Detailed Action
2. This office action is in response to the filing with the office dated 01/07/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
4. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook et al (US 2015/0247742 A1) and in view of Matsukawa et al (JP H06325948 A).
Regarding independent Claim 1, Cook et al (US 2015/0247742 A1) teaches, A planar coil array comprising: a first planar coil having a first spiral shape in which a first conductor is wound around a first center left-handed or right-handed (figures 5A-5D, paragraph [0044]); and a second planar coil having a second spiral shape in which a second conductor on the same layer as the first conductor is wound around a second center in the same manner as the first planar coil and has an angular deviation from the first spiral shape (figures 5A-5D, clockwise and anti-clockwise windings, paragraph [0044]), disposed adjacent to the first planar coil in a predetermined direction (figures 5A-5D, clockwise and anti-clockwise windings, paragraph [0044]), and electrically connected to the first planar coil wherein the second center of the second planar coil is electrically connected to the first center of the first planar coil by a first connection conductor (figures 4A, 4B, 5A-5D, clockwise and anti-clockwise windings, centers N3A, N3B connected to common node N3, paragraph [0040]).
Cook et al does not explicitly teach by bending a flexible PCB.
Matsukawa et al (JP H06325948 A) teaches, a transformer with a desired turns of winding and a small wiring resistance, which can be manufactured at low cost, by setting up a coil at each frame and stacking it after bending each frame alternately at a fold serving as a centerline. CONSTITUTION: A planar coil C is constructed with a polyimide film sheet 1 on which a plurality of frames of the same form 3a, 3b... are formed by folds 2, 2... created in a direction intersecting orthogonally the longitudinal direction of the sheet 1, with coils 4a, 4b... set up, respectively, on frames 3a, 3b.... The coil 4a set up on each frame 3a to 3d is constructed by a conductive material in a spiral shape. To explain the direction of the winding in terms of the frame 3b, the starting end of the coil 4b is connected by a junction 5 of the conductive material to the final end of the coil 4a on the other frame 3a. At the same time, the final end of the coil 4b is connected by the junction 5 of the conductive material to the starting end of the coil 4c on the other frame 3c. Also, a hole is made in the center of each frame 3a to 3d (abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Cook et al by providing the coils on a flexible substrate which is bendable as taught by Matsukawa et al.
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that a coil portion is provided on each piece, and each piece can be easily bent to be laminated by alternately bending each piece around a fold line. Further, when a hole is provided at the center of each piece, a through hole into which a magnetic material can be inserted is formed, so that a highly efficient flat coil can be obtained, as taught by Matsukawa et al (paragraph [0041]).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Cook et al (US 2015/0247742 A1) and Matsukawa et al (JP H06325948 A) teach the planar coil array according to claim 1.
Cook et al further teaches, wherein a magnetic field line of a magnetic field generated by the planar coil array is orthogonal to an axis for bending (magnetic field direction is perpendicular to the plane of the substrate on which the coil array is located).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Cook et al (US 2015/0247742 A1) and Matsukawa et al (JP H06325948 A) teach the planar coil array according to claim 1.
Cook et al further teaches, wherein the planar coil array has a cylindrical three-dimensional shape by bending the flexible board such that one end portion and the other end portion in the predetermined direction approach each other or come into contact with each other (multilayer structure providing the same effect as bending the flexible board).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Cook et al (US 2015/0247742 A1) and Matsukawa et al (JP H06325948 A) teach the planar coil array according to claim 1.
Cook et al further teaches, further comprising: in addition to the first and second planar coils, a third planar coil disposed adjacent to the second planar coil in the predetermined direction and electrically connected to the second planar coil, and having the same spiral shape as that of the first planar coil spiral shape wound in the same manner as the first planar coil (paragraph [0039], figures 5C and 5D and paragraphs [0044]-[0047]), wherein when a center of the spiral shape in the third planar coil is defined as a third center, an end portion on a side of the third planar coil opposite to the third center and an end portion on a side of the second planar coil opposite to the second center are electrically connected, ([0039] the arrangement of displacement signal elements 405 may in one implementation consist of co-planar inductive coils that are fabricated in a metal layer of a printed circuit board (e.g., the printed circuit board 150 of the slider assembly 170). In one implementation, the printed circuit board may include at least two metal layers. As illustrated in FIG. 4A, a first or top layer may include traces for connecting a series of nodes N1-N4 to force sensing and driving circuitry (e.g., as may be included in the read head signal processing and control circuit 159). Please see figures 5C and 5D and paragraphs [0044]-[0047]).
Cook et al does not explicitly teach by the bending, the first, second, and third planar coils are formed in a three-dimensional shape of overlapping each other in a plan view when viewed from a direction orthogonal to the predetermined direction.
Matsukawa et al (JP H06325948 A) teaches, by the bending, the first, second, and third planar coils are formed in a three-dimensional shape of overlapping each other in a plan view when viewed from a direction orthogonal to the predetermined direction (a transformer with a desired turns of winding and a small wiring resistance, which can be manufactured at low cost, by setting up a coil at each frame and stacking it after bending each frame alternately at a fold serving as a centerline. CONSTITUTION:A planar coil C is constructed with a polyimide film sheet 1 on which a plurality of frames of the same form 3a, 3b... are formed by folds 2, 2... created in a direction intersecting orthogonally the longitudinal direction of the sheet 1, with coils 4a, 4b... set up, respectively, on frames 3a, 3b.... The coil 4a set up on each frame 3a to 3d is constructed by a conductive material in a spiral shape. To explain the direction of the winding in terms of the frame 3b, the starting end of the coil 4b is connected by a junction 5 of the conductive material to the final end of the coil 4a on the other frame 3a. At the same time, the final end of the coil 4b is connected by the junction 5 of the conductive material to the starting end of the coil 4c on the other frame 3c. Also, a hole is made in the center of each frame 3a to 3d (abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Cook et al by providing the coils on a flexible substrate which is bendable as taught by Matsukawa et al.
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that a coil portion is provided on each piece, and each piece can be easily bent to be laminated by alternately bending each piece around a fold line. . Further, when a hole is provided at the center of each piece, a through hole into which a magnetic material can be inserted is formed, so that a highly efficient flat coil can be obtained, as taught by Matsukawa et al (paragraph [0041]).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Cook et al (US 2015/0247742 A1) and Matsukawa et al (JP H06325948 A) teach the planar coil array according to claim 4.
Cook et al is silent about, wherein the planar coil array has a wavy cross-sectional structure in which each planar coil is folded back and the planar coils are stacked in a direction orthogonal to the predetermined direction.
Matsukawa et al (JP H06325948 A) teaches, a transformer with a desired turns of winding and a small wiring resistance, which can be manufactured at low cost, by setting up a coil at each frame and stacking it after bending each frame alternately at a fold serving as a centerline. CONSTITUTION:A planar coil C is constructed with a polyimide film sheet 1 on which a plurality of frames of the same form 3a, 3b... are formed by folds 2, 2... created in a direction intersecting orthogonally the longitudinal direction of the sheet 1, with coils 4a, 4b... set up, respectively, on frames 3a, 3b.... The coil 4a set up on each frame 3a to 3d is constructed by a conductive material in a spiral shape. To explain the direction of the winding in terms of the frame 3b, the starting end of the coil 4b is connected by a junction 5 of the conductive material to the final end of the coil 4a on the other frame 3a. At the same time, the final end of the coil 4b is connected by the junction 5 of the conductive material to the starting end of the coil 4c on the other frame 3c. Also, a hole is made in the center of each frame 3a to 3d (abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Cook et al by providing the coils on a flexible substrate which is bendable as taught by Matsukawa et al.
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that a coil portion is provided on each piece, and each piece can be easily bent to be laminated by alternately bending each piece around a fold line. Further, when a hole is provided at the center of each piece, a through hole into which a magnetic material can be inserted is formed, so that a highly efficient flat coil can be obtained, as taught by Matsukawa et al (paragraph [0041]).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Cook et al (US 2015/0247742 A1) and Matsukawa et al (JP H06325948 A) teach the planar coil array according to claim 4.
Cook et al further teaches, wherein the planar coil array has a roll-shaped cross-sectional structure which is wound in a roll shape and in which the planar coils are stacked in a direction orthogonal to the predetermined direction.
Matsukawa et al (JP H06325948 A) further teaches, a transformer with a desired turns of winding and a small wiring resistance, which can be manufactured at low cost, by setting up a coil at each frame and stacking it after bending each frame alternately at a fold serving as a centerline. CONSTITUTION:A planar coil C is constructed with a polyimide film sheet 1 on which a plurality of frames of the same form 3a, 3b... are formed by folds 2, 2... created in a direction intersecting orthogonally the longitudinal direction of the sheet 1, with coils 4a, 4b... set up, respectively, on frames 3a, 3b.... The coil 4a set up on each frame 3a to 3d is constructed by a conductive material in a spiral shape. To explain the direction of the winding in terms of the frame 3b, the starting end of the coil 4b is connected by a junction 5 of the conductive material to the final end of the coil 4a on the other frame 3a. At the same time, the final end of the coil 4b is connected by the junction 5 of the conductive material to the starting end of the coil 4c on the other frame 3c. Also, a hole is made in the center of each frame 3a to 3d (abstract). In order to reduce the size and weight of electric devices, miniaturized inductors and transformers have been used. A plane coil having a flattened coil shape is used for a miniaturized inductor or the like. In this plane coil, a conductive sheet and an insulating sheet are laminated and The laminated sheet is rolled into a roll to form a roll, and the roll is thinly sliced, or a vacuum film forming method such as a vacuum deposition method or a sputtering method to which a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus is applied. Is made of (paragraph [0002]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Cook et al by providing the coils on a flexible substrate which is bendable as taught by Matsukawa et al.
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that a coil portion is provided on each piece, and each piece can be easily bent to be laminated by alternately bending each piece around a fold line. Further, when a hole is provided at the center of each piece, a through hole into which a magnetic material can be inserted is formed, so that a highly efficient flat coil can be obtained, as taught by Matsukawa et al (paragraph [0041]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Cook et al (US 2015/0247742 A1) and Matsukawa et al (JP H06325948 A) teach the planar coil array according to claim 4.
Cook et al further teaches, a fourth planar coil disposed so as to overlap the first planar coil in a plan view when viewed from a direction orthogonal to the predetermined direction, having a spiral direction opposite to that of the first planar coil, and configured to be electrically connected to the first planar coil (figures 5A-5D, paragraphs [0039], [0044]-[0047]); a fifth planar coil disposed so as to overlap the second planar coil in the plan view when viewed from the direction orthogonal to the predetermined direction, having a spiral direction opposite to that of the second planar coil, and configured to be electrically connected to the second and fourth planar coils (figures 5A-5D, paragraphs [0039], [0044]-[0047]); a second connection conductor configured to electrically connect the first center of the first planar coil and a fourth center of the fourth planar coil (figures 5A-5D, paragraphs [0039], [0044]-[0047]); a third connection conductor configured to electrically connect the second center of the second planar coil to a fifth center of the fifth planar coil (figures 5A-5D, paragraphs [0039], [0044]-[0047]); and a fourth connection conductor that is configured to connect an end portion of the fourth planar coil on an opposite side of the fourth center to an end portion of the fifth planar coil on an opposite side of the fifth center, and is on the same layer as a conductor forming each of the fourth and fifth planar coils (figures 5A-5D, paragraphs [0044]-[0047]), wherein an electrical path including the second, third, and fourth connection conductors and the fourth and fifth planar coils functions as the first connection conductor (figures 5A-5D, paragraphs [0039], [0044]-[0047]).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Cook et al (US 2015/0247742 A1) and Matsukawa et al (JP H06325948 A) teach the planar coil array according to claim 1.
Cook et al further teaches A displacement sensor comprising: the planar coil array according to claim 1 disposed near a movable conductive object; and a detection unit configured to detect a change in an electrical characteristic of an electric signal, which is generated according to a displacement amount of the object and transmitted via the planar coil array (figure 6, paragraph [0025] A force measuring arrangement 180 includes various components that are mounted to the slider 130. As will be described in more detail below, the force measuring arrangement 180 includes a force sensing arrangement, which in this particular embodiment is provided by a first embodiment of a force actuator assembly 182 and a force element displacement sensor 200. The force element displacement sensor 200 includes an arrangement of displacement signal elements 205, a signal modulating element 250 and a force
actuator element 252. As will be described in more detail below with respect to FIG. 6, the arrangement of displacement signal elements 205 is fabricated in one or more metal layers of the circuit board 150 and produces electrical signals that are indicative of the position of the signal modulating element 250. The read head signal processing and control circuit 159 includes a force sensing circuit which receives the force sensing signals from the arrangement of displacement signal elements 205 for determining force measurements. The read head signal processing and control circuit 159 may also provide driving signals to the arrangement of displacement signal elements 205, as will further be described in more detail below with respect to FIG. 6. ).
5. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook et al (US 2015/0247742 A1), Matsukawa et al (JP H06325948 A) and in further view of Murakami (US 2022/0113166 A1, continuation of PCT/JP2019/030280 field on 08/01/2029).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Cook et al (US 2015/0247742 A1) and Matsukawa et al (JP H06325948 A) teach the planar coil array according to claim 8.
Cook et al (US 2015/0247742 A1) further teaches, the displacement sensor measures a displacement amount of the suspension by detecting a frequency of an AC signal as the electric signal or a variation in an inductance, which changes according to a relative positional relationship between the component of the suspension and the planar coil (FIG. 3 is an exploded view diagram of a second embodiment of a force actuator assembly 382 with a signal modulating element 350 of a force element displacement sensor 300 attached. It will be appreciated that various components of the force actuator assembly 382, force element displacement sensor 300 and an associated caliper 100' may be similar to similarly numbered components of the force actuator assembly 182, force element displacement sensor 200 and associated caliper 100 of FIGS. 1 and 2, and will be understood to function in a similar manner except as otherwise described below. As shown in FIG. 3, a force measuring assembly 380 may include the force element displacement sensor 300 and the force actuator assembly 382. Various components of the force measuring assembly 380 are shown to be mounted to a slider 130' of the caliper 100' (paragraph [0034]). The force element displacement sensor 300 includes an arrangement of displacement signal elements 305, a signal modulating element 350, a force actuator element 352, and a travel limit pin 398. The force actuator element 352 includes internal surfaces 352A and 352B that may contact the travel limit pin 398 to establish the limits of the movement of the force actuator element 352. As will be described in more detail below with respect to FIG. 6, the arrangement of displacement signal elements 305 is fabricated in one or more metal layers of a circuit board 150' that is carried on the slider 130' and produces electrical signals that are indicative of the position of the signal modulating element 350. A force sensing circuit (e.g., as part of the read head signal processing and control circuit 159) receives the force sensing signals from the arrangement of displacement signal elements 305 for determining force measurements (paragraph [0035]).
Cook et al (US 2015/0247742 A1) is silent about , wherein the object is a component of a suspension, and the displacement sensor is a stroke sensor wherein the object is a component of a suspension, and the displacement sensor is a stroke sensor.
Murakami (US 2022/0113166 A1) teaches, wherein the object is a component of a suspension, and the displacement sensor is a stroke sensor wherein the object is a component of a suspension, and the displacement sensor is a stroke sensor (Figures 5, 7, Paragraphs [0112], [0114], [0123]-[0128]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Cook et al and Matsukawa et al by providing the displacement sensor as a stroke sensor which measures the displacement of the suspension as taught by Murakami ((Figures 5, 7, Paragraphs [0112], [0114], [0123]-[0128]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to easily achieve a suspension displacement detection system 160 that is small in size and low in costs, that is suitable for being mounted on a straddle type vehicle such as a motorcycle, a motor tricycle, and a buggy, and that detects displacement of the suspension 22. The suspension displacement detection system can also be referred to as a shock absorber displacement detection system in a broad sense, as taught by Murakami (paragraph [0127]).
Closest Prior art
5. The following relevant prior art of record is not cited in the office action.
Yeh (US 2007/0296369 A1) winding methods to make multiple printed coils on a thin multi-layered PCB. Multiple thin magnets can be laterally installed on a thin magnet board, too. Then, this invention presents variant but similar conceptual models of thin linear, rotary, and step motors and electromagnetic driver using such thin coil PCBs and magnet boards or just coil PCBs as the stators and the actuator. All models share similar innovation. Each printed coil or magnet of the actuator has the same polarity with the printed coils or magnets of the stators at its leading edge and/or has the opposite polarity with the printed coils or magnets of the stators at its tailing edge in the moving direction. So that each printed coil or magnet of the actuator is pulled by the printed coils or magnets of the stators at its leading edge and/or pushed by the printed coils or magnets of the stators at its tailing edge. The electromagnetic force that the actuator moves receives is the summation of the force that all printed coils or magnets of the actuator receive. As the result, the actuator moves in the desired direction. The electromagnetic polarities of the printed coils of the actuator or the stators may need to be changed during the operation to assure that this happens. Then the motor can be a step motor by counting the number of times that some printed coils change the electromagnetic polarities. The motors and the electromagnetic drivers are so thin that the apparatus using them can be comfortably carried under the user's clothes or attached to the user's skin.
Mori (US 2010/0141369 A1) teaches a planar inductor that can be easily designed in any size without restricting coil characteristics, that supplies the necessary power corresponding to the area when a pair of inductors are placed facing each other to carry out non-contact power transmission, and that has greater design flexibility that allows for setting separation cut-off lines with relative freedom (abstract). Furthermore, if the planar inductor of the present invention comprises a flexible sheet, as shown in FIG. 17, a flat sheet wound up into a roll can be rolled out and cut to the required size by inserting suitable separation cut-off lines 44 in advance. In this case, within each area divided by two cut lines 44, multiple fiat coils between the top of the interconnection layer and the backside of the intersection layer are electrically connected in parallel and column-wise and row-wise dispersed, thus no extra ingenuity is required for the wiring and coil layout. But, it is reasonable that terminals, which lead to the wiring conductors on the top of the interconnection layer and the backside of the interconnection layer, are pulled out from the edges of each area to be cut off, to allow easy terminal wiring ([0077]).
Malsky (US 4645961 A) teaches, Multiple printed circuit phase windings are selectively mechanically aligned, selectively interconnected, and laminated together to form a winding assembly having intended characteristics in a manner to be described. The printed circuit phase winding 34 includes a flexible substrate 36 such as Mylar having on the upper surface thereof an array of printed circuit coils generally designated 38 and on the lower surface thereof an array of printed circuit coils generally designated 40. The coils 38 and 40 preferably are provided as etched metalization patterns on the upper and lower surfaces of the substrate 36 using conventional photolithographic methods. A layer of an electrically insulative material 42 is disposed over the top array 38 and a layer of an electrically insulative material 44 is disposed over the bottom array 40. The upper array of printed circuit coils 38 includes half-coils 46 positioned one at each of the ends thereof having end terminal pads 48 for electrical interconnection purposes, and a plurality of whole-coils 50, two of which are illustrated, extending in a line in close proximity between the end half-coils 46. The coils 50 each consist of a half-coil having turns spiralling in an electrically counterclockwise direction that is serially connected to and integrally formed with a half-coil having turns spiralling in an electrically clockwise direction. An electrical current flowing in each of the full coils produces a flux in one direction in one of the half-coils thereof and produces a flux in an opposite direction in the other one of the half-coils thereof in accordance with the right hand rule. Terminal pads 52 are centrally provided in the half-coils 46, and are centrally provided in each of the half-coils of the whole-coils 50. The lower array of printed circuit coils 40 is identical to the upper array of printed circuit coils 38 except that there are no end half-coils provided therein. The lower array is laterally spaced from the upper array a distance that equals the linear extent of a half-coil to mechanically align the windings of the half-coils of the upper array with the windings of the half-coils of the lower array and to mechanically align corresponding ones of the upper and lower central terminal pads 52. The terminal pads 52 of the aligned upper and lower half-coils are connected by plated-through holes or other suitable means to provide a serial electrical connection between all of the coils of the phase winding 34. As designated by the arrows, electrical current applied to the left-hand end terminal pad 48 sequentially passes through the conductors forming the turns of corresponding ones of the upper and lower whole and the half-coils alternately and produces electromagnetic poles centered between adjacent terminal pads that are of alternating magnetic direction and of the same electrical phase. A 180.degree. electrical angle is defined between adjacent ones of the electromagnetic poles, that preferably is selected to be generally equal to the angle subtended by a permanent magnet pole pair. It will be appreciated that a flexible printed circuit phase winding including the two upper whole-coils and the three lower whole-coils is specifically illustrated for purposes of explication.
Fujita et al (US 4962329 A) teaches, An armature coil has sets of unit coil groups, each comprising an even number of unit coils, which are printed and arranged on a belt-like, thin and pliable insulating material to form a printed coil. The printed coil is wound and fixed into a cylindrical shape, the armature coil being featured in that the gap between adjacent conductors of the unit coil groups located on the outer periphery side of the cylindrical shape is set larger than the gap between adjacent conductors of the unit coil groups located on the inner periphery side thereof such that the conductors of respective unit coils are axially arranged to take the same angle in the circumferential direction.
Conclusion
/SURESH K RAJAPUTRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 7/20/2026