Claim Objections
Claims 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “(mbfuel)” in claim 5 should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 8, 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, line 9 recites “a first temperature sensor”, lines 9-10 recite “a first fuel temperature” and lines 13-14 recites “the second fuel temperature” and then again recites “first fuel temperature” in line line 16 which is considered indefinite as it is unclear how it relates to the previous first temperature sensor and first fuel temperature, and the second fuel temperature lacks antecedent basis in the claims. For the purpose of examination, these limitation are understood to be referring to a second temperature sensor which measures a second fuel temperature to provide the second fuel temperature operation as part of the control system.
Claim 2 recites “configured to output the measure of fuel flow dependent on the first and second fuel pressures, first fuel temperature and the first control signal”; however, in claim 1, the first control signal is what is produced by the measured fuel flow so it is unclear how the first control signal would also be used to output the measure of the fuel flow. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that the control system uses a first control signal that has already been provided previously.
Claim 3 recite “a mass flow meter configured to measure a mass flow rate of fluid” and provide “the measure of fuel flow” which is considered indefinite. It is unclear if the mass flow rate and measure of fuel flow are the same or separate aspects of the claimed invention. For the purpose of examination, the mass flow rate of fluid is the same as the measure of fuel flow.
Claim 8 recites operations of the control system in regards to claim 1 but also recites aspects of the first control loop which is indefinite as claim 8 depends form claim 1 and not claim 4 which introduced the first control loop. For the purpose of examination, claim 8 is considered to depend form claim 4.
Claim 10, line 9 recites “a first temperature sensor”, lines 9-10 recite “a first fuel temperature” and lines 13-14 recites “the second fuel temperature” which is considered indefinite as it is unclear how it relates to the previous first temperature sensor and first fuel temperature, and the second fuel temperature lacks antecedent basis in the claims. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood to be referring to a second temperature sensor which measures a second fuel temperature to provide the second fuel temperature operation as part of the control system.
Claim 10 recites “an the first control signal”; however, in claim 9, the first control signal is what is produced by the measured fuel flow so it is unclear how the first control signal would also be used to output the measure of the fuel flow. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that the control system uses a first control signal that has already been provided previously.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: control system in claim 1 and 9 understood to be a system which receives information from sensors and provides control of components based on this information,
In both claims 1 and 9 “a first control valve and a burner between the pre-heater line inlet and the heat exchanger” is understood that both the first control valve and the burner are between the pre-heater line inlet and the heat exchanger.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (US PG Pub 20230392753), hereinafter referred to as Patel and Moussaoui et al. (US PG Pub 20230313766), hereinafter referred to as Moussaoui and Ryu et al. (KR20210069813), hereinafter referred to as Ryu.
With respect to claim 1, Patel teaches a hydrogen fuel delivery system (Figure 1, paragraph 10):
comprising a fuel line having an inlet and an outlet (the line starting at tank 20 and ending at 19, passing through 8b, paragraphs 15, 22, 32),
a heat exchanger having first and second fluid paths, the fuel line through the first fluid path (heat exchanger 8, with paths 8A and 8B, paragraph 22, of which 8B is part of the fluid line),
a pre-heater line having an inlet connected to the fuel line between the fuel inlet and the heat exchanger (flow path 22 with stream 21, paragraph 22),
the pre-heater line comprising a first control valve and a burner, wherein the burner is between the pre-heater line inlet and the heat exchanger (vaporizer 4, which can be direct fired water bath vaporizer, paragraph 18, and thus would have a burner at a location between the pre-heater line inlet and the heat exchanger and control valve 13, paragraph 16), the pre-heater line passing through the second fluid path of the heat exchanger towards a pre-heater line outlet (from 4 the pathway of 21 is through 8A, which is the second fluid path toward mixing with the other portion which would be at an outlet of said line),
a second control valve in the fuel line between the heat exchanger and the fuel line outlet (12, paragraph 16),
a first temperature sensor configured to measure a first fuel temperature in the fuel line between the heat exchanger and the second control valve (temperature sensor 9, paragraph 28),
a control system configured to provide a first control signal to control operation of the first control valve (13 can be controlled by controller 50, paragraph 30, which would require a control signal, which can be seen in the dashed and dotted lines in the figure between 50 and 13) dependent on an input target value compared to the first fuel temperature (temperature sensor 9 measures the temperature compares the temperature measured with the temperature of the other stream and if it is to high or too low compared to the other stream, which would be a target value, it adjust the flow of the streams with valve 12 and 13, paragraphs 29-30).
Patel does teach the burner is between the pre-heater line inlet and the heat exchanger, but does not teach the first control valve is also in this position.
Ryu teaches that a valve (150) in a heating medium line (Figure 2, paragraph 39) is upstream of the heat exchanger (160, paragraph 39) in which the heat medium is used.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have had the first control valve to be upstream of the burner on the pre-heater line of Patel based on the teaching of Ryu since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby as both configurations of providing a flow control valve, upstream or downstream, with respect to the heat exchanger are known it would be prima facie obvious to have had the valve upstream instead of downstream of the heat exchanger (which would place it between the pre-heater inlet and the heat exchanger as it still has to be on the line feeding into the vaporizer)in the pre-heater line as one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution with the reasonably predictable result of being able to control the flow within that line.
Patel does not teach the control signal is also based on a measure of fuel flow through the pre-heater line.
Mouissaoui teaches that a stream which has been used for heating (14) has a flow regulating member (15) which is adjusted based on multiple temperature sensors (81-83) as well as a flow meter on the line which can act on the flow regulating member in response to the flowmeter (paragraph 86).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Mouissaoui to have in addition to adjusting the first control valve dependent upon the temperature sensor of Patel to have also done so according to the flowmeter (6, paragraph 39) since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby adjusting the flow also based on the flow meter would allow what would be common knowledge in the art for a more accurate adjustment to achieve the desired flow by adjusting it based on the present flow rate.
With respect to claim 3, Patel as modified teaches comprising allow meter configured to measure a mass flow rate of fluid in the pre-heater line and provide the measure of fuel flow to the control system (first flow meter 6, paragraph 39).
Patel does not teach that the first flow meter is a mass flow meter.
The examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have utilized a mass flow meter as the flow meter in Patel as modified so as to provide an accurate measurement of the fuel flowing therein.
With respect to claim 9, Patel teaches (Figures 1, paragraph 10) a method of operating a hydrogen fuel delivery system comprising:
a fuel line having an inlet and an outlet (the line starting at tank 20 and ending at 19, passing through 8b, paragraphs 15, 22, 32),
a heat exchanger having first and second fluid paths, the fuel line through the first fluid path (heat exchanger 8, with paths 8A and 8B, paragraph 22, of which 8B is part of the fluid line),
a pre-heater line having an inlet connected to the fuel line between the fuel inlet and the heat exchanger (flow path 22 with stream 21, paragraph 22),
the pre-heater line comprising a first control valve and a burner, wherein the burner is between the pre-heater line inlet and the heat exchanger (vaporizer 4, which can be direct fired water bath vaporizer, paragraph 18, and thus would have a burner at a location between the pre-heater line inlet and the heat exchanger and control valve 13, paragraph 16), the pre-heater line passing through the second fluid path of the heat exchanger towards a pre-heater line outlet (from 4 the pathway of 21 is through 8A, which is the second fluid path toward mixing with the other portion which would be at an outlet of said line),
a second control valve in the fuel line between the heat exchanger and the fuel line outlet (12, paragraph 16),
a first temperature sensor configured to measure a first fuel temperature in the fuel line between the heat exchanger and the second control valve (temperature sensor 9, paragraph 28),
a control system (controller 50, paragraph 30),
wherein the control system provides a first control signal to control operation of the first control valve dependent on an input target temperature compared to the first fuel temperature (13 can be controlled by controller 50, paragraph 30, which would require a control signal, which can be seen in the dashed and dotted lines in the figure between 50 and 13 where temperature sensor 9 measures the temperature compares the temperature measured with the temperature of the other stream and if it is too high or too low compared to the other stream, which would be an input target temperature, it adjust the flow of the streams with valve 12 and 13, paragraphs 29-30).
Patel does teach the burner is between the pre-heater line inlet and the heat exchanger, but does not teach the first control valve is also in this position.
Ryu teaches that a valve (150) in a heating medium line (Figure 2, paragraph 39) is upstream of the heat exchanger (160, paragraph 39) in which the heat medium is used.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have had the first control valve to be upstream of the burner on the pre-heater line of Patel based on the teaching of Ryu since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby as both configurations of providing a flow control valve, upstream or downstream, with respect to the heat exchanger are known it would be prima facie obvious to have had the valve upstream instead of downstream of the heat exchanger (which would place it between the pre-heater inlet and the heat exchanger as it still has to be on the line feeding into the vaporizer)in the pre-heater line as one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution with the reasonably predictable result of being able to control the flow within that line.
Patel does not teach the control system provides the first control signal also on a measure of the fuel flow through the pre-heater line.
Mouissaoui teaches that a stream which has been used for heating (14) has a flow regulating member (15) which is adjusted based on multiple temperature sensors (81-83) as well as a flow meter on the line which can act n the flow regulating member in response to the flowmeter (paragraph 86).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Mouissaoui to have in addition to adjusting the first control valve dependent upon the temperature sensor of Patel to have also done so according to the flowmeter (6, paragraph 39) since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby adjusting the flow also based on the flow meter would allow what would be common knowledge in the art for a more accurate adjustment to achieve the desired flow by adjusting it based on the present flow rate.
Claim(s) 6-7, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel/Moussaoui/Ryu and further in view of Yang (EP1515079), hereinafter referred to as Yang.
With respect to claims 6, Patel as modified does not teach further comprising an electrical heater in the pre-heater line between the pre-heater inlet and the burner, the electrical heater configured to receive a heater current to heat the fuel in the pre-heater line.
Yang teaches that on a feed line between a tank (3) and a heating device (1) a pre-heating device which may be an electrical heater can be provided (paragraph 19) where the fluid is first pre-heated on the way to a coiled pipe where it is heated again (paragraphs 20 and 24).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Yang provided a preheating device in the form an electric heater on the pre-heater line (22) of Patel as modified since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing pre-heating could provide what would be common knowledge in the art of bringing the fuel to a temperature suitable for use in the vaporizer or provide the ability to increase the amount of heating if necessary. An electrical heaer by its nature receives a heater current.
With respect to claim 7, Patel as modified does not teach the electrical heater is between the pre-heater inlet line and the first control valve.
The modification by Yang places the electrical heater on the pre-heater inlet line but does not teach specifically where it is placed on that line. There are only two locations on that line with respect to the first control valve, before the first control valve which is between the inlet of that line, and downstream of the first control valve before the burner. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have when placing the electrical heater to have had it been upstream of the first control valve (and thus between the inlet of the line and the first control valve) since it has been shown that choosing from a finite number of predictable solutions yield predictable results is obvious whereby as it has been shown obvious to use an electrical heater upstream from a second heating method on a liquid line, the placement would be obvious as there are only two locations it can be placed to provide the pre-heating and there would be reasonable expectation of success in providing it upstream of the control valve as that is one of the upstream locations of the burner.
With respect to claims 14, Patel as modified does not teach further comprising an electrical heater in the pre-heater line between the pre-heater inlet and the burner, the electrical heater receiving a heater current to heat the fuel in the pre-heater line.
Yang teaches that on a feed line between a tank (3) and a heating device (1) a pre-heating device which may be an electrical heater can be provided (paragraph 19) where the fluid is first pre-heated on the way to a coiled pipe where it is heated again (paragraphs 20 and 24).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Yang provided a preheating device in the form an electric heater on the pre-heater line (22) of Patel as modified since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing pre-heating could provide what would be common knowledge in the art of bringing the fuel to a temperature suitable for use in the vaporizer or provide the ability to increase the amount of heating if necessary. An electrical heater by its nature receives a heater current.
With respect to claim 15, Patel as modified does not teach the electrical heater is between the pre-heater inlet line and the first control valve.
The modification by Yang places the electrical heater on the pre-heater inlet line but does not teach specifically where it is placed on that line. There are only two locations on that line with respect to the first control valve, before the first control valve which is between the inlet of that line, and downstream of the first control valve before the burner. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have when placing the electrical heater to have had it been upstream of the first control valve (and thus between the inlet of the line and the first control valve) since it has been shown that choosing from a finite number of predictable solutions yield predictable results is obvious whereby as it has been shown obvious to use an electrical heater upstream from a second heating method on a liquid line, the placement would be obvious as there are only two locations it can be placed to provide the pre-heating and there would be reasonable expectation of success in providing it upstream of the control valve as that is one of the upstream locations of the burner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 8, 10, would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4-5, 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claims 2 and 8, the claims are drawn to using a combination of a pressure sensors, a temperature sensor and a control system with a first control signal, understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112b to refer to a first control signal previously provided, to use a first look-up table to output the measure of the fuel flow used in the control system. The concept of using differential pressure sensors to measure or adjust flow rate is well established Yamaguchi et al. (US PG Pub 20130025715), hereinafter referred to as Yamaguchi, see Figure 3 where pressure sensors provide flow control to a valve (paragraphs 33, paragraph 39) which teaching of calculation can be considered a look up table as best understood; however, Yamaguchi does not use a previous control signal or a temperature sensor and the pressure measurements are not around a valve but both taken downstream of the valve with an unrelated fluid resistance element and as such there would be no reason to provide the sensors in the configuration as claimed. Noboa (US PG Patent No. 10317261), hereinafter referred to as Noboa teaches that based on differential a regression model may calculate a flow rate with pressure sensors (506, 508) up and downstream a tested HVAC device (Figure 6) (Column 5, lines 17-40) but there is no teaching of a control valve, temperature sensor of previous control signal. Sugita (Figure 1) teaches using to pressure sensors (3, 4) and a temperature sensor (5) that pass information to a processing circuit (7) and that the pressure sensors provide a calculated flowrate to a control valve (paragraphs 30-32); however, the temperature measurement is not used in the flowrate and the pressure measurements are downstream of a valve (6), which results in a similar lack of teaching to both Yamaguchi and Noboa. Hirata et al. (US PG Pub 20220197316) teaches using pressure measurements (14, 13) upstream and downstream of a control valve as well as a temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of the fluid (paragraphs 45-46) to output control to valve controlling the flowrate. Yuuki et al. (US PG Pub 20210231473) provide a similar teaching to that of Noboa (abstract) and lacks the same teachings with respect to the claims. As such, the specific configuration of the claimed sensors and control system is not considered obvious or novel in view of the prior art.
In regard to claims 4 and 12, the use control loops are well known. Pages (US PG Pub 20160208984), hereinafter referred to as Pages teaches using a first control loop and a second control loop together (paragraph 27), but this teaching is not applicable to the configuration of the claimed invention or to modify Patel as it is a more general teaching of multiple control loops. To provide a showing of obviousness, two control loops are needed with one receiving the measured flow rate and an output from the second control loop while also providing an output. As claimed, Patel as modified cannot be considered to have multiple control loops as the teachings as claimed would only provide a teaching of a single feedforward based control loop. Calvin et al. (US PG Pub 20150122371) teaches that separate control loops associated with a primary control (Paragraph 31-32) but does not teach the specific arrangement of the control loops. May et al. (US Patent No 8826679) teaches the use of a plurality of control loops to control various operation aspects of selected component of a refrigerator (abstract); however, the teachings of multiple control loops is to provide separate control to individual components and not receiving inputs into one loop and outputting them to another in a system as claimed. As such, the specific use of the control loops as claimed is not considered obvious or novel in view of the prior art.
Conclusion
/BRIAN M KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763