DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “drive wheel assemblies” in claims 1, 3, 11, and 13; “clamping arm assembly” in claims 1, 6, 11, and 13; “cutting and fastening assembly” in claims 1, 7, 8, 11, and 13; “electronics assembly” in claims 1, 11, and 12; “suspension assembly” in claims 4 and 5; “rolled material feed mechanism” in claims 7 and 9; “cutting wheel assembly” in claims 7 and 10.
The claim limitation “drive wheel assemblies” recites the generic placeholder “assemblies” coupled with the functional modifier “drive” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 5, shown in figure 1, and equivalents thereof.
The claim limitation “clamping arm assembly” recites the generic placeholder “assembly” coupled with the functional modifier “clamping” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 27, shown in figure 17, and equivalents thereof.
The claim limitation “cutting and fastening assembly” recites the generic placeholder “assembly” coupled with the functional modifier “cutting and fastening” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 8, shown in figure 17, and equivalents thereof.
The claim limitation “electronics assembly” recites the generic placeholder “assembly” coupled with the functional modifier “provide electric power and control signals” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 24, shown in figure 2, and equivalents thereof.
The claim limitation “suspension assembly” recites the generic placeholder “assembly” coupled with the functional modifier “suspension” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 16, shown in figure 4, and equivalents thereof.
The claim limitation “rolled material feed mechanism” recites the generic placeholder “mechanism” coupled with the functional modifier “feed” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 59, shown in figure 11, and equivalents thereof.
The claim limitation “cutting wheel assembly” recites the generic placeholder “assembly” coupled with the functional modifier “cut” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 63, shown in figure 19, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COTTAM (US 4,322,262) in view of SCHWARTZ et al. (US 2015/0259087) .
Regarding claim 1, COTTAM teaches an apparatus for wrapping rolled material on a cylindrical object comprising a frame 14 supporting a roll of material 89 with upper and lower vertices and an opening therein to receive the object, a plurality of pivoting drive wheel assemblies 44 near vertices, a clamping arm assembly 34, and a fastening assembly 26 and 65 (figs. 1, 4, and 6; col. 4, line 50 – col. 5, line 23). COTTAM does not teach a cutting assembly, but discloses cutting the tape after wrapping (col. 10, lines 3-24), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a cutting assembly in the apparatus in order to perform the cutting function disclosed. COTTOM does not teach an electronics assembly to provide power and control signals to the wheel, clamping arm, and cutting and fastening assemblies. SCHWARTZ teaches another apparatus for wrapping rolled material around an object, wherein the apparatus comprises a controller for actuating apparatus components (paras. 51-53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include an electronics assembly to power and control the apparatus components of COTTOM because such was a common means of automating apparatus functions in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 2, COTTOM teaches a roll pole 88 and platform 102 (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, COTTOM teaches the clamping arm assembly comprises an actuator arm 34 attached to the frame 14 that can move between an open and closed position (fig. 2), but does not teach a servo actuator coupled to the actuator arm and frame. SCHWARTZ teaches utilizing electric motors to move apparatus components (para. 47), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a servo actuator to move the actuator arm of COTTOM because such was a common means of automating steps (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 11, SCHWARTZ teaches another apparatus for wrapping rolled material around an object, wherein the apparatus comprises a controller for actuating apparatus components (paras. 51-53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include an electronics assembly to power and control the apparatus components of COTTOM because such was a common means of automating apparatus functions in the art (MPEP 2144.04). While SCHWARTZ does not describe the controller as a computer and battery, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that any electric controller would require a computer and utilizing a battery was a well-known means of providing power to a hand-held device at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 13, COTTAM teaches an apparatus for wrapping rolled material on a cylindrical object comprising a frame 14 supporting a roll of material 89 with upper and lower vertices and an opening therein to receive the object, a plurality of pivoting drive wheel assemblies 44 near vertices, a clamping arm assembly 34, and a fastening assembly 26 and 65 (figs. 1, 4, and 6; col. 4, line 50 – col. 5, line 23). COTTAM does not teach a cutting assembly, but discloses cutting the tape after wrapping (col. 10, lines 3-24), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a cutting assembly in the apparatus in order to perform the cutting function disclosed. COTTOM does not teach an electronics assembly to provide power and control signals to the wheel, clamping arm, and cutting and fastening assemblies. SCHWARTZ teaches another apparatus for wrapping rolled material around an object, wherein the apparatus comprises a controller for actuating apparatus components (paras. 51-53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include an electronics assembly to power and control the apparatus components of COTTOM because such was a common means of automating apparatus functions in the art (MPEP 2144.04). COTTOM teaches closing the clamping arm to retain and engage the object with the plural drive wheel assemblies, loading the roll of material onto the apparatus, rotating the drive wheel assemblies to move along the object axis, moving the apparatus along the object to a predetermined position, rotating the wheels to rotate around the object, moving the fastening assembly toward the object and dispensing an end of the material toward the object, fastening the end of the material to the object, moving the apparatus around the object and dispensing material to wrap the object, and cutting the dispensed roll material (col. 2, lines 34-39; col. 3, lines 31-36; col. 5, lines 11-22; col. 6, lines 51; figs. 1-2 and 8). COTTOM does not teach the cutting assembly is moved with the fastening assembly, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to move the components together because unifying components has been held per se obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-10, and 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest an apparatus as claimed wherein each of the plurality of pivoting drive wheel assemblies comprises a suspension assembly coupling the pivoting drive wheel assembly to the frame and a pivot motor coupled to the wheel tire via the wheel pivot axle, wherein operation of the pivot motor enables the tire to rotate about the pivot body; wherein the cutting and fastening assembly comprises a cutting block head that can move along a linear guide, where a fastener gun and cutting wheel assembly are disposed on the cutting block head; or wherein the electronics assembly further comprises a radio modem coupled to the computer capable of functioning as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: DOKMO (US 4,426,834) and DAYKIN et al. (US 2015/0259087).
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745