claim(s) 17 is directed to method steps that implement the system claim 4, and therefore the corresponding mappings are incorporated.
Claim(s) 18 is directed to method steps that implement the system claim 5, and therefore the corresponding mappings are incorporated.
Claim(s) 19 is directed to method steps that implement the system claim 6, and therefore the corresponding mappings are incorporated.
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated, in addition, Ware discloses:
wherein the interface is a first interface which couples the memory controller integrated circuit to the DRAM device to issue commands to a first set of banks, the conductive link being a first conductive link(Ware, [0019 -- Each of the buffer devices 103 may include multiple control interfaces 115 (designated A-D) each coupled to a respective one of the requestors 101A-101D via an n-conductor signal path 102, and also multiple memory interfaces 117 each coupled to a respective one of the memory devices 105W-105Z via an m-conductor signaling path 104]), wherein the memory controller integrated circuit further has a second interface which couples the memory controller integrated circuit, via a second conductive link, to the DRAM device to issue commands to the second set of banks(Ware, [0019 -- Each of the buffer devices 103 may include multiple control interfaces 115 (designated A-D) each coupled to a respective one of the requestors 101A-101D via an n-conductor signal path 102, and also multiple memory interfaces 117 each coupled to a respective one of the memory devices 105W-105Z via an m-conductor signaling path 104]),;
Ware does not explicitly disclose the following, however Remaklus discloses:
and wherein the method further comprises transmitting, to the DRAM device, auto-refresh commands which are respective to each of the first set of banks and the second set of banks(Remaklus, [0040 -- The memory controller 120 may direct the volatile memory 110 to auto-refresh a specific memory bank within the volatile memory 110 while other memory banks remain available for access. For each auto-refresh cycle initiated by the memory controller 120, the bank address 470 may be loaded by the memory controller 120 (see FIG. 1) into the entry bank address latch 210. The bank address 470 is used to select one of the banks 410 for refresh.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of invention to incorporate the features of Remaklus into the system of Ware for the benefit of providing seamless self-refresh for banks of volatile memories efficiently(Remaklus, [0014]).
Claim(s) 21 is directed to method steps that implement the system claim 9, and therefore the corresponding mappings are incorporated.
Claim(s) 3, 11, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ware et al.(2008/0028127), in view of Remaklus et al.(2005/0265103), and further in view of Ware et al.(2006/0004955, “Perego”)
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, in addition, Ware discloses:
A memory controller integrated circuit(Ware, [0025 -- FIG. 3 illustrates a more specific embodiment of a cross-threaded memory system 200 in which buffer devices (205I-205L and 206) and memory devices 207W-207Z may be disposed within multi-chip-package memory subsystems 203.sub.1-203.sub.4.])
Ware does not explicitly disclose the following, however Perego discloses:
memory controller integrated circuit(Perego, [0091 -- System 1000 includes a memory controller 1005 and a memory component 1010]), wherein: a period is to expire following receipt of the progress information and prior to transmission of an ensuing self-refresh command, the period being at least a first time interval when the selected one is the first one of the banks and a second time interval when the selected one is the second one of the banks; and wherein the first time interval is greater than the second time interval(Perego, [0108 -- Controller 1065 then refreshes rows 4 through 7 of banks 0 through 7, again in any order. This process continues until the last set of rows is refreshed. The time t.sub.REFROWSET allocated for refreshing each set of rows is approximately the t.sub.REF interval divided by the number of row sets. If, at the end of each t.sub.REFROWSET, there are rows of banks that had not been refreshed because the banks had been too heavily utilized by read and write transactions, then controller 1065 holds off subsequent data-access transactions until those banks had been refreshed. The row set size can vary from the minimum (one row of each bank) to the maximum (all rows of each bank).]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of invention to incorporate the features of Perego into the system of Ware for the benefit of avoiding lost clock cycles and improves electronic system efficiency and performance characteristics, even when the commands are transmitted at different times. (Perego, [0199]).
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, in addition, Ware discloses:
A memory controller integrated circuit(Ware, [0025 -- FIG. 3 illustrates a more specific embodiment of a cross-threaded memory system 200 in which buffer devices (205I-205L and 206) and memory devices 207W-207Z may be disposed within multi-chip-package memory subsystems 203.sub.1-203.sub.4.])
Ware does not disclose the following, however Perego discloses:
memory controller integrated circuit(Perego, [0091 -- System 1000 includes a memory controller 1005 and a memory component 1010]), wherein: a period is to expire following receipt of the progress information and prior to transmission of an ensuing self-refresh command, the period being at least a first time interval when the selected one is the first bank; and a second time interval when the selected one is the second bank and wherein the first time interval is greater than the second time interval(Perego, [0108 -- Controller 1065 then refreshes rows 4 through 7 of banks 0 through 7, again in any order. This process continues until the last set of rows is refreshed. The time t.sub.REFROWSET allocated for refreshing each set of rows is approximately the t.sub.REF interval divided by the number of row sets. If, at the end of each t.sub.REFROWSET, there are rows of banks that had not been refreshed because the banks had been too heavily utilized by read and write transactions, then controller 1065 holds off subsequent data-access transactions until those banks had been refreshed. The row set size can vary from the minimum (one row of each bank) to the maximum (all rows of each bank).]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of invention to incorporate the features of Perego into the system of Ware for the benefit of avoiding lost clock cycles and improves electronic system efficiency and performance characteristics, even when the commands are transmitted at different times. (Perego, [0199]).
Claim(s) 16 is directed to method steps that implement the system claim 3, and therefore the corresponding mappings are incorporated.
Examiner Notes
Ellis et al.(2005/0081543) where a refresh logic carries out refresh operation on a row within the storage array during time period during which no transactions are carried out by external memory controller(Ellis, 0031).
Conclusion
Arvind Talukdar
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2132
/ARVIND TALUKDAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2132